DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 03/26/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2024 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nebiyeloul-Kifle (US6611227B1).
Regarding claim 1 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses: An electronic device comprising: one or more antennas (Background (9): “Further significant attributes of the SODS are related to its physical size and form factor. Preferably, the FLS is housed in a relatively small enclosure mountable behind the forward surface of the vehicle's engine housing, or grill. For accuracy and reliability, it is imperative that the transmit and receive antenna and circuitry are unaffected by attributes of the vehicle grill and are mounted to the vehicle in a predictable alignment.”); a transmit path communicably coupled to the one or more antennas and configured to transmit a radar signal using the one or more antennas(Description (8): “The antenna assembly 14 includes two antennas, a receive antenna 16 for receiving RF signals and a transmit antenna 18 for transmitting RF signals. The SODS 10 may be characterized as a bi-static radar sensor since it includes separate transmit and receive antennas. The antennas 16, 18 are multi-lobed and are controlled in parallel as to point in the same direction. Various circuitry for selecting the angle of the respective antennas 16, 18 is suitable, including a multi-position switch.”); a receive path coupled to the one or more antennas and configured to receive a reflected radar signal using the one or more antennas (Description (8): “The antenna assembly 14 includes two antennas, a receive antenna 16 for receiving RF signals and a transmit antenna 18 for transmitting RF signals. The SODS 10 may be characterized as a bi-static radar sensor since it includes separate transmit and receive antennas. The antennas 16, 18 are multi-lobed and are controlled in parallel as to point in the same direction. Various circuitry for selecting the angle of the respective antennas 16, 18 is suitable, including a multi-position switch.”)
, wherein transmission of the radar signal on the transmit path produces a leakage signal on the receive path (Background (14): “ In one aspect of the present invention, a method of operating the system for detecting antenna blockage in a radar system, which includes a transmit antenna and a receive antenna, includes sensing a first leakage signal communicated between the transmit and receive antennas and comparing the energy level of the first leakage signal to at least one of a number of predetermined pattern recognition profiles. The method further includes determining if the first leakage signal substantially matches predetermined characteristics of any one of the number of predetermined pattern recognition profiles. If it is determined that the first leakage signal substantially matching the predetermined characteristics of any one of the number of predetermined pattern recognition profiles, the system generates a first signal having a first value corresponding to an antenna blockage. If it is determined that the first leakage signal does not match the predetermined characteristics of any one of the numbers of predetermined pattern recognition profiles, the system generates a second signal having a second value corresponding to an absence of antenna blockage.”); and one or more processors configured to detect an external object based on a fluctuation in the leakage signal over time (Description (45): “One or more targets can be detected outside of the blockage range, at step 230, by comparing one or more of the leakage signals "D", "E", or "F" (FIG. 5) or the leakage signal "GG" (FIG. 6) to each of their corresponding blockage threshold curve(s) "F". If it is determined that any one of the leakage signals "D", "E", or "F" exceed the blockage threshold curve "F" in a region outside of the blockage range, a target is declared as detected outside of the blockage range. As a result and at step 231, the preliminary blocked condition of the SODS 10, as declared in step 227, is cleared and the above described steps 205-230 repeated.”).
Regarding claim 2 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Nebiyeloul-Kifle further teaches: wherein the fluctuation comprises a change in a phase of the leakage signal (Description (18):” The DSP 30 includes the blockage detection processor 13, which is coupled to receive a plurality of digital signal samples generated by a Fast Fourier Transform of the digital samples provided by the A/D converter 68. The plurality of digital signal samples received by the blockage detection processor 13 represent various frequency ranges (i.e., frequency bins) sensed by the receiver 24. It is important to note that the blockage detection processor 13 is responsive to frequency ranges that appear in a zero Doppler frequency bin (e.g. the leakage signal). The zero Doppler bin is defined between the physical surface of the SODS 10 and a predetermined distance from the SODS 10. It has been determined that the presence of an object or matter 12 (FIG. 1), which blocks the transmitted signal from the SODS 10 results in the leakage signal having an unusually high signal level or unusually low signal level (the blockage signal could add up constructively or destructively with the leakage signal) when received by the receive antenna 16. This leakage signal, as stated above, will appear in the zero Doppler frequency bin. For example the predetermined distance that defines a distal boundary of the zero Doppler frequency bin can be approximately equal to 100 centimeters (cm).”).
