DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 07/23/2026, has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 16, 18, 20, 21, and 24 are amended. Claims 1-9, 13, 14, and 16-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/23/2026 with regards to rejection of claims 1-9, 13, 14, and 16-24 have been fully considered but they are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 16, 18 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (WO 2022/237520 A1, CN 202110513712.3, for citation and translation please see US 2024/0080827 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2023/0137534 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a wireless communication method of a first device, the wireless communication method comprising: receiving, from a second device through a channel having a bandwidth of 20 megahertz (MHz), a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), based on a non-orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (non-OFDMA) (Paragraphs 0124, 0198 discloses a resource allocation method applied to a receiving end, and the method includes: receiving a frequency band indication and a resource unit allocation indication, where the bandwidth of the PPDU is 20 MHz, and the resource unit is 242-tone RU, then the 242-tone RU is non-OFDMA 242-tone RU);
Hu does not explicitly discloses based on values of a plurality of fields being related to resource allocation of the channel and included in a signal field of a preamble included in the PPDU, identifying whether a multi-resource unit (MRU) to replace a resource unit (RU) comprising a 242-tone is allocated to the first device and based on a result of the identifying, decoding a payload included in the PPDU
In an analogous art, Yu discloses based on values of a plurality of fields being related to resource allocation of the channel and included in a signal field of a preamble included in the PPDU (Fig. 6a, paragraphs 0225-0233 discloses 603. The STA determines, based on a number of resource unit allocation subfields indicating that a corresponding 242-tone RU belongs to the MRU in the resource unit allocation subfield corresponding to each 80 MHz subblock, a type of RU of the MRU for transmitting the PPDU. The STA determines the type of RU that is the MRU for transmitting the PPDU, to determine an RU forming the MRU. The following provides a solution in which when the bandwidth is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz, the STA determines the RU forming the MRU based on the number of resource unit allocation subfields indicating that the corresponding 242-tone RU belongs to the MRU in the resource unit allocation subfield corresponding to each 80 MHz subblock. Paragraphs 0246-0250 Fig. 6D-6E discloses when the STA identifies, based on the resource unit allocation subfields corresponding to the 240 MHz bandwidth, that the first 80 MHz subblock in the 240 MHz bandwidth includes four 242-tone RUs that belong to an MRU, the second 80 MHz subblock includes four 242-tone RUs that belong to an MRU, and the third 80 MHz subblock includes four 242-tone RUs that belong to an MRU, the STA determines that the 240 MHz bandwidth includes two 996+484-tone RUs. A STA that receives a PPDU obtains a user field of the STA based on an AID (identifier), and obtains an RU indicated by a resource unit allocation subfield corresponding to the user field, to determine the RU allocated to the STA), identifying whether a multi-resource unit (MRU) to replace a single resource unit (RU) comprising a 242-tone is allocated to the first device (Further Table, 6, paragraphs 0239-0241 discloses the mechanism of identification, the STA receiving the PPDU can determine the MRU combination type based on a number, indicated by the resource unit allocation subfield, of 242-tone RUs that belong to the MRU in each 80 MHz subblock in the 160 MHz bandwidth) and based on a result of the identifying, decoding a payload included in the PPDU (Further Table, 6, paragraphs 0239-0241 discloses the mechanism of identification, the STA receiving the PPDU can determine the MRU combination type based on a number, indicated by the resource unit allocation subfield, of 242-tone RUs that belong to the MRU in each 80 MHz subblock in the 160 MHz bandwidth, which implicitly including the decoding of payload in the PPDU. Paragraph 0312 discloses 804. the STA obtains, based on a resource unit allocation subfield corresponding to the MRU in the resource unit allocation subfields corresponding to the first 80 MHz subblock and/or the third 80 MHz subblock in the 240 MHz bandwidth, RU numbers of the 484-tone RU and the 996-tone RU that form the MRU in the 160 MHz subblock to which the MRU belongs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yu to the system of Hu to provide a method, a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) is generated and sent. The PPDU includes multiple resource unit allocation subfields. The multiple resource unit allocation subfields include a resource unit allocation subfield corresponding to a multiple resource unit (MRU) to indicate that a 