DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-24, 26, 28-34, and 37-39 are pending.
Domestic Benefit
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Instant application is a continuation of PCT/US2022/045808, filed 10/05/2022. PCT/US2022/045808 claims domestic benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/252,849, filed 10/06/2021. Therefore, the effective filing date is 10/06/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024, 10/21/2024, 11/20/2024, 01/07/2025, 01/15/2025, 02/07/2025, 03/12/2025, 04/03/2025, and 05/05/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 07/02/2024 and 04/08/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because references EA 021565, JP 63316722, RU 2373210, Gerlach et al., and JP 2017509687 do not have English translations provided. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to in these references only has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 28, 34, and 39 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 reads “…
”. The word “and” is in the wrong place in the list.
Claims 34 and 39 read “…the adenosine receptor antagonist is selected from: …and salts thereof.” In order to be in the singular form, this should instead read “…the adenosine receptor antagonist is selected from the group consisting of: …and a salt thereof.” (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 28, Rule 1.141(a) states:
Two or more independent and distinct inventions may not be claimed in one national application, except that more than one species of an invention, not to exceed a reasonable number, may be specifically claimed in different claims in one national application, provided the application also includes an allowable claim generic to all the claimed species and all the claims to species in excess of one are written in dependent form (§ 1.75) or otherwise include all the limitations of the generic claim.
Claim 28 claims a large number of species of the generic claim, but in independent format. Multiple inventions may not be claimed in a single application unless they are species claims which are dependent upon the larger, generic claim. In the past, the Office has held a “reasonable number” to be five (5) species. The present claim contains well over this number of species. One could envision forty pages of species compounds in a single claim which is not dependent upon any genus claim. This would cause undue burden to the Office in examining such a large claim. Therefore, it is recommended that claim 28 either be dependent from a larger, genus claim, or, that claim 28 incorporate all of the limitations of the genus claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24, 26, 29-34, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for compounds of Formula (I) where A is N(RA),
, or
; X is CH; and L is C3-C7 alkylene chain, wherein one, two, or three methylene units is optionally and independently replaced with -O-, -N(R1)-, -C(O)-, -C(O)O-, -C(O)N(R1)-, -S(O)2-, triazole, -CH=CH-, or -C≡C-, does not reasonably provide enablement for compounds of Formula (I). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
To be enabling, the specification of the patent application must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561 (Fd. Cir. 1993). Explaining what is meant by "undue experimentation," the Federal Circuit has stated that:
The test is not merely quantitative, since a considerable amount of experimentation is permissible, if it is merely routine, or if the specification in question provides a reasonable amount of guidance with respect to the direction in which experimentation should proceed to enable the determination of how to practice a desired embodiment of the claimed invention. PPG v. Guardian, 75 F.3d 1558, 1564 (Fed. Cir. 1996). As pointed out by the court in In re Angstadt, 537 F.2d 498 at 504 (CCPA 1976), the key word is "undue", not "experimentation".
The factors that may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation are set forth In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 wherein, citing Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Apls. 1986) at 547 the court recited eight factors:
1- the quantity of experimentation necessary,
2- the amount of direction or guidance provided,
3- the presence or absence of working examples,
4- the nature of the invention,
5- the state of the prior art,
6- the relative skill of those in the art,
7- the predictability of the art, and
8- the breadth of the claims
These factors are always applied against the background understanding that scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability involved. In re Fisher, 57 CCPA 1099, 1108, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (1970). Keeping that in mind, the Wands factors are relevant to the instant fact situation for the following reasons:
The nature of the invention
The nature of the invention relates to compounds of Formula (I) in claim 1. Such compounds are taught to be useful for inhibiting ENT1. This invention is also directed to compositions and methods comprising said compounds.