Regarding claim 3 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Nebiyeloul-Kifle further teaches: wherein the fluctuation comprises a change in a power of the leakage signal (Summary (16): “The method of comparing the energy level of the first leakage signal to at least one of a number of predetermined pattern recognition profiles, as described above, further includes comparing the energy level of the first leakage signal to at least one of a number of predetermined pattern recognition profiles previously stored in a database. The predetermined pattern recognition profiles, which are stored in the database, represent signatures associated with a plurality of different objects likely to block the antenna causing the antenna blockage.”).
Regarding claim 5 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Nebiyeloul-Kifle further teaches: further comprising: a mixer disposed on the receive path, the mixer having a first input communicably coupled to the one or more antennas (Figure 4, element 60), a second input coupled to the transmit path over an additional path, and an output communicably coupled to the one or more processors (Figure 4, element 13), the mixer being configured to receive a signal at the second input that includes the reflected radar signal and the leakage signal (Description (55): “An up-converter circuit 90 up-converts the VCO output signal 88 to a higher frequency, which may be desired for transmission via transmitter 22. In particular, the signal 88 is up-converted to a frequency of between 24.01 to 24.24 GHz. The up-converter 90 includes a 50-ohm load 136, an amplifier 138, a dielectric resonator (DR) 140, and a mixer 142. The amplifier 138, the dielectric resonator (DR) and the transmission lines 144, 146 form an oscillator circuit in which the DR 140 couples energy at its fundamental frequency and within its passband from transmission line 144 to transmission line 146 in order to generate an oscillator signal for coupling to mixer 142. In the illustrative embodiment, the oscillator signal on transmission line 144 has a nominal frequency of 21.7 GHz. The output of the mixer 142 is filtered by a bandpass filter 96 and is amplified by an amplifier 94. A portion of the output signal from amplifier 94, is coupled via coupler 95 to provide the transmit signal 50 for further amplification by amplifier 78 and transmission by transmitter antenna 18. Another portion of the output signal from amplifier 94 corresponds to a local oscillator (LO) signal 58 fed to an LO input port of a mixer 60 in the receive signal path.”).
Regarding claim 10 Nebiyeloul-Kifle teaches: A method of operating an electronic device, the method comprising: transmitting, using a transmit path and one or more antennas, a radar signal (Figure 3); receiving, using the one or more antennas and a receive path, a reflected radar signal (Description 7: “Control signals are provided by the vehicle processor 15 to the SODS 10 via a signal bus 42 (FIG. 1). These control signals include a yaw rate signal corresponding to a yaw rate associated with the automobile 2 and a velocity signal corresponding to the velocity of the automobile 2. In response to these control signals and reflected RF signals received by the SODS 10, the SODS 10 provides one or more output signals characterizing the primary target within its field of view 14, via the signal bus 42, to the automobile 2. These output signals include a range signal indicative of a range associated with a primary target in the field of view of the sensor 10, a range rate signal indicative of a range rate associated with the primary target and an azimuth signal indicative of the azimuth associated with the primary target relative to the automobile 2.”); generating, using a mixer on the receive path (Description (55): “An up-converter circuit 90 up-converts the VCO output signal 88 to a higher frequency, which may be desired for transmission via transmitter 22. In particular, the signal 88 is up-converted to a frequency of between 24.01 to 24.24 GHz. The up-converter 90 includes a 50 ohm load 136, an amplifier 138, a dielectric resonator (DR) 140, and a mixer 142. The amplifier 138, the dielectric resonator (DR) and the transmission lines 144, 146 form an oscillator circuit in which the DR 140 couples energy at its fundamental frequency and within its passband from transmission line 144 to transmission line 146 in order to generate an oscillator signal for coupling to mixer 142. In the illustrative embodiment, the oscillator signal on transmission line 144 has a nominal frequency of 21.7 GHz. The output of the mixer 142 is filtered by a bandpass filter 96 and is amplified by an amplifier 94. A portion of the output signal from amplifier 94, is coupled via coupler 95 to provide the transmit signal 50 for further amplification by amplifier 78 and transmission by transmitter antenna 18. Another portion of the output signal from amplifier 94 corresponds to a local oscillator (LO) signal 58 fed to an LO input port of a mixer 60 in the receive signal path.”), a beat signal based on the radar signal, the reflected radar signal (Description (8): “The antenna assembly 14 includes two antennas, a receive antenna 16 for receiving RF signals and a transmit antenna 18 for transmitting RF signals. The SODS 10 may be characterized as a bi-static radar sensor since it includes separate transmit and receive antennas. The antennas 16, 18 are multi-lobed and are controlled in parallel as to point in the same direction. Various circuitry for selecting the angle of the respective antennas 