Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed on 10/27/2025.
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-20 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al. (US-20080059889-A1)[hereinafter Parker], in view of Barros (US-20060174209-A1)[hereinafter Barros].
As per Claim 1, Parker discloses a system for geographic-based population information in paragraph [0010] (a system for geographic-based population information), comprising: one or more system servers in paragraph [0037] and claim 1 (a server computer system) configured to: retrieve shapefiles representative of static geographic boundaries of geographic segments in a user-selected geographical area in paragraphs [0010] and [0030] and [0035-0036] and [0047] and [0070] (retrieve ESRI shapefiles, referred as map layers, representative of geographic boundaries of a user-selected geographic area); retrieve population data for a user-selected characteristic corresponding to each of the geographic segments within the user-selected geographical area from one or more databases in paragraphs [0036] and [0040-0042] and [0070] (retrieve population data for a user-selected characteristic corresponding to geographic segments within the user-selected geographic area from the database system (synonymous to one or more databases) (Examiner notes that users are able to click on map to retrieve data for the selected geographic area indicating the user-selected characteristic corresponding to the user-selected geographic area)); one or more client servers in paragraphs [0035] and [0043] and [0045] (a client server, referred to as an active server) configured to: receive selections of the user-selected geographical area and the user-selected characteristic from a user via a graphical user interface of a client device; in paragraphs [0036] and [0038-0039] and [0055] and [0088] (receive selections of the user-selected geographic area and the user-selected characteristic from a user via a graphical user interface, referred to as viewer, of an end user computing system (synonymous to a client device)); receive the shapefiles and the population data in response to sending the user-selected geographical area and the user-selected characteristic to the one or more system servers in paragraphs [0047] and [0088] (receive the ESRI shapefiles and the population data in response to sending the user-selected geographical area and the user-selected characteristic to the server computer system); generate image tiles for the shapefiles in paragraphs [0045-0047] and [0061-0062] (generate image tiles for the map layers), wherein each of the image tiles corresponds to a respective one of the geographic segments in the user-selected geographical area in paragraphs [0045-0046] and [0058] and [0061-0062] (wherein the image tiles corresponds to portions of a user-selected geographic area), wherein each of the image tiles is filled with an indicator symbolizing the population data of the respective one of the geographic segments in paragraphs [0045-0047] and [0061-0062] and [0070] and [0102] (wherein the image tiles are shaded or color-coded (synonymous to filled with an indicator) symbolizing the population data of the geographic segment); and overlay the image tiles onto the user-selected geographical area of the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0045-0047] and [0055] and [0070] and Figures 3A and 3B (overlay the image tiles on the user-selected geographic area of the graphical user interface); receive a selection of a user-selected image tile from the user via the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0032] and [0068-0070] (receive a selection of a user-selected image tile from the user via the graphical user interface).
Parker does not disclose the following limitations. However, Barros discloses and generate and overlay a text box over a portion the user-selected geographical area and corresponding portions of the image tiles with details of the population data corresponding to the geographic segment associated with the user-selected image tile in paragraphs [0064-0065] and [0070] and [0080] and [0082-0085] and [0092] and [0161] (generate and overlay a pop-up (synonymous to a text box) over a portion of the user-selected map area and corresponding image tiles with population density (synonymous to details of the population data) corresponding to the map area feature (synonymous to a geographic segment) associated with the user-selected image tile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system for geographic-based population information of Parker with generating and overlaying a pop up over a portion of the user-selected map area and corresponding portions of the image tiles with population density corresponding to the map area feature associated with the user-selected image tile as taught by Barros since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a geographic-based population information system that generates and overlays a text box with population data details on the associated user-selected geographical area and corresponding image tiles.
As per Claim 2, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 1, Parker also discloses wherein the user-selected geographical area received via the graphical user interface corresponds with a zoom level and a center of the user-selected geographical area as displayed via the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0035-0036] and [0061] and [0070-0072] (the user-selected geographical area received via the graphical user interface corresponds with zooming (synonymous to a zoom level) panning, and re-center as displayed via the graphical user interface (Examiner notes that panning allows the user to view the center of the user-selected geographical area)).
