DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a different, a second contact surface” in the penultimate line is idiomatically incorrect and should be -a different, second contact surface-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 9 and 13 are objected to because the limitation “in particular a silicon, carbon or DLC coating” is indefinite as to whether this list of materials is required or optional. Claim 9 has been read as -produced from a material containing a silicon, carbon or DLC coating-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the same anchor pallet” in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitation has been read as -the anchor pallet- because claim 1 only recites one “anchor pallet,” so “the anchor pallet” can only refer to that recited “anchor pallet.”
Claim 3 recites “the different contact surfaces of the anchor pallets-. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because claim 1 recites “different contact surfaces of an anchor pallet-. Claim 3’s limitation has been read as -the different contact surfaces of the anchor pallet-.
Claim 8 recites “a surface facing radially outward- in the last line. Whether this recitation refers to a new structure or the earlier recited structure is unclear because claim 5 already recites “a surface facing radially outward.” In claim 8, the limitation has been read as -the surface facing radially outward-.
Claim 10 recites “each surface of an escape wheel tooth, which is facing radially outward” in lines 3-4. This limitation lacks antecedent basis because no tooth was previously described as having a surface or multiple surfaces, so “each surface” does not have antecedent support. The limitation has been read as -a surface facing radially outward of each escape wheel tooth-.
Claim 14 recites “a bevel” in line 3. Whether this recitation refers to a new structure or the earlier recited structure is unclear. The limitation has been read as -the bevel-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 8-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US 20110045249).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches (Figs. 3, 6-7) an anchor escapement (Fig. 1) for a mechanical clockwork (title) having an anchor (200 and [0067]: “pallet fork”) pivotable around a bearing axis of the anchor ([0067] and definition of a pallet fork) and an escape wheel (100) rotatable around an axis of rotation (center axis of 100)), wherein the escape wheel (100) has successive escape wheel teeth (101) in a direction of rotation, which extend over a first component height (height of 101 going across 112) and the anchor (200) has anchor pallets (210) extending over a second component height (height of 210 going across 212) at ends (212) of the anchor, which face toward the escape wheel (Figs. 6c, 7b) and are arranged to mesh with the escape wheel teeth (Fig. 7b and [0067]) of the escape wheel, so that when the anchor escapement is in operation, the escape wheel teeth slide ([0067]) in succession on the anchor pallets, characterized in that the escape wheel teeth (101) and ends (212) of the anchor pallets facing toward the escape wheel (100) are configured such that the escape wheel teeth slide during operation of the anchor escapement (Fig. 6) along at least two different contact surfaces (212, 215) of an anchor pallet ([0069]-[0070]), either along a first contact surface (212) of the anchor pallet or along a different, second contact surface (215) of the same anchor pallet.
Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches (Figs. 6-7) the anchor escapement according to claim 2, characterized in that the different contact surfaces (212, 215) of the anchor pallet (210) are arranged spaced apart from one another (Fig. 6a: 215 is spaced apart from the left end of 212) at the ends of the anchor pallets facing toward the escape wheel (Fig. 6) and along the second component height (height of 210 going across 212).
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches (Figs. 6-7) the anchor escapement according to claim 1, characterized in that the escape wheel teeth (101) are each formed having one or more contact edges (114-115) which slide along a respective contact surface (212 215) of the anchor pallets (210) during operation of the anchor escapement ([0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches (Figs. 6-7) the anchor escapement according to claim 4, characterized in that the one or more contact edges (114-115) of the escape wheel teeth (101) are formed by a bevel of a surface (112) facing radially outward of an escape wheel tooth (101). Fig. 7b shows that a bevel is formed on the escape wheel tooth 101 due to the escape wheel tooth being tilted with respect to the pallet 210.
Regarding claim 8, Sato teaches (Figs. 6-7) the anchor escapement according to claim 5, characterized in that a position of the contact edge (114-115) along the first component height (height of 101 going across 112) of the escape wheel tooth (101) is defined by a shoulder (111) formed on the surface (112) facing radially outward.
Regarding claim 9, Sato teaches (Fig. 7) the anchor escapement according to claim 4, characterized in that the escape wheel (121, 123 of 100) are produced from a material containing silicon, in particular a silicon, carbon, or DLC coating ([0064]: “the first and third metal layers 121, 123 include metals…the matrix of particles or fibers of ceramics such as…silicon carbide…it is desirable for the first and third metal layers 121, 123…to be formed of a hard material”).