16, 18 is suitable, including a multi-position switch.”), and a leakage signal associated with leakage of the radar signal from the transmit path onto the receive path (Background (14): “ In one aspect of the present invention, a method of operating the system for detecting antenna blockage in a radar system, which includes a transmit antenna and a receive antenna, includes sensing a first leakage signal communicated between the transmit and receive antennas and comparing the energy level of the first leakage signal to at least one of a number of predetermined pattern recognition profiles. The method further includes determining if the first leakage signal substantially matches predetermined characteristics of any one of the number of predetermined pattern recognition profiles. If it is determined that the first leakage signal substantially matching the predetermined characteristics of any one of the number of predetermined pattern recognition profiles, the system generates a first signal having a first value corresponding to an antenna blockage. If it is determined that the first leakage signal does not match the predetermined characteristics of any one of the numbers of predetermined pattern recognition profiles, the system generates a second signal having a second value corresponding to an absence of antenna blockage.”); and detecting, using one or more processors, an external object based on a time fluctuation in at least a portion of the beat signal, the portion of the beat signal including contribution from the leakage signal and the reflected radar signal(Description (45): “One or more targets can be detected outside of the blockage range, at step 230, by comparing one or more of the leakage signals "D", "E", or "F" (FIG. 5) or the leakage signal "GG" (FIG. 6) to each of their corresponding blockage threshold curve(s) "F". If it is determined that any one of the leakage signals "D", "E", or "F" exceed the blockage threshold curve "F" in a region outside of the blockage range, a target is declared as detected outside of the blockage range. As a result and at step 231, the preliminary blocked condition of the SODS 10, as declared in step 227, is cleared and the above described steps 205-230 repeated.”).
Claim 19 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 10, therefore claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nebiyeloul-Kifle (US6611227B1) in view of Huang (US20200278438A1).
Regarding claim 4 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “wherein the fluctuation comprises a fluctuation in the leakage signal over a first-time window, the one or more processors being further configured to detect the external object based on an additional fluctuation of the leakage signal over a second time window that is longer than the first time window and that includes the first time window “.
However, Huang in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the fluctuation comprises a fluctuation in the leakage signal over a first time window, the one or more processors being further configured to detect the external object based on an additional fluctuation of the leakage signal over a second time window that is longer than the first time window and that includes the first time window (Para 005: “Embodiments of the present disclosure include a method, an electronic device, and a non-transitory computer readable medium for object detection. In one embodiment, the electronic device includes at least a first antenna pair comprising a first transmitter antenna configured to transmit signals and a first receiver antenna configured to receive signals, a memory, and a processor. The processor is configured to control the first transmitter antenna to transmit a first signal, generate a channel impulse response (CIR) based on receiving, by the first receiver antenna, a reflection of the first signal, determine a location of at least one leakage peak in the CIR, compare a first segment of taps in the CIR prior to the at least one leakage peak with a second segment of taps in the CIR after the leakage peak, and determine an object is present based on symmetry between the first and second segments of taps.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Huang to incorporate the feature of: wherein the fluctuation comprises a fluctuation in the leakage signal over a first time window, the one or more processors being further configured to detect the external object based on an additional fluctuation of the leakage signal over a second time window that is longer than the first time window and that includes the first time window. Nebiyeloul-Kifle and Huang are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radar technology to detect objects. However, fails to disclose a feature of using multiple signal time windows for object detection. This feature is disclosed by Huang. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Huang to incorporate the feature of: the one or more processors being further configured to: wherein the fluctuation comprises a fluctuation in the leakage signal over a first time window, the one or more processors being further configured to detect the external object based on an additional fluctuation of the leakage signal over a second time window that is longer than the first time window and that includes the first time window as such a feature would increase the energy efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 17 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “wherein the time fluctuation comprises a change in power over time“.
