DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 16, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al (CN 104443439A, wherein citations are from the English machine translation is provided herein), in view of GMUNDNER (US PG PUB 2015/0083191).
Regarding claim 1, WANG et al teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a flex circuit (2) for connecting solar cells (7); and
one or more solar cells connected to the flex circuit (7) wherein:
the flex circuit (2) is a single sheet (shown in figure 2) comprised of a flexible substrate (2) having conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) for making electrical connections to the solar cells (see 3rd paragraph of the Detailed Ways section on page 2), wherein the conductors are embedded in the flex circuit (taught in the second paragraph of the Summary wherein the circuitry is “integrated inside” the flexible substrate, wherein integrated is interpreted to require embedding);
the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section);
at least a first one or more of the conductors (3/10/11, all the connected portions) is positioned along one or more edges of the flex circuit (Portion 3 is shown in figure 1 to follow the same path as the long edge of the flex substrate 1 and interpreted as along or close to the edge, interpreted as positioned along one or more edges. Portions 10 and 11 are present at the edge), extending across one or more of the flat sections and the folding sections of the flex circuit (3 is shown to overlap the length of the cells and folding sections 4 as identified in the second paragraph of the Summary section or paragraph 11), and carry current off the flex circuit (components 10/11 are called output terminals in the 3rd paragraph of Detailed Ways section, indicating generated charge (including current) if output from the circuit);
at least a second one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1 vertically extending from component 3) connected to the first one or more of the conductors (shown to connect with 3) extends from the first one or more of the conductors (3) to one or more of the solar cells in a string (small conductors attach to components 8/9 on the front of the panels, which connect to the cell strings);
at least a third one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1, vertically extending from component 5) connected to the second one or more of the conductors (small conductors described above) extends between adjacent ones of the solar cells in the string (electrical connection between the conductors and cells over the whole surface is present reading on this connectivity); and
at least a fourth one or more of the conductors (5) connected to the third one or more of the conductors connects between corner regions (interior corners of the cells) of two of the solar cells in the string (see figures 1 and 2) across one of the folding sections (4) between adjacent ones of the flat sections (7).
WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
Moreover, while WANG et al teaches integrating the conducting layers within the flex substrate as discussed above, WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
GMUNDNER teaches a foldable solar cell apparatus with integrated conducting layers in figures 1, 2 and 3b and abstract, just as in WANG et al. GMUNDNER further teaches the conducting layers (10) to be present between the substrate (11) and an insulating top layer (12) while maintaining flexibility (as taught to be present in section 4 in paragraph [0027]) for protection (paragraph 27). While the top layer is not expressly taught to be insulating electrically (but would be obvious to do so based on both the lack of need for conduction therein but also the need to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment), the top layer (12) will still serve to insulate the conducting material from environmental impact, rendering it both physically insulating and electrically insulating.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a sandwich of an insulating layer with the flexible substrate of WANG et al around the conducting layers, as in GMUNDNER, so as to provide protection on both sides of the wiring with two different layers as opposed to just one with the same predictable benefit.
Regarding claim 2, WANG et al teaches the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section). The conductors are shown to be present in the flex circuit at the folded and flat sections in figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 3, WANG et al teaches the conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) comprise copper (6, 2nd paragraph Summary of the invention), a metal or an alloy (copper and component 5 is taught to be soldered to component 9, necessitating their being made of metal or an alloy to enable soldering, as soldering is a metal joining process).
Regarding claim 4, the second paragraph of the Summary of WANG et al makes clear the flat sections will remain flat upon folding due to the rigid substrate.
Regarding claim 5, figure 3 of GMUNDNER shows a z-fold configuration.
Regarding claim 6, figure 5 of GMUNDNER teaches the flexible circuit (support for the cells, 31) to extend perpendicular to the folds (33).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, GMUNDNER shows the flex circuit (11/10/12) to accommodate a plurality of cells and panels in figures 1 and 2, fulfilling the claims as written.
