DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7 and 9-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-10 of copending Application No. 18/616,591.
With respect to claim 1:
Copending Application No. 18/616,591
Application No. 18/616,574
1. A position adjustment apparatus
comprising:
1. A position adjustment apparatus
comprising:
a housing including a first space in
which a first projector is disposed and a
second space in which a second projector
is disposed;
a housing including a first space in
which a first projector is disposed and a
second space in which a second projector
is disposed;
a first rotary table on which the first
projector is placed and which is rotatably
supported by the housing about a first
rotation axis; and
a first rotary table on which the first
projector is placed and which is rotatably
supported by the housing about a first
rotation axis; and
a second rotary table on which the
second projector is placed and which is
rotatably supported by the housing about
a second rotation axis parallel to the first
rotation axis, wherein
a second rotary table on which the
second projector is placed and which is
rotatably supported by the housing about
a second rotation axis parallel to the first
rotation axis, wherein
the housing includes a first
opening through which first image light.
the housing includes a first
opening through which first image light
projected from the first projector passes, and a second opening through which second image light projected from the second projector passes,
projected from the first projector passes,
and a second opening through which
second image light projected from the
second projector passes,
a rotation direction of the first
rotary table and a rotation direction of the
second rotary table are opposite to each
other
a rotation direction of the first
rotary table and a rotation direction of the
second rotary table are opposite to each
other, and
rotation of the first rotary table and
rotation of the second rotary table are in
conjunction with each other and the first rotary table and the second rotary table are configured to be replaceable with respect to the housing.
rotation of the first rotary table and
rotation of the second rotary table are in
conjunction with each other.
Claim 2 of the application corresponds to claim 2 of the copending Application No. 18/616,591.
Claim 3 of the application corresponds to claim 3 of the copending Application No. 18/616,591.
Claim 7 of the application corresponds to claim 5 of the copending Application No. 18/616,591.
Claim 9 of the application corresponds to claim 6 of the copending Application No. 18/616,591.
Claim 10 of the application corresponds to claim 7 of the copending Application No. 18/616,591.
Claim 11 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the copending Application No. 18/616,591.
Claim 12 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the copending Application No. 18/616,591.
Claim 13 of the application corresponds to claim 10 of the copending Application No. 18/616,591.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei (CN 113985692), citations refer to provided English translation.
Consider claim 1, Wei clearly teaches a position adjustment apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising: a housing including a first space in which a first projector is disposed and a second space in which a second projector is disposed; (Fig. 1: projection device structure houses first and second projectors 10, pg. 7 lines 2-3.) a first rotary table (14 in fig.1) on which the first projector is placed and which is rotatably supported by the housing about a first rotation axis; (Figs. 1, 3: Each projector 10 is coupled to a rotation mechanism parallel to one another, pg. 7 line 39 to pg. 8 line 26.) and a second rotary table (see 14 in fig.1) on which the second projector is placed and which is rotatably supported by the housing about a second rotation axis parallel to the first rotation axis (Figs. 1, 3: Each projector 10 is coupled to a rotation mechanism parallel to one another, pg. 7 line 39 to pg. 8 line 26.), wherein the housing includes a first opening through which first image light projected from the first projector passes, and a second opening through which second image light projected from the second projector passes (Fig. 1: Base 1 has openings in front of projectors 10, pg. 7 lines 2-6.)
a rotation direction of the first rotary table and a rotation direction of the second rotary table are opposite to each other, rotation of the first rotary table and rotation of the second rotary table are in conjunction with each other (Fig. 1: Projectors 10 are rotated together so that the lenses are close to gentry 13, pg. 9 lines 20-27.).
Consider claim 2, Wei clearly teaches: a first fixing tool and a second fixing tool configured to fix the first projector to the first rotary table, (Figs. 1, 3: The projector 10 is fixed to the rotation mechanism by rotating arms 28 arranged on both sides of the projector 10, pg. 8 lines 2-10.) wherein
the first rotary table includes a first fixing portion to which the first projector is fixed by the first fixing tool, and a second fixing portion to which the first projector is fixed by the second fixing tool, (Figs. 1, 3: Pull rods 25 hold the projector 10 in the connecting shell 4 on both sides, pg. 8 lines 12-26.) and the first fixing portion and the second fixing portion are disposed at positions where an optical axis of a projection optical apparatus that projects the first image light overlaps the first rotation axis in the first projector when the first rotary table to which the first projector is fixed is viewed along the first rotation axis. (Figs. 1, 3: The optical axis of the lens of projector 10 is centered over the rotation mechanism.).