However, Huang in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the time fluctuation comprises a change in power over time (Para 0096: “The CIR sequence of FIG. 10A illustrates a small power variation of antenna pairs 155. For example, FIG. 10A illustrates approximately consistent, and therefore a small power variation, CIR sequences for each of the antenna pairs 155. In contrast, FIG. 10B illustrates inconsistent, and therefore a large power variation, CIR sequences for each of the antenna pairs 155. The large power variation shown in FIG. 10B indicates the likelihood of a target in the environment surrounding the electronic device 100. The approximate consistency or inconsistency of the CIR sequences can be quantified by a threshold, for example the threshold described in operation 930. To determine whether a target object is detected, the processor 140 measures, or calculates, the power variation and compares the power variation to the threshold”).
The reason to combine Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Huang is the same as one given in claim 4 above.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nebiyeloul-Kifle (US6611227B1) in view of Hyde (US20160213303A1).
Regarding claim 6 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “the one or more processors being further configured to: detect a presence of an animate object within a threshold range of the electronic device based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal; and reduce an electromagnetic transmit power level of the electronic device responsive to detection of the animate object within the threshold range of the electronic device “
However, Hyde in the analogous arts teaches: the one or more processors being further configured to: detect a presence of an animate object within a threshold range of the electronic device based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal (Para 0064: “ In an aspect, signal processor 330 can be configured to compare detection signals received by antenna 214a and 214b. For example, the signal processor 330 can search for common signal characteristics such as similar reflected static signal strength or spectrum, similar (or corresponding) Doppler shift, and/or common periodic motion component, and compare the respective range delays corresponding to detection by the respective antennas 214a and 214b. The triangulated locations can be output as computed ranges of angle or computed ranges of extent. For example, a first signal corresponding to a reflected pulse received by antenna 214a can be digitized by A/D converter 340 to form a first digitized waveform. A second signal corresponding to the reflected pulse received by antenna 214b can be digitized by A/D converter 340 or 345 to form a second digitized waveform. Signal processor 330 can compare the first and second digitized waveforms and deduce angular information from the first and second digitized waveforms and known geometry of the first and second antenna elements.”); and reduce an electromagnetic transmit power level of the electronic device responsive to detection of the animate object within the threshold range of the electronic device (Para 0076: “In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar component 210 includes adjustable output power 460. For example, the transmitter can include an adjustable output power. For example, the transmit power can range from a peak transmit power of 60 milliwatts to an average transmit power of 25 microwatts or less. See, e.g., Paulson et al. (2005) “Ultra-wideband Radar Methods and Techniques of Medical Sensing and Imaging,” SPIE International Symposium on Optics East, Boston, Mass., Oct. 25-26, 2005, which is incorporated herein by reference. In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar circuitry includes circuitry configured to adjust an output power of the micro-impulse radar component in response to the determined distance. For example, the output power may be decreased as the determined distance between the hand-held hydration monitor and the subject decreases. For example, the output power may be increased as the determined distance between the hand-held hydration monitor and the subject increases.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Hyde to incorporate the feature of: “the one or more processors being further configured to: detect a presence of an animate object within a threshold range of the electronic device based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal; and reduce an electromagnetic transmit power level of the electronic device responsive to detection of the animate object within the threshold range of the electronic device. Nebiyeloul-Kifle and Hyde are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radar technology to detect objects. However, fails to disclose a feature of reducing transmit power based on proximity of the target. This feature is disclosed by Hyde. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Hyde to incorporate the feature of: “the one or more processors being further configured to: detect a presence of an animate object within a threshold range of the electronic device based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal; and reduce an electromagnetic transmit power level of the electronic device responsive to detection of the animate object within the threshold range of the electronic device as such a feature would increase the energy efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 7 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “the one or more processors being further configured to: detect a presence of a moving inanimate object within a threshold range of the electronic device based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal; “.
