DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to the Election/Restriction mailed to applicant on 03/04/2026, applicant has made an election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 04/27/2026.
As a result of applicant’s election, claims 1 and 14-20 are examined in the present office action, and claims 2-13 have been withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to a non-elected Invention.
Applicant should note that the non-elected claims 2-13 will be rejoined if the linking claim 1 is later found as an allowable claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement, hereafter, IDS, filed on 02/11/2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the serial number, i.e., 2014293189, of the US Publication listed in the mentioned IDS is not correct. Applicant should note that there are seven numbers follow the year of each US Publication. In the mentioned IDS, there are only six numbers following the year of 2014. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings contain sixteen sheets of figures 1-24 were received on 03/26/2024. These drawings are objected by the examiner for the following reasons.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature thereof “the first signal line comprises: a plurality of first parts … the second direction” as recited in claim 15 (lines 1-3) and the feature thereof “each first signal line comprises: a plurality of first parts … the second direction” recited in claim 17 (lines 1-3), see Note below, must be shown or the features canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Note: While each of figures 18-23 shows that the display panel comprises a plurality of signals lines (16) which each signal line comprises a first part (17), a second part (18) and a third path (41); however, each of the mentioned figures does not show that each of the first signal line (16) comprises a plurality of first parts, a plurality of second parts and a plurality of third parts as claimed.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for the following reasons:
a) Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claim is rejected because the disclosure does not provide support for the feature that each first signal line comprises a plurality of first parts, a plurality of second parts and a plurality of third parts as claimed.
b) Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for the similar reason as set forth in element a) above.
c) The remaining claims are dependent upon the rejected base claim and thus inherit the deficiency thereof.
11. Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reasons:
a) Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reasons:
a1) the claim is indefinite because the feature thereof “the orthographic projection” (line 9) lacks a proper antecedent basis;
a2) the claim is indefinite by the feature thereof “a shape of the orthographic projection … is a folded line shape” (lines 9-10). What “first signal line” among the plurality of first signal lines (see the claim on line 6) is considered as “the first signal line” on line 9 of the claim? and
a3) the claim is indefinite because it is unclear from the claimed language the structural relationship(s) between the first base substrate to which scanning lines and signal lines are arranged/disposed on a surface thereof as recited in the claim on lines 2-8 and the plurality of sub-pixels as recited in its base claim 1 on lines 2-3.
b) Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by the feature thereof “wherein the first part, the second part and the third part … the second direction” (lines 4-6). What “first (or second or third) part” among the plurality of first (or second or third) parts is considered as “the first (or second or third) part” on line 4 of the claim?
c) Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the similar reason as set forth in element a2) above.
d) Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the similar reason as set forth in element b) above.
e) Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the similar reason as set forth in element b) above. In particular, because the base claim 1 recites a plurality of sub-pixels, see claim 1 on line 2, and the base claim 14 recites a plurality of first signal lines, see claim 14 on line 6, then which one is considered as “the sub-pixel” recited in claim 19 on line 2 and which one is considered as “the first signal line” as recited in claim 19 on line 4?
f) The remaining claims are dependent upon the rejected base claim and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishizumi et al (US Patent No. 7,382,426).
Ishizumi et al discloses a liquid crystal display unit.
Regarding present claim 1, the liquid crystal display unit as described in columns 4-6 and shown in figs. 1-2 and 5 comprises the following features;
a) a display panel (111) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels arrayed in an array wherein the sub-pixels have different colors, see columns 5-6 and figs 2 and 5; and
b) a moiré scattering layer (10) disposed at a light emitting side of the liquid crystal display panel (111), see columns 4-5 and fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1, 14 and 19-20, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (US Publication No. 2010/0066933) in view of Ishizumi et al (US Patent No. 7,382,426).
Oh et al discloses a liquid crystal display device.
a) Regarding present claim 1, the device as described by Oh et al in paragraphs [0030]-[0047] and shown in figs. 1-2 comprises a display panel having a plurality of sub-pixels arranged in an array wherein the sub-pixels have different colors.
The only feature missing from the device provided by Oh et al is that Oh et al does not disclose a Moiré scattering layer disposed on a light emitting surface of the display panel. However, a liquid crystal display device having a Moiré scattering layer disposed on a light emitting surface of a liquid crystal display panel is known to one skilled in the art as can be seen in the device provide by Ishizumi et al. In particular, as described in columns 4-6 and shown in figs. 1-2 and 5, Ishizumi et al discloses a liquid crystal display unit comprises a display panel (111) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels arrayed in an array wherein the sub-pixels have different colors, see columns 5-6 and figs 2 and 5; and a moiré scattering layer (10) disposed at a light emitting side of the liquid crystal display panel (111), see columns 4-5 and fig. 1. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device provided by Oh et al by using a moiré suppression layer disposed on a light emitting surface of the display panel as suggested by Ishizumi et al for the purpose of suppressing unnecessary light passing through the device to get images with better quality.
b) Regarding present claim 14, the display panel as described by Oh et al in paragraphs [0030]-[0038] and shown in fig. 1 comprises a first base substrate; a plurality of scanning lines (120), disposed on a side of the first base substrate facing the moiré suppression layer, extending along a first direction and arranged along a second direction; wherein the first direction intersects with the second direction; and a plurality of first signal lines (160), disposed on the side of the first base substrate facing the moiré suppression layer, arranged along the first direction, and intersecting with the scanning lines; wherein a shape of the orthographic projection of the first signal line on the first base substrate is a folded line shape.
c) Regarding present claim 19, the display panel as provided by Oh et al comprises a common electrode (123) comprising at least one slit located in the sub-pixel and running through the common electrode along a thickness direction of the common electrode; wherein the slit is parallel to the first signal line;
d) Regarding present claim 20, the plurality of first signal lines (16) comprises a plurality of data lines and a plurality of common electrode lines; wherein the data lines and the common electrode lines are arranged alternately.
Conclusion
17. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
18. The US Publication No. 2015/0116615 is cited as of interest in that it discloses a display device having a display panel having a plurality of sub-pixels arranged in an array wherein the sub-pixels has different colors and the display panel having a plurality of lines with folded shapes.
/THONG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872