As per Claim 3, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 1, Parker also discloses wherein the one or more system servers are configured to retrieve updated sets of the shapefiles and the population data in response to the one or more client servers identifying a change in the user-selected geographical area displayed via the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0052] and [0071-0074] and [0089-0090] (the server computer system retrieves updated map layers and population data in response to the client server identifying a change in the user-selected geographical area displayed by the graphical user interface).
As per Claim 4, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 1, Parker also discloses wherein the geographic segments and the shapefiles correspond with a granularity level selectable by the user via the graphical user interface, wherein the granularity level is selectable from a list of city boundaries, zip code boundaries, and county boundaries in paragraphs [0039-0041] and [0051] and [0055] and [0070-0071] and [0088] and [0090] (wherein the geographic segments and the map layers correspond with a granularity level selectable by the user via the graphical user interface, wherein the granularity level is selectable from a list of cities, zip codes, and counties).
As per Claim 5, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 1, Parker also discloses wherein one or more of the shapefiles retrieved by the one or more system servers includes a polygon with vertices having coordinates that define one or more of the static geographic boundaries in paragraphs [0010] and [0030] and [0032] and [0070] (the national census geographies retrieved by the server computer system includes polygons having coordinates that identify geographic areas (Examiner notes that all polygons have vertices. Additionally, the polygons identifying the geographic areas indicates that the polygons have coordinates that define the static geographic boundaries)).
As per Claim 6, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 1, Parker also discloses wherein the one or more client servers are further configured to serve tile-arrangement instructions for arranging the image tiles onto the user-selected geographical area in paragraphs [0045] and [0063-0064] (the client server transfers commands (synonymous to tile-arrangement instructions) for positioning the image tiles onto the user-selected geographic area).
As per Claim 11, Parker discloses a system for geographic-based population information in paragraph [0010] (a system for geographic-based population information), comprising: one or more system servers in paragraph [0037] and claim 1 (a server computer system) configured to: retrieve shapefiles representative of static geographic boundaries of geographic segments in a user-selected geographical area in paragraphs [0010] and [0030] and [0035-0036] and [0047] and [0070] (retrieve ESRI shapefiles, referred as map layers, representative of geographic boundaries of a user-selected geographic area); retrieve population data for a user-selected characteristic corresponding to each of the geographic segments within the user-selected geographical area from one or more databases in paragraphs [0036] and [0040-0042] and [0070] (retrieve population data for a user-selected characteristic corresponding to geographic segments within the user-selected geographic area from the database system (synonymous to one or more databases) (Examiner notes that users are able to click on map to retrieve data for the selected geographic area indicating the user-selected characteristic corresponding to the user-selected geographic area)); one or more client servers in paragraphs [0035] and [0043] and [0045] (a client server, referred to as an active server) configured to: receive selections of the user-selected geographical area and the user-selected characteristic from a user via a graphical user interface of a client device in paragraphs [0036] and [0038-0039] and [0055] and [0088] (receive selections of the user-selected geographic area and the user-selected characteristic from a user via a graphical user interface, referred to as viewer, of an end user computing system (synonymous to a client device)); receive the shapefiles and the population data in response to sending the user-selected geographical area and the user-selected characteristic to the one or more system servers in paragraphs [0047] and [0088] (receive the ESRI shapefiles and the population data in response to sending the user-selected geographical area and the user-selected characteristic to the server computer system); generate image tiles for the shapefiles in paragraphs [0045-0047] and [0061-0062] (generate image tiles for the map layers), wherein each of the image tiles corresponds to a respective one of the geographic segments in the user-selected geographical area in paragraphs [0045-0046] and [0058] and [0061-0062] (wherein the image tiles corresponds to portions of a user-selected geographic area), wherein each of the image tiles is filled with an indicator symbolizing the population data of the respective one of the geographic segments in paragraphs [0045-0047] and [0061-0062] and [0070] and [0102] (wherein the image tiles are shaded or color-coded (synonymous to filled with an indicator) symbolizing the population data of the geographic segment); and overlay the image tiles onto the user-selected geographical area of the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0045-0047] and [0055] and [0070] and Figures 3A and 3B (overlay the image tiles on the user-selected geographic area of the graphical user interface); receive a selection of a user-selected image tile from the user via the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0032] and [0068-0070] (receive a selection of a user-selected image tile from the user via the graphical user interface).