However, Hyde in the analogous arts teaches: the one or more processors being further configured to: detect a presence of a moving inanimate object within a threshold range of the electronic device based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal (Para 0064: “ In an aspect, signal processor 330 can be configured to compare detection signals received by antenna 214a and 214b. For example, the signal processor 330 can search for common signal characteristics such as similar reflected static signal strength or spectrum, similar (or corresponding) Doppler shift, and/or common periodic motion component, and compare the respective range delays corresponding to detection by the respective antennas 214a and 214b. The triangulated locations can be output as computed ranges of angle or computed ranges of extent. For example, a first signal corresponding to a reflected pulse received by antenna 214a can be digitized by A/D converter 340 to form a first digitized waveform. A second signal corresponding to the reflected pulse received by antenna 214b can be digitized by A/D converter 340 or 345 to form a second digitized waveform. Signal processor 330 can compare the first and second digitized waveforms and deduce angular information from the first and second digitized waveforms and known geometry of the first and second antenna elements.”); and reduce an electromagnetic transmit power level of the electronic device responsive to detection of the moving inanimate object within the threshold range of the electronic device (Para 0076: “In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar component 210 includes adjustable output power 460. For example, the transmitter can include an adjustable output power. For example, the transmit power can range from a peak transmit power of 60 milliwatts to an average transmit power of 25 microwatts or less. See, e.g., Paulson et al. (2005) “Ultra-wideband Radar Methods and Techniques of Medical Sensing and Imaging,” SPIE International Symposium on Optics East, Boston, Mass., Oct. 25-26, 2005, which is incorporated herein by reference. In an aspect, the micro-impulse radar circuitry includes circuitry configured to adjust an output power of the micro-impulse radar component in response to the determined distance. For example, the output power may be decreased as the determined distance between the hand-held hydration monitor and the subject decreases. For example, the output power may be increased as the determined distance between the hand-held hydration monitor and the subject increases.”).
The reason to combine Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Hyde is the same as one given in claim 6 above.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nebiyeloul-Kifle (US6611227B1) in view of Nguyen (US20200300970A1).
Regarding claim 8 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “the one or more processors being further configured to: generate, based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal, a first target map associated with a first portion of a field of view (FOV) of the one or more antennas and a second target gate map associated with a second portion of the FOV that is at least partially non-overlapping with respect to the first portion of the FOV; and detect the external object based on the first target map and the second target map “.
However, Nguyen in the analogous arts teaches: the one or more processors being further configured to: generate, based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal, a first target map associated with a first portion of a field of view (FOV) of the one or more antennas and a second target gate map associated with a second portion of the FOV that is at least partially non-overlapping with respect to the first portion of the FOV (Para 0073: “ Pulse radar is generated as a realization of a desired radar waveform, modulated onto a radio carrier frequency, and transmitted through a power amplifier and antenna, such as a parabolic antenna. In certain embodiments, the antenna is omnidirectional. In other embodiments, the antenna is focused into a particular direction. When the target object 308 is within the field of view of the transmitted signal and within a distance 310 from the radar location, then the target object 308 will be illuminated by RF power density (W/m.sup.2), p.sub.t, for the duration of the transmission.”); and detect the external object based on the first target map and the second target map (Para 0082: “Raw radar measurement can be based on a pulse compression radar signal. For example, the frame structure 340 can represent an example timing diagram of a radar measurement. Time is divided into multiple frames, and each frame is further divided into bursts 342. Several pulses 344 are transmitted by the radar transmitter in each burst 342. In certain embodiments, each pulse or burst may have a different transmit/receive antenna configuration corresponding to the active set of antenna elements and corresponding beamforming weights. For example, each of the M pulses in a burst has a different transmit and receive antenna pair, and each of the bursts 342 all repeat the same pulses. As such, all of the signals from all the pulses within a burst provide a complete scan of the radar field of view, and the repetitions across the bursts provide a way to capture the temporal variation. The temporal variation can be considered Doppler information. The example frame structure 340 illustrates uniform spacing between pulses and bursts. In certain embodiments, any the spacing, even non-uniform spacing, between pulses and bursts can be used.