DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 15, 2026 is considered herein.
Claims 1, 3, 16, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al (CN 104443439A, wherein citations are from the English machine translation is provided herein), in view of GMUNDNER (US PG PUB 2015/0083191).
Regarding claim 1, WANG et al teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a flex circuit (2) for connecting solar cells (7); and
one or more solar cells connected to the flex circuit (7) wherein:
the flex circuit (2) is a single sheet (shown in figure 2) comprised of a flexible substrate (2) having conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) for making electrical connections to the solar cells (see 3rd paragraph of the Detailed Ways section on page 2), wherein the conductors are embedded in the flex circuit (taught in the second paragraph of the Summary wherein the circuitry is “integrated inside” the flexible substrate, wherein integrated is interpreted to require embedding);
the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section);
at least a first one or more of the conductors (3/10/11, all the connected portions) is positioned along one or more edges of the flex circuit (Portion 3 is shown in figure 1 to follow the same path as the long edge of the flex substrate 1 and interpreted as along or close to the edge, interpreted as positioned along one or more edges. Portions 10 and 11 are present at the edge), extending across one or more of the flat sections and the folding sections of the flex circuit (3 is shown to overlap the length of the cells and folding sections 4 as identified in the second paragraph of the Summary section or paragraph 11), and carry current off the flex circuit (components 10/11 are called output terminals in the 3rd paragraph of Detailed Ways section, indicating generated charge (including current) if output from the circuit);
at least a second one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1 vertically extending from component 3) connected to the first one or more of the conductors (shown to connect with 3) extends from the first one or more of the conductors (3) to one or more of the solar cells in a string (small conductors attach to components 8/9 on the front of the panels, which connect to the cell strings);
at least a third one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1, vertically extending from component 5) connected to the second one or more of the conductors (small conductors described above) extends between adjacent ones of the solar cells in the string (electrical connection between the conductors and cells over the whole surface is present reading on this connectivity); and
at least a fourth one or more of the conductors (5) connected to the third one or more of the conductors connects between corner regions (interior corners of the cells) of two of the solar cells in the string (see figures 1 and 2).
WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
Moreover, while WANG et al teaches integrating the conducting layers within the flex substrate as discussed above, WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
GMUNDNER teaches a foldable solar cell apparatus with integrated conducting layers in figures 1, 2 and 3b and abstract, just as in WANG et al. GMUNDNER further teaches the conducting layers (10) to be present between the substrate (11) and an insulating top layer (12) while maintaining flexibility (as taught to be present in section 4 in paragraph [0027]) for protection (paragraph 27). While the top layer is not expressly taught to be insulating electrically (but would be obvious to do so based on both the lack of need for conduction therein but also the need to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment), the top layer (12) will still serve to insulate the conducting material from environmental impact, rendering it both physically insulating and electrically insulating.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a sandwich of an insulating layer with the flexible substrate of WANG et al around the conducting layers, as in GMUNDNER, so as to provide protection on both sides of the wiring with two different layers as opposed to just one with the same predictable benefit.
Regarding claim 2, WANG et al teaches the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section). The conductors are shown to be present in the flex circuit at the folded and flat sections in figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 3, WANG et al teaches the conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) comprise copper (6, 2nd paragraph Summary of the invention), a metal or an alloy (copper and component 5 is taught to be soldered to component 9, necessitating their being made of metal or an alloy to enable soldering, as soldering is a metal joining process).
Regarding claim 4, the second paragraph of the Summary of WANG et al makes clear the flat sections will remain flat upon folding due to the rigid substrate.
Regarding claim 5, figure 3 of GMUNDNER shows a z-fold configuration.
Regarding claim 6, figure 5 of GMUNDNER teaches the flexible circuit (support for the cells, 31) to extend perpendicular to the folds (33).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, GMUNDNER shows the flex circuit (11/10/12) to accommodate a plurality of cells and panels in figures 1 and 2, fulfilling the claims as written.
Regarding claim 9, WANG et al seemingly shows a single flexible substrate to bridge the folded sections in figures 1 and 2. GMUNDNER also shows a single flex circuit connection between the adjacent cells but shows the negative and positive wirings connections between the cells within the single circuit (3rd paragraph of Detailed ways). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize multiple flex circuits extending between the cells, as opposed to one, so as to separate the negative and positive electrode wirings into their own circuits for ease of access to the appropriate connector in case of malfunction. Moreover, it would have been obvious to utilize multiple connections, in lieu of a single connection, as they would provide the same predictable connectivity regardless of the number of flex circuits. MPEP section 2144.04 (VI) (B) details the mere duplication of a part (such as the flex circuit) has no patentable significance, since the use of two does not produce a new or unexpected result.
Regarding claim 10, the second paragraph of the Summary of WANG et al teaches the application of the solar cells to the flat circuit via gluing (mechanical attachment).
