DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsutsuka (U.S. PATENT NO. 4697115) in view of Loseu (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2011/0309896).
-Regarding claim 1, Mitsutuska discloses an acoustically switched circuit (semiconductor substrate 7, FIG. 1) comprising: a plurality of acoustic filter circuits each configured to pass an RF signal in a respective one of a plurality of passbands (At one end of the surface of the piezoelectric substrate 1 are disposed comb-shaped electrodes 2' constituting the input transducer 2, and at the other end are comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D constituting the output transducer 3, which are so formed that each of them responds only to a SAW within a respective one of four bands which differ from each other, col. 5 lines 3-42); and a plurality of acoustic structures each comprising at least one acoustic switch circuit coupled to a respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits, the at least one acoustic switch circuit (A surface acoustic wave travelling from the input transducer 2 to the output transducer 3 will have portions which travel along respective paths of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D to the respective electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, and each of the electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D is elongate and is positioned over a respective path of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D so as to extend parallel thereto, col. 3 lines 38-65) is configured to: output the RF signal to the respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits in response to receiving a switching voltage (controlling the bias voltages VA, VB, VC, VD applied to the metal electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D, it is possible to selectively permit and prevent surface acoustic waves from reaching each of the output comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, col. 5 lines 3-42).
Mitsutuska is silent to teaching that radio frequency (RF) frontend; and receive a differential input of the RF signal. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Loseu.
In the same field of endeavor, Loseu teaches radio frequency (RF) frontend; and receive a differential input of the RF signal (second and the third connection nodes 54, 56 provide a differential input 122 to the expanded two-track SAW device 100, and the first connection node 52 provides a single-ended output 124 from the expanded two-track SAW device 100, [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Matsutsuka with the teaching of Loseu in order to interface the SAW input transducers directly with the differential (balanced) RF transceiver ports for common-mode nose rejection and impedance matching.
-Regarding claim 2, the combination further discloses at least one of the plurality of acoustic structures comprises a second acoustic switch circuit coupled to the respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits and is configured to: receive a second differential input of the RF signal; and output the RF signal to the respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits in response to receiving the switching voltage (Matsutsuka, if the metal electrodes 10 are formed to be finer and are disposed so as to be closely adjacent to each other and if the pitch of the comb-shaped electrodes 3' varies continuously in the direction perpendicular to the propagation direction of a SAW, it is possible to selectively adjust the pass band by selecting the distribution of the bias voltages, col. 4 lines 37-52; Loseu, When a differential AC input signal is applied between the first and the fourth connection nodes 52, 128, the second and the eighth IDTs 80, 126, respectively, may convert the differential AC input signal into surface acoustic waves in the first SAW track 48, [0073]).
-Regarding claim 3, the combination further discloses the at least one acoustic switch circuit in each of the plurality of acoustic structures comprises: an input interdigital transducer (IDT) configured to convert the differential input of the RF signal into a surface acoustic wave (SAW); an output IDT configured to convert the SAW into the RF signal; and an acoustic switch provided between the input IDT and the output IDT and configured to: pass the SAW from the input IDT to the output IDT in response to receiving the switching voltage; and block the SAW between the input IDT and the output IDT in absence of the switching voltage (Matsutsuka, Between the input comb-shaped electrodes 2' and the output comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D are disposed metal electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D, col. 3 lines 38-65).
-Regarding claim 6, the combination further discloses the at least one acoustic switch circuit in each of the plurality of acoustic structures comprises: a pair of differential input interdigital transducers (IDTs) configured to convert the differential input of the RF signal into a surface acoustic wave (SAW) (Loseu, When a differential AC input signal is applied between second and the third connection nodes 54, 56, the fifth and the sixth IDTs 90, 92, respectively, may convert the differential AC input signal into surface acoustic waves in the second SAW track 50, [0065]); an output IDT configured to convert the SAW into the RF signal (second IDT 80 may convert the surface acoustic waves in the first SAW track 48 into a single-ended AC output signal between the first connection node 52 and the internal ground connection node 58, [0065]); and an acoustic switch provided between the pair of differential input IDTs and the output IDT and configured to: pass the SAW from the pair of differential input IDTs to the output IDT in response to receiving the switching voltage; and block the SAW between the pair of differential input IDTs and the output IDT in absence of the switching voltage (Matsutsuka, A surface acoustic wave travelling from the input transducer 2 to the output transducer 3 will have portions which travel along respective paths of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D to the respective electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, and each of the electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D is elongate and is positioned over a respective path of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D so as to extend parallel thereto, col. 3 lines 38-65; controlling the bias voltages VA, VB, VC, VD applied to the metal electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D, it is possible to selectively permit and prevent surface acoustic waves from reaching each of the output comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, col. 5 lines 3-42).