Parker does not disclose the following limitations. However, Barros discloses and generate and overlay a text box over a portion the user-selected geographical area and corresponding portions of the image tiles with details of the population data corresponding to the geographic segment associated with the user-selected image tile in paragraphs [0064-0065] and [0070] and [0080] and [0082-0085] and [0092] and [0161] (generate and overlay a pop-up (synonymous to a text box) over a portion of the user-selected map area and corresponding image tiles with population density (synonymous to details of the population data) corresponding to the map area feature (synonymous to a geographic segment) associated with the user-selected image tile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system for geographic-based population information of Parker with generating and overlaying a pop up over a portion of the user-selected map area and corresponding portions of the image tiles with population density corresponding to the map area feature associated with the user-selected image tile as taught by Barros since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a geographic-based population information system that generates and overlays a text box with population data details on the associated user-selected geographical area and corresponding image tiles.
As per Claim 12, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 11, Parker also discloses wherein the one or more system servers are configured to retrieve updated sets of the shapefiles and the population data in response to the one or more client servers identifying a change in the user-selected geographical area displayed via the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0052] and [0071-0074] and [0089-0090] (the server computer system retrieves updated map layers and population data in response to the client server identifying a change in the user-selected geographical area displayed by the graphical user interface).
As per Claim 13, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 11, Parker also discloses wherein the geographic segments and the shapefiles correspond with a granularity level selectable by the user via the graphical user interface, wherein the granularity level is selectable from a list of city boundaries, zip code boundaries, and county boundaries in paragraphs [0039-0041] and [0051] and [0055] and [0070-0071] and [0088] and [0090] (wherein the geographic segments and the map layers correspond with a granularity level selectable by the user via the graphical user interface, wherein the granularity level is selectable from a list of cities, zip codes, and counties).
As per Claim 14, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 11, Parker also discloses wherein one or more of the shapefiles retrieved by the one or more system servers includes a polygon with vertices having coordinates that define one or more of the static geographic boundaries in paragraphs [0010] and [0030] and [0032] and [0070] (the national census geographies retrieved by the server computer system includes polygons having coordinates that identify geographic areas (Examiner notes that all polygons have vertices. Additionally, the polygons identifying the geographic areas indicates that the polygons have coordinates that define the static geographic boundaries)).
As per Claim 15, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 11, Parker also discloses wherein the one or more client servers are further configured to serve tile-arrangement instructions for arranging the image tiles onto the user-selected geographical area in paragraphs [0045] and [0063-0064] (the client server transfers commands (synonymous to tile-arrangement instructions) for positioning the image tiles onto the user-selected geographic area).
