DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 7/15/2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-4, 6-20 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Applicant argues on pages 6-7 of the remarks that the prior art of Flaugher (previously used to reject claim 5, which is now being recited in newly amended claims 1 and 18) does not teach or suggest that incorporating water in an impregnated MOF layer can lead to reduced or inhibited dust accumulation, and rather points to the monolithic structure of Flaugher’s filter being the responsible element for any decrease in dust or loose particles. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, although Flaugher mentions the monolith filter structure aides in inhibiting dust-formation (Paragraph 0048, as Applicant notes in Page 7 of the remarks), the Examiner notes that the presence of dust or loose particles will still be inhibited or reduced by the presence of water, even if also being inhibited by additional components (such as the monolith filter structure, as stated). As Flaugher’s device comprises a layer of metal organic framework that is impregnated with a water content in the claimed range, the device would therefore perform in the same manner in which Applicant’s device is being claimed (i.e. inhibiting dust). Furthermore, the Examiner maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to impregnate a metal organic framework filtering layer with some degree of water content, as claimed, as incorporating water within the filter structure would increase the filter’s hydrophilic affinity, which may further assist in filtering out volatile organic compounds found in dust particles. It would therefore follow that the incorporation of water would aide in the reduction of inhibition of dust formation (in addition to the filtering structure), as the claim now requires.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al. (US 2021/0379559 A1) in view of Seino et al. (US 2021/0291142 A1) and in further view of Flaugher et al. (US 2018/0169616 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weston discloses a sorbent filter (modified metal organic framework (MOF) composition which can be used to remove Toxic Industrial Compounds (TICs) from various gaseous streams such as air, Abstract)), comprising: a first adsorbent layer comprising an impregnated metal organic framework (MOF) comprising water (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers, the second layer comprising a modified MOF composition, Paragraph 0029; see Paragraph 0040 describing the use of water being used in conjunction with the metal; the MOF is contacted with a solution of a metal salt, thereby impregnating the metal salt onto the MOF, the salts include magnesium chloride, zinc chloride, Paragraph 0043); and a second adsorbent layer positioned adjacent the first adsorbent layer and comprising an adsorbent material (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers comprising a first layer comprising activated carbon, the absorbent material being the activated carbon, Paragraph 0029).
Although Weston further teaches the use of water as a solvent (Paragraph 0040), Weston doesn’t explicitly state the first adsorbent layer comprising an impregnated metal organic framework (MOF) comprising water in an amount of weight of greater than 0% and less than or equal to 20%, such that the water of the first adsorbent layer reduces or inhibits dust accumulation; and the adsorbent material (of the second layer) with water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%.
However, Flaugher teaches an adsorbent material (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a layer comprising metal organic framework (absorbent particles 12 may include a metal-organic framework material, Paragraph 0027) wherein the metal organic framework comprises water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 20% (the metal-organic framework material may have a water weight of about 10%, therefore greater than 0% and less than 20%, Paragraph 0027) wherein the water reduces or inhibits dust accumulation (see Paragraph 0048 of Flaugher which states the structure of the filter, to include the water impregnated thereon, contributes to the filter being now or non-dusting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by having the MOF layer comprise water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 20%, as taught by Flaugher, as preparing a MOF filtering layer with a level of water increases the filter’s hydrophilic affinity which may assist in filtering out volatile organic compounds.
Regarding the second layer comprising water, Seino teaches an adsorbent filter (Abstract) comprising an adsorbent material being activated carbon (absorbent materials 1a, 1b are at least one of activated carbon, Paragraph 0073) wherein the absorbent material is in water in an amount by weight greater than 0% and less than or equal to 10% (the water content of the activated carbon may be less than 8% weight, Paragraph 0089).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by having the absorbent material (activated carbon) comprise water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%, as taught by Seino, as preparing activated carbon with a relatively low water content allows a stable formation of the absorbent agent (Paragraph 0089 of Seino) and maintaining a level of moisture to the activated carbon offers various benefits such as fire prevention, static and dust suppression, and optimal adsorption characteristics.
Regarding claim 2, Weston further teaches wherein the first adsorbent layer comprises the MOF (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers comprising a first layer comprising activated carbon, and a second layer comprising a modified MOF composition, Paragraph 0029), and wherein the MOF is one of zirconium-based or UiO-66 NH2-based (zirconium based MOF, Paragraph 0038). The Examiner notes that claim 1, from which claim 2 is dependent upon, recites “a first adsorbent layer comprising at least one of a metal organic framework (MOF) or activated carbon”, therefore claim 2 is further limiting an optional limitation).
