DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/616,548, filed March 26, 2024.
This application is a continuation of application 15/938,787, filed March 28, 2018, now patent 11,967,923.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered on the merits herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 refers to a flex circuit for solar cells and defines the flex circuit relative to the solar cells, but fails to positively recite the solar cells to be present. The Applicant is encouraged to positively claim the solar cells within the claim, instead of referring to the cells. The structure of claims like 2, 10-13 and 15 which refer directly to solar cells not positively recited in claim 1 are clear in light of this addition. Without this amendment, the claims could further be addressed via rejection for omitting critical elements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al (CN 104443439A, wherein citations are from the English machine translation is provided herein), in view of GMUNDNER (US PG PUB 2015/0083191).
Regarding claim 1, WANG et al teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a flex circuit (2) for connecting solar cells (7), wherein:
the flex circuit (2) is a single sheet (shown in figure 2) comprised of a flexible substrate (2) having conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) for making electrical connections to the solar cells (see 3rd paragraph of the Detailed Ways section on page 2), wherein the conductors are embedded in the flex circuit (taught in the second paragraph of the Summary wherein the circuitry is “integrated inside” the flexible substrate, wherein integrated is interpreted to require embedding);
the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section);
at least a first one or more of the conductors (3) is positioned along one or more edges of the flex circuit (Portion 3 is shown in figure 1 to follow the same path as the long edge of the flex substrate 1 and interpreted as close to the edge, interpreted as positioned along one or more edges.), and extending across one or more of the flat sections and the folding sections of the flex circuit (3 is shown to overlap the length of the cells and folding sections 4 as identified in the second paragraph of the Summary section or paragraph 11);
at least a second one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1 vertically extending from component 3) connected to the first one or more of the conductors (shown to connect with 3) extends from the first one or more of the conductors (3) to one or more of the solar cells in a string (small conductors attach to components 8/9 on the front of the panels, which connect to the cell strings);
at least a third one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1, vertically extending from component 5) connected to the second one or more of the conductors (small conductors described above) extends between adjacent ones of the solar cells in the string (electrical connection between the conductors and cells over the whole surface is present reading on this connectivity); and
at least a fourth one or more of the conductors (5) connected to the third one or more of the conductors connects between corner regions (interior corners of the cells) of two of the solar cells in the string (see figures 1 and 2).
WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
Moreover, while WANG et al teaches integrating the conducting layers within the flex substrate as discussed above, WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
GMUNDNER teaches a foldable solar cell apparatus with integrated conducting layers in figures 1, 2 and 3b and abstract, just as in WANG et al. GMUNDNER further teaches the conducting layers (10) to be present between the substrate (11) and an insulating top layer (12) while maintaining flexibility (as taught to be present in section 4 in paragraph [0027]) for protection (paragraph 27). While the top layer is not expressly taught to be insulating electrically (but would be obvious to do so based on both the lack of need for conduction therein but also the need to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment), the top layer (12) will still serve to insulate the conducting material from environmental impact, rendering it both physically insulating and electrically insulating.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a sandwich of an insulating layer with the flexible substrate of WANG et al around the conducting layers, as in GMUNDNER, so as to provide protection on both sides of the wiring with two different layers as opposed to just one with the same predictable benefit.
Regarding claim 2, WANG et al teaches the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section). The conductors are shown to be present in the flex circuit at the folded and flat sections in figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 3, WANG et al teaches the conductors (including components 10/11) carry current off the flex circuit (called output terminals in the 3rd paragraph of Detailed Ways section, indicating generated charge (including current) if output from the circuit).
Regarding claim 4, the second paragraph of the Summary of WANG et al makes clear the flat sections will remain flat upon folding due to the rigid substrate.
Regarding claim 5, figure 3 of GMUNDNER shows a z-fold configuration.
Regarding claim 6, figure 5 of GMUNDNER teaches the flexible circuit (support for the cells, 31) to extend perpendicular to the folds (33).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, GMUNDNER shows the flex circuit (11/10/12) to accommodate a plurality of cells and panels in figures 1 and 2, fulfilling the claims as written.