Predictability of the art
The hypothetical compounds in claim 1 would be unpredictable in terms of one skilled in the art being able to synthesize every possible compound claimed in instant claim 1. It is well established that “the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved,” and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
In terms of the law, MPEP 2107.03 states “evidence of pharmacological or other biological activity of a compound will be relevant to an asserted therapeutic use if there is a reasonable correlation between the activity in question and the asserted utility. Cross v. Iizuka, 753 F.2d 1040, 224 USPQ 739 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Jolles, 628 F.2d 1322, 206 USPQ 885 (CCPA 1980); Nelson v. Bowler, 626 F.2d 853, 206 USPQ 881 (CCPA 1980).” If correlation is lacking, it cannot be relied upon, Ex parte Powers, 220 USPQ 924; Rey-Bellet and Spiegelberg v. Engelhardt v. Schindler, 181 USPQ 453; Knapp v. Anderson, 177 USPQ 688. Indeed, the correlation must have been established “at the time the tests were performed”, Hoffman v. Klaus, 9 USPQ2d 1657.
Level of skill in the art
An ordinary artisan in the area of drug development would have experience in synthesizing and screening chemical compounds for particular activities, such as a medical doctor or chemist. Screening of new drug candidates, while complex, is routine in the art. The process of finding new drugs that have in vitro activity against a particular biological target, (i.e., receptor, enzyme, etc.) is well known. Additionally, while high throughput screening assays can often be employed, developing a therapeutic method, as claimed, is generally not well-known or routine, given the complexity of certain biological systems.
4. The breadth of the claims
The scope of the claims involves compounds of Formula (I), shown below.
Claim 1 is very broad in the number of variables and the options of substituents for each variable. There is an indefinite amount of hypothetical compounds included in claim 1.
5. The amount of direction provided, the presence or absence of working examples, and the quantity of experimentation necessary
The specification only provides the synthesis of about 50 that read on Formula (I). In all of the compounds synthesized, X is CH; A is N(RA),
, or
; and L is unsubstituted C3-C7 alkylene chain, wherein when a methylene unit is replaced with 5-membered heteroaryl, the heteroaryl is triazole. Additionally, examples are only provided where N(RA) is N-Me. However, it would be assumed that the inventors are also enabled for N(RA) being N-C1-6 alkyl or N-halogen, since these substituents are similar in size and reactivity.
Synthesis methods are not taught in the specification to provide for the aforementioned variables to include all of the possible substituents listed in the claims. It would be expected that the varying ring sizes and aromaticity of the rings (e.g., A) and heteroatoms in the rings (e.g., A, L) within the macrocycle would change the reactivity of the compounds, and therefore would require alternate synthesis methods. It could also be possible that some combinations of compounds may not be able to be synthesized due to their instability (e.g., optional substituents of L, RA, RB, RC are large groups causing steric hindrance). It would require one skilled in the art, such as a chemist, to perform thousands of reactions to determine which compounds of Formula (I) can be prepared and would likely require synthesis methods other than those provided in the specification. This is undue experimentation given the limited guidance and direction provided by Applicants.
Accordingly, the instant claims do not comply with the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a), since to practice the claimed invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation, with no assurance of success.
Claims 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of treating choriocarcinoma, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of treating any cancer. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is undue. These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) breadth of the claims; (b) nature of the invention; (c) state of the prior art; (d) level of one of ordinary skill in the art; (e) level of predictability in the art; (f) amount of direction provided by the inventor or joint inventor; (g) existence of working examples; and (h) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. {See Ex parte Forman 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986); and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988)}.
The above factors, regarding the present invention, are summarized as follows:
Breadth of the claims
The breadth of the claim includes a method any cancer in a patient, comprising administering a compound of the Formula (I).
Nature of the invention
The nature of the invention is performance of a method of treating cancer in a patient, comprising administering a compound of Formula (I).