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Nguyen to incorporate the feature of: the one or more processors being further configured to: generate, based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal, a first target map associated with a first portion of a field of view (FOV) of the one or more antennas and a second target gate map associated with a second portion of the FOV that is at least partially non-overlapping with respect to the first portion of the FOV. Nebiyeloul-Kifle and Nguyen are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radar technology to detect objects. However, fails to disclose a feature of using thresholds for target detection. This feature is disclosed by Nguyen. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Nguyen to incorporate the feature of: the one or more processors being further configured to: generate, based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal, a first target map associated with a first portion of a field of view (FOV) of the one or more antennas and a second target gate map associated with a second portion of the FOV that is at least partially non-overlapping with respect to the first portion of the FOV as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 9 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “the one or more processors being further configured to detect, based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal, biometric information associated with the external object “.
However, Nguyen in the analogous arts teaches: the one or more processors being further configured to detect, based on the fluctuation in the leakage signal, biometric information associated with the external object (Para 0041: “Embodiments of the present disclosure recognize and take into consideration that, if the radar signal is directly used for biometric authentication, then a possibility arises that the radar signals are too variable for a learning algorithm to identify the user. Alternatively, if certain signals are pre-processed into geometrically interpretable radar image, the signal cropping could result in loss of information necessary for biometric authentication.”).
The reason to combine Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Nguyen is the same as one given in claim 8 above.
Claims 11-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nebiyeloul-Kifle (US6611227B1) in view of Hur (US20220381900A1).
Regarding claim 11 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 10. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “wherein detecting the external object comprises comparing the time fluctuation to a threshold value “.
However, Hur in the analogous arts teaches: wherein detecting the external object comprises comparing the time fluctuation to a threshold value (Para 0060: “As shown by curves 122, 120, and 118, the presence of a removable case causes a shift in the magnitude of the VSWR measurements made by VSWR sensor 32 (also shown by the difference between points 112 and points 114 of FIG. 5). As shown by curves 120 and 118, different types of cases may have different effects on the VSWR measurements made by VSWR sensor 32. However the same variations in VSWR measurements are made in the presence of either type of removable case or in the absence of any external object as a function of time (e.g., as shown by points 114 or 112 of FIG. 5). Control circuitry 14 may compare the VSWR measurements to expected VSWR measurements associated with different removable case types (e.g., curves 118 and 120) to identify what type of removable case is present on device 10 if desired. In other words, control circuitry 14 may compare variations in the VSWR measurements over time to one or more thresholds for performing animate object detection and may further compare the magnitude of the VSWR measurements (or the magnitude of an average of the VSWR measurements) to one or more thresholds for performing removable case detection and identification. The example of FIG. 6 is merely illustrative. Curves 118-122 may have other shapes in practice.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Hur to incorporate the feature of: wherein detecting the external object comprises comparing the time fluctuation to a threshold value. Nebiyeloul-Kifle and Hur are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radar technology to detect objects. However, fails to disclose a feature of using thresholds for target detection. This feature is disclosed by Hur. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Hur to incorporate the feature of: wherein detecting the external object comprises comparing the time fluctuation to a threshold value as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 12 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 10. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “wherein detecting the external object comprises: comparing the time fluctuation to a first threshold for a first portion of a field of view of the one or more antennas; and comparing the time fluctuation to a second threshold for a second portion of the field of view different from the first portion of the field of view, the second threshold being different from the first threshold “.
