DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 03/26/2024, claims 1-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHARMA et al. (US 2021/0409932 A1) in view of SI et al. (US 2020/0029238 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Sharma teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
two transceivers configured to enable wireless communications with a first base station; and a processor, communicatively coupled to the two or more transceivers, and configured to:
measure, using the two or more transceivers, a first reference signal (See Fig. 6: At step S3, the mobile communication device 3 not only measures the CRS of the component carrier (i.e., first reference signal) used for the primary cell 7. ¶ [0096]) and a second reference signal (See Fig. 6: Thus, the mobile communication device 3 measures a different type of reference signal (i.e., second reference signal)—the CSI-RS in this embodiment—for the extension carrier as S3. ¶ [0096]) during a measuring period to determine a first measuring result of the first reference signal and a second measuring result of the second reference signal (See Figs. 2 and 6: the measurement period for the measurement of the CSI-RS RSRP/RSRQ for the CSI-RS on the extension carrier is advantageously dependent on the timing parameter. ¶ [0083]);
generate one or more reports that include the first measuring result and the second measuring result (See Fig. 6: @S4, reporting results of measurements performed on the reference signals of the first type for the first component carrier and results of measurements performed on the reference signals of the second type for the second component carrier; ¶ [0020] and ¶ [0096]), wherein the report indicates that the first measuring result is associated with the second measuring result (See Fig. 6: @S4: the mobile device to generate and report an associated measurement report comprising the results of the measurements (in this embodiment values of RSRP and RSRQ, i.e., first and second measuring results) and send it to the base station 5-1 at S4. ¶ [0096]); and
transmit, using the one transceiver, the one or more reports to the first base station (See Fig. 6: @S4 the mobile device to generate and send an associated measurement report comprising the results of the measurements (in this embodiment values of RSRP and RSRQ) to the base station 5-1 at S4. ¶ [0096]).
Sharma doesn’t explicitly state the measurement results are associated in time (domain) and using the two transceivers.
However, SI further provides the measurement results are associated in time (domain) (SI- See Fig. 13: the time domain configuration of the measurement window may contain all the RSs (i.e., Reference Signals) for DRS based RRM measurement, such that UE assumes all the RSs for DRS based RRM measurement are within the measurement window. ¶ [0257]) and using the two transceivers (SI- See Fig. 2: a UE can be configured at least two RMTCs for a cell, wherein a first RMTC is utilized for RSSI measurement of signals/channels from NR-U, and a second RMTC is utilized for RSSI measurement of signals/channels from co-existing RATs (i.e., Multi Transceivers). ¶ [0320]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the measurement results are associated in time (domain) and using the two transceivers as taught by SI to have incorporated in the system of Sharma, so that it would provide to enhance the configuration of RMTC to address the utilization scenario of flexible numerology for the RSSI samples. SI: ¶ [0310].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “one or more”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 2; Sharma teaches the UE wherein to measure the first reference signal and the second reference signal during the measuring period, the processor is further configured to: receive the first reference signal based on a first resource set during the measuring period; and receive the second reference signal based on a second resource set during the measuring period (Sharma: to perform measurements on the reference signals of the first type for the first component carrier, for use in determining a signal strength of the first component carrier and operable to perform measurements on the reference signals of the second type for the second component carrier, for use in determining a signal strength of the second component carrier; ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 3; Sharma teaches the UE wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a configuration message from the first base station, wherein the configuration message indicates the first resource set and the second resource set (See Fig. 6: the base station 5-1 signals appropriate measurement configuration information to the mobile communication device 3 at S2.. ¶ [0096]).
Regarding claim 4; Sharma teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive the first reference signal from the first base station; and receive the second reference signal from a second base station (See Fig. 6: a first cell using a first component carrier and a second cell using a second component carrier. See Abstract).
Regarding claim 5; Sharma teaches the UE wherein the first reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Sharma: positioning reference signals ‘PRS’ and/or may comprise channel state information reference signals ‘CSI-RS’. ¶ [0032]), and wherein the second reference signal includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) signal (Sharma: the extension carrier or second carrier carrying second reference signal may include: a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS); a Secondary Synchronization Signal SSS. ¶ [0060]).