Regarding claim 3, Weston further teaches wherein the impregnated MOF further comprises at least one of zinc chloride, magnesium chloride, a polymeric binder (the MOF is contacted with a solution of a metal salt, thereby impregnating the metal salt onto the MOF, the salts include magnesium chloride, zinc chloride, Paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 4, Weston further teaches wherein the impregnated MOF comprises zinc chloride (the MOF is contacted with a solution of a metal salt, thereby impregnating the metal salt onto the MOF, the salts include magnesium chloride, zinc chloride, Paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 13, Weston further teaches further comprising a third adsorbent layer comprising at least one of activated carbon (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two, therefore may comprise a third, active layers comprising a first layer comprising activated carbon, and a second layer comprising a modified MOF composition, Paragraph 0029), copper carbonate hydroxide, zinc oxide, water, or copper oxide. The Examiner notes due to the presence of the term “or”, the remaining limitations are not required.
Regarding claim 17, Weston further teaches comprising: a housing at least partially defining a filtering facepiece respirator with an air flow path; and the sorbent filter of claim 1 disposed within the housing; wherein the air flow path is in a direction from one of the first adsorbent layer or the second adsorbent layer toward the other of the first adsorbent layer or the second adsorbent layer (the metal impregnated MOF filtering apparatus may be housed in rigid containers such as cartridges through which the air stream flows through both layers, wherein the cartridge is a part of a respiratory face mask, Paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 18, Weston discloses a sorbent filter (modified metal organic framework (MOF) composition which can be used to remove Toxic Industrial Compounds (TICs) from various gaseous streams such as air, Abstract), comprising: a first adsorbent layer comprising a zirconium-based or UiO-66 NH2 based metal organic framework (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers comprising a second layer comprising a modified MOF composition, Paragraph 0029; (zirconium based MOF, Paragraph 0038) and a second adsorbent layer positioned adjacent the first adsorbent layer and comprising activated carbon (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers comprising a first layer comprising activated carbon, Paragraph 0029).
Although Weston further teaches the use of water as a solvent (Paragraph 0040), Weston doesn’t explicitly state the metal organic framework with water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 20%, wherein the water of the first absorbent layer reduces or inhibits dust accumulation and the activated carbon with water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%.
However, Flaugher teaches an adsorbent material (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a layer comprising metal organic framework (absorbent particles 12 may include a metal-organic framework material, Paragraph 0027) wherein the metal organic framework comprises water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 20% (the metal-organic framework material may have a water weight of about 10%, therefore greater than 0% and less than 20%, Paragraph 0027) wherein the water reduces or inhibits dust accumulation (see Paragraph 0048 of Flaugher which states the structure of the filter, to include the water impregnated thereon, contributes to the filter being now or non-dusting).
Regarding the activated carbon layer, Seino teaches an adsorbent filter (Abstract) comprising an adsorbent material being activated carbon (absorbent materials 1a, 1b are at least one of activated carbon, Paragraph 0073) wherein the absorbent material is in water in an amount by weight greater than 0% and less than or equal to 10% (the water content of the activated carbon may be less than 8% weight, Paragraph 0089).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by having the absorbent material (activated carbon) comprise water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%, as taught by Seino, as preparing activated carbon with a relatively low water content allows a stable formation of the absorbent agent (Paragraph 0089 of Seino) and maintaining a level of moisture to the activated carbon offers various benefits such as fire prevention, static and dust suppression, and optimal adsorption characteristics.
Regarding claim 19, Weston further teaches wherein the MOF further comprises at least one of zinc chloride (zinc chloride, Paragraph 0043), magnesium chloride (magnesium chloride, Paragraph 0043), or a polymeric binder (polymeric binders, Paragraph 0045).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al. (US 2021/0379559 A1) in view of Seino et al. (US 2021/0291142 A1) and in further view of Flaugher et al. (US 2018/0169616 A1), Kim (KR 2021/0075555 A) and Holbrook et al. (US 2018/0001296 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Weston in view of Seino and Flaugher teach the sorbent filter of claim 3, with Weston further teaching wherein the impregnated MOF comprises: zinc chloride (zinc chloride, Paragraph 0043) and polymeric binder (organic binders such as polymers, Paragraph 0045); however Weston doesn’t explicitly state zinc chloride in an amount by weight greater than 0% and less than or equal to 10%; water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 20%; and polymeric binder in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%.