Regarding claim 9, WANG et al seemingly shows a single flexible substrate to bridge the folded sections in figures 1 and 2. GMUNDNER also shows a single flex circuit connection between the adjacent cells but shows the negative and positive wirings connections between the cells within the single circuit (3rd paragraph of Detailed ways). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize multiple flex circuits extending between the cells, as opposed to one, so as to separate the negative and positive electrode wirings into their own circuits for ease of access to the appropriate connector in case of malfunction. Moreover, it would have been obvious to utilize multiple connections, in lieu of a single connection, as they would provide the same predictable connectivity regardless of the number of flex circuits. MPEP section 2144.04 (VI) (B) details the mere duplication of a part (such as the flex circuit) has no patentable significance, since the use of two does not produce a new or unexpected result.
Regarding claim 10, the second paragraph of the Summary of WANG et al teaches the application of the solar cells to the flat circuit via gluing (mechanical attachment).
Regarding claim 16, WANG et al teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2), comprising:
connecting one or more solar cells (7) to a flex circuit (2), wherein:
the flex circuit (2) is a single sheet (shown in figure 2) comprised of a flexible substrate (2) having conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) for making electrical connections to the solar cells (see 3rd paragraph of the Detailed Ways section on page 2), wherein the conductors are embedded in the flex circuit (taught in the second paragraph of the Summary wherein the circuitry is “integrated inside” the flexible substrate, wherein integrated is interpreted to require embedding);
the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section);
at least a first one or more of the conductors (3/10/11, all the connected portions) is positioned along one or more edges of the flex circuit (Portion 3 is shown in figure 1 to follow the same path as the long edge of the flex substrate 1 and interpreted as along or close to the edge, interpreted as positioned along one or more edges. Portions 10 and 11 are present at the edge), extending across one or more of the flat sections and the folding sections of the flex circuit (3 is shown to overlap the length of the cells and folding sections 4 as identified in the second paragraph of the Summary section or paragraph 11), and carry current off the flex circuit (components 10/11 are called output terminals in the 3rd paragraph of Detailed Ways section, indicating generated charge (including current) if output from the circuit);
at least a second one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1 vertically extending from component 3) connected to the first one or more of the conductors (shown to connect with 3) extends from the first one or more of the conductors (3) to one or more of the solar cells in a string (small conductors attach to components 8/9 on the front of the panels, which connect to the cell strings);
at least a third one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1, vertically extending from component 5) connected to the second one or more of the conductors (small conductors described above) extends between adjacent ones of the solar cells in the string (electrical connection between the conductors and cells over the whole surface is present reading on this connectivity); and
at least a fourth one or more of the conductors (5) connected to the third one or more of the conductors connects between corner regions (interior corners of the cells) of two of the solar cells in the string (see figures 1 and 2) across one of the folding sections (4) between adjacent ones of the flat sections (7).
WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
Moreover, while WANG et al teaches integrating the conducting layers within the flex substrate as discussed above, WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
GMUNDNER teaches a foldable solar cell apparatus with integrated conducting layers in figures 1, 2 and 3b and abstract, just as in WANG et al. GMUNDNER further teaches the conducting layers (10) to be present between the substrate (11) and an insulating top layer (12) while maintaining flexibility (as taught to be present in section 4 in paragraph [0027]) for protection (paragraph 27). While the top layer is not expressly taught to be insulating electrically (but would be obvious to do so based on both the lack of need for conduction therein but also the need to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment), the top layer (12) will still serve to insulate the conducting material from environmental impact, rendering it both physically insulating and electrically insulating.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a sandwich of an insulating layer with the flexible substrate of WANG et al around the conducting layers, as in GMUNDNER, so as to provide protection on both sides of the wiring with two different layers as opposed to just one with the same predictable benefit.
