Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains verbose/superfluous wording. Emend to remove “according to the present disclosure”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the traveling state of the vehicles (Claim 1, e.g. for Fig. 2 could state that the three vehicles are travelling with an arrow having “travelling” inside of it) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelson (USPGPN 20180037136)
Independent Claim 1, Nelson discloses a vehicle control device (122, Figs. [1-10, 12, esp. 1-4, 6-8]) that receives or transmits electric power from or to a power supply lane (130) provided on a roadside portion of a road (Figs. [2-7, esp. 2, 3, 6, 7]) and controls a vehicle (140, 124a-124n) traveling on the road, the vehicle control device (Figs. [2,3,10] structure) comprising
a processor (210, Fig. 10, ¶’s [32, 99])
wherein the processor judges, when a power shortage occurs in a power supply area of the power supply lane, whether there is leeway in electric power in the vehicle in which the vehicle control device is installed (¶’s [23, 24, 60-62, 68, 76, 77, 119, 120, esp. 60, 62, 77, 120]),
and supplies electric power stored in the vehicle to the power supply lane when judging that there is leeway in the electric power (¶[60]).
Dependent Claim 2, Nelson discloses the processor judges whether there is leeway in electric power, based on predicted electric power consumption until the vehicle arrives at a destination set for the vehicle in which the vehicle control device is installed, and a remaining charge (¶’s [23, 60, 62, 63, 77, esp. 60, 62, 77]
¶[60: “charging controller 141 may determine whether to provide charge to passing vehicles or receive charge from passing vehicles from a variety of reasons. In one example, the charge level of the battery 148 determines the direction of power flow. In another example, the vehicle (e.g., mobile device 122 or monitor system 145) activates either a charge receive mode or a charge send mode based on rate of power to or from the power grid 155, a user setting, or a current charge level of the battery 148”]
¶[62: “a charging level (e.g., indicative of the current level of the vehicle's batteries or expected future level of the vehicle's batteries”]
¶[77: “vehicle charging command, routing of the vehicle, and/or battery level of the battery 148 when generating a route to a destination. The mobile device or the monitor system 145 may instruct the vehicle power module 143 to collect the excess energy from the charging device 151 or road power module 143, store the excess energy in the battery 148 of the vehicle, and deliver the excess energy to a subsequent charging device 151 or road power module 143”]
Applicant has used the broad term “based on”, and as the future state of charge at the destination is based upon the current SOC, the current SOC would meet both requirements of the claim, applicant can further limit the claim by replace “based on” with “using”).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Ricci (USPGPN 20170136889)
Independent Claim 1, Ricci discloses a vehicle control device ([136, 132] Figs. [1-3, 9, 12-17, esp. [1, 12, 14]]) that receives or transmits electric power from or to a power supply lane (charging lane, ¶[74]) provided on a roadside portion of a road (¶’s [01, 02, 31, 72-74, 77, 78, 98]) and controls a vehicle (100 in Fig. 1) traveling on the road (¶’s [01, 74]),
the vehicle control device comprising
a processor (136, ¶’s [77, 80, 83, 96, 101, 104, 105, 108, 119, 170] describe processor functions for 136, i.e. 136 is a processor)
wherein the processor judges, when a power shortage occurs in a power supply area of the power supply lane (Figs. [4-8, esp. 5, 7] describes situation where the grid/power supply area is over-budge/capacity, i.e. shortage of power), whether there is leeway in electric power in the vehicle in which the vehicle control device is installed (¶’s [77, 102-104, esp. 104] describes that the current charge level is determined, and is able to provide power when above a selected threshold/leeway of electric power in the vehicle is available), and
supplies electric power stored in the vehicle to the power supply lane when judging that there is leeway in the electric power (¶’s [83, 104]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nelson (USPGPN 20180037136), as evidenced by Jin et al (USPGPN 20130041538)
