DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amiruddin et al. (US 2015/0050535) in view of Yang et al. (US 2018/0309169).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 9, Amiruddin teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising:
a negative electrode having about 75-88% negative active material (para 0067); a silicon-based active material with graphitic carbon active material (para 0064) where the silicon-based active material may be silicon oxide active material (para 0060); the combined negative active material generally comprises about 15-45 wt.% graphitic carbon relative to the total active material with the remain portion of the active material being the silicon-based active material (para 0066); a (nanoscale) conductive additive from about 2-10 wt.%, wherein the conductive additive can comprise nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, and combinations thereof (para 0070); and a binder in an amount of 8-20% (para 0068); binder polyimide has a tensile strength of 150-300 MPa (para 0039);
a positive electrode (para 0028);
supplemental lithium from about 90-170% (para 0033);
a separator between a negative electrode and positive electrode (para 0037);
an electrolyte (para 0077); and
pouch enclosure 162 (container) (Fig. 1A).
Amiruddin does not teach (1) a positive active material with the recited stoichiometry and (2) the recited electrolyte.
Yang, directed to an electrolyte system for silicon-containing electrodes, teaches (1) LiNixMnyCozO2, 0 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 1, 0 ≤ z ≤ 1, and x + y + z = 1 (para 0057), and an electrolyte system consisting of LiPF6 and cosolvents FEC:EMC:DMC in a volumetric ratio of 1:2:2 (para 0087), alternatively with co-solvents DMC:FEC (para 0087) and with a salt concentration of 10-20% by mass (para 0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited positive active material described as a common class of known materials that may be used for the positive electrode 24 (para 0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited electrolyte composition that can accommodate the volumetric expansion and contraction of the silicon-containing electroactive material to promote long term cycling stability (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited negative active material, positive active material stoichiometry, the nanoscale conductive carbon amount, and salt concentration because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 5 and 20, given each of the claimed limitations is met above, the battery will have the recited capacity retention. Alternatively, given each of the claimed limitations is met above, the system would be capable of achieving the recited capacity retention.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Amiruddin teaches about 15-45 wt.% graphitic carbon relative to the total active material with the remain portion of the active material being the silicon-based active material (para 0066) and BET surface area of the graphitic carbon about 0.75-8 m²/g (para 0065). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Amiruddin teaches SiOx-Si-C composites (para 0062).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Amiruddin teaches PVdF, polyimide, SBR, and mixtures thereof (para 0038).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Amiruddin teaches supplemental lithium is provided in an amount to compensate for about 100% to about 170% of the negative electrode first cycle irreversible capacity loss (para 0004) and capacity from 0.8 to 1.7. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 11, 12, 16, and 18, Amiruddin teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising:
a negative electrode having about 75-88% negative active material (para 0067); a silicon-based active material with graphitic carbon active material (para 0064) where the silicon-based active material may be silicon oxide active material (para 0060); the combined negative active material generally comprises about 15-45 wt.% graphitic carbon relative to the total active material with the remain portion of the active material being the silicon-based active material (para 0066); a (nanoscale) conductive additive from about 2-10 wt.%, wherein the conductive additive can comprise nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, and combinations thereof (para 0070); and a binder in an amount of 8-20% (para 0068); binder polyimide has a tensile strength of 150-300 MPa (para 0039);
a positive electrode (para 0028);
supplemental lithium from about 90-170% (para 0033);
a separator between a negative electrode and positive electrode (para 0037);
an electrolyte (para 0077); and
pouch enclosure 162 (container) (Fig. 1A).
Amiruddin does not teach (1) a positive active material with the recited stoichiometry and (2) the recited electrolyte.
Yang, directed to an electrolyte system for silicon-containing electrodes, teaches (1) LiNixMnyCozO2, 0 ≤ x ≤ 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 1, 0 ≤ z ≤ 1, and x + y + z = 1 (para 0057), and an electrolyte system consisting of LiPF6 and cosolvents FEC:EMC:DMC in a volumetric ratio of 1:2:2 (para 0087), and with a salt concentration of 10-20% by mass (para 0074).
Given each of the claimed limitations for the negative electrode, positive electrode, and electrolyte are met above, the recited specific capacity and cycle rate would be expected to be present and/or be capable of achieving the same.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited positive active material described as a common class of known materials that may be used for the positive electrode 24 (para 0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited electrolyte composition that can accommodate the volumetric expansion and contraction of the silicon-containing electroactive material to promote long term cycling stability (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited negative active material, positive active material stoichiometry, the nanoscale conductive carbon amount, and salt concentration because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amiruddin et al. (US 2015/0050535) in view of Yang et al. (US 2018/0309169), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Bhardwaj et al. (US 10,218,033).
Regarding claim 17, Yang teaches the electrolyte system may further include propylene carbonate.
Amiruddin and Yang does not teach propylene carbonate and fluorobenzene.
Bhardwaj, directed to batteries and electrolytes with fluoroethylene carbonate, teaches an electrolyte with 6-9 wt.% PC and 3-5 wt.% FB (col. 2, lines 44-59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further comprise addition additives which may reduce battery cell swelling and improve cycle life (col. 1, lines 37-39).
Double Patenting
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,973,178. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the same subject matter is claimed. Both claim sets recite the negative electrode with values than lie within or overlap for negative electrode including active material, conductive carbon, and binder, wherein a comparable negative electrode would be expected to have the recited specific capacity; positive electrode; and supplemental lithium. With respect to the electrolyte, the concentration is same for both claim sets; 5-20 vol.% FEC, at least 25 vol.% DMC and EMC, and 20-50 vol.% DEC reads on instant recitation of at least about 5 vol.% FEC, at least 25 vol.% DMC, EMC, and DEC, and not more than 50 vol.% DEC. Conflicting claim 2 recites the same cycle capacity after 700 cycles.
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723