-Regarding claim 8, Matsutsuka discloses a device comprising: an acoustically switched (semiconductor substrate 7, FIG. 1) the acoustically switched radio frequency (RF) circuit comprises: a plurality of acoustic filter circuits each configured to pass an RF signal in a respective one of a plurality of passbands (At one end of the surface of the piezoelectric substrate 1 are disposed comb-shaped electrodes 2' constituting the input transducer 2, and at the other end are comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D constituting the output transducer 3, which are so formed that each of them responds only to a SAW within a respective one of four bands which differ from each other, col. 5 lines 3-42); and a plurality of acoustic structures each comprising at least one acoustic switch circuit coupled to a respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits, the at least one acoustic switch circuit (A surface acoustic wave travelling from the input transducer 2 to the output transducer 3 will have portions which travel along respective paths of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D to the respective electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, and each of the electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D is elongate and is positioned over a respective path of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D so as to extend parallel thereto, col. 3 lines 38-65) is configured to: and output the RF signal to the respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits in response to receiving a switching voltage (controlling the bias voltages VA, VB, VC, VD applied to the metal electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D, it is possible to selectively permit and prevent surface acoustic waves from reaching each of the output comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, col. 5 lines 3-42).
Mitsutuska is silent to teaching that a wireless device; transmit circuitry, receive circuitry, and antenna switching circuitry coupled to the transmit circuitry and the receive circuitry; radio frequency (RF) frontend circuit provided in any one or more of the transmit circuitry, the receive circuitry, and the antenna switching circuitry; and receive a differential input of the RF signal. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Loseu.
In the same field of endeavor, Loseu teaches a wireless device (mobile terminal, FIG. 32); transmit circuitry (radio frequency transmitter section 196, FIG. 32), receive circuitry (receiver front end 194, FIG. 32), and antenna switching circuitry coupled to the transmit circuitry and the receive circuitry (narrow band duplexer 190, FIG. 32); radio frequency (RF) frontend circuit provided in any one or more of the transmit circuitry, the receive circuitry, and the antenna switching circuitry; and receive a differential input of the RF signal ( second and the third connection nodes 54, 56 provide a differential input 122 to the expanded two-track SAW device 100, and the first connection node 52 provides a single-ended output 124 from the expanded two-track SAW device 100, [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Matsutsuka with the teaching of Loseu in order to interface the SAW input transducers directly with the differential (balanced) RF transceiver ports for common-mode nose rejection and impedance matching.
-Regarding claim 9, the combination further discloses at least one of the plurality of acoustic structures comprises a second acoustic switch circuit coupled to the respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits and is configured to: receive a second differential input of the RF signal; and output the RF signal to the respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits in response to receiving the switching voltage (Matsutsuka, if the metal electrodes 10 are formed to be finer and are disposed so as to be closely adjacent to each other and if the pitch of the comb-shaped electrodes 3' varies continuously in the direction perpendicular to the propagation direction of a SAW, it is possible to selectively adjust the pass band by selecting the distribution of the bias voltages, col. 4 lines 37-52; Loseu, When a differential AC input signal is applied between the first and the fourth connection nodes 52, 128, the second and the eighth IDTs 80, 126, respectively, may convert the differential AC input signal into surface acoustic waves in the first SAW track 48, [0073]).
-Regarding claim 10, the combination further discloses the at least one acoustic switch circuit in each of the plurality of acoustic structures comprises: an input interdigital transducer (IDT) configured to convert the differential input of the RF signal into a surface acoustic wave (SAW); an output IDT configured to convert the SAW into the RF signal; and an acoustic switch provided between the input IDT and the output IDT and configured to: pass the SAW from the input IDT to the output IDT in response to receiving the switching voltage; and block the SAW between the input IDT and the output IDT in absence of the switching voltage (Matsutsuka, Between the input comb-shaped electrodes 2' and the output comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D are disposed metal electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D, col. 3 lines 38-65).
-Regarding claim 13, the combination further discloses the at least one acoustic switch circuit in each of the plurality of acoustic structures comprises: a pair of differential input interdigital transducers (IDTs) configured to convert the differential input of the RF signal into a surface acoustic wave (SAW) (Loseu, When a differential AC input signal is applied between second and the third connection nodes 54, 56, the fifth and the sixth IDTs 90, 92, respectively, may convert the differential AC input signal into surface acoustic waves in the second SAW track 50, [0065]); an output IDT configured to convert the SAW into the RF signal (second IDT 80 may convert the surface acoustic waves in the first SAW track 48 into a single-ended AC output signal between the first connection node 52 and the internal ground connection node 58, [0065]); and an acoustic switch provided between the pair of differential input IDTs and the output IDT and configured to: pass the SAW from the pair of differential input IDTs to the output IDT in response to receiving the switching voltage; and block the SAW between the pair of differential input IDTs and the output IDT in absence of the switching voltage (Matsutsuka, A surface acoustic wave travelling from the input transducer 2 to the output transducer 3 will have portions which travel along respective paths of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D to the respective electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, and each of the electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D is elongate and is positioned over a respective path of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D so as to extend parallel thereto, col. 3 lines 38-65; controlling the bias voltages VA, VB, VC, VD applied to the metal electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D, it is possible to selectively permit and prevent surface acoustic waves from reaching each of the output comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, col. 5 lines 3-42).