Dependent Claim 3, Nelson teaches the processor judges whether the vehicle in which the vehicle control device is installed is a vehicle capable of self-contained power generation (¶’s [02, 98] describes the vehicle as a hybrid vehicle with an engine, where Figs. [9, 10] show vehicle control device 122 having sensors described for Claim 9 ¶[104], thus as there is a engine sensor providing data to 122, it would inherently judge/understand there is a self-contained power generation capability), and judges that there is leeway in the electric power when judging that the vehicle is the vehicle capable of self-contained power generation (as explained above for Claim 1, noted that the applicant did not state that the self-contained power generation contributed to the total leeway in the electric power e.g. for range purposes)
Or, in the alternative, if the applicant amends to limit that the electric power range is based upon both the battery level and the power estimated to be available including the self-contained power generation, it is known that hybrid electric vehicles commonly display a range of travel to include such a range to provide improved convenience (see for evidence, ¶[44] of Jin). Thus, to incorporate the engine’s range along with the battery’s range, it would provide improved convenience for the user to accurately understand how far they have to go, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (another example is the 2017 Toyota RAV4 hybrid which has provided this estimate to the examiner, official notice taken).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ricci (USPGPN 20170136889), as evidenced by Jin et al (USPGPN 20130041538)
Dependent Claim 3, Ricci teaches the processor judges whether the vehicle in which the vehicle control device is installed is a vehicle capable of self-contained power generation (¶’s [42, 45, 46, 74, 85, esp. 42, 74, 85] describes the vehicle as a hybrid vehicle with an engine and/or a solar panel ¶[85], where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that a vehicle with an engine would have a controller understanding it has an engine in order to route power from the engine, start the engine, and control the engine), and judges that there is leeway in the electric power when judging that the vehicle is the vehicle capable of self-contained power generation (as explained above for Claim 1, noted that the applicant did not state that the self-contained power generation contributed to the total leeway in the electric power e.g. for range purposes)
Or, in the alternative, if the applicant amends to limit that the electric power range is based upon both the battery level and the power estimated to be available including the self-contained power generation, it is known that hybrid electric vehicles commonly display a range of travel to include such a range to provide improved convenience (see for evidence, ¶[44] of Jin). Thus, to incorporate the engine’s range along with the battery’s range, it would provide improved convenience for the user to accurately understand how far they have to go, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (another example is the 2017 Toyota RAV4 hybrid which has provided this estimate to the examiner, official notice taken).
Dependent Claim 4, Ricci discloses the processor judges whether the vehicle in which the vehicle control device is installed is a vehicle with low instantaneous power consumption, and judges that there is leeway in the electric power when judging that the vehicle is the vehicle with low instantaneous power consumption (¶’s [97, 127, 128] describes priority levels of the vehicles are set according to their respective power consumption levels, where ¶[135] describes this level as a consumption rate [i.e. instantaneous power consumption]).
As noted, there is communication between each REV 100a-100n, charging segments 128a-128z, and control system 208 over the cloud/network 216 (see Fig. 2), where this communication involves the sending of the priority level to the REV (and thus 132/136, ¶[96]). As noted, ¶[77] explicitly describes sending sensed data from 1208 (¶’s [102-104], ¶[102: “including electrical charge flow… coulomb mounting meter (which measures the charge, or coulomb, input to, and subsequently removed from, the battery—which is accomplished by measuring the charge and discharge current…”], i.e. instantaneous power consumption in the form of current). Thus, as the consumption rate determines the priority order, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the lower priority would involve the lower consumption level.