Regarding claim 6; Sharma teaches the UE wherein the first measuring result includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of the first reference signal (SI: this disclosure can be utilized for SINR calculation for NR-U DRS based radio link monitoring as well. ¶ [0132]), and wherein the second measuring result includes a RSRP or a SINR of the second reference signal (Sharma: to determine a reference signal received power ‘RSRP’ for the second component carrier. ¶ [0028]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 7; Sharma in view of Si teaches the UE wherein to generate the one or more reports, the processor is further configured to: receive a configuration message from the first base station, wherein the configuration message configures the processor to generate a report that includes the first measuring result and the second measuring result (Sharma: the mobile communication device 3 not only measures the CRS of the component carrier used for the primary cell 7 but also measures a different type of reference signal—the CSI-RS in this embodiment—for the extension carrier as S3. ¶ [0096]), and wherein the report indicates that the first measuring result is associated with the second measuring result in time (SI- See Fig. 13: the time domain configuration of the measurement window may contain all the RS (i.e., Reference Signals) for DRS based RRM measurement, such that UE assumes all the RSs for DRS based RRM measurement are within the measurement window. ¶ [0257]).
Regarding claim 8; Sharma in view of Si teaches the UE wherein to generate the one or more reports, the processor is further configured to: receive a configuration message from the first base station, wherein the configuration message configures the processor to: generate a first report that includes the first measuring result; and generate a second report that includes the second measuring result (Sharma: the mobile communication device 3 not only measures the CRS of the component carrier used for the primary cell 7 but also measures a different type of reference signal—the CSI-RS in this embodiment—for the extension carrier as S3. ¶ [0096]), wherein the first report or the second report indicates that the first measuring result is associated with the second measuring result in time (SI- See Fig. 13: the time domain configuration of the measurement window may contain all the RS (i.e., Reference Signals) for DRS based RRM measurement, such that UE assumes all the RSs for DRS based RRM measurement are within the measurement window. ¶ [0257]).
Regarding claim 9; Sharma in view of Si teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein the one or more reports includes a third report indicating that the first measuring result is associated with the second measuring result in time (SI- See Fig. 13: the time domain configuration of the measurement window may contain all the RS (i.e., Reference Signals) for DRS based RRM measurement, such that UE assumes all the RSs for DRS based RRM measurement are within the measurement window. ¶ [0257]).
Regarding claim 10; Sharma teaches the UE wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit a capability report to the first base station, wherein the capability report indicates that the UE is capable of receiving the first reference signal and the second reference signal during the measuring period simultaneously (Sharma: a more advanced multi-carrier capable terminal would be able to simultaneously use the multiple component carriers. ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 11; Sharma teaches a method of operating a user equipment (UE) comprising:
measuring a first reference signal (See Fig. 6: At step S3, the mobile communication device 3 not only measures the CRS of the component carrier (i.e., first reference signal) used for the primary cell 7. ¶ [0096]) and a second reference signal (See Fig. 6: Thus, the mobile communication device 3 measures a different type of reference signal (i.e., second reference signal)—the CSI-RS in this embodiment—for the extension carrier as S3. ¶ [0096]) during a measuring period to determine a first measuring result of the first reference signal and a second measuring result of the second reference signal (See Figs. 2 and 6: the measurement period for the measurement of the CSI-RS RSRP/RSRQ for the CSI-RS on the extension carrier is advantageously dependent on the timing parameter. ¶ [0083]);
generating one or more reports that include the first measuring result and the second measuring result (See Fig. 6: @S4, reporting results of measurements performed on the reference signals of the first type for the first component carrier and results of measurements performed on the reference signals of the second type for the second component carrier; ¶ [0020] and ¶ [0096]), wherein the report indicates that the first measuring result is associated with the second measuring result (See Fig. 6: @S4: the mobile device to generate and report an associated measurement report comprising the results of the measurements (in this embodiment values of RSRP and RSRQ, i.e., first and second measuring results) and send it to the base station 5-1 at S4. ¶ [0096]); and
transmitting the one report to the first base station (See Fig. 6: @S4 the mobile device to generate and send an associated measurement report comprising the results of the measurements (in this embodiment values of RSRP and RSRQ) to the base station 5-1 at S4. ¶ [0096]).
Sharma doesn’t explicitly state the measurement results are associated in time (domain) and using the two transceivers.