-Regarding claim 15, Matsutsuka discloses a method for configuring an acoustically switched (semiconductor substrate 7, FIG. 1) comprising: configuring a plurality of acoustic filter circuits to each pass an RF signal in a respective one of a plurality of passbands (At one end of the surface of the piezoelectric substrate 1 are disposed comb-shaped electrodes 2' constituting the input transducer 2, and at the other end are comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D constituting the output transducer 3, which are so formed that each of them responds only to a SAW within a respective one of four bands which differ from each other, col. 5 lines 3-42); providing at least one acoustic switch circuit in each of a plurality of acoustic structures coupled to a respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits (A surface acoustic wave travelling from the input transducer 2 to the output transducer 3 will have portions which travel along respective paths of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D to the respective electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, and each of the electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D is elongate and is positioned over a respective path of travel 15A, 15B, 15C, 15D so as to extend parallel thereto, col. 3 lines 38-65); and outputting, from the at least one acoustic switch circuit, the RF signal to the respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits in response to receiving a switching voltage (controlling the bias voltages VA, VB, VC, VD applied to the metal electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D, it is possible to selectively permit and prevent surface acoustic waves from reaching each of the output comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, col. 5 lines 3-42).
Mitsutuska is silent to teaching that radio frequency (RF) frontend; and receiving, in the at least one acoustic switch circuit, a differential input of the RF signal. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Loseu.
In the same field of endeavor, Loseu teaches radio frequency (RF) frontend; and receiving, in the at least one acoustic switch circuit, a differential input of the RF signal (second and the third connection nodes 54, 56 provide a differential input 122 to the expanded two-track SAW device 100, and the first connection node 52 provides a single-ended output 124 from the expanded two-track SAW device 100, [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Matsutsuka with the teaching of Loseu in order to interface the SAW input transducers directly with the differential (balanced) RF transceiver ports for common-mode nose rejection and impedance matching.
-Regarding claim 16, the combination further discloses receiving, using a second acoustic switch circuit provided in at least one of the plurality of acoustic structures, a second differential input of the RF signal; and outputting, from the second acoustic switch circuit, the RF signal to the respective one of the plurality of acoustic filter circuits in response to receiving the switching voltage (Matsutsuka, if the metal electrodes 10 are formed to be finer and are disposed so as to be closely adjacent to each other and if the pitch of the comb-shaped electrodes 3' varies continuously in the direction perpendicular to the propagation direction of a SAW, it is possible to selectively adjust the pass band by selecting the distribution of the bias voltages, col. 4 lines 37-52; Loseu, When a differential AC input signal is applied between the first and the fourth connection nodes 52, 128, the second and the eighth IDTs 80, 126, respectively, may convert the differential AC input signal into surface acoustic waves in the first SAW track 48, [0073]).
-Regarding claim 17, the combination further discloses constructing the at least one acoustic switch circuit to include: an input interdigital transducer (IDT) configured to convert the differential input of the RF signal into a surface acoustic wave (SAW); an output IDT configured to convert the SAW into the RF signal; and an acoustic switch provided between the input IDT and the output IDT and configured to: pass the SAW from the input IDT to the output IDT in response to receiving the switching voltage; and block the SAW between the input IDT and the output IDT in absence of the switching voltage (Matsutsuka, Between the input comb-shaped electrodes 2' and the output comb-shaped electrodes 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D are disposed metal electrodes 10A, 10B, 10C, 10D, col. 3 lines 38-65).
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsutsuka (U.S. PATENT NO. 4697115) in view of Loseu (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2011/0309896) and further in view of Sun (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0385272).
-Regarding claim 7, the combination is silent to teaching that the plurality of acoustic filter circuits each comprises a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) acoustic ladder network. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Sun.
In the same field of endeavor, Sun teaches the plurality of acoustic filter circuits each comprises a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) acoustic ladder network (bulk acoustic wave (BAW), [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Sun in order to improve spurious performance.
-Regarding claim 14, the combination further discloses the plurality of acoustic filter circuits each comprises a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) acoustic ladder network (Sun, bulk acoustic wave (BAW), [0079]).
-Regarding claim 20, the combination further discloses the plurality of acoustic filter circuits each comprises a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) acoustic ladder network (Sun, bulk acoustic wave (BAW), [0079]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PING Y HSIEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664