242-tone resource unit (RU) corresponding to the resource unit allocation subfield belongs to the MRU (Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Hu discloses a wireless communication method of a second device for communicating with a first device, the wireless communication method comprising: generating a field indicating that the first MRU is allocated to the first device (Paragraphs 0115, 0117-0119, Figure 6, disclose there can be up to 9 26-tone RUs per 20MHz, or 4 52-tone RUs, or 2 106-tone RUs, or 1 242-tone RU, of course, RUs per 20MHz It may also be a combination of the above RUs with different sizes optionally, the access point may allocate multiple resource units to a station, that is, the multiple resource units are combined or combined as resources allocated to the station, thereby improving transmission efficiency. Wherein, the possible combination scheme of the multi-resource unit (MRU) may be: 52+26-tone MRU, 106+26-tone MRU", Further resource allocation tables 6, 10 and 13 contain subfield included in a preamble in PPDU, can take multiple values also for 20 MHz case, where one of the options is 242-tone RU and there are other options corresponding to different MRU cases; hence this subfield can be utilized to identify if a particular MRU configuration replaces the 242-tone RU configuration); and transmitting, to the first device through a channel having a bandwidth of 20 megahertz (MHz), a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including the field, based on a non-orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (non-OFDMA) (Paragraphs 0124, 0198 discloses a resource allocation method applied to a receiving end, and the method includes: receiving a frequency band indication and a resource unit allocation indication, where the bandwidth of the PPDU is 20 MHz, and the resource unit is 242-tone RU, then the 242-tone RU is non-OFDMA 242-tone RU).
Hu does not expliclty disclose allocating, to the first device, a first multi-resource unit (MRU) to replace a single resource unit (RU) comprising a 242-tone.
In an analogous art, Yu discloses allocating, to the first device, a first multi-resource unit (MRU) to replace a single resource unit (RU) comprising a 242-tone (Fig. 6a, paragraphs 0225-0233 discloses 603. The STA determines, based on a number of resource unit allocation subfields indicating that a corresponding 242-tone RU belongs to the MRU in the resource unit allocation subfield corresponding to each 80 MHz subblock, a type of RU of the MRU for transmitting the PPDU. The STA determines the type of RU that is the MRU for transmitting the PPDU, to determine an RU forming the MRU. The following provides a solution in which when the bandwidth is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz, the STA determines the RU forming the MRU based on the number of resource unit allocation subfields indicating that the corresponding 242-tone RU belongs to the MRU in the resource unit allocation subfield corresponding to each 80 MHz subblock. Paragraphs 0246-0250 Fig. 6D-6E discloses when the STA identifies, based on the resource unit allocation subfields corresponding to the 240 MHz bandwidth, that the first 80 MHz subblock in the 240 MHz bandwidth includes four 242-tone RUs that belong to an MRU, the second 80 MHz subblock includes four 242-tone RUs that belong to an MRU, and the third 80 MHz subblock includes four 242-tone RUs that belong to an MRU, the STA determines that the 240 MHz bandwidth includes two 996+484-tone RUs. A STA that receives a PPDU obtains a user field of the STA based on an AID (identifier), and obtains an RU indicated by a resource unit allocation subfield corresponding to the user field, to determine the RU allocated to the STA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yu to the system of Hu to provide a method, a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) is generated and sent. The PPDU includes multiple resource unit allocation subfields. The multiple resource unit allocation subfields include a resource unit allocation subfield corresponding to a multiple resource unit (MRU) to indicate that a 242-tone resource unit (RU) corresponding to the resource unit allocation subfield belongs to the MRU (Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses wherein the MRU comprises a 2×106-tone (Paragraph 0119 and Fig. 6 discloses MRU comprises a 2×106-tone).
Regarding claim 6, Hu disclose wherein the MRU comprises a 2×106+26-tone (Paragraphs 0117-0118).
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses wherein the MRU is any one of a first MRU comprising 2×106-tone and a second MRU comprising 2×106+26-tone (Paragraphs 0117-0118, 0198 disclose when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs and various 106+26-tone MRUs. This is because when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 20 MHz or 40 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs and various 106+26-tone MRUs).
Regarding claim 9, Hu discloses wherein the MRU comprises an upper-frequency 106+26-tone (Paragraph 0117 and Fig. 6 discloses MRU comprises a 106+26-tone MRU).
