DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first adjustment mechanism” in claim 1-2, 5, 8, 12-13, and 16 and
“second adjustment mechanism” in claim 1-2, 5, 8, 12-13, and 16.
Based on the specification, first adjustment mechanism and second adjustment mechanism are interpreted as linear slides coupled to and movable along at least a portion of a rail and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Sano (US 7,657,996).
Regarding claim 1, Sano teaches a tube clamp arrangement for a tube welding device for joining two tubes, the tube clamp arrangement comprising:
a first mounting plate (Figure 24, 26A-C, and 30A-30C, item 164 and Col 19, ln 59- Col 20, ln 5) configured to join together a first tube-holding assembly (Figure 14) and a first adjustment mechanism (Figure 1, 2, 14 and 24), the first adjustment mechanism configured to move in a first direction in a first plane (Figure 4 and 14 and Col 9, ln 58- col 10, ln 2); and
a second mounting plate (Figure 24, 26A-C, and 30A-30C, item 174 and Col 20, ln 6- Col 20, ln 30) configured to join together a second tube-holding assembly and a second adjustment mechanism (Figure 1, 2, 14 and 24), the second adjustment mechanism configured to move in a second direction in the first plane (Figure 8, 12a-b, Figure 17, movement A and B; Col 9, ln 32-58; Col 24, ln 18-35).
The claim as recited requires a first and second mounting plate capable of joining a tube-holding mechanism and adjustment mechanism. The claim as recited does not positively claim a first and second tube-holding assembly and first and second adjustment mechanism.
Accordingly, limitations directed to first and second tube-holding assembly and first and second adjustment mechanism are functional limitations related to the capabilities of the first and second mounting plates to join a tube-holding assembly and adjustment mechanism.
Regarding claim 2-3, Sano teaches the arrangement as applied to claim 1, wherein the first adjustment mechanism is capable of moving the first mounting plate and the first tube-holding assembly joined therein, wherein the first adjustment mechanism is capable of including a linear slide coupled to and movable along at least a portion of a rail (Col 9, ln 58- Col 10, ln 2 and Col 12, ln 20-49).
Regarding claim 8-9 and 11, Sano teaches the arrangement as applied to claim 2, wherein the second adjustment mechanism is configured to move the second mounting plate and the second tube-holding assembly joined thereto in a second direction that is different from the first direction (Figure 8, 12a-b, Figure 17, movement A and B; Col 9, ln 32-58; Col 24, ln 18-35);
wherein the second adjustment mechanism includes a linear slide coupled to and moveable along at least a portion of a rail (Figure 8 and Col 16, ln 48- 63),
wherein the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 8 and 17).
Regarding claim 12, Sano teaches the arrangement as applied to claim 8, wherein the tube clamp arrangement includes a frame, and the first adjustment mechanism and second adjustment mechanism are capable of being fixed to the frame (Figure 3-4 and 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano (US 7,657,996), as applied to claim 3 and 9, in further view of Spencer (US 4,369,779).
Regarding claim 4, Sano teaches the arrangement as applied to claim 3, wherein the tube-holding assemblies are engaged with a rail.
Sano does not explicitly teach the tube clamp arrangement includes a track configured to receive the rail, the track extending in the first direction.
Spencer taches an apparatus for forming a sterile connection comprising tube-holding assemblies comprising blocks that are slidably mounted and transporting within guides disposed on the frame (Col 4, ln 38-56 and Col 5, ln 6-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to improve the apparatus of Sano with tracks of Spencer within the frame of the apparatus for engaging with the rail of Sano for the benefit of guiding the movement of the tube-holding assemblies.
Regarding claim 10, Sano teaches the arrangement as applied to claim 9, wherein the tube-holding assemblies are engaged with a rail.
Sano does not explicitly teach the tube clamp arrangement includes a track configured to receive the rail, the track extending in the first direction.
Spencer taches an apparatus for forming a sterile connection comprising tube-holding assemblies comprising blocks that are slidably mounted and transporting within guides disposed on the frame (Col 4, ln 38-56 and Col 5, ln 6-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to improve the apparatus of Sano with tracks of Spencer within the frame of the apparatus for engaging with the rail of Sano for the benefit of guiding the movement of the tube-holding assemblies.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 5-7 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-20 are allowable.
Sano (PG-PUB 2006/0144525) teaches an apparatus comprising clamps and supporting tables supporting the clamps for rotation and translation (Figures 7-11 and [0069]-[0071]).
Kullmann (PG-PUB 2025/0073806) teaches a welding machine, comprising clamping an aligning elements on a slide, wherein the clamping elements are movable for engaging and disengaging the elements (Figures 2-4 and [0128], [0133]). Kullman teaches guide bearings 36 are fastened to the fixation area 24, while the guide rail 35 is fastened to a vertically oriented supporting plate 37 fastened to the bridge part 22. Kullman teaches if the attachment assembly group 23 is fastened to the foundation 2 via the fastening area 24, the movement guided by the transverse guide device 25 in the transverse direction 19 can be used to bring about the adjustment 20 of the bridge part 22 with the alignment elements 4, 10 as a unit (Figure 6 and [0142]).
Kullmann teaches it is necessary to provide adjustments 20 a, 20 b for the alignments of the aligning elements 4, 10, and the adjustments 20 must be provided in particular to ensure that aligning surfaces 21 a, 21 b (here vertical surfaces) of the alignment elements 4, 10 are arranged in one plane and in the correct position in the transverse direction 19, which depends on the type of the at least one band forming the band ends 3, 11 [0130]. Kullmann teaches the adjusted alignment of the alignment elements 4, 10 is fixed by means of screw connections to the foundation 2 or the slide 8 [0131].
The prior art does not teach the combination of limitations of claims 5 and 13, respectively, including the first adjustment mechanism includes a first adjustment screw that extends through the first mounting plate and contacts a first end of a first level arm, wherein movement of the first adjustment screw adjusts a pressure as applied to the first level arm and the second adjustment mechanism includes a second adjustment screw that extends through the second mounting plate and contacts a first end of the second level arm, wherein movement of the second adjustment screw adjusts a pressure as applied to the second level arm.
The prior art does not teach the combination of limitations of claim 16, in particularly, a first level arm movably coupled to the first mounting plate, a first adjustment screw that extends through the first mounting plate and contacting a first end of the first level arm, wherein movement of the first adjustment screw adjusts a pressure as applied to the first level arm and a position of the first mounting plate; and
a second level arm movable coupled to the second mounting plate, and
a second adjustment screw that extends through the second mounting plate and contacting a first end of the second level arm, wherein movement of the second adjustment screw adjusts a pressure as applied to the second level arm and a position of the second mounting plate.
Conclusion
HANA C. PAGE
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/HANA C PAGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1745