DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 8 and 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by patent application number US 2022/0315158 A1 to Mehlo (hereinafter referred to as Mehlo).
Regarding claims 1 – 4, 6 – 8 and 10 – 13, Mehlo discloses a connecting device (holding device 48a) for connecting a battery pack (accumulator 10a) to an electric bike (bicycle 52a), comprising:
[Claim 1] a guide unit (carrier unit 14a) configured to guide the battery pack in a linear manner during a connection process (guides accumulator 10a along longitudinal axis 24a; Paragraph [0034]);
a locking unit (locking unit 106b) configured to lock the battery pack to the electric bike, wherein the locking unit is arranged on a first section of the guide unit (Paragraph [0034], Fig. 4); and
a securing unit (clamping unit 20b) configured to secure the battery pack in the unlocked state, wherein the securing unit comprises a movable securing element (operating element 26b), and wherein the connecting device is designed such that the battery pack is configured to be connected to the electric bike exclusively by way of a linear movement (“accumulator 10b is slipped onto carrier element 16b along a longitudinal axis 24b”, Fig. 6; Paragraph [0039]);
[Claim 2] wherein the securing unit (clamping unit 20b) is arranged on the first section or on a second section of the guide unit (carrier unit 14a; See Fig. 4);
[Claim 3] wherein the securing element (operating element 26b) is designed to be directly actuated (operating element 26b id developed as a toggle lever, Paragraph [0040]);
[Claim 4] wherein the locking unit (locking unit 106b) is designed to be actuated such that the battery pack (accumulator 10a) is partially ejected during unlocking (“spring device 38b of stop unit 18b pushes accumulator 10b a certain distance…accumulator 10b is thereby released”, Paragraph [0043]);
[Claim 6] wherein the locking unit (locking unit 106b) is coupled to an actuating unit (lock 40b), via which the locking unit is designed to be manually actuated (locking unit 106b is locked and unlocked via lock 40b; Paragraph [0044]);
[Claim 7] wherein the actuating unit (lock 40b) is designed as a lock;
[Claim 8] wherein the locking unit (locking unit 106b) comprises at least one linear bearing element (clamping unit 20b) for bearing the battery pack (accumulator 10a) in the locked state;
[Claim 10] wherein the securing element (operating element 26b) is connected to the guide unit (carrier unit 14a; Fig. 4);
[Claim 11] wherein the securing element (operating element 26b) is designed to be indirectly manually actuated via the battery pack (accumulator 10a; “As a result, spring device 38b of stop unit 18b pushes accumulator 10b a certain distance out of receiving region 78b. This causes operating element 26b to be slightly pivoted”, Paragraph [0043]);
[Claim 12] An electric bike (bicycle 52a) comprising a connecting device (holding device 48a) according to claim 1; and
[Claim 13] The battery pack (accumulator 10a) for an electric bike (bicycle 52a) according to claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Mehlo discloses the connecting device (holding device 48a) according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein:
the locking unit comprises at least one movable locking element, and the locking element is designed to be pretensioned in the locked state. In addition, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mehlo to have the feature of claim 5 because such a modification would interfere with the current design.
Regarding claim 9, Mehlo discloses the connecting device (holding device 48a) according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the securing element is designed as a resilient stop against which the battery pack rests in the unlocked state. Modifying Mehlo to have the features of claim 9 would also interfere with its design intent and function.
Conclusion
/Felicia L. Brittman-Alabi/ Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611