However, Hur in the analogous arts teaches: wherein detecting the external object comprises: comparing the time fluctuation to a first threshold for a first portion of a field of view of the one or more antennas; and comparing the time fluctuation to a second threshold for a second portion of the field of view different from the first portion of the field of view, the second threshold being different from the first threshold (Para 0060: “As shown by curves 122, 120, and 118, the presence of a removable case causes a shift in the magnitude of the VSWR measurements made by VSWR sensor 32 (also shown by the difference between points 112 and points 114 of FIG. 5). As shown by curves 120 and 118, different types of cases may have different effects on the VSWR measurements made by VSWR sensor 32. However the same variations in VSWR measurements are made in the presence of either type of removable case or in the absence of any external object as a function of time (e.g., as shown by points 114 or 112 of FIG. 5). Control circuitry 14 may compare the VSWR measurements to expected VSWR measurements associated with different removable case types (e.g., curves 118 and 120) to identify what type of removable case is present on device 10 if desired. In other words, control circuitry 14 may compare variations in the VSWR measurements over time to one or more thresholds for performing animate object detection and may further compare the magnitude of the VSWR measurements (or the magnitude of an average of the VSWR measurements) to one or more thresholds for performing removable case detection and identification. The example of FIG. 6 is merely illustrative. Curves 118-122 may have other shapes in practice.”).
The reason to combine Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Hur is the same as one given in claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 18 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “wherein detecting the external object within the threshold distance comprises detecting the external object within the threshold distance without removing the leakage signal from the beat signal“.
However, Hur in the analogous arts teaches: wherein detecting the external object within the threshold distance comprises detecting the external object within the threshold distance without removing the leakage signal from the beat signal (Para 0060: “As shown by curves 122, 120, and 118, the presence of a removable case causes a shift in the magnitude of the VSWR measurements made by VSWR sensor 32 (also shown by the difference between points 112 and points 114 of FIG. 5). As shown by curves 120 and 118, different types of cases may have different effects on the VSWR measurements made by VSWR sensor 32. However the same variations in VSWR measurements are made in the presence of either type of removable case or in the absence of any external object as a function of time (e.g., as shown by points 114 or 112 of FIG. 5). Control circuitry 14 may compare the VSWR measurements to expected VSWR measurements associated with different removable case types (e.g., curves 118 and 120) to identify what type of removable case is present on device 10 if desired. In other words, control circuitry 14 may compare variations in the VSWR measurements over time to one or more thresholds for performing animate object detection and may further compare the magnitude of the VSWR measurements (or the magnitude of an average of the VSWR measurements) to one or more thresholds for performing removable case detection and identification. The example of FIG. 6 is merely illustrative. Curves 118-122 may have other shapes in practice.”).
The reason to combine Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Hur is the same as one given in claim 11 above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nebiyeloul-Kifle (US6611227B1) in view of Song (CN104777459A).
Regarding claim 13 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of 10. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach “wherein the time fluctuation comprises a statistic associated with a change in phase over time and wherein detecting the external object comprises: generating a target indicator based on the statistic over a time window; and comparing the target indicator to a threshold”.
