DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of Amendments and Remarks filed on 08/21/26. Claims 5 and 12 have been amended, while no claims have been canceled and no new claims have been added. Accordingly, claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-21 remain pending and under examination on the merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Priority
This Application is a continuation of Application No. 17/280,452 filed on 03/26/2021 which is a 371 of PCT/GB2019052863 filed on 10/09/2019 which claims benefit to Application No. 1816447.5 filed in United Kingdom on 10/09/2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s claim
Claim 1 is the broadest claim and is drawn to a method of treating chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) or asthma in a subject, which method comprises administering to said subject an effective amount of a liquid pharmaceutical composition, which liquid pharmaceutical composition is suitable for administration by inhalation and comprises (i) a suspension of particles comprising 9,10-dimethoxy-2-(2,4,6- trimethylphenylimino)-3 -(N-carbamoyl-2-aminoethyl)-3 ,4,6,7-tetrahydro-2H-pyrimido [6,1 - a]isoquinolin-4-one (RPL554); and (ii) a diluent which is 1,1,1 ,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFA- 134a), wherein the liquid pharmaceutical composition comprises less than 0.05 % by weight of a surfactant relative to the total weight of the composition.
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott-Banner et al (US 20170112839).
Abbott-Banner et al teach a compound and a composition used in a method of treating a disease or condition selected from chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), asthma, mild pulmonary disease, cystic fibrosis, bronchitis, bronchiectasis, etc, which compound is 9,10-dimethoxy-2-(2,4,6-trimethylphenylimino)-3-(N-carbamoyl-2-aminoethyl)-3,4,6,7-tetrahydro-2H-pyrimido[6,1-a]isoquinolin-4-one (RPL554) or a pharmaceutically acceptable acid addition salt thereof (See abstract, [0004], [0008]-[0011] and claim 12).
Regarding claim 1, Abbott-Banner et al state that the active agent can be micronized and combined with a suitable carrier to form a suspension of micronized particles of respirable size, and wherein the composition may comprise 0% surfactant. The said suspension of the active agent is in a liquefied propellant, such as 1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFA 134a) (See [0059] and [0062]).
Regarding claims 2-8 and 17-20, Abbott-Banner et al teach metered-dose formulations typically comprise a solution or suspension of the active agent in a liquefied propellant, with other optional components. A representative composition for use in an MDI comprises from about 0.01-5 wt % of active agent; from about 0-20 wt % ethanol; and from about 0-5 wt % surfactant; with the remainder being an HFA propellant (See [0062]).
Regarding claim 9, Abbott-Banner et al teach a suspension of micronized particles of respirable size, and where micronized is typically defined as having particles in which at least about 90 percent of the particles have a mass median diameter of less than about 10 μm (See [0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Abbott-Banner et al teach an isotonic aqueous solution comprising from about 0.05 μg/mL to about 10 mg/mL of RPL554 (See [0060]).
Regarding claims 11-12, Abbott-Banner et al teach that the said pharmaceutical compositions are suitable for inhaled administration. The pharmaceutical composition may be for administration by nebulizer, dry powder inhaler (DPI) or metered-dose inhaler (MDI) (See [0057]).
Regarding claims 14-15, Abbott-Banner et al teach that the disease or condition may be cystic fibrosis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), mild asthma, severe asthma, mild pulmonary disease, chronic bronchitis, etc, (See [0040]).
Regarding claim 20, Abbott-Banner et al also teach that the composition will contain from about 0.01-95 wt % of active agent (See [0054]).
Regarding claim 21, Abbott-Banner et al teach that the amount of RPL554 present in a single dose may be from 1 μg to 50 mg. The dose of RPL554 may be from 1 μg/kg to 500 μg/kg, or from 50 μg/kg to 250 μg/kg (kg as weight of patient). A dose may be administered as often as required, such as twice daily, once daily, etc, (See [0072]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to have followed the teachings of Abbott-Banner et al to arrive at the instant invention with reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to follow Abbott-Banner et al’s teachings and method to make a composition consisting of RPL554 and HFA propellant for inhalation by a metered dose inhaler to treat asthma and COPD because Abbott-Banner et al teach the said composition as one of the embodiments of their disclosure and that it is effective in treating respiratory disorders including asthma and COPD.
In other words, Abbott-Banner et al disclose an embodiment where the composition consists of RPL554 and an HFA propellant.
The claims would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reasons to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding claim 6, Abbott-Banner et al teach embodiments wherein the active agent is solely RPL554. Regarding claim 21, while Abbott-Banner et al do not expressly disclose a delivered dose per actuation, they disclose the amount of the medicament delivered per dose and it is delivered by a metered dose inhaler. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a single dose can be per actuation.
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akehurst et al (WO 1993011744) in combination with Spargo et al (US 20170239178).