As per Claim 16, Parker discloses a system for geographic-based population information in paragraph [0010] (a system for geographic-based population information), comprising: one or more system servers in paragraph [0037] and claim 1 (a server computer system) configured to: retrieve shapefiles representative of static geographic boundaries of geographic segments in a user-selected geographical area in paragraphs [0010] and [0030] and [0035-0036] and [0047] and [0070] (retrieve ESRI shapefiles, referred as map layers, representative of geographic boundaries of a user-selected geographic area); retrieve population data for a user-selected characteristic corresponding to each of the geographic segments within the user-selected geographical area from one or more databases in paragraphs [0036] and [0040-0042] and [0070] (retrieve population data for a user-selected characteristic corresponding to geographic segments within the user-selected geographic area from the database system (synonymous to one or more databases) (Examiner notes that users are able to click on map to retrieve data for the selected geographic area indicating the user-selected characteristic corresponding to the user-selected geographic area)); one or more client servers in paragraphs [0035] and [0043] and [0045] (a client server, referred to as an active server) configured to: receive selections of the user-selected geographical area and the user-selected characteristic from a user via a graphical user interface of a client device in paragraphs [0036] and [0038-0039] and [0055] and [0088] (receive selections of the user-selected geographic area and the user-selected characteristic from a user via a graphical user interface, referred to as viewer, of an end user computing system (synonymous to a client device)); receive the shapefiles and the population data in response to sending the user-selected geographical area and the user-selected characteristic to the one or more system servers in paragraphs [0047] and [0088] (receive the ESRI shapefiles and the population data in response to sending the user-selected geographical area and the user-selected characteristic to the server computer system); generate image tiles for the shapefiles in paragraphs [0045-0047] and [0061-0062] (generate image tiles for the map layers), wherein each of the image tiles corresponds to a respective one of the geographic segments in the user-selected geographical area in paragraphs [0045-0046] and [0058] and [0061-0062] (wherein the image tiles corresponds to portions of a user-selected geographic area), wherein each of the image tiles is filled with an indicator symbolizing the population data of the respective one of the geographic segments in paragraphs [0045-0047] and [0061-0062] and [0070] and [0102] (wherein the image tiles are shaded or color-coded (synonymous to filled with an indicator) symbolizing the population data of the geographic segment); and overlay the image tiles onto the user-selected geographical area of the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0045-0047] and [0055] and [0070] and Figures 3A and 3B (overlay the image tiles on the user-selected geographic area of the graphical user interface); receive a selection of a user-selected image tile from the user via the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0032] and [0068-0070] (receive a selection of a user-selected image tile from the user via the graphical user interface).
Parker does not disclose the following limitations. However, Barros discloses and generate and overlay a text box over a portion the user-selected geographical area and corresponding portions of the image tiles with details of the population data corresponding to the geographic segment associated with the user-selected image tile in paragraphs [0064-0065] and [0070] and [0080] and [0082-0085] and [0092] and [0161] (generate and overlay a pop-up (synonymous to a text box) over a portion of the user-selected map area and corresponding image tiles with population density (synonymous to details of the population data) corresponding to the map area feature (synonymous to a geographic segment) associated with the user-selected image tile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system for geographic-based population information of Parker with generating and overlaying a pop up over a portion of the user-selected map area and corresponding portions of the image tiles with population density corresponding to the map area feature associated with the user-selected image tile as taught by Barros since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a geographic-based population information system that generates and overlays a text box with population data details on the associated user-selected geographical area and corresponding image tiles.
As per Claim 17, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 16, Parker also discloses wherein the one or more system servers are configured to retrieve updated sets of the shapefiles and the population data in response to the one or more client servers identifying a change in the user-selected geographical area displayed via the graphical user interface in paragraphs [0052] and [0071-0074] and [0089-0090] (the server computer system retrieves updated map layers and population data in response to the client server identifying a change in the user-selected geographical area displayed by the graphical user interface).
As per Claim 18, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 16, Parker also discloses wherein the geographic segments and the shapefiles correspond with a granularity level selectable by the user via the graphical user interface, wherein the granularity level is selectable from a list of city boundaries, zip code boundaries, and county boundaries in paragraphs [0039-0041] and [0051] and [0055] and [0070-0071] and [0088] and [0090] (wherein the geographic segments and the map layers correspond with a granularity level selectable by the user via the graphical user interface, wherein the granularity level is selectable from a list of cities, zip codes, and counties).
As per Claim 19, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 16, Parker also discloses wherein one or more of the shapefiles retrieved by the one or more system servers includes a polygon with vertices having coordinates that define one or more of the static geographic boundaries in paragraphs [0010] and [0030] and [0032] and [0070] (the national census geographies retrieved by the server computer system includes polygons having coordinates that identify geographic areas (Examiner notes that all polygons have vertices. Additionally, the polygons identifying the geographic areas indicates that the polygons have coordinates that define the static geographic boundaries)).