Regarding the zinc chloride content amount, Kim teaches a metal organic framework adsorbent material (Abstract and Figure 1) wherein the impregnated MOF comprises zinc chloride in an amount of 10% by weight or less (content of zinc chloride is 5% wt, Page 7, second paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by having the zinc chloride in an amount of 10% or less, as taught by Kim, as providing zinc chloride in such a quantity is an effective and art-recognized means of increasing particle adsorption within the impregnated MOF.
Regarding the polymeric binder having an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%, Holbrook teaches an absorbent material comprising both a MOF (Paragraph 0074) and a polymeric binder weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (polymeric binders with a weight of 10%, Paragraph 0134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by having the polymeric binder have a weight of between 0 and 10%, as taught by Holbrook, as providing a sufficient amount/weight of polymeric binding to a filtering apparatus is an art-recognized means of adding structural integrity to the filtering apparatus.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al. (US 2021/0379559 A1) in view of Flaugher et al. (US 2018/0169616 A1), Seino et al. (US 2021/0291142 A1), Holbrook et al. (US 2018/0001296 A1) and in further view of Peterson (US 9868107 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Weston in view of Seino and Flaugher teach the sorbent filter of claim 3, with Weston further teaching wherein the impregnated MOF comprises: UiO-66 NH2 (see paragraph 0014) and polymeric binder (organic binders such as polymers, Paragraph 0045) however doesn’t explicitly state the UiO-66 NH2 in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 80%, and less than or equal to 100%; or the polymeric binder in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%.
However, Peterson teaches a modified MOF material (Abstract) comprising UiO-66 NH2 in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 80 % (UiO-66 NH2 at a weight of 80%, Col. 8 and Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by adding a sufficient quantity/amount of UiO-66 NH2 , as taught by Peterson, as providing a sufficient quantity of (UiO-66 NH2 to a MOF significantly enhances its chemical stability, adsorption capacity and hydrophilicity.
Regarding the polymeric binder having an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%, Holbrook teaches an absorbent material comprising both a MOF (Paragraph 0074) and a polymeric binder weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (polymeric binders with a weight of 10%, Paragraph 0134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by having the polymeric binder have a weight of between 0 and 10%, as taught by Holbrook, as providing a sufficient amount/weight of polymeric binding to a filtering apparatus is an art-recognized means of adding structural integrity to the filtering apparatus.
Claims 8-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al. (US 2021/0379559 A1) in view of Seino et al. (US 2021/0291142 A1), Flaugher et al. (US 2018/0169616 A1) and in further view of Boehringer et al. (US 2016/0166970 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Weston in view of Flaugher and Seino teach the sorbent filter of claim 1, with Weston further teaching wherein the first adsorbent layer comprises: the activated carbon (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers comprising a first layer comprising activated carbon, and a second layer comprising a modified MOF composition, Paragraph 0029); however is silent on the layer comprising: copper II oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%; silver in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 1%; triethylenediamine in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%; and zinc oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%.
However, Boehringer teaches an adsorptive filtering unit intended for filtering air of biological and chemical substances (Abstract) wherein the absorbent layer comprises activated carbon (absorbent material comprises activated carbon, Paragraph 0039 and Figure 1), further comprising copper II oxide (adsorption material 1 may comprise copper, more particular copper II oxide, Paragraph 0073) in an amount by weight greater than 0% and less than or equal to 10% (the first adsorbent material may comprise copper in an amount in the range of from 0.0001% by weight to 10% by weight, Paragraph 0064), silver in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 1% (first adsorbent material may comprise silver in an amount in the range of from 0.001% by weight to 1% by weight, Paragraph 0064), triethylenediamine in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (triethylenediamine should be in the range of from 1 to 20/0.5 to 18/0 to 15/0.1 to 10, especially in the range of from 3 to 15/1 to 15/0 to 12/1 to 8, and preferably about 5/0.05/5/2, Paragraph 0079); and zinc oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (zinc oxides should be in the range of from 1 to 20/0.5 to 18/0 to 15/0.1 to 10, especially in the range of from 3 to 15/1 to 15/0 to 12/1 to 8, and preferably about 5/0.05/5/2, Paragraphs 0078-0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by including, in addition to the already present activated carbon, copper II oxide, silver, triethylenediamine, and zinc oxide, into the absorbent material, as taught by Boehringer, these elements are art-recognized elements to further aid in optimal adsorption of a filtering unit containing activated carbon, with particular useful properties with regard to the filtering of poisonous agents (Paragraph 0073 of Boehringer).