However, Song in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the time fluctuation comprises a statistic associated with a change in phase over time and wherein detecting the external object comprises: generating a target indicator based on the statistic over a time window (Description: “A radar anti-interference system, comprising a radar receiver, a mixer, an intermediate frequency amplifier, a radar transmitter, interference detection processing unit, a main control chip, a distance tracking unit and a modulator, the interference detection and processing unit comprises an interference detection module and an interference processing module, interference detection module comprises a CFAR detector and orthogonal two-channel parameter detector, an interference processing module comprises a canceller, Doppler filter and alarm processor, output end of the radar receiver passes through the mixer and the intermediate frequency amplifier are respectively connected with input end and the distance of the interference processing module input end of the tracking unit. the output end of the output end and distance tracking unit of the interference processing module are connected with the input end of the main control chip, the output end of the main control chip through the modulator is connected with the input end of the radar emitter.”); and comparing the target indicator to a threshold (Abstract: “The invention claims a radar anti-interference system, comprising radar receiver, a frequency mixer, an intermediate frequency amplifier, radar emitter, interference detection processing unit, main control chip, input end track unit and distance adjustor, interference detection processing unit comprises interference detection module and interference processing module, interference detection module comprises CFAR detector and orthogonal dual channel phase, detection wave device, interference processing module comprises the input end for decontamination, Doppler filter and constant false alarm processor, radar receiver in sequence by mixer and intermediate frequency amplifier respectively connected with interference detection processing module and the input end of distance tracking unit. The invention has simple operation, strong reliability, using distance tracking unit modification and distance signal and, using interference processing unit for detecting interference signal by detecting and processing, increase have target detect distance, enhance have ability of anti-interference radar, with wide and practical application prospect.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Song to incorporate the feature of: wherein the time fluctuation comprises a statistic associated with a change in phase over time and wherein detecting the external object comprises: generating a target indicator based on the statistic over a time window; and comparing the target indicator to a threshold. Nebiyeloul-Kifle and Song are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radar technology to detect objects. However, fails to disclose a feature of using thresholds for target detection. This feature is disclosed by Song. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nebiyeloul-Kifle with Song to incorporate the feature of: wherein the time fluctuation comprises a statistic associated with a change in phase over time and wherein detecting the external object comprises: generating a target indicator based on the statistic over a time window; and comparing the target indicator to a threshold as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 13. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach: wherein detecting the external object further comprises: generating an additional target indicator based on the statistic over an additional time window that is longer than the time window and that includes the time window; generating a fused target indicator based on the target indicator and the additional target indicator; and comparing the fused target indicator to the threshold.
In reference to depend/independent claim 14, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 14. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “wherein detecting the external object further comprises: generating an additional target indicator based on the statistic over an additional time window that is longer than the time window and that includes the time window; generating a fused target indicator based on the target indicator and the additional target indicator; and comparing the fused target indicator to the threshold”.
Regarding claim 15 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 13. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach: wherein detecting the external object further comprises: generating an additional target indicator based on the statistic over an additional time window that is longer than the time window and that includes the time window; and comparing the additional target indicator to an additional threshold.
In reference to depend/independent claim 15, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 15. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “wherein detecting the external object further comprises: generating an additional target indicator based on the statistic over an additional time window that is longer than the time window and that includes the time window; and comparing the additional target indicator to an additional threshold”.
Regarding claim 16 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach: wherein the time fluctuation comprises a change in phase over time and wherein detecting the external object comprises: generating a first time series signal based on the change in phase over time within a first portion of a field of view of the one or more antennas; generating a second time series signal based on the change in phase over time within a second portion of a field of view that is different from the first portion of the field of view; generating a spatio-temporal correlation based on the first time series signal and the second time series signal; and comparing the spatio-temporal correlation to a threshold value.
In reference to depend/independent claim 16, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 16. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “wherein the time fluctuation comprises a change in phase over time and wherein detecting the external object comprises: generating a first time series signal based on the change in phase over time within a first portion of a field of view of the one or more antennas; generating a second time series signal based on the change in phase over time within a second portion of a field of view that is different from the first portion of the field of view; generating a spatio-temporal correlation based on the first time series signal and the second time series signal; and comparing the spatio-temporal correlation to a threshold value. “
Regarding claim 20 Nebiyeloul-Kifle discloses all the limitations of claim 10. Nebiyeloul-Kifle does not teach: wherein the fluctuation comprises a change in phase or power, the one or more processors being further configured to: generate time series signals based on the change in phase or power; generate, based on the time series signals, a motion based indicator associated with bulk motion of the object over a first time window; generate, based on the time series signals, a correlation based indicator associated with micro-motion of the object over a second time window longer than the first time window; and identify, based on the correlation based indicator and the motion based indicator, a type of the object.
In reference to depend/independent claim 20, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 20. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “wherein the fluctuation comprises a change in phase or power, the one or more processors being further configured to: generate time series signals based on the change in phase or power; generate, based on the time series signals, a motion based indicator associated with bulk motion of the object over a first time window; generate, based on the time series signals, a correlation based indicator associated with micro-motion of the object over a second time window longer than the first time window; and identify, based on the correlation based indicator and the motion based indicator, a type of the object. “
Conclusion
/BONGANI JABULANI MASHELE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648