Regarding claim 13, Hu discloses transmitting, to the second device, capability information of the first device indicating whether the MRU is supported (Paragraph 0180, 0198 discloses when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs. The resource unit allocation indication indicates an RU/MRU index of the RU/MRU on the band, and an index range corresponding to the resource unit allocation indication in the first bandwidth is reused for an index range of the resource unit allocation indication. When the first bandwidth is 320 MHz, the index range of the resource unit allocation indication is the same as an index range corresponding to the resource unit allocation indication in the 80 MHz/160 MHz bandwidth).
Regarding claim 14, Hu discloses wherein the PPDU is generated based on the capability information of the first device (Paragraph 0124-0125 discloses after receiving a trigger frame, a STA may parse out user information field that matches an AID of the STA, and then send a TB PPDU on an RU indicated by a resource unit allocation subfield in the user information field).
Regarding claim 16, Hu discloses transmitting, to the second device, capability information of the first device indicating whether reception of a modulation scheme for the single RU comprising the 242-tone in the bandwidth of 20 MHz is supported (Paragraph 0180, 0198 discloses when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs. The resource unit allocation indication indicates an RU/MRU index of the RU/MRU on the band, and an index range corresponding to the resource unit allocation indication in the first bandwidth is reused for an index range of the resource unit allocation indication. When the first bandwidth is 320 MHz, the index range of the resource unit allocation indication is the same as an index range corresponding to the resource unit allocation indication in the 80 MHz/160 MHz bandwidth).
Regarding claim 22, Hu discloses wherein the first MRU comprises any one of an MRU comprising a 2×106-tone, an MRU comprising a 2×106+26-tone, (Paragraphs 0117-0118, 0198 disclose when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs and various 106+26-tone MRUs. This is because when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 20 MHz or 40 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs and various 106+26-tone MRUs), an MRU comprising an upper-frequency 106+26-tone, and an MRU comprising a lower-frequency 106+26-tone (Paragraphs 0117-0118, 0198 disclose when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs and various 106+26-tone MRUs. This is because when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 20 MHz or 40 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs and various 106+26-tone MRUs).
Regarding claim 23, Hu discloses receiving, from the first device, capability information indicating whether the first MRU is supported, wherein the allocating of the first MRU comprises allocating the first MRU to the first device based on the capability information (Paragraph 0180, 0198 discloses when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs. The resource unit allocation indication indicates an RU/MRU index of the RU/MRU on the band, and an index range corresponding to the resource unit allocation indication in the first bandwidth is reused for an index range of the resource unit allocation indication. When the first bandwidth is 320 MHz, the index range of the resource unit allocation indication is the same as an index range corresponding to the resource unit allocation indication in the 80 MHz/160 MHz bandwidth).
Regarding claim 24, Hu discloses receiving, from the first device, capability information indicating whether reception of a modulation scheme for the RU comprising the 242-tone in the bandwidth of 20 MHz is supported, wherein the allocating of the first MRU comprises allocating the first MRU to the first device based on the capability information (Paragraph 0180, 0198 discloses when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs. The resource unit allocation indication indicates an RU/MRU index of the RU/MRU on the band, and an index range corresponding to the resource unit allocation indication in the first bandwidth is reused for an index range of the resource unit allocation indication. When the first bandwidth is 320 MHz, the index range of the resource unit allocation indication is the same as an index range corresponding to the resource unit allocation indication in the 80 MHz/160 MHz bandwidth).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. in view of Yu et al. and further in view of Yu et al. (WO 2022262732 A1, CN202110675567.9 for citation and translation please see US 2024/0121030 A1, Yu’030).
Regarding claim 2, Hu and Yu do not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of fields comprise a bandwidth field, a PPDU type and compression mode field, and a punctured channel information field.
In an analogous art, Yu’030 discloses wherein the plurality of fields comprise a bandwidth field, a PPDU type and a punctured channel information field (Table 2 discloses a puncturing pattern may be indicated based on a punctured channel information field (bits B3 to B7) of a second symbol in a U-SIG field, and a PPDU bandwidth may be indicated based on a PPDU bandwidth indication field (bits B3 to B5) of a first symbol in the U-SIG field, which indicates the type of PPDU (as different PPDU are listed based on different bandwidth), and compression mode field (Paragraph 0119 discloses puncturing patterns for non-OFDMA transmission of an EHT MU PPDU are shown in Table 2 below. A puncturing pattern may be indicated based on a punctured channel information field (bits B3 to B7) of a second symbol in a U-SIG field, and a PPDU bandwidth may be indicated based on a PPDU bandwidth indication field (bits B3 to B5) of a first symbol in the U-SIG field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yu’030 to the modified system of Hu and Yu to provide a communication method and a communication apparatus, which can improve flexibility of indicating a puncturing pattern of a first bitmap, thereby improving applicability (Paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 19, Hu and Yu do not explicitly does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of fields comprise a bandwidth field, a PPDU type and compression mode field, and a punctured channel information field.