However, SI further provides the measurement results are associated in time (domain) (SI- See Fig. 13: the time domain configuration of the measurement window may contain all the RS (i.e., Reference Signals) for DRS based RRM measurement, such that UE assumes all the RSs for DRS based RRM measurement are within the measurement window. ¶ [0257]) and using the two transceivers (SI- See Fig. 2: a UE can be configured at least two RMTCs for a cell, wherein a first RMTC is utilized for RSSI measurement of signals/channels from NR-U, and a second RMTC is utilized for RSSI measurement of signals/channels from co-existing RATs (e.g., Wi-Fi). ¶ [0320]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the measurement results are associated in time (domain) and using the two transceivers as taught by SI to have incorporated in the system of Sharma, so that it would provide to enhance the configuration of RMTC to address the utilization scenario of flexible numerology for the RSSI samples. SI: ¶ [0310].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “one or more”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 12; Sharma teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the measuring the first reference signal and the second reference signal during the measuring period further comprises: receiving the first reference signal based on a first resource set during the measuring period; and receiving the second reference signal based on a second resource set during the measuring period (Sharma: to perform measurements on the reference signals of the first type for the first component carrier, for use in determining a signal strength of the first component carrier and operable to perform measurements on the reference signals of the second type for the second component carrier, for use in determining a signal strength of the second component carrier; ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 13; Sharma teaches a base station comprising:
a transceiver configured to enable wireless communication with a user equipment (UE); and a processor, communicatively coupled to the transceiver, and configured to:
transmit, using the transceiver, a configuration message to the UE (See Fig. 6: the base station 5-1 signals appropriate measurement configuration information to the mobile communication device 3 at S2. ¶ [0096]), wherein the configuration message configures the UE to report a first measuring result of a first reference signal and a second measuring result of a second reference signal measured in a measuring period (See Fig. 6: Based upon the configuration information, at step S3, the mobile communication device 3 not only measures the CRS of the component carrier (i.e., first reference signal) used for the primary cell 7. ¶ [0096]) and a second reference signal (See Fig. 6: Thus, the mobile communication device 3 measures a different type of reference signal (i.e., second reference signal)—the CSI-RS in this embodiment—for the extension carrier as S3. ¶ [0096]);
receive, using the transceiver, one or more reports that include the first measuring result and the second measuring result, wherein the one or more reports indicate that the first measuring result is associated with the second measuring result (See Fig. 6: @S4, reporting results of measurements performed on the reference signals of the first type for the first component carrier and results of measurements performed on the reference signals of the second type for the second component carrier; ¶ [0020] and ¶ [0096]); and
transmit, using the transceiver, a downlink resource assignment to the UE (See Fig. 6: At steps S5 and S6, The base station 3 then determines, from the measurement results, whether or not the mobile communication device 3 is within the coverage area of the secondary cell 8 at S5. If the mobile communication device 3 is within the coverage area of the secondary cell 8, then the base station 5-1 signals the configuration information (i.e., downlink resource assignment) for the secondary cell 8 to the mobile communication device 3 at S6. ¶ [0096]), wherein the downlink resource assignment assigns a first downlink resource set associated with the first reference signal and a second downlink resource set associated with the second reference signal to the UE (See Fig. 6: in response to the measurement report, the base station is to communicate with the user equipment (UE) using a primary component carrier and at least one secondary component carrier, and wherein the primary component carrier and the at least one secondary component carrier originate from the base station. See Sharma’s claim 3).
Sharma doesn’t explicitly state the measurement results are associated in time (domain) and using the two transceivers.
However, SI further provides the measurement results are associated in time (domain) (SI- See Fig. 13: the time domain configuration of the measurement window may contain all the RS (i.e., Reference Signals) for DRS based RRM measurement, such that UE assumes all the RSs for DRS based RRM measurement are within the measurement window. ¶ [0257]) and using the two transceivers (SI- See Fig. 2: a UE can be configured at least two RMTCs for a cell, wherein a first RMTC is utilized for RSSI measurement of signals/channels from NR-U, and a second RMTC is utilized for RSSI measurement of signals/channels from co-existing RATs (e.g., Wi-Fi). ¶ [0320]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the measurement results are associated in time (domain) and using the two transceivers as taught by SI to have incorporated in the system of Sharma, so that it would provide to enhance the configuration of RMTC to address the utilization scenario of flexible numerology for the RSSI samples. SI: ¶ [0310].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “one or more”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 14; Sharma teaches the base station wherein the first reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Sharma: positioning reference signals ‘PRS’ and/or may comprise channel state information reference signals ‘CSI-RS’. ¶ [0032]), and wherein the second reference signal includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) signal (Sharma: the extension carrier or second carrier carrying second reference signal may include: a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS); a Secondary Synchronization Signal SSS. ¶ [0060]).
Regarding claim 15; Sharma teaches the base station of claim 13, wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal have a same reference signal type (Sharma: the extension carrier or second carrier carrying second reference signal may include: a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS); a Secondary Synchronization Signal SSS. ¶ [0060]).