Consider claim 7, Wei clearly teaches a first fixing member configured to fix the first rotary table in the rotation direction of the first rotary table and a direction along the first rotation axis; (Figs. 1, 3: Fixed disk 21 couples the rotating plate 14 to the base 1, pg. 7 line 39 to pg. 8 line 4.) and a second fixing member configured to fix the second rotary table in the rotation direction of the second rotary table and a direction along the second rotation axis. (Figs. 1, 3: Fixed disk 21 couples the rotating plate 14 to the base 1, pg. 7 line 39 to pg. 8 line 4.)
Consider claim 9, Wei clearly teaches the housing includes a partition wall configured to partition the first space and the second space. (Fig. 1: Door frame 13 divides the base 1, pg. 7 lines 17-19.)
Consider claim 12, Wei clearly teaches each of the first opening and the second opening is a partial area in single opening. (Fig. 1: The front of the projection device structure is a single opening.)
Consider claim 13, Wei clearly teaches a projection system comprising: a first projector configured to project first image light; a second projector configured to project second image light; (Fig. 1: The projection device structure houses first and second projectors 10, pg. 7 lines 2-3.) and the position adjustment apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (CN 113985692) in view of Wakabayashi (JP 2011-203286), citations refer to provided English translation.
Consider claim 3, Wei clearly teaches a first fixing tool and a second fixing tool configured to fix the first projector to the first rotary table, (Figs. 1, 3: The projector 10 is fixed to the rotation mechanism by rotating arms 28 arranged on both sides of the projector 10, pg. 8 lines 2-10.) wherein the first rotary table includes a first fixing portion to which the first projector is fixed by the first fixing tool, and a second fixing portion to which the first projector is fixed by the second fixing tool. (Figs. 1, 3: Pull rods 25 hold the projector 10 in the connecting shell 4 on both sides, pg. 8 lines 12-26.)
However, Wei does not explicitly teach the first fixing portion and the second fixing portion are disposed at positions where the first rotation axis overlaps a light combiner configured to combine light emitted from a plurality of light modulators in the first projector when the first rotary table to which the first projector is fixed is viewed along the first rotation axis.
In an analogous art, Wakabayashi, which discloses a projector system, clearly teaches the first rotation axis overlaps a light combiner configured to combine light emitted from a plurality of light modulators in the first projector when the first rotary table to which the first projector is fixed is viewed along the first rotation axis. (Fig. 9: The axis of rotation shaft 151J passes through prism 352, pg. 18 lines 32-35.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Wei as taught by Wakabayashi so that the first rotation axis overlaps a light combiner configured to combine light emitted from a plurality of light modulators in the first projector when the first rotary table to which the first projector is fixed is viewed along the first rotation axis for the benefit of maintaining the position of the combiner when the first rotary table to which the first projector is fixed is viewed along the first rotation axis for the benefit of maintaining the position of the combiner when the table is rotated.
Claim 4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (CN 113985692) in view of Atsushi (US 7883220 B2)
With respect to claim 4, 6, and 8, Wei discloses the position adjustment apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising: an operation lever that is slidable by a user and configured to rotate the first rotary table and the second rotary table in conjunction with each other, wherein the operation lever is disposed in a manner that is operable from a surface opposite to a surface where the first opening and the second opening are provided in the housing, further comprising: a fixing member configured to fix the operation lever in a sliding direction of the operation lever.