In an analogous art, Yu’030 discloses wherein the field is a punctured channel information field (Table 2 discloses a puncturing pattern may be indicated based on a punctured channel information field (bits B3 to B7) of a second symbol in a U-SIG field, and a PPDU bandwidth may be indicated based on a PPDU bandwidth indication field (bits B3 to B5) of a first symbol in the U-SIG field, which indicates the type of PPDU (as different PPDU are listed based on different bandwidth)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yu’030 to the modified system of Hu and Yu to provide a communication method and a communication apparatus, which can improve flexibility of indicating a puncturing pattern of a first bitmap, thereby improving applicability (Paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 20, Hu and Yu do not explicitly disclose wherein the punctured channel information field comprises a bit indicating any one of the single RU comprising the 242-tone, and the first MRU.
In an analogous art, Yu’030 discloses wherein the punctured channel information field comprises (Table 2 discloses a puncturing pattern may be indicated based on a punctured channel information field (bits B3 to B7) of a second symbol in a U-SIG field, and a PPDU bandwidth may be indicated based on a PPDU bandwidth indication field (bits B3 to B5) of a first symbol in the U-SIG field, which indicates the type of PPDU (as different PPDU are listed based on different bandwidth) a bit indicating any one of the single RU comprising the 242-tone, and the first MRU (Paragraph 0165 discloses the first device may alternatively perform the non-OFDMA transmission by using a supported non-OFDMA puncturing pattern with a smaller size. For example, the first device may alternatively send the PPDU based on a puncturing pattern corresponding to the 242-tone RU 1 (that is, send the PPDU on the 242-tone RU 1 in the 320 MHz bandwidth). For another example, the first device may alternatively send the PPDU on the 484-tone RU 1 in the 320 MHz bandwidth. For still another example, the first device may alternatively send the PPDU on the 484+242-tone MRU 1 to the 484+242-tone MRU 4 in the 320 MHz bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yu’030 to the modified system of Hu and Yu to provide a communication method and a communication apparatus, which can improve flexibility of indicating a puncturing pattern of a first bitmap, thereby improving applicability (Paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 21, Hu and Yu do not explicitly disclose wherein the first MRU comprises any one of a plurality of second MRUs corresponding to different combinations, and the punctured channel information field comprises a plurality of bits indicating at least one of the single RU comprising the 242-tone and a second MRU of the plurality of second MRUs.
In an analogous art, Yu’030 discloses wherein the first MRU comprises any one of a plurality of second MRUs corresponding to different combinations, and the punctured channel information field comprises a plurality of bits indicating at least one of the RU comprising the 242-tone and a second MRU of the plurality of second MRUs (Paragraphs 0117-0118, 0198 disclose when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs and various 106+26-tone MRUs. This is because when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 20 MHz or 40 MHz, each 20 MHz supports various 52+26-tone MRUs and various 106+26-tone MRUs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yu’030 to the modified system of Hu and Yu to provide a communication method and a communication apparatus, which can improve flexibility of indicating a puncturing pattern of a first bitmap, thereby improving applicability (Paragraph 0007).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (WO 2022/237520 A1, for citation and translation please see US 2024/0080827 A1) in view of Yu et al. and further in view of Dong (US 2025/0301307 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Hu and Yu do not explicitly disclose the mechanism of wherein the modulation scheme is any one of a 1024-quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) and a 4096-QAM.
In an analogous art, Dong discloses wherein the modulation scheme is any one of a 1024-quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) and a 4096-QAM (Paragraph 0045, 0074).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Dong to the modified system of Hu and Yu to provide a method of transceiving capability information supported by devices such as 4096 QAM and 1024 QAM which utilize in performing communication session (Paragraph 0005).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hu et al. (US 2022/0353029 A1) discloses a resource unit combination indication method and a communications apparatus, to support one or more users in transmitting data by using a plurality of contiguous or discontiguous RUs, and indicate a combination status of the plurality of RUs to the user. This improves RU allocation flexibility of a system, and improves spectrum utilization of the system (Abstract, Hu).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413