DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 10/03/25, for application number 18/616,715 has been received and entered into record. Claim 1 has been amended, and Claims 5-7, 12, and 13 were previously cancelled. Therefore, Claims 1-4, 8-11, 14, and 15 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima, US 2018/0054347 A1, in view of Kumar et al., US 2014/0365987 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Kojima discloses a surveillance camera system [system of Fig. 2, comprising router 100 and camera 300], comprising:
a power sourcing equipment corresponding to a midspan having one or more of integrated input/output (I/O) and audio port functionality [router 100 with interfaces 117a, 117b, and 117c, Fig. 1], the power sourcing equipment including processing circuitry,
one or more data ports [117a, 117b, 117c],
one or more of an I/O port and an audio port [117a, 117b, 117c; the PoE-enabled devices applicable to each of the embodiments described above include not only the PoE-compatible camera but also all PoE-compatible devices such as PoE-enabled IP phones, Fig. 1; par 75], and
a Power over Ethernet (PoE) port [PoE-enabled camera 300 is connected via LAN cable 200, Fig. 2; par 30], and
a power supply connecting the power sourcing equipment to a power source, wherein power from the power supply is split at the power supply into a first predetermined amount of power and a second predetermined amount of power, wherein the first predetermined amount of power is an internal supply voltage [a predetermined voltage (DC) is supplied to the power supply unit 115 via an AC adapter 150 from an external power source (AC). Further, the power supply unit 115 supplies a predetermined voltage necessary for operation of the various circuits provided in the router 100 and a predetermined voltage necessary for the PoE-power (i.e. splitting the power), Fig. 1; par 29];
a camera connected to the power sourcing equipment by the PoE port, wherein the camera is powered only by the second predetermined amount of power, wherein the second predetermined amount of power is available for PoE [camera 300 receives power via LAN 200 from router 100, which supplies predetermined voltages necessary for operations of various circuits, Fig. 1, 2; par 29]; and
a computer connected to the power sourcing equipment by one of the data ports, wherein the computer is configured to receive data from and transmit data to the camera via the power sourcing equipment [the wired communication control unit 111 a is connected to the main control unit 101 via the communication line D1. A predetermined voltage is supplied to the power supply control unit 111 b via a voltage line P1. The voltage of the voltage line P1 is used to supply to the PoE-enabled camera 300, Fig. 1, 2; par 30].
However, Kojima does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more of the I/O and audio port are powered only by the first predetermined amount of power.
In the analogous art of power management, Kumar teaches wherein the one or more of the I/O and audio port are powered only by the first predetermined amount of power [the core interface circuits of the I/O circuit 12 are accordingly powered solely from the lower first power supply voltage, par 8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kojima and Kumar before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the I/O power scheme as taught by Kumar into the system as disclosed by Kojima, to allow for support of operation at various voltages [Kumar, par 3, 8].
Regarding Claim 11, Kojima and Kumar disclose the surveillance camera system of Claim 1. Kojima further discloses one or more speakers and/or a digital or analog audio source connected to the power sourcing equipment by the audio port [117a, 117b, 117c; the PoE-enabled devices applicable to each of the embodiments described above include not only the PoE-compatible camera but also all PoE-compatible devices such as PoE-enabled IP phones, Fig. 1; par 75].
Regarding Claim 15, Kojima and Kumar disclose the surveillance camera system of Claim 1. Kojima further discloses wherein the power source is an AC power [AC adapter 150 receiving external power source (AC), Fig. 1; par 29].
Claims 2, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima and Kumar, and further in view of Fay et al., US 2015/0288857 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, Kojima and Kumar disclose the surveillance camera system of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach a camera mounting bracket.
In the analogous art of camera mounting, Fay teaches a camera mounting bracket [mount 102, Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kojima, Kumar, and Fay before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the mount as taught by Fay into the system as disclosed by Kojima and Kumar, to allow for automatic positioning and orienting of the camera [Fay, par 6].
Regarding Claim 3, Kojima, Kumar, and Fay disclose the surveillance camera system of Claim 2. Fay further teaches wherein the power sourcing equipment is included in the camera mounting bracket [mount can include power source such as batteries, solar power, etc., par 6, ll. 6-10].
Regarding Claim 10, Kojima and Kumar disclose the surveillance camera system of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach one or more speakers and/or a digital or analog audio source connected to the power sourcing equipment by the audio port.
In the analogous art of camera mounting, Fay teaches one or more speakers and/or a digital or analog audio source connected to the power sourcing equipment by the audio port [mount communications interface can be an audio-in port, par 6, ll. 17-20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kojima, Kumar, and Fay before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the mount as taught by Fay into the system as disclosed by Kojima and Kumar, to incorporate input to the mount and allow for automatic positioning and orientation of the camera [Fay, par 2].
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima and Kumar, and further in view of Ametsitsi, US 2010/0031032 A1.