State of the prior art
No single drug, or group of structurally similar drugs, has been discovered that is effective in treating the myriad of cancers in a patient, including, but not limited to, solid cancers and non-solid cancers, benign and malignant solid tumors and benign and malignant non-solid tumors, metastatic or non-metastatic, familial or sporadic, biliary tract cancer, brain cancer (including glioblastomas and medulloblastomas), breast cancer, carcinoid, cervical cancer, choriocarcinoma, colon cancer, colorectal cancer, endometrial cancer, esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, glioma, head and neck cancer, intraepithelial neoplasms (including Bowen's disease and Paget's disease), liver cancer, lung cancer, neuroblastomas, oral cancer (including squamous cell carcinoma), ovarian cancer (including those arising from epithelial cells, stromal cells, germ cells and mesenchymal cells), pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, rectal cancer, renal cancer (including adenocarcinoma and Wilms tumor), sarcomas (including leiomyosarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, liposarcoma, fibrosarcoma and osteosarcoma), skin cancer (including melanoma, Kaposi's sarcoma, basocellular cancer and squamous cell cancer), testicular cancer including germinal tumors (seminomas, and non-seminomas such as teratomas and
choriocarcinomas), stromal tumors, germ cell tumors, thyroid cancer (including thyroid adenocarcinoma and medullary carcinoma) urothelial cancer, lymphoid disorders, myeloid disorders, and AIDS associated leukemias, acute lymphocytic leukemia and chronic lymphoproliferative disorders (e.g., lymphomas, myelomas, and chronic lymphoid leukemias), Hodgkin's disease, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma lymphomas, and lymphocytic lymphomas, T cell chronic lymphoid leukemias, and B cell chronic lymphoid leukemias (Specification, pages 36-37). See In re Hokum, 226 USPQ 353 (ComrPats 1985).
Level of one of ordinary skill in the art
The artisans performing the inventor’s or joint inventor’s method of treating a cancer in a patient, comprising administering a compound of Formula (I), would be a collaborative team of synthetic chemists and/or health practitioners, possessing commensurate degree level and/or skill in the art, as well as several years of professional experience.
Level of predictability in the art
The nature of the invention and predictability in the art, with specific reference to cancer, Ex parte Kranz, 19 USPQ2d 1216, 1219 notes the “general unpredictability of the field [of] ...anti-cancer treatment.” In re Application of Hozumi et al., 226 USPQ 353 notes the “fact that the art of cancer chemotherapy is highly unpredictable”. Synthetic organic chemistry is quite unpredictable. See In re Marzocchi and Horton 169 USPQ at 367 ¶3. Similarly, it is well established that “[T]he scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved, and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor”. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
Amount of direction provided by the inventor
The invention lacks direction with respect to making and/or using (performing) a method of treating a cancer in a patient, comprising administering a compound of Formula (I). At best, an “effective amount” is defined in paragraph [065] as being “an amount of a substance (e.g., a therapeutic agent, composition, and/or formulation) that elicits a desired biological response”. There is no guidance provided that would enable one skilled in the art to treat all of the above listed cancers.
Existence of working examples
The disclosure is insufficient to allow extrapolation of the limited examples to enable performing the instantly recited method of treating cancer in a patient, comprising administering a compound of Formula (I).
Similarly, according to the specification, compounds of Formula (I) are capable of treating any cancer, including solid cancers and non-solid cancers, benign and malignant solid tumors and benign and malignant non-solid tumors, metastatic or non-metastatic, familial or sporadic, biliary tract cancer, brain cancer (including glioblastomas and medulloblastomas), breast cancer, carcinoid, cervical cancer, choriocarcinoma, colon cancer, colorectal cancer, endometrial cancer, esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, glioma, head and neck cancer, intraepithelial neoplasms (including Bowen's disease and Paget's disease), liver cancer, lung cancer, neuroblastomas, oral cancer (including squamous cell carcinoma), ovarian cancer (including those arising from epithelial cells, stromal cells, germ cells and mesenchymal cells), pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, rectal cancer, renal cancer (including adenocarcinoma and Wilms tumor), sarcomas (including leiomyosarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, liposarcoma, fibrosarcoma and osteosarcoma), skin cancer (including melanoma, Kaposi's sarcoma, basocellular cancer and squamous cell cancer), testicular cancer including germinal tumors (seminomas, and non-seminomas such as teratomas and
choriocarcinomas), stromal tumors, germ cell tumors, thyroid cancer (including thyroid adenocarcinoma and medullary carcinoma) urothelial cancer, lymphoid disorders, myeloid disorders, and AIDS associated leukemias, acute lymphocytic leukemia and chronic lymphoproliferative disorders (e.g., lymphomas, myelomas, and chronic lymphoid leukemias), Hodgkin's disease, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma lymphomas, and lymphocytic lymphomas, T cell chronic lymphoid leukemias, and B cell chronic lymphoid leukemias (Specification, pages 36-37).