Regarding claim 16; Sharma teaches the base station wherein the same reference signal type is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Sharma: positioning reference signals ‘PRS’ and/or may comprise channel state information reference signals ‘CSI-RS’. ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 17; Ref#1 teaches the base station of claim 13, wherein the first measuring result includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of the first reference signal (SI: this disclosure can be utilized for SINR calculation for NR-U DRS based radio link monitoring as well. ¶ [0132]), and wherein the second measuring result includes a RSRP or a SINR of the second reference signal (Sharma: to determine a reference signal received power ‘RSRP’ for the second component carrier. ¶ [0028]).
18. The base station of claim 13, wherein the configuration message further configures the UE to: receive the first reference signal based on a first resource set during the measuring period; and receive the second reference signal based on a second resource set during the measuring period.
Regarding claim 19; Sharma teaches the base station of claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, using the transceiver, the first reference signal to the UE based on the first resource set (See Fig. 4, and its components of the BS. ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 20; Sharma in view of Si teaches the base station of claim 13, wherein the one or more reports include a first report and a second report, wherein the first report includes the first measuring result, wherein the second report includes the second measuring (Sharma: the mobile communication device 3 not only measures the CRS of the component carrier used for the primary cell 7 but also measures a different type of reference signal—the CSI-RS in this embodiment—for the extension carrier as S3. ¶ [0096]), and wherein the report indicates that the first measuring result is associated with the second measuring result in time (SI- See Fig. 13: the time domain configuration of the measurement window may contain all the RS (i.e., Reference Signals) for DRS based RRM measurement, such that UE assumes all the RSs for DRS based RRM measurement are within the measurement window. ¶ [0257]).
Response to Applicant's Arguments
Applicant's arguments, with regards to claims 1-20, filed on 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sharma fails to disclose or suggest that the measurement report indicates an association between elements within the report, such as the first measuring result and the second measuring result, as recited in independent claims 1, 11, and 13.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sharma et al. (US 2021/0409932 A1) teaches measuring a first reference signal corresponding to a first component carrier (i.e., CRS) (see Fig. 6, step S3; ¶ [0096]) and measuring a second reference signal corresponding to a second component carrier (i.e., CSI-RS) during the measurement procedure (see Fig. 6, step S3; ¶ [0096]). Sharma further teaches determining corresponding measurement results, including RSRP and RSRQ values, for the respective reference signals during the measurement period (see ¶ [0083] and Fig. 2).
Sharma additionally teaches generating a measurement report that includes both the first measurement result and the second measurement result and transmitting the report to the serving base station (see Fig. 6, step S4; ¶¶ [0020], [0096]). Because both measurement results are generated as part of the same measurement procedure and included within a single measurement report generated at step S4, Sharma inherently indicates that the reported measurement results correspond to one another within the same reporting instance. Thus, Sharma teaches reporting the first and second measurement results together as related measurement information.
Applicant's argument appears to require an explicit statement that the measurement results are "associated." However, the claims merely require that the report indicates an association between the first measuring result and the second measuring result. Sharma satisfies this requirement by generating a single measurement report that collectively contains both measurement results obtained during the same reporting procedure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that multiple measurement results contained within a common measurement report are associated as part of the same reporting event.
To the extent Sharma is considered not to expressly disclose that the association is based on a common measurement timing (time domain) or that the measurements are performed using multiple measurement resources, Si et al. (US 2020/0029238 A1) explicitly teaches these aspects.
Si teaches configuring measurement windows such that all reference signals for DRS-based RRM measurements are contained within the same measurement window, thereby associating the corresponding measurement results in the time domain (see Fig. 13; ¶ [0257]). Si further teaches configuring multiple RMTCs for a UE, including a first RMTC for RSSI measurements of NR-U signals and a second RMTC for RSSI measurements of coexisting RAT signals, thereby supporting simultaneous or coordinated measurements using multiple measurement resources (see Fig. 2; ¶ [0320]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sharma to perform the reported measurements within a common measurement window and using multiple measurement configurations as taught by Si. Doing so would have predictably improved the flexibility and configuration of RMTC measurements for different radio access technologies and numerologies, thereby addressing the utilization scenarios described by Si (see ¶ [0310]). The combination merely applies a known measurement coordination technique to Sharma's reporting procedure and yields the predictable result of producing associated measurement results for reporting.
Therefore, Applicant's argument is not persuasive because Sharma teaches reporting the first and second measurement results together in a common measurement report, and, at a minimum, the combination of Sharma and Si teaches or renders obvious that the reported measurement results are associated within the report, as required by claims 1, 11, and 13. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416