Regarding claim 9, Weston further teaches wherein the adsorbent material of the second adsorbent layer comprises activated carbon (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers comprising a first layer comprising activated carbon, and a second layer comprising a modified MOF composition, Paragraph 0029), and water (water used as a solvent, Paragraph 0040), with Boehringer again teaching copper II oxide triethylenediamine, and at least one of molybdenum , silver, or zinc oxide (see Paragraph 0073 listing all of the recited elements).
Regarding claim 10, Boehringer further teaches wherein the adsorbent material of the second adsorbent layer comprises: activated carbon in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 60% and less than 100%; (activated carbon in an amount in the range of 15% to 100%, Paragraph 0130), copper II oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0% , and less than or equal to 10% (the first adsorbent material may comprise copper in an amount in the range of from 0.0001% by weight to 10% by weight, Paragraph 0064); molybdenum in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 5% (adsorbent material may comprise molybdenum in an amount in the range of from 0.0001% by weight to 6% by weight, Paragraph 0065); triethylenediamine in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 0%, and less than or equal to 15% (triethylenediamine should be in the range of from 1 to 20/0.5 to 18/0 to 15/0.1 to 10, especially in the range of from 3 to 15/1 to 15/0 to 12/1 to 8, and preferably about 5/0.05/5/2, Paragraph 0079); and water in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (water moisture levels in range of 0.1 by weight to 10%, Paragraph 0088).
Regarding claim 11, Boehringer further teaches wherein the adsorbent material of the second adsorbent layer comprises: activated carbon in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 60%, and less than 100% (activated carbon in an amount in the range of 15% to 100%, Paragraph 0130); copper II oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (the first adsorbent material may comprise copper in an amount in the range of from 0.0001% by weight to 10% by weight, Paragraph 0064); silver in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 5% (first adsorbent material may comprise silver in an amount in the range of from 0.001% by weight to 1% by weight, Paragraph 0064); triethylenediamine in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 0%, and less than or equal to 15% (triethylenediamine should be in the range of from 1 to 20/0.5 to 18/0 to 15/0.1 to 10, especially in the range of from 3 to 15/1 to 15/0 to 12/1 to 8, and preferably about 5/0.05/5/2, Paragraph 0079); and water in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (water moisture levels in range of 0.1 by weight to 10%, Paragraph 0088).
Regarding claim 12, Boehringer further teaches wherein the adsorbent material of the second adsorbent layer comprises: activated carbon in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 54%, and less than 100% (activated carbon in an amount in the range of 15% to 100%, Paragraph 0130); copper II oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (the first adsorbent material may comprise copper in an amount in the range of from 0.0001% by weight to 10% by weight, Paragraph 0064); silver in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 1% (first adsorbent material may comprise silver in an amount in the range of from 0.001% by weight to 1% by weight, Paragraph 0064); zinc oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (zinc oxides should be in the range of from 1 to 20/0.5 to 18/0 to 15/0.1 to 10, especially in the range of from 3 to 15/1 to 15/0 to 12/1 to 8, and preferably about 5/0.05/5/2, Paragraphs 0078-0079).; triethylenediamine in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 15% (triethylenediamine should be in the range of from 1 to 20/0.5 to 18/0 to 15/0.1 to 10, especially in the range of from 3 to 15/1 to 15/0 to 12/1 to 8, and preferably about 5/0.05/5/2, Paragraph 0079); and water in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (water moisture levels in range of 0.1 by weight to 10%, Paragraph 0088).
Regarding claim 14, Weston in view of Seino teach the sorbent filter of claim 13, with Weston further teaching wherein the third adsorbent layer comprises: activated carbon (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers comprising a first layer comprising activated carbon, therefore fully capable of having a third layer of activated carbon), however is silent on the activated carbon in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 60%, and less than 100%; copper carbonate hydroxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%; copper oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%; water in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%; and zinc oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10%.
