Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the application filed on March 26,2024.
2. Claims 1-17 are pending and has been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. Drawings submitted on 03/26/2024 are acceptable.
Specification
5.The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
6. Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “the switches” in line 1 should be “the first and second switches”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-6, 9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Inoue “20160344302”.
In re to claim 1, Inoue discloses a bridge controller (Figs. 3-10 shows a synchronous rectifier circuit including a control circuit 200), comprising: wherein the bridge controller (controller 200/200a) is configured to be coupled to a bridge circuit (Figs. 3 and 10 shows a bridge circuit of M1-M4 and D1-D4) ; wherein the bridge circuit includes, a first pair of diodes coupled in series (D1 and D3 are in series) ;
a second pair of diodes coupled in series (D2 and D4 are series);
wherein the first pair of diodes (D1 and D3 ) is coupled in parallel with the second pair of diodes (D2 and D4) between a first output node (Rect node) and a second output node (ground node);
a first input node (AC1 node) coupled between the first pair of diodes ( D1 and D3);
a second input node (AC2 node) coupled between the second pair of diodes (D2 and D4);
a first switch (M3 ) coupled in parallel with one of the first pair of diodes (M3 is in parallel with D3);
a second switch (M4) coupled in parallel with one of the second pair of diodes (M4 in parallel with D4); wherein the bridge controller (200/200a) is coupled the first input node (AC1), the second input node (AC2), the first switch (M1 and M3) and the second switch (M2 and M4);
wherein the bridge controller includes a slope detector coupled between the first input node and the second output node; wherein the slope detector ( zero current detection circuit 204 and 206. Fig. 4 show the first voltage V.sub.AC1 and second voltage V.sub.AC2 voltage changes causes to the current I.sub.AC1 slope operation see 0096, 0098 and 0113 ) is configured to measure a rate of change of an input voltage across the first input node and the second input node (As indicated in Fig. 4 and 9 , the slope α changes due to a change in the frequency of the current I.sub.AC or a change in the peak value I.sub.PEAK of the current I.sub.AC, see parag. 0096, 0098 and 0113) ; and
wherein the bridge controller (200/200a) is configured to blank at least one of the first switch and the second switch (output signals G1-G4 are configured to turn off the switches in one complete cycle. Examiner noted that turn off /deactivate the switches during change of the slope is equivalent to blank time/period) if the measured rate of change exceeds a predetermined value (Fig. 3 shows zero current detection circuit 204 and 206 compares the voltage VAC1 and VAC2 to threshold voltage VS1 and VS2 respectively determine the measurements exceed the threshold ) .
In re to claim 2, Inoue discloses (Figs.3-10): wherein the bridge circuit is a rectifier circuit (synchronous rectifier circuit M1-M4 and D1-D4, see parag. 0054).
In re to claim 3, Inoue discloses (Figs.3-10): wherein the bridge circuit is either a voltage rectifier, or a current rectifier (synchronous rectifier circuit is configured to rectify the ac voltage).
In re to claim 4, Inoue discloses (Figs.3-10): wherein the switches are MOSFET devices and the controller is coupled to each gate of the MOSFET devices (gate terminals of MOSFET M1-M4 are coupled to the controller 200) .
In re to claim 5, Inoue discloses (Figs.3-10): wherein the slope detector (204 and 206) is configured to measure a first derivative of the input voltage across the first input node (AC1) and the second input node (AC2).
In re to claim 6, Inoue discloses (Figs.3-10): wherein the bridge controller is configured to blank both the first switch and the second switch if the measured rate of change exceeds the predetermined value (Fig. 4 shows output signals G1-G4 configured to turn off the switched based on the comparison output signals of ZC_DET1 and ZC_DET2).
In re to claim 9, Inoue discloses (Figs.3-10): : wherein the slope detector is a first slope detector (204) ; and wherein the controller includes a second slope detector (206) coupled between the second input node (AC2) and the second output node (ground).
In re to claim 15, Inoue discloses (Figs.3-10): further comprising: a third switch (M1) coupled in parallel with another one of the first pair of diodes (M1 is in parallel to diode D1);
a fourth switch (M2) coupled in parallel with another one of the second pair of diodes (D2); wherein the bridge controller is coupled to the third switch and the fourth switch (M1 and M2 are coupled to controller 200) ; and wherein the bridge controller is configured to blank at least one of the first, second, third and fourth switch if the measured rate of change exceeds the predetermined value (see fig. 4 and 9).
In re to claim 16, Inoue discloses (Figs.3-10): wherein the second output node is a ground reference node (ground node).
In re to claim 17, Inoue discloses (Figs.3-10) wherein the second output node is a voltage supply node (ground node is a supply voltage to the synchronous rectifier circuit ).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 7-8 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7, is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the bridge controller including the limitation of “wherein the bridge controller includes a NOR gate coupled between the slope detector and at least one of the first switch and the second switch.”
Claim 10, is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the bridge controller including the limitation of “wherein the second slope detector is configured to measure a second rate of change of the input voltage across the first input node and the second input node.”
Claim 8 depend from claim 7, thus are also objected because of its dependency.
Claims 11-14 depend from claim 10, thus are also objected because of their dependency.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pevere “20140300305” the present disclosure relates to the field of switched mode power supplies (SMPS), in particular to an AC/DC converter with an active rectifier.
Zhang “20150117076” the present discloses present disclosure generally relates to the field of power electronics, and more particularly, to a synchronous rectification circuit adapted to an electronic transformer and a switching power supply.
Yang “20230216425” The present invention relates to a full-bridge rectifier circuit; particularly, it relates to a synchronous full-bridge rectifier circuit utilizing transistors. The present invention also relates to a rectifier switch controller which is configured to prevent the synchronous full-bridge rectifier circuit from short-through damage.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tran, Thienvu Vu can be reached on (571) 270-1276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838