Regarding claim 9, WANG et al seemingly shows a single flexible substrate to bridge the folded sections in figures 1 and 2. GMUNDNER also shows a single flex circuit connection between the adjacent cells but shows the negative and positive wirings connections between the cells within the single circuit (3rd paragraph of Detailed ways). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize multiple flex circuits extending between the cells, as opposed to one, so as to separate the negative and positive electrode wirings into their own circuits for ease of access to the appropriate connector in case of malfunction. Moreover, it would have been obvious to utilize multiple connections, in lieu of a single connection, as they would provide the same predictable connectivity regardless of the number of flex circuits. MPEP section 2144.04 (VI) (B) details the mere duplication of a part (such as the flex circuit) has no patentable significance, since the use of two does not produce a new or unexpected result.
Regarding claim 10, the second paragraph of the Summary of WANG et al teaches the application of the solar cells to the flat circuit via gluing (mechanical attachment).
Regarding claim 16, WANG et al teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2), comprising:
connecting one or more solar cells (7) to a flex circuit (2), wherein:
the flex circuit (2) is a single sheet (shown in figure 2) comprised of a flexible substrate (2) having conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) for making electrical connections to the solar cells (see 3rd paragraph of the Detailed Ways section on page 2), wherein the conductors are embedded in the flex circuit (taught in the second paragraph of the Summary wherein the circuitry is “integrated inside” the flexible substrate, wherein integrated is interpreted to require embedding);
the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section);
at least a first one or more of the conductors (3) is positioned along one or more edges of the flex circuit (Portion 3 is shown in figure 1 to follow the same path as the long edge of the flex substrate 1 and interpreted as close to the edge, interpreted as positioned along one or more edges.), and extending across one or more of the flat sections and the folding sections of the flex circuit (3 is shown to overlap the length of the cells and folding sections 4 as identified in the second paragraph of the Summary section or paragraph 11);
at least a second one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1 vertically extending from component 3) connected to the first one or more of the conductors (shown to connect with 3) extends from the first one or more of the conductors (3) to one or more of the solar cells in a string (small conductors attach to components 8/9 on the front of the panels, which connect to the cell strings);
at least a third one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1, vertically extending from component 5) connected to the second one or more of the conductors (small conductors described above) extends between adjacent ones of the solar cells in the string (electrical connection between the conductors and cells over the whole surface is present reading on this connectivity); and
at least a fourth one or more of the conductors (5) connected to the third one or more of the conductors connects between corner regions (interior corners of the cells) of two of the solar cells in the string (see figures 1 and 2).
WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
Moreover, while WANG et al teaches integrating the conducting layers within the flex substrate as discussed above, WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
GMUNDNER teaches a foldable solar cell apparatus with integrated conducting layers in figures 1, 2 and 3b and abstract, just as in WANG et al. GMUNDNER further teaches the conducting layers (10) to be present between the substrate (11) and an insulating top layer (12) while maintaining flexibility (as taught to be present in section 4 in paragraph [0027]) for protection (paragraph 27). While the top layer is not expressly taught to be insulating electrically (but would be obvious to do so based on both the lack of need for conduction therein but also the need to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment), the top layer (12) will still serve to insulate the conducting material from environmental impact, rendering it both physically insulating and electrically insulating.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a sandwich of an insulating layer with the flexible substrate of WANG et al around the conducting layers, as in GMUNDNER, so as to provide protection on both sides of the wiring with two different layers as opposed to just one with the same predictable benefit.
