DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear as to what component or measurement area length refers to. Similarly, what is run length a measurement of? The claim is not clear as to what these variables are or what they reference structurally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter et al (US 2023/0105927 A1) and Hoya (Introduction of FDS24-W, 2020 March 14, https://www.hoya-opticalworld.com/english/news/index.html#40 and the corresponding data sheet for FDS24-W, https://www.hoya-opticalworld.com/common/pdf2020/FDS24-W.pdf).
Ritter teaches:
1. A glass wafer for manufacturing a light guide plate (P0007), the glass wafer comprising:
a glass part in a thin sheet shape (P0007); and
a diffractive optical element part on two main surfaces of the glass part (P0018),
wherein one main surface of the glass part has an area of 1950 mm2 or greater (P0006),
the glass part has a thickness of 3.0 mm or less (P0010).
3. The glass wafer according to claim 1, wherein the glass part has a refractive index nd of 1.9 or greater (P0020).
5. A light guide plate (P0007) comprising:
a glass part (P0007); and
a diffractive optical element part on two main surfaces of the glass part (P0018),
wherein the glass part has a thickness of 3.0 mm or less (P0010).
7. The light guide plate according to claim 5, wherein the glass part has a refractive index nd of 1.9 or greater (P0020).
8. An image display device comprising the light guide plate according to claim 5 (title).
9. The image display device according to claim 8, wherein the image display device is a spectacle-type device (P0003).
In the case where the claimed ranges ''overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art'' a prima facie case of obviousness exists. ln re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Ritter does not teach expressly what the Young’s modulus or what the average linear expansion coefficient of the plate is.
Hoya teaches optical glass with a refractive index of 1.9 and with a Young’s modulus of 100 GPa or greater (115, see data sheet table Mechanical Properties) and linear expansion coefficient at -30-70 °C is 70 to 82 (see data sheet table Coefficient of Thermal Expansion).
Ritter and Hoya are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, glass wafers.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the wafer of Ritter to use a material with the Young’s modulus and linear expansion coefficient taught by Hoya.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide durable glass with good transmittance characteristics.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to try an average linear expansion coefficient of the glass part at -30-70 °C to be 80x10-6K-1 or less, since it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Hoya teaches values of coefficient of thermal expansion around the claimed range therefore given this teaching a person of ordinary skill the art would discover optimum, workable ranges of average linear expansion in the claimed range.
Claims 2, 6 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter and Hoya as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Saeki et al (US 2013/0186467 A1).
Ritter and Hoya teach the glass wafer previously discussed.
Ritter and Hoya do not teach expressly any details of the diffractive optical element.
Saeki teaches a diffractive optical element (110, Fig. 1), comprising:
2/6. The glass wafer according to claim 1/5, wherein the diffractive optical element part has a periodic uneven structure, and the uneven structure has a period of 500 nm or less (P0140).
10. The glass wafer according to claim 1, wherein the material of the diffractive optical element part is a transparent inorganic material (P0509).
11. The glass wafer according to claim 10, wherein the transparent inorganic material is titanium oxide (P0509).
12. The glass wafer according to claim 1, wherein the material of the diffractive optical element part is a transparent organic material (P0211-0216).
13. The glass wafer according to claim 12, wherein the transparent organic material is an ultraviolet-curable resin (P0211-0216).
In the case where the claimed ranges ''overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art'' a prima facie case of obviousness exists. ln re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Ritter, Hoya and Saeki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, light guide plates.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the period of the diffractive element as taught by Ritter and Hoya to use the period and uneven structures taught by Saeki.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create a light guide plate with preferable light diffraction efficiency.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to select known materials for light guide plates including the organic and inorganic materials taught by Saeki and that are known and widely used in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 14: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try having a difference between an effective area length and a run length be within 5% of a period of the diffractive part, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. The closer to 0 this value is the more error in period is suppressed, therefore optimizing transmittance. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would identify a lower value of c -b and would expect a value under 5% would succeed in Ritter, Hoya and Saeki since efficient transmittance is valued in this art.
Contact Information
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874