Regarding Claim 4, Kojima and Kumar disclose the surveillance camera system of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein the I/O port includes a plurality of I/O pins.
In the analogous art of communication network devices, Ametsitsi teaches wherein the I/O port includes a plurality of I/O pins [midspan has a plurality of ports coupled to corresponding cables 114 which are typically modular jacks such as an RJ-45 jack (RJ-45 jack consists of a plurality of I/O pins), par 3, ll. 10-16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kojima, Kumar, and Ametsitsi before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the plurality of I/O pins as taught by Ametsitsi into the system as disclosed by Kojima and Kumar, to provide sufficient connectivity to network devices [Ametsitsi, par 1].
Regarding Claim 9, Kojima and Kumar disclose the surveillance camera system of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach a network switch connected to the power sourcing equipment by one of the data ports, wherein the computer is connected to the power sourcing equipment via the network switch .
In the analogous art of communication network devices, Ametsitsi teaches a network switch connected to the power sourcing equipment by one of the data ports, wherein the computer is connected to the power sourcing equipment via the network switch [midspan 116 connected to switch 122; network switch 122 receives data from devices 104-112 and forwards the data packet to the desired destination address, Fig. 1; par 4, ll. 1-7; par 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kojima, Kumar, and Ametsitsi before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the network switch connections as taught by Ametsitsi into the system as disclosed by Kojima and Kumar, to provide sufficient connectivity to network devices [Ametsitsi, par 1].
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima and Kumar, and further in view of Shih et al., US 2017/0094170 A1.
Regarding Claim 8, Kojima and Kumar disclose the surveillance camera system of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to calculate a power consumption of the camera based on the PoE connection, and provide the calculated power consumption of the camera to the computer.
In the analogous art of providing power over a network, Shih teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to calculate a power consumption of the camera based on the PoE connection, and provide the calculated power consumption of the camera to the computer [processing unit calculates maximum illumination power according to electric power received by the illumination device and practical operation power, and transmits the practical operation power and maximum illumination power to the camera and illumination unit respectively; The processing unit 20 is connected to the illumination unit 18 for detecting a practical operation power of the network camera 14, calculating a maximum illumination power according to power provided by the transmission device 12 and the practical operation power of the network camera 14 (i.e. calculation takes into account the power consumption of the camera as well), par 6, ll. 6-13; par 13, ll. 12-21].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kojima, Kumar, and Shih before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate power consumption calculation as taught by Shih, into the midspan as taught by Kojima and Kumar, to improve power efficiency by optimizing power usage [Shih, par 5].
Regarding Claim 14, Kojima and Kumar disclose the surveillance camera system of Claim 1. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein a PoE negotiation determines an amount of power used from only the second predetermined amount of power up to the predetermined second amount based on a power consumption of the camera when the camera is connected to the midspan.
In the analogous art of providing power over a network, Shih further teaches wherein a PoE negotiation determines an amount of power used from only the second predetermined amount of power up to the predetermined second amount based on a power consumption of the camera when the camera is connected to the midspan [the processing unit 20 could calculate the maximum illumination power according to the electrical power provided by the transmission device 12 and the practical operation power of the network camera 14 after detecting the practical operation power of the network camera 14 (e.g. the maximum operation power of the network camera 14) and the electrical power provided by the transmission device 12, (i.e., the operating power of the PoE camera up to the maximum amount may be determined, and determination of the power of the PoE camera is part of the PoE negotiation process), par 14, ll. 5-12].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kojima, Kumar, and Shih before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate power negotiation as taught by Shih, into the system as taught by Kojima and Kumar, to improve power efficiency by optimizing power usage [Shih, par 5].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/03/25 as to the newly-amended limitations have been considered but are moot due to the new rejection based on the references cited above.
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/03/25 as to Kojima have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues Kojima does not disclose the limitation of wherein power from the power supply is split at the power supply into a first predetermined amount of power and a second predetermined amount of power. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As noted in the Advisory Action dated 09/12/25, it is unclear how " different voltages ... supplied to different components...does not equate to splitting power at the power supply into predetermined amounts." Remarks, 6. That is, Kojima discloses a predetermined voltage that is supplied to the power supply unit 115, and the power supply unit 115 in turn supplies a predetermined voltage for operation of various components provided in the router 100 and a predetermined voltage necessary for the PoE-power [Kojima, Fig. 1; par 29]. In other words, the power from the power supply unit is split into 1) the power for the components of the router and 2) the PoE power. Thus, the claim limitation as presented appears to read upon Kojima.
Additional clarification may better reflect what is intended by "wherein power from the power supply is split at the power supply into a first predetermined amount of power and a second predetermined amount of power,” and distinguish from a power supply which subsequently provides two voltages (i.e. splits the power). As currently presented, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim limitation appears to read on Kojima, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant is reminded that in amending a response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR §1.111(c).
/Paul Yen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175