Or in the alternative, it would have been obvious for the lower consumption level to be used as a battery which is not discharging as fast will last longer (and thus reliably be able to provide power to the grid for longer than one with a higher initial discharge current level). Official notice taken that for two batteries/vehicles with e.g. 50% SOC, one which is discharging loading at 1C [battery A] would be less attractive to apply to another load (of e.g. 0.5C) than one [battery B] discharging at 0.5C (battery A would then last only 20 minutes rather than the 30 minutes of battery B as 1C+0.5C=1.5C, 0.5C+0.5C=1C, 1C from 50% SOC is 30min, 1.5C from 50% SOC is 20min, thus battery B would reliably provide power longer than battery A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art involve charging while travelling:
US-20220281343-A1 OR US-20250282251-A1 OR US-20230082220-A1 OR US-20230246448-A1 OR US-20240253480-A1 OR US-20240308377-A1 OR US-20260131689-A1 OR US-20190291596-A1 OR US-20220041071-A1 OR US-20200122726-A1 OR US-20200398682-A1 OR US-20220410893-A1 OR US-20230219448-A1 OR US-20230226923-A1 OR US-20240253503-A1 OR US-20240253481-A1 OR US-20240253482-A1 OR US-20240253505-A1 OR US-20240253504-A1 OR US-20240270092-A1 OR US-20240286511-A1 OR US-20240286520-A1 OR US-20240286518-A1 OR US-20240286512-A1 OR US-20240294074-A1 OR US-20240308414-A1 OR US-20240383357-A1 OR US-20240416784-A1 OR US-20250083541-A1 OR US-20250093168-A1 OR US-20260225477-A1 OR US-20230219447-A1 OR US-20230226939-A1 OR US-20230278451-A1 OR US-20240253484-A1 OR US-20240399916-A1 OR US-20240409082-A1 OR US-20220234453-A1 OR US-20230021364-A1 OR US-20240253506-A1 OR US-20240253483-A1 OR US-20240253511-A1 OR US-20240308373-A1 OR US-20260217138-A1 OR US-20120217111-A1 OR US-20120248892-A1 OR US-20210151249-A1 OR US-20130154553-A1 OR US-20150298559-A1 OR US-20150298561-A1 OR US-20160218534-A1 OR US-20170207656-A1 OR US-20190047431-A1 OR US-20190061534-A1 OR US-20190217726-A1 OR US-20220402365-A1 OR US-20210387535-A1 OR US-20220393510-A1 OR US-20250042272-A1 OR US-20250170910-A1 OR US-20260061872-A1 OR US-20080265684-A1 OR US-20110163542-A1 OR US-20160001662-A1 OR US-20160068070-A1 OR US-20170136889-A1 OR US-20170136888-A1 OR US-20170203655-A1 OR US-20200122601-A1 OR US-20180037136-A1 OR US-20180178666-A1 OR US-20190039471-A1 OR US-20190054833-A1 OR US-20190097471-A1 OR US-20190118659-A1 OR US-20190308515-A1 OR US-20210031642-A1 OR US-20210078417-A1 OR US-20210114465-A1 OR US-20210300189-A1 OR US-20220009369-A1 OR US-20220149663-A1 OR US-20220255348-A1 OR US-20250266712-A1 OR US-20220289048-A1 OR US-20230122088-A1 OR US-20250149926-A1 OR US-20160190815-A1 OR US-20170136911-A1 OR US-12344118-B2 OR US-12640566-B2 OR US-11186186-B2 OR US-11964575-B2 OR US-11338809-B2 OR US-11180039-B2 OR US-12397672-B2 OR US-12576745-B2 OR US-12715319-B2 OR US-12434580-B2 OR US-12722515-B2 OR US-12589671-B2 OR US-12427875-B2 OR US-12503039-B2 OR US-12617308-B2 OR US-12654583-B2 OR US-12583438-B2 OR US-12434576-B2 OR US-12479322-B2 OR US-10325717-B2 OR US-10566838-B2 OR US-11651891-B2 OR US-9511674-B2 OR US-9533590-B2 OR US-10027147-B2 OR US-11652367-B2 OR US-11376966-B2 OR US-12427873-B2 OR US-12149096-B2 OR US-7880337-B2 OR US-10513190-B2 OR US-10183584-B2 OR US-10611251-B2 OR US-10759281-B2 OR US-10525848-B2 OR US-10293700-B2 OR US-10507737-B2 OR US-11027626-B2 OR US-10784725-B2 OR US-10479222-B2 OR US-10759289-B2 OR US-11034252-B2 OR US-11571975-B2 OR US-12115872-B2 OR US-11427094-B2 OR US-11524600-B2 OR US-11984733-B2 OR US-12294225-B2 OR US-12054058-B2 OR US-12700758-B2 OR US-12620838-B2 OR US-5311973-A OR US-10160339-B2
The following prior art from the above also focus on bidirectional power transfer:
US-20170136889-A1 OR US-20170136888-A1 OR US-20180037136-A1 OR US-20200122601-A1 OR US-20110163542-A1 OR US-20080265684-A1 OR US-20130154553-A1 OR US-20160001662-A1 OR US-20190217726-A1 OR US-20220402365-A1 OR US-20230122088-A1 OR US-20230219447-A1 OR US-20230226939-A1 OR US-20230278451-A1 OR US-10183584-B2 OR US-10611251-B2 OR US-10525848-B2 OR US-7880337-B2 OR US-11376966-B2 OR US-12700758-B2 OR US-12617308-B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859