Regarding claim 13, Sato teaches the anchor escapement according to claim 4, characterized in that the one or more contact edges (121, 123 forming 112 in Fig. 7) of the escape wheel teeth are produced with a hard material coating, in particular a silicon, carbon, or DLC coating ([0064]: “the first and third metal layers 121, 123 include metals…the matrix of particles or fibers of ceramics such as…silicon carbide…it is desirable for the first and third metal layers 121, 123…to be formed of a hard material”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Gluche (EP 3001256).
Regarding claim 6, Sato discloses the anchor escapement according to claim 5.
Sato does not show the bevel being formed by a non-verticality of the surface facing radially outward of the escape wheel tooth, wherein the non-verticality is in a range between 0.1 degrees and 3 degrees.
Gluche discloses (Fig. 5) a bevel (23) of a pallet (2) being formed by a non-verticality of a pallet surface facing radially outward of the pallet, wherein the non-verticality is below 3 degrees, and also below 0.5 degrees ([0021] of the translation), so that the pallet is beveled with respect to an escape wheel tooth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that in making two faces have a relative incline with respect to each other, there is a finite number of possible solutions for forming a bevel such that a first face and a second face have a relative incline with respect to one another: the first face may have a non-vertical bevel with respect to the second face, or the second face may have a non-vertical bevel with respect to the first face.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teeth and pallet of Sato so that the bevel is formed by a non-verticality of the tooth surface facing radially outward of the escape wheel tooth, wherein the non-verticality is in a range between 0.1 degrees and 3 degrees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification as an identifiable, predictable symmetric variation of Gluche’s solution so as to define a precise contact surface that accelerates manufacturing time to improve production ([0038]-[0039] of Gluche).
Regarding claims 10 and 14, Sato discloses (Figs. 6-7) the anchor escapement according to claim 4, characterized in that a surface facing radially outward of each escape wheel tooth is formed along the first component height (height of 101, across 112) with the first contact edge (114) and the second contact edge (115), wherein a bevel of the tooth surface is implemented by the anchor being designed to be tiltable around its bearing axis. Paragraph [0073] explains that the anchor (210) will have variable inclination. Because the anchor is rigid, its tilting must come from the bearing axis about which the anchor rotates and is connected to other components.
Sato does not show the anchor tilting by at least 0.4 degrees.
Gluche discloses (Fig. 5) a bevel (23) of an anchor (2) being tilted by 0.5 degrees ([0021] of the translation).
The courts have held that wherein claimed ranges are close to a range disclosed in the prior art, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed range obvious and any nominal differences virtually negligible absent any criticality. See In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018) and MPEP 2144.05.I.
As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the anchor of Sato so that it is tiltable about its bearing axis by at least 0.4 degrees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so as to define a precise contact surface that accelerates manufacturing time to improve production ([0038]-[0039] of Gluche).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Calame (US 20190302696).
Regarding claim 7, Sato discloses the anchor escapement according to claim 4.
Sato does not show each escape wheel tooth being formed having exactly one contact edge and the contact edges of at least two escape wheel teeth being formed at positions that deviate from one another along the first component height.
Calame teaches escape wheel teeth formed having exactly one contact edge ([0027]: “contact surface 11”) and the contact edges of at least two escape wheel teeth formed at positions that deviate from one another along a first component height ([0027]: “each recessed surface 12 and each contact surface 11 of the teeth are distributed alternatively symmetrically around a median horizontal plane”). See also Figs. 6-7.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Fukuda et al. (US 20180231936).
Regarding claims 11-12 Sato discloses the anchor escapement according to claim 1, wherein the escapement is for a timepiece having the escapement (title and [0001]).
Sato does not specifically disclose a wristwatch or a pocket watch.
Fukuda teaches a wristwatch having a similar anchor escapement ([0002], [0010]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Sato’s escapement in Fukuda’s wristwatch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution create a complete, functional watch .
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-08-17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Sato does not disclose a same pallet having two different contact surfaces because “a corner or a ridge…is not a surface.” A “surface” is simply a part (see Surface.pdf). Parts 212 and 215 are two different parts that the escape wheel teeth slide on ([0069] of Sato: “slides on the impact surface 212” and [0070]: “215 of the pallet 210 slides”). As such, 212 and 215 are two different contact surfaces.
Applicant argues that escape teeth “cannot slide along a corner whose longitudinal extension in the operating direction of the escape wheel 100 is zero.” Sato’s teeth are explicitly disclosed to slide on 212 and 215 ([0069]-[0070]). Applicant’s remark regarding the corner and longitudinal extension are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that Sato teaches only sliding on a singular sliding surface 212 of one pallet, citing [0069] of Sato. However, [0070] discloses that the teeth also slide on 215 of the pallet, which is different from 212.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831