Regarding claim 20, WANG et al teaches an apparatus (figures 1 and 2), comprising:
deploying one or more solar cells (7) connected to a flex circuit (2) (third, sixth and 7th paragraphs of the Detailed ways section), wherein:
the flex circuit (2) is a single sheet (shown in figure 2) comprised of a flexible substrate (2) having conductors (3, 5, 6, 9-11 and the vertical wiring running from components 3 and 5 shown in figure 1) for making electrical connections to the solar cells (see 3rd paragraph of the Detailed Ways section on page 2), wherein the conductors are embedded in the flex circuit (taught in the second paragraph of the Summary wherein the circuitry is “integrated inside” the flexible substrate, wherein integrated is interpreted to require embedding);
the flex circuit includes flat sections where the solar cells (7) are mounted to the flex circuit (final sentence of the second paragraph of the Summary section) and folding sections (4) between the flat sections (under where the cells are present) where the flex circuit is folded (further described in the second paragraph of the Summary section);
at least a first one or more of the conductors (3/10/11, all the connected portions) is positioned along one or more edges of the flex circuit (Portion 3 is shown in figure 1 to follow the same path as the long edge of the flex substrate 1 and interpreted as along or close to the edge, interpreted as positioned along one or more edges. Portions 10 and 11 are present at the edge), extending across one or more of the flat sections and the folding sections of the flex circuit (3 is shown to overlap the length of the cells and folding sections 4 as identified in the second paragraph of the Summary section or paragraph 11), and carry current off the flex circuit (components 10/11 are called output terminals in the 3rd paragraph of Detailed Ways section, indicating generated charge (including current) if output from the circuit);
at least a second one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1 vertically extending from component 3) connected to the first one or more of the conductors (shown to connect with 3) extends from the first one or more of the conductors (3) to one or more of the solar cells in a string (small conductors attach to components 8/9 on the front of the panels, which connect to the cell strings);
at least a third one or more of the conductors (small conductors shown on the back of figure 1, vertically extending from component 5) connected to the second one or more of the conductors (small conductors described above) extends between adjacent ones of the solar cells in the string (electrical connection between the conductors and cells over the whole surface is present reading on this connectivity); and
at least a fourth one or more of the conductors (5) connected to the third one or more of the conductors connects between corner regions (interior corners of the cells) of two of the solar cells in the string (see figures 1 and 2) across one of the folding sections (4) between adjacent ones of the flat sections (7).
WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
Moreover, while WANG et al teaches integrating the conducting layers within the flex substrate as discussed above, WANG et al is silent to the conducting layers being sandwiched between at least the flexible substrate and an insulating layer laminated on top of the at least one of the conducting layers and the flexible substrate.
GMUNDNER teaches a foldable solar cell apparatus with integrated conducting layers in figures 1, 2 and 3b and abstract, just as in WANG et al. GMUNDNER further teaches the conducting layers (10) to be present between the substrate (11) and an insulating top layer (12) while maintaining flexibility (as taught to be present in section 4 in paragraph [0027]) for protection (paragraph 27). While the top layer is not expressly taught to be insulating electrically (but would be obvious to do so based on both the lack of need for conduction therein but also the need to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment), the top layer (12) will still serve to insulate the conducting material from environmental impact, rendering it both physically insulating and electrically insulating.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a sandwich of an insulating layer with the flexible substrate of WANG et al around the conducting layers, as in GMUNDNER, so as to provide protection on both sides of the wiring with two different layers as opposed to just one with the same predictable benefit.
Claims 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al, in view of GMUNDNER, and TOMODO et al (US PG PUB 2019/0127089).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, while WANG et al and GMUNDNER shows the panels can be deployed (unfolded, as discussed Summary section and abstract respectively), modified WANG et al fails to show the use of mechanical attachment to a deployment system.
TOMODO et al teaches a solar array 11 of multiple panels comprising a flexible, foldable circuit 31, just as in modified WANG et al. TOMODO et al teaches shows the use of an expansion mechanism (deployment system), as shown in figures 2 and 3 and discussed in paragraphs 43 and 50-52.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to utilize the deployment mechanism of TOMODO et al, to expand the apparatus as in modified WANG et al, because the use of the mechanism enables an ease of deployment and allows for manipulation of larger panels for greater power generation.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, while WANG et al clearly shows the cells to be present on the flex circuit in figure 3, modified WANG et al fails to disclose the method of attachment to a deployment system.