However, the specification fails to set forth any convincing in vitro and/or in vivo assays corroborating the alleged activity in association with any of the aforementioned diseases. The specification only provides examples for inhibiting ENT1 and inhibiting cell proliferation in JAR cells (choriocarcinoma) comprising administering compounds of Formula (I). There is insufficient disclosure to reasonably conclude that the method of treating any cancer in a patient, comprising administering a compound of Formula (I), as recited, would contribute to treatment of any the aforementioned diseases. The inventor or joint inventor has neither provided convincing data for any patient population, nor indicated any art recognized correlation between the disclosed data and the breadth of the claim.
Quantity of experimentation needed
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the invention was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use (perform) the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. See In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
One skilled in the art, such as a medical doctor, would be required to perform hundreds of clinical trials and in vivo or in vitro assays in order to determine which of the indefinite number of compounds of Formula (I) would be capable of treating which cancers. Even in vitro and in vivo assays do not always correlate to efficacy in humans and are not generally predictive of clinical efficacy.
The determination that undue experimentation would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing all the above noted factual considerations. See In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404. These factual considerations are discussed comprehensively in MPEP § 2164.08 (scope or breadth of the claims), § 2164.05(a) (nature of the invention and state of the prior art), § 2164.05(b) (level of one of ordinary skill), § 2164.03 (level of predictability in the art and amount of direction provided by the inventor or joint inventor), § 2164.02 (the existence of working examples) and § 2164.06 (quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure).
Based on a preponderance of the evidence presented herein, the conclusion that the inventor or joint inventor is insufficiently enabled for a method of treating any cancer in a patient, comprising administering a compound of Formula (I), is clearly justified.
Claims 1-24, 26, 29-34, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-5, and 26, the phrase "optionally substituted" renders the claims indefinite because the claims include elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claims unascertainable. Neither the claims nor the specification define the optional substituents. Therefore, there are an indefinite number of compounds that read on Formula (I). Claims 6-24, 29-34, and 37-39 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim and failing to define all optional substituents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-16, 19-22, 24, 26, 29-34, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deligny et al. (WO 2021204896 A1), with an effective filing date of 07 April 2020, hereinafter referred to as Reference ‘896, cited by Applicant in IDS.
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Reference ‘896 teaches Formulas IIa1, on page 20 and shown below. Formula IIa1 reads on instant claims 1, 3, 7, 9-12, 19-21, 24, and 26.
Reference ‘896 teaches, in Table 1b and shown below, compound 15, which reads on instant claims 1, 2, 6, 9-11, 19, 20, 21, 24, and 26.
Reference ‘896 teaches, in Table 1a on page 26, the compounds shown below, which reads on instant claims 1, 3, 7-15, 20, 21, 24, and 26.
Reference ‘896 teaches, in Table 1a on page 26, the compound shown below, which reads on instant claims 1, 3, 7-16, 20, 21, 24, and 26.
Reference ‘896 teaches, in Table 1b, compound 19 shown below, which reads on instant claims 1, 2, 6, 9-12, 19-22, and 26.
Additional compounds that read on the instant claims are shown in Tables 1a and 1b. Reference ‘896 teaches, in claim 21, a pharmaceutical composition comprising said compounds, as in instant claim 29. Reference claims 21-24, 26, and 27 read directly on instant claims 30-34 and 37-39.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Deligny et al. (cited above, Reference ‘896), as applied to claims 1-3, 6-16, 19-22, 24, 26, 29-34, and 37-39 above.
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Reference ‘896 teaches compounds in Tables 1a and 1b that differ from instant compounds in that they are homologues of the instant compounds. For example, on page 36 and shown below, reference compound 8 differs from instant compound 19 (in claim 28) in that it is a homologue of the instant compound.
