DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “set just above a cutoff condition” in these claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “just above” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2023/0126332 A1). Li teaches:
1, 7, 14. A waveguide coupling system/method of forming the same (100, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
integrated photonics chip (104); and
forming a waveguide coupler (107, 210) in optical communication with the integrated photonics chip (104), the waveguide coupler (107, 210) including,
a base portion (226-1) having a first width,
a higher-order portion (226-2) having a second width that is less than the first width of the base portion (226-1) (see Fig. 2), the second width of the higher-order portion (226-2) being set so that higher-order mode energy (TE2) is deconfined to allow for receiving and passing of the higher-order mode energy (TE2, TE1 are received in this portion and TE2 is passed; see Fig. 2; P0029), and
a tapered portion between the base portion (226-1) and the higher-order portion (226-2) (see Fig. 2), the tapered portion transitioning between the first width of the base portion (226-1) to the second width of the higher-order portion (226-2); and
positioning a light passing medium (226-3, 228-2) to pass (228-2) and receive (226-3) higher-order mode energy (TE2/TE1) with the higher-order portion of the waveguide coupler (226-2).
2/10/17. The waveguide coupler of claim 1/7/16, wherein the higher-order mode energy is second-order mode energy (TE2, TE1).
3/11. The waveguide coupler of claim 1/7, wherein the base portion (226-1) and the higher-order portion (226-2) are generally rectangular in shape (see Fig. 2).
4. The waveguide coupler of claim 1, wherein the waveguide coupler (107, 210) is formed on an integrated photonic chip (104).
6/12/20. The waveguide coupler of claim 1/7/14, wherein the second width of the higher-order portion (226-2) is slightly above a cutoff width that does not support the higher-order mode energy (TE2). Note, what slightly means is undefined. Li teaches this portion drops TE2 mode energy so it is above the cutoff width that does not support this mode (P0029).
9/18/19. The waveguide coupling system of claim 7/14, further comprising:
interfacing the higher-order mode energy (TE3, TE2, TE1) to a fundamental-order mode energy (TE0);
using an on-chip converter (228, 212) formed in the integrated photonics chip (104), the on-chip converter (228, 212) in optical communication with the waveguide coupler (107/210), the on-chip converter (228, 212) configured to interface between the higher-order mode energy (TE3, TE2, TE1) and a fundamental-order mode energy (TE0) (see Fig. 2).
13/15. The waveguide coupling system of claim 7/14, wherein the second width is further based on a modeling of a width verses higher-order mode (the higher-order modes are passed because of the modelled width, P0029);
the second width being set just above a cutoff condition for the higher-order mode based on the modeling of the waveguide width verse higher-order mode so that the higher-order mode energy is deconfined to allow for receiving and passing of the higher-order mode energy. Note, what slightly means is undefined. Li teaches this portion drops TE2 mode energy so it is above the cutoff width that does not support this mode (P0029).
16. The method of claim 14, further comprising:
directing a light beam into the waveguide coupler (210); and
detecting the higher-order mode energy with the integrated photonics chip (104) (TE3-TE1 is detected by each drop path; P0029).
Claims 1-4, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onishi (US 9,069,194 B2). Onishi teaches:
1/7. A waveguide coupling system (Figs. 1-2) comprising:
integrated photonics chip (10/11); and
a waveguide coupler (18, 19, 51) in optical communication with the integrated photonics chip (10/11), the waveguide coupler (18, 19, 51) including,
a base portion (18) having a first width,
a higher-order portion (51) having a second width that is less than the first width of the base portion (18) (see Fig. 1), the second width of the higher-order portion being set so that higher-order mode energy (TE1) is deconfined to allow for receiving and passing of the higher-order mode energy (TE1) (C6 L54 – C7 L16), and
a tapered portion (19) between the base portion (18) and the higher-order portion (51), the tapered portion transitioning between the first width of the base portion (18) to the second width of the higher-order portion (51) (see Fig. 1; C10 L51-58).
2/10. The waveguide coupler of claim 1/7, wherein the higher-order mode energy is second- order mode energy (TE1).
3/11. The waveguide coupler of claim 1/7, wherein the base portion (18) and the higher-order portion (51) are generally rectangular in shape (see Fig. 1).
4. The waveguide coupler of claim 1, wherein the waveguide coupler (18, 19, 51) is formed on an integrated photonic chip (10, 11).
9. The waveguide coupling system of claim 7, further comprising:
an on-chip converter (13) formed in the integrated photonics chip (10, 11), the on-chip converter (13) in optical communication with the waveguide coupler (18, 19, 51), the on-chip converter (13) configured to interface between the higher-order mode energy (TE1) and a fundamental-order mode energy (TE0) (C6 L54-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Geng et al (US 2018/0067273 A1).
Onishi teaches the waveguide coupler previously discussed.
Onishi does not teach expressly an end of the higher-order portion is configured to pass the higher-order mode energy with an optical fiber.
Geng teaches a waveguide coupler (100, Fig. 1) wherein a tapered waveguide/high-order portion (120) that deconfines higher-order mode energy (P0045) is configured to be passed to an optical fiber (130) (P0035).
Onishi and Geng are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical waveguide couplers.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Onishi to pass the signal from the higher-order portion to an optical fiber as taught by Geng.
The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the preferred mode to be routed off chip.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach optical waveguide couplers for deconfining higher-order modes with a tapered waveguide between two non-tapered portions: US 7995625, US 10502895, US 12044887.
Contact Information
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874