Atsushi discloses an operation lever that is slidable by a user and configured to rotate the a support frame (56 in fig.22), wherein the operation lever (see 56 in fig.22) is disposed in a manner that is operable from a surface opposite (see 11b in fig.22) to a surface where the screen is provided in the housing (see the housing of fig.1), further comprising: a fixing member (see the rear 11b and supporting structure) configured to fix the operation lever in a sliding direction of the operation lever (see the operation of 56 and 11b in fig.15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wei with the teaching of Atsushi so that an operation lever that is slidable by a user and configured to rotate the first rotary table and the second rotary table in conjunction with each other by virtue of rotating their mutual support frame, wherein the operation lever is disposed in a manner that is operable from a surface opposite to a surface where the first opening and the second opening are provided in the housing, further comprising: a fixing member configured to fix the operation lever in a sliding direction of the operation lever to facilitate the positional adjustment of the image without causing the deformation of the engine supporting plate.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wei (CN 113985692) in view of Murakami et al. (US 2010/0118275), herein Murakami.
Consider claim 10, Wei clearly teaches the housing.
However, Wei does not explicitly teach the housing includes: a first introduction port configured to establish communication between the first space and outside of the housing and introduce air outside the housing into the first space; a first discharge port configured to establish communication between the first space and the outside of the housing and discharge air inside the first space to the outside of the housing; a second introduction port configured to establish communication between the second space and the outside of the housing and introduce the air outside the housing into the second space; and a second discharge port configured to establish communication between the second space and the outside of the housing and discharge air inside the second space to the outside of the housing.
In an analogous art, Murakami, which discloses a projector system, clearly teaches the housing includes: a first introduction port configured to establish communication between the first space and outside of the housing and introduce air outside the housing into the first space; (Fig. 7: Duct 8a guides outside air 204 into the left enclosure, [0061], [0062].) a first discharge port configured to establish communication between the first space and the outside of the housing and discharge air inside the first space to the outside of the housing; (Fig. 7: Exhaust air 201 passes through duct 8b from the left enclosure to the outside, [0063].) a second introduction port configured to establish communication between the second space and the outside of the housing and introduce the air outside the housing into the second space; (Fig. 7: Duct 8a guides outside air 204 into the right enclosure, [0061], [0062].) and a second discharge port configured to establish communication between the second space and the outside of the housing and discharge air inside the second space to the outside of the housing (Fig. 7: Exhaust air 201 passes through duct 8b from the right enclosure to the outside, [0063].).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Wei by the housing as taught by Murakami so as to include: a first introduction port configured to establish communication between the first space and outside of the housing and introduce air outside the housing into the first space; a first discharge port configured to establish communication between the first space and the outside of the housing and discharge air inside the first space to the outside of the housing; a second introduction port configured to establish communication between the second space and the outside of the housing and introduce the air outside the housing into the second space; and a second discharge port configured to establish communication between the second space and the outside of the housing and discharge air inside the second space to the outside of the housing to achieve the predictable result of cooling the projectors.
Consider claim 11, Wei combined with Murakami teaches the position adjustment apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the first discharge port is provided at a region in a top surface of the housing, the region corresponding to the first space, the first discharge port is disposed at a position on a second space side at the region, (Figs. 2, 7: Exhaust air ducts 102 are positioned at the top of the housing, [0063] Murakami.) and the housing includes a guide wall that is disposed between the first opening and the second opening and configured to guide the air inside the first space to the first discharge port. (Fig. 7: The shaded areas between the enclosures are solid and guide air from ducts 8A to ducts 8b, [0058], [0064] Murakami.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious claim 1, further comprising: an operation lever that is slidable by a user and configured to rotate the first rotary table and the second rotary table in conjunction with each other, wherein the operation lever includes: a grip portion configured to be gripped by the user; and a coupling portion where the grip portion is provided and that is coupled to the first rotary table and the second rotary table, and the coupling portion is provided in the housing in a manner that is slidable in a direction intersecting the coupling portion.
The closest prior art, Wei, discloses a rotation direction of the first rotary table and a rotation direction of the second rotary table are opposite to each other, rotation of the first rotary table and rotation of the second rotary table are in conjunction with each other (Fig. 1: Projectors 10 are rotated together so that the lenses are close to gentry 13, pg. 9 lines 20-27.) but does not disclose an operation lever that is slidable by a user and configured to rotate the first rotary table and the second rotary table in conjunction with each other, wherein the operation lever includes: a grip portion configured to be gripped by the user; and a coupling portion where the grip portion is provided and that is coupled to the first rotary table and the second rotary table, and the coupling portion is provided in the housing in a manner that is slidable in a direction intersecting the coupling portion.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882