Regarding claim 16, WANG et al teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2), comprising:
deploying one or more solar cells (7) connected to a flex circuit (2) (third, sixth and 7th paragraphs of the Detailed ways section), wherein:
the flex circuit (2) is a single sheet (shown in figure 2) comprised of a flexible substrate (2) having conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) for making electrical connections to the solar cells (see 3rd paragraph of the Detailed Ways section on page 2), wherein the conductors are embedded in the flex circuit (taught in the second paragraph of the Summary wherein the circuitry is “integrated inside” the flexible substrate, wherein integrated is interpreted to require embedding);
the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section);
at least a first one or more of the conductors (3) is positioned along one or more edges of the flex circuit (Portion 3 is shown in figure 1 to follow the same path as the long edge of the flex substrate 1 and interpreted as close to the edge, interpreted as positioned along one or more edges.), and extending across one or more of the flat sections and the folding sections of the flex circuit (3 is shown to overlap the length of the cells and folding sections 4 as identified in the second paragraph of the Summary section or paragraph 11);
at least a second one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1 vertically extending from component 3) connected to the first one or more of the conductors (shown to connect with 3) extends from the first one or more of the conductors (3) to one or more of the solar cells in a string (small conductors attach to components 8/9 on the front of the panels, which connect to the cell strings);
at least a third one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1, vertically extending from component 5) connected to the second one or more of the conductors (small conductors described above) extends between adjacent ones of the solar cells in the string (electrical connection between the conductors and cells over the whole surface is present reading on this connectivity); and
at least a fourth one or more of the conductors (5) connected to the third one or more of the conductors connects between corner regions (interior corners of the cells) of two of the solar cells in the string (see figures 1 and 2).
WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
Moreover, while WANG et al teaches integrating the conducting layers within the flex substrate as discussed above, WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
GMUNDNER teaches a foldable solar cell apparatus with integrated conducting layers in figures 1, 2 and 3b and abstract, just as in WANG et al. GMUNDNER further teaches the conducting layers (10) to be present between the substrate (11) and an insulating top layer (12) while maintaining flexibility (as taught to be present in section 4 in paragraph [0027]) for protection (paragraph 27). While the top layer is not expressly taught to be insulating electrically (but would be obvious to do so based on both the lack of need for conduction therein but also the need to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment), the top layer (12) will still serve to insulate the conducting material from environmental impact, rendering it both physically insulating and electrically insulating.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a sandwich of an insulating layer with the flexible substrate of WANG et al around the conducting layers, as in GMUNDNER, so as to provide protection on both sides of the wiring with two different layers as opposed to just one with the same predictable benefit.
Claims 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al, in view of GMUNDNER, and TOMODO et al (US PG PUB 2019/0127089).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, while WANG et al and GMUNDNER shows the panels can be deployed (unfolded, as discussed Summary section and abstract respectively), modified WANG et al fails to show the use of mechanical attachment to a deployment system.
TOMODO et al teaches a solar array 11 of multiple panels comprising a flexible, foldable circuit 31, just as in modified WANG et al. TOMODO et al teaches shows the use of an expansion mechanism (deployment system), as shown in figures 2 and 3 and discussed in paragraphs 43 and 50-52.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to utilize the deployment mechanism of TOMODO et al, to expand the apparatus as in modified WANG et al, because the use of the mechanism enables an ease of deployment and allows for manipulation of larger panels for greater power generation.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, while WANG et al clearly shows the cells to be present on the flex circuit in figure 3, modified WANG et al fails to disclose the method of attachment to a deployment system.
TOMODO et al teaches a solar array 11 of multiple panels or sections comprising a flexible, foldable circuit 31, just as in modified WANG et al. Paragraph 74 discloses the use of an adhesive to bond the solar cells to the support structure 31/19. TOMODO et al teaches shows the panels to be mechanically connected (paragraph 52) to an expansion mechanism (deployment system), as shown in figures 2 and 3 and discussed in paragraphs 43 and 50-52.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to utilize the deployment mechanism of TOMODO et al, to expand the apparatus of modified WANG et al, because the use of the mechanism enables an ease of deployment and allows for manipulation of larger panels for greater power generation.
Regarding claim 15, paragraph 88 of TOMODO et al teaches the use of aluminum as the support.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DORN et al (US PG PUB 2008/0142071A1) teaches a flex circuit, as in the state of the art.
NAKANISHI et al (US PG PUB 2010/0294342A1) teaches a circuit for supporting a cell array, as in the state of the art.
ANDERSON et al (US Patent 10,461,685 B2) is directed to foldable photovoltaics with extensive electrical conductors.
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 12/19/2025