However, Boehringer teaches an adsorptive filtering unit intended for filtering air of biological and chemical substances (Abstract) wherein the absorbent layer comprises activated carbon (absorbent material comprises activated carbon, Paragraph 0039 and Figure 1) in the amount but weight greater than 60 but less than 100% (activated carbon in an amount in the range of 15% to 100%, Paragraph 0130) further comprising copper carbonate hydroxide (adsorption material 1 may comprise copper, such as copper II carbonate, Paragraph 0073) in an amount by weight greater than 0% and less than or equal to 10% (the first adsorbent material may comprise copper in an amount in the range of from 0.0001% by weight to 10% by weight, Paragraph 0064), copper oxide (Paragraph 0076), water in an amount by weight greater than or equal to 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (water moisture levels in range of 0.1 by weight to 10%, Paragraph 0088). and zinc oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (zinc oxides should be in the range of from 1 to 20/0.5 to 18/0 to 15/0.1 to 10, especially in the range of from 3 to 15/1 to 15/0 to 12/1 to 8, and preferably about 5/0.05/5/2, Paragraphs 0078-0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by including, in addition to the already present activated carbon, copper II oxide, silver, triethylenediamine, and zinc oxide, into the absorbent material, as taught by Boehringer, these elements are art-recognized elements to further aid in optimal adsorption of a filtering unit containing activated carbon, with particular useful properties with regard to the filtering of poisonous agents (Paragraph 0073 of Boehringer).
Regarding claim 15, Boehringer further teaches wherein the first adsorbent layer defines a first layer thickness, and the second adsorbent layer defines a second layer thickness greater than the first layer thickness (see layers 1 and 2 having differing thickness, with layer 1 having a greater thickness than layer 2, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Weston further teaches further comprising a third adsorbent layer positioned adjacent the second adsorbent layer and comprising at least one of activated carbon, copper carbonate hydroxide, or copper oxide, and defining a third layer thickness less than the second layer thickness (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers comprising a first layer comprising activated carbon, therefore fully capable of comprising a third layer of activated carbon with any thickness, Paragraph 0029).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al. (US 2021/0379559 A1) in view of Seino et al. (US 2021/0291142 A1), Flaugher et al. (US 2018/0169616 A1) and in further view of Boehringer et al. (US 2016/0166970 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Weston in view of Seino and Flaugher teach sorbent filter of claim 18, with Weston further teaching wherein the second adsorbent layer comprises activated carbon (the apparatus comprises an assembly of at least two active layers comprising a first layer comprising activated carbon, and a second layer comprising a modified MOF composition, Paragraph 0029); however is silent on, copper II oxide, triethylenediamine, water, and at least one of molybdenum, silver, or zinc oxide.
However, Boehringer teaches an adsorptive filtering unit intended for filtering air of biological and chemical substances (Abstract) wherein the absorbent layer comprises activated carbon (absorbent material 3comprises activated carbon, Paragraph 0039 and Figure 1), further comprising copper II oxide (adsorption material 1 may comprise copper, more particular copper II oxide, Paragraph 0073), silver in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 1% (first adsorbent material may comprise silver in an amount in the range of from 0.001% by weight to 1% by weight, Paragraph 0064), triethylenediamine in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (triethylenediamine should be in the range of from 1 to 20/0.5 to 18/0 to 15/0.1 to 10, especially in the range of from 3 to 15/1 to 15/0 to 12/1 to 8, and preferably about 5/0.05/5/2, Paragraph 0079); and zinc oxide in an amount by weight greater than 0%, and less than or equal to 10% (zinc oxides should be in the range of from 1 to 20/0.5 to 18/0 to 15/0.1 to 10, especially in the range of from 3 to 15/1 to 15/0 to 12/1 to 8, and preferably about 5/0.05/5/2, Paragraphs 0078-0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Weston’s filtering device by including, in addition to the already present activated carbon, copper II oxide, silver, triethylenediamine, and zinc oxide, into the absorbent material, as taught by Boehringer, these elements are art-recognized elements to further aid in optimal adsorption of a filtering unit containing activated carbon, with particular useful properties with regard to the filtering of poisonous agents (Paragraph 0073 of Boehringer).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH B LEDERER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785