As per Claim 20, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 16, Parker also discloses wherein the one or more client servers are further configured to serve tile-arrangement instructions for arranging the image tiles onto the user-selected geographical area in paragraphs [0045] and [0063-0064] (the client server transfers commands (synonymous to tile-arrangement instructions) for positioning the image tiles onto the user-selected geographic area).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al. (US-20080059889-A1)[hereinafter Parker], in view of Barros (US-20060174209-A1)[hereinafter Barros], in view of Salsbury (US-20100082362-A1)[hereinafter Salsbury].
As per Claim 7, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 1.
Parker discloses population data, but does not disclose population data including community mapping data. However, Salsbury discloses wherein the population data includes community mapping data in paragraph [0224] and claim 1 (census data (synonymous to population data) includes neighborhood assets (synonymous to community mapping data)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a system for geographic-based population information, as disclosed by Parker and Barros, to be combined with population data including community mapping data, as disclosed by Salsbury, for the purpose of improving the health of the public in geographical areas [0002-0003].
As per Claim 8, Parker, Barros and Salsbury disclose the system of Claim 7.
Parker discloses user-selected characteristics, but does not disclose the user-selected characteristic of the community mapping data. However, Salsbury discloses wherein the user-selected characteristic of the community mapping data includes data corresponding to at least one of medical condition prevalence, medical condition frontier, food access frontier, nutrition, population density centers, or health care providers in paragraph [0224] and claim 1 (neighborhood assets includes data corresponding to primary care physicians (synonymous to healthcare providers) (Examiner notes that the primary care physicians meet the "at least one of" limitation)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a system for geographic-based population information, as disclosed by Parker and Barros, to be combined with community mapping data, as disclosed by Salsbury, for the purpose of improving the health of the public in geographical areas [0002-0003].
As per Claim 9, Parker and Barros disclose the system of Claim 1.
Parker discloses population data, but does not disclose population data including social determinants of health data. However, Salsbury discloses wherein the population data includes social determinants of health data in paragraphs [0029] and [0051-0055] and [0096] and [0098] and [0145] and Figures 2-10 and claim 1 (census data includes a plurality of determinants of community conditions (synonymous to social determinants of health data)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a system for geographic-based population information, as disclosed by Parker and Barros, to be combined with population data including social determinants of health data, as disclosed by Salsbury, for the purpose of improving the health of the public in geographical areas [0002-0003].
As per Claim 10, Parker, Barros, and Salsbury disclose the system of Claim 9.
Parker discloses user-selected characteristics, but does not disclose the user-selected characteristic of social determinants of health data. However, Salsbury discloses wherein the user-selected characteristic of social determinants of health data includes data corresponding to at least one of minority population prevalence, race/ethnicity prevalence, linguistic isolation prevalence, prevalence of a foreign language as the primary language, level of education, per capita income, income distribution, unemployment prevalence, prevalence of population not in the labor force, poverty prevalence, prevalence of disabled people living in poverty, marital status, prevalence of female only householders, prevalence of no access to a vehicle, prevalence of the population enrolled in Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP), or family size in paragraphs [0029] and [0051-0055] and [0096] and [0098] and [0145] and Figures 2-10 and claim 1 (plurality of determinants of community conditions includes data corresponding to level of education, median household income (synonymous to income distribution), or unemployment prevalence (Examiner notes that the level of education, median household income, and unemployment prevalence meets the "at least one of" limitation)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a system for geographic-based population information, as disclosed by Parker and Barros, to be combined with social determinants of health, as disclosed by Salsbury, for the purpose of improving the health of the public in geographical areas [0002-0003].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 10-15, filed 10/27/2025 with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 15-17, filed 10/27/2025 with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered.
With regards to Claims 1-6 and 11-20, Applicant argues that Parker does not teach or suggest the amended recitations of claim 1, 11, and 16. Examiner finds this persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of 07/30/2025 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration a new grounds of rejection is made over Parker in view of Barros.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fradelos, Evangelos C et al. “Health Based Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and their Applications.” (2014) teaches the use of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to solve public health issues.
Barnard, Deborah Kelly, and Weimin Hu. “The Population Health Approach: health GIS as a bridge from theory to practice.” (2005) teaches using the health GIS along with health determinants to identify health conditions that arise in communities.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682