TOMODO et al teaches a solar array 11 of multiple panels or sections comprising a flexible, foldable circuit 31, just as in modified WANG et al. Paragraph 74 discloses the use of an adhesive to bond the solar cells to the support structure 31/19. TOMODO et al teaches shows the panels to be mechanically connected (paragraph 52) to an expansion mechanism (deployment system), as shown in figures 2 and 3 and discussed in paragraphs 43 and 50-52.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to utilize the deployment mechanism of TOMODO et al, to expand the apparatus of modified WANG et al, because the use of the mechanism enables an ease of deployment and allows for manipulation of larger panels for greater power generation.
Regarding claim 15, paragraph 88 of TOMODO et al teaches the use of aluminum as the support.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 of the remarks, the Applicant argues component 5 of WANG et al represents an internal bus/confluence/output architecture not the claimed fourth conductor.
It is unclear how the descriptors confluence/output architecture or even the use of a diode within the connections do not describe a conductor according to the terms of the instant application, as the intent of a conductor is to serve the purpose of these terms listed and situated in the described location as required (between corner regions and across a folding section). It is unclear how the wiring component 5 is structurally different than a conductor of the described location wherein component 5 is clearly shown to extend between two corner regions and across folding region 4 and taught in the specification to be present in the flexible substrate which is present in the folding sections.
If the Applicant is arguing that component 5 is present on the cells themselves not extending the length of the array and between the cells, the Examiner disagrees. Figure 1 clearly shows component 5 to extend the horizontal length of the array and traverse folding sections 4. Moreover, the third paragraph of the Detailed Ways section clearly states that the circuit 5 (just like component 3) “are provided inside” the flexible substrate, making it clear component 5 reads on a fourth conductor connected to the third conductor (vertical extenders to connect to 5) and connecting between corner regions of two solar cells (corners of the interior cells) of two solar cells in the string (row of components 7) across a folding section 4.
On page 7, the Applicant argues the folding area (4) of WANG et al does not “cure this deficiency” as WANG has “no rigid substrate 1 and no laminated solar cells 7 on the upper and lower surfaces of the folding area 4, and that folding of the flexible solar cell array is completed in that area”, so the folding region lacks solar cells on the upper and lower surfaces indicating it cannot be the fourth conductor.
It is unclear what the Applicant is arguing. It is unclear how the new limitation requires cells to be present in the folding region. It is the interpretation of the Examiner that the conductor (which connects to and runs along the corners of two cells) is in the folding region not the cells. In this interpretation, component 5 is shown to extend over the length of the cells, connecting the negative portions of the string. The third paragraph of the Detailed Ways section teaches the conductors 5 to extend through the flexible substrate which is present between the cells allowing for folding in the area with only the flexible substrate, which also comprises the conductor interpreted as fourth herein.
On pages 7 and 8, the Applicant argues GMUNDNER and TOMODA et al do not teach the new limitation.
The Examiner agrees. WANG et al is interpreted to be sufficient.
On page 8, the Applicant argues TOMODA et al fails to teach mechanical deployment of the flex circuit citing figures 4 and 7 among others.
The Examiner disagrees. Figures 2 and 3 show the attachment of panels, such as WANG et al, mechanically attached wherein deployment shows unfolding of the panels and the associate supporting material by expanding the distance between the presser feet 22. It is unclear how this doesn’t show mechanical attachment for deployment. It is further unclear how one of ordinary skill would not look at this mechanism which is mechanically unfolding the foldable panels of TOMODA et al and envision using it to unfold the foldable panels of WANG et al, as modified by GMUNDNER.
The Applicant states the disclosures of TOMODA et al “at most, relate to the support-structure material and mounting details of Tomoda’s solar power generator” and do not “transform Tomoda’s extension-mast arrangement into the claimed flex-circuit and solar-cell attachment relationship”. It is unclear why the Applicant has selected passages not cited in the rejection and manipulated the combination with TOMODA et al as needing to utilize the mast arrangement of TOMODA et al. TOMODA et al teaches a deployment mechanism for deploying folded or foldable panels, and for this reason, the combination with WANG et al is motivated and reasonable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM et al (US PG PUB 2020/0176622) and ANDERSON et al (US PG PUB 20180097472) both detail extensive connections between adjacent cells at the corners of the device in conjunction with other connectors in foldable devices, as in claim 1. Moreover, ANDERSON et al provides protected connections between the cells reading on the conductors within a flex circuit.
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 9/19/2026