The CCPA has defined a homologous series as a family of chemically related compounds, the composition of which varies from member to member by a -CH2 (one atom of carbon and two hydrogen). In re Coes, Jr. (CCPA 1949) 173 F2d 1012, 81 USPQ 369. The Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia applied a broader definition and defined a homolog (homologue) as a member of a series of compounds in which each member differs from the next member by a constant number of atoms. Carr. Pats.v. Deutsche Gold-und-Sllber, etc. (CADC 1968) 397 F2d 656,157 USPQ 549.
The "Hass-Henze Doctrine" evolved from three CCPA cases, viz., In re Hass et al. (CCPA 1944) 141 F2d 122 and 127, 60 USPQ 544 and 548; and In re Henze (CCPA 1950) 181 F2d 198, 85 USPQ 261. In the Henze decision, the Court said:
"The nature of homologues and the close relationship the physical and chemical properties of one member of a series bears to adjacent members is such that a presumption of unpatentability arises against a claim directed to a composition of matter, the adjacent homologue of which is old in the art. The burden is on the applicant to rebut that presumption by a showing that the claimed compound possesses unobvious or unexpected beneficial properties not actually possessed by the prior art homologue. It is immaterial that the prior art homologue may not be recognized or known to be useful for the same purpose or to possess the same properties as the claimed compound. The CCPA concluded that because the characteristics normally possessed by members of a homologous series are principally the same, varying gradually from member to member, chemists knowing the properties of one member of a series would in general know what to expect in adjacent members so that a mere difference in degree is not the marked superiority which will ordinarily remove the unpatentability of adjacent homologues of old substances. Contra, where no use for the prior art compound is known. In m Stemniski (CCPA 1971) 444 F2d 581, 170 USPQ 343, and cases cited therein. Whether a compound is patentable over a prior art homologue or isomer is a question to be decided in each case. In re Hass et al., supra."
The 'Hass-Henze Doctrine" stands for the proposition that, "If that which appears at first blush to be obvious though new is shown by evidence not to be obvious then the evidence prevails over surmise or unsupported contention and rejection based on obviousness must fail." In re Papesch (CCPA 1963) 315 F2d 381, 137 USPQ 43, 48. The presumption that homologues are unpatentably obvious is an inference of fact, viz., that adjacent homologs are expected to have similar properties which places a 'burden of persuasion' on the applicant who asserted a contrary fact. In re Mills (CCPA 1960) 281 F2d 218, 126 USPQ 513.
Compounds that differ only by the presence of an extra methyl group are homologs. Homologs are of such close structural similarity that the disclosure of a compound renders prima facie obvious its homolog. The homolog is expected to be capable of preparation by the same method and to have the same properties. This expectation is then deemed the motivation for preparing homologs. Homologs are obvious even in the absence of a specific teaching to methylate, In re Wood 199 USPQ 137; In re Hoke 195 USPQ 148; In re Lohr 137 USPQ 548; In re Magerlein 202 USPQ 473; In re Wiechert 152 USPQ 249; Ex parte Henkel 130 USPQ 474; In re Fauque 121 USPQ 425; In re Druey 138 USPQ 39. In all of these cases, the close structural similarity of two compounds differing by only one (or two) methyl groups sufficed; no specific teaching to methylate was present or required. None of these cases has been overruled and indeed the examiner is unaware of any post Lohr case in which motivation is required to put a methyl group on an old compound.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9-11, 19-21, 24, 26, and 29-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 272, 273, and 304-308 of copending Application No. 18/612,120 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Application ‘120 teaches, in claims 272 and 273, compound 1, shown below, which reads on instant claims 1, 2, 6, 9-11, 19-21, 24, and 26.
Claims 304-308 teach pharmaceutical compositions thereof, a method of inhibiting ENT1, and a method of treating cancer comprising administering Compound 1, as in instant claims 29-31.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9-11, 19-21, 24, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/624,336 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Application ‘336 teaches, in claim 1, compound (R)-11, shown below, which reads on instant claims 1, 2, 6, 9-11, 19-21, 24, and 26.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-24, 26, 28-34, and 37-39 are rejected.
/R.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624