Regarding claim 16, WANG et al teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2), comprising:
connecting one or more solar cells (7) to a flex circuit (2), wherein:
the flex circuit (2) is a single sheet (shown in figure 2) comprised of a flexible substrate (2) having conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) for making electrical connections to the solar cells (see 3rd paragraph of the Detailed Ways section on page 2), wherein the conductors are embedded in the flex circuit (taught in the second paragraph of the Summary wherein the circuitry is “integrated inside” the flexible substrate, wherein integrated is interpreted to require embedding);
the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section);
at least a first one or more of the conductors (3/10/11, all the connected portions) is positioned along one or more edges of the flex circuit (Portion 3 is shown in figure 1 to follow the same path as the long edge of the flex substrate 1 and interpreted as along or close to the edge, interpreted as positioned along one or more edges. Portions 10 and 11 are present at the edge), extending across one or more of the flat sections and the folding sections of the flex circuit (3 is shown to overlap the length of the cells and folding sections 4 as identified in the second paragraph of the Summary section or paragraph 11), and carry current off the flex circuit (components 10/11 are called output terminals in the 3rd paragraph of Detailed Ways section, indicating generated charge (including current) if output from the circuit);
at least a second one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1 vertically extending from component 3) connected to the first one or more of the conductors (shown to connect with 3) extends from the first one or more of the conductors (3) to one or more of the solar cells in a string (small conductors attach to components 8/9 on the front of the panels, which connect to the cell strings);
at least a third one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1, vertically extending from component 5) connected to the second one or more of the conductors (small conductors described above) extends between adjacent ones of the solar cells in the string (electrical connection between the conductors and cells over the whole surface is present reading on this connectivity); and
at least a fourth one or more of the conductors (5) connected to the third one or more of the conductors connects between corner regions (interior corners of the cells) of two of the solar cells in the string (see figures 1 and 2).
WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
Moreover, while WANG et al teaches integrating the conducting layers within the flex substrate as discussed above, WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
GMUNDNER teaches a foldable solar cell apparatus with integrated conducting layers in figures 1, 2 and 3b and abstract, just as in WANG et al. GMUNDNER further teaches the conducting layers (10) to be present between the substrate (11) and an insulating top layer (12) while maintaining flexibility (as taught to be present in section 4 in paragraph [0027]) for protection (paragraph 27). While the top layer is not expressly taught to be insulating electrically (but would be obvious to do so based on both the lack of need for conduction therein but also the need to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment), the top layer (12) will still serve to insulate the conducting material from environmental impact, rendering it both physically insulating and electrically insulating.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a sandwich of an insulating layer with the flexible substrate of WANG et al around the conducting layers, as in GMUNDNER, so as to provide protection on both sides of the wiring with two different layers as opposed to just one with the same predictable benefit.
Regarding claim 16, WANG et al teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2), comprising:
deploying one or more solar cells (7) connected to a flex circuit (2) (third, sixth and 7th paragraphs of the Detailed ways section), wherein:
the flex circuit (2) is a single sheet (shown in figure 2) comprised of a flexible substrate (2) having conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) for making electrical connections to the solar cells (see 3rd paragraph of the Detailed Ways section on page 2), wherein the conductors are embedded in the flex circuit (taught in the second paragraph of the Summary wherein the circuitry is “integrated inside” the flexible substrate, wherein integrated is interpreted to require embedding);
the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section);
at least a first one or more of the conductors (3/10/11, all the connected portions) is positioned along one or more edges of the flex circuit (Portion 3 is shown in figure 1 to follow the same path as the long edge of the flex substrate 1 and interpreted as along or close to the edge, interpreted as positioned along one or more edges. Portions 10 and 11 are present at the edge), extending across one or more of the flat sections and the folding sections of the flex circuit (3 is shown to overlap the length of the cells and folding sections 4 as identified in the second paragraph of the Summary section or paragraph 11), and carry current off the flex circuit (components 10/11 are called output terminals in the 3rd paragraph of Detailed Ways section, indicating generated charge (including current) if output from the circuit);
at least a second one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1 vertically extending from component 3) connected to the first one or more of the conductors (shown to connect with 3) extends from the first one or more of the conductors (3) to one or more of the solar cells in a string (small conductors attach to components 8/9 on the front of the panels, which connect to the cell strings);
at least a third one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1, vertically extending from component 5) connected to the second one or more of the conductors (small conductors described above) extends between adjacent ones of the solar cells in the string (electrical connection between the conductors and cells over the whole surface is present reading on this connectivity); and
at least a fourth one or more of the conductors (5) connected to the third one or more of the conductors connects between corner regions (interior corners of the cells) of two of the solar cells in the string (see figures 1 and 2).
WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
Moreover, while WANG et al teaches integrating the conducting layers within the flex substrate as discussed above, WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
GMUNDNER teaches a foldable solar cell apparatus with integrated conducting layers in figures 1, 2 and 3b and abstract, just as in WANG et al. GMUNDNER further teaches the conducting layers (10) to be present between the substrate (11) and an insulating top layer (12) while maintaining flexibility (as taught to be present in section 4 in paragraph [0027]) for protection (paragraph 27). While the top layer is not expressly taught to be insulating electrically (but would be obvious to do so based on both the lack of need for conduction therein but also the need to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment), the top layer (12) will still serve to insulate the conducting material from environmental impact, rendering it both physically insulating and electrically insulating.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a sandwich of an insulating layer with the flexible substrate of WANG et al around the conducting layers, as in GMUNDNER, so as to provide protection on both sides of the wiring with two different layers as opposed to just one with the same predictable benefit.
Claims 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al, in view of GMUNDNER, and TOMODO et al (US PG PUB 2019/0127089).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, while WANG et al and GMUNDNER shows the panels can be deployed (unfolded, as discussed Summary section and abstract respectively), modified WANG et al fails to show the use of mechanical attachment to a deployment system.
TOMODO et al teaches a solar array 11 of multiple panels comprising a flexible, foldable circuit 31, just as in modified WANG et al. TOMODO et al teaches shows the use of an expansion mechanism (deployment system), as shown in figures 2 and 3 and discussed in paragraphs 43 and 50-52.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to utilize the deployment mechanism of TOMODO et al, to expand the apparatus as in modified WANG et al, because the use of the mechanism enables an ease of deployment and allows for manipulation of larger panels for greater power generation.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, while WANG et al clearly shows the cells to be present on the flex circuit in figure 3, modified WANG et al fails to disclose the method of attachment to a deployment system.
TOMODO et al teaches a solar array 11 of multiple panels or sections comprising a flexible, foldable circuit 31, just as in modified WANG et al. Paragraph 74 discloses the use of an adhesive to bond the solar cells to the support structure 31/19. TOMODO et al teaches shows the panels to be mechanically connected (paragraph 52) to an expansion mechanism (deployment system), as shown in figures 2 and 3 and discussed in paragraphs 43 and 50-52.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to utilize the deployment mechanism of TOMODO et al, to expand the apparatus of modified WANG et al, because the use of the mechanism enables an ease of deployment and allows for manipulation of larger panels for greater power generation.
Regarding claim 15, paragraph 88 of TOMODO et al teaches the use of aluminum as the support.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
While the rejection of claims 1, 16 and 20 have been modified to address the new limitations, the arguments presented relevant to the art of record WANG et al are addressed below.
Beginning on page 7 of the remarks, the Applicant points to 3 reasons that WANG et al fails to disclose “first one or more of the conductors” when designating component 3. Components 3/10/11 are now designated as the first one or more of the conductors (connected in a single conductive run), obviating the 2nd reason (component 3 does not carry current off the flex circuit, but components 10/11 do).
The Applicant states, in a first reason, component 3 does not teach the first conductor is because it is not “positioned along the edges of the flex circuit” since it runs “in the interior of the flex circuit, not along the edges” and the broadest reasonable interpretation requires the conductor to be “at or very near the edge of the flex circuit”.
The Examiner disagrees. Component 3 runs closer to the edge than the center portion, reasonably indicating it is proximate and parallel to the edge of the flex circuit. The specification provides no indication as to what would be “positioned along the edges”. The Applicant is defining the location of the conductor using the relative language “along the edges” with no clear definition in the specification, but is asking the Examiner to adhere to a stringent definition where “along” conveys positioning or adjacency and means only at or very near the edge. Consistent with the first definition of “along” in the definition attached herein (Along Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/along. Accessed 22 June 2026.), along very reasonably includes extending or matching in length or direction of. Therefore, the parallel directionality of component 3 allows for a definition of extending along the edge of the flex circuit in this capacity. Components 10 and 11 are also indicated to extend along the edge in the interpretation the Applicant wishes to apply, wherein they are located “at or very near the edge of the flex circuit” as well.
The Applicant states, in a third reason on page 8, for component 3 of WANG et al to not read on the first conductor because the claimed limitation requires “a single conductor that performs all three functions together” (positioned along the edge, extending across folding and flat sections, and carrying off current).
It is unclear why a single conductor has to perform all the functionality. In the beginning of the argument, the Applicant indicates “a single conductor or set of conductors” must perform all three, then argues “a single conductor” is not present in WANG et al to perform the functions. It is unclear how the Applicant has determined the claim requires all functions to be present in a single conductor and it is unclear how the Applicant could discern components 3 and 10/11 because they are all the same literal conductor or conductive line (figure 1 rear side). Regardless of the argument, the either single conductor or set of conductors represented by component designations 3, 10, and 11 are now interpreted as the “first one or more of the conductors” of claims 1, 16 and 20 and interpreted to fulfill the claim as written.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 6/22/2026