Akehurst et al teach aerosol formulations of use for the administration of medicaments by inhalation, in particular a pharmaceutical aerosol formulation which comprises particulate medicament and a propellant, which formulation is substantially free of surfactant and a method of treating respiratory disorders which comprises administration by inhalation of an effective amount of the said pharmaceutical aerosol formulation (See abstract).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-8 and 17-20 in part, Akehurst et al disclose a pharmaceutical aerosol medicament which comprises particulate medicament and a propellant, and wherein the said propellant is 1,1, 1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFA 134a). It is disclosed that they have surprisingly found that, it is in fact possible to obtain satisfactory dispersions of medicaments in fluorocarbon or hydrogen-containing chlorofluorocarbon propellants such as 1,1, 1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFA 134a) without recourse to the use of any surfactant or cosolvent in the composition, or the necessity to pre-treat the medicament prior to dispersal in the propellant. The term "substantially free" is defined as less than 1% w/w based upon the fluorocarbon or hydrogen-containing chlorofluorocarbon, in particular less than 0.5% for example 0.1% or less (See Page 2, lines 12-16 and 22-24 and claims 1-3). The particulate medicament is added to a charge vessel and liquified propellant is pressure filled through the charge vessel into a manufacturing vessel. The drug suspension is mixed before recirculation to a filling machine and an aliquot of the drug suspension is then filled through the metering valve into the canister (See page 8, lines 12-15). Akehurst et al also disclose that “medicaments which may be administered in aerosol formulations according to the invention include any drug useful in inhalation therapy which may be presented in a form which is substantially completely insoluble in the selected propellant”. Particularly preferred medicaments for administration using the said aerosol formulations include anti-allergies, bronchodilators and anti-inflammatory steroids of use in the treatment of respiratory disorders such as asthma by inhalation therapy (See Page 2, line 29 to Page 3, line 25).
Regarding claim 9, in part, Akehurst et al disclose that the particle size of the particulate (e.g. micronised) medicament should be such as to permit inhalation of substantially all of the medicament into the lungs upon administration of the aerosol formulation and will thus be in the range 1-10 microns, e.g. 1-5 microns (See Page 2, lines 25-28).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-8 and 17-20 in part, Akehurst et al further disclose a particularly preferred embodiment provides a pharmaceutical aerosol formulation consisting essentially of one or more particulate medicament and one or more propellant (See page 5, lines 21-25). The final aerosol formulation desirably contains 0.005-10% w/w of medicament relative to the total weight of the formulation (See Page 4, lines 16-18).
Regarding claims 11-12 and 21 in part, Akehurst et al teach that metered dose inhalers are designed to deliver a fixed unit dosage of medicament per actuation or "puff", for example in the range of 10 to 5000 microgram medicament per puff (See page 8, lines 24-26). In Example 3, Akehurst et al disclose that micronised terbutaline sulphate (60mg) is weighed directly into an aluminium can and 1, 1, 1,2-tetrafluorethane (to 18.2g) added from a vacuum flask. A metering valve is crimped into place and the sealed can sonicated for five minutes. The aerosol delivers 250 microgram terbutaline sulphate per actuation.
Akehurst et al lack a specific disclosure on the medicament being RPL554 or its concentration. However, these are known in the art as shown by Spargo et al.
Spargo et al teach a liquid pharmaceutical composition suitable for administration by inhalation which comprises a diluent and a suspension of particles of 9,10-dimethoxy-2-(2,4,6-trimethylphenylimino)-3-(N-carbamoyl-2-aminoethyl-)-3,4,6,7-tetrahydro-2H-pyrimido[6,1-a]isoquinolin-4-one (RPL554) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for use in the treatment of a human or animal (See abstract). Regarding claims 1, 6 and 10, Spargo et al teach that the concentration of particles of RPL554 in the liquid pharmaceutical composition is typically from about 0.01 mg/mL to about 40 mg/mL (See [0031] and claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Spargo et al teach that the particles of RPL554 may be of any suitable size for a use in a liquid pharmaceutical composition suitable for inhalation, and may have a Dv50 (median particle size by volume) of from about 0.1µm to about 8 µm and particularly from about 0.2 µm to about 5 µm (See [0015]-[0016] and claim 2).
Regarding claims 1, 14-15 and 20-21, Spargo et al teach that the said liquid pharmaceutical composition may be used in the treatment of a disease or condition selected from asthma, allergic asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), etc. Typically, said disease or condition is asthma, severe asthma, steroid resistant asthma, pediatric asthma, or COPD, more typically COPD. The said method of treating comprises administering to said subject an effective amount of the said liquid pharmaceutical composition (See [0009]-[0011] and [0062]). A single dose of RPL554 may be from 0.5 mg to 6 mg, for instance about 1.5 mg. Doses may be administered once, twice or three times daily. For instance, the dose of RPL554 may be from 0.1 mg/day to 50 mg/day, typically from 1.5 mg/day to 18 mg/day. These doses are typically the nominal dose emitted from the inhaler (See [0064]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Spargo et al with that of Akehurst et al to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Akehurst et al teach a method of treating a respiratory disorder such as asthma by administration of a composition comprising an active agent and an HFA propellant via a metered dose inhaler. Akehurst et al teach that they have surprisingly found that, it is in fact possible to obtain satisfactory dispersions of medicaments in a propellant such as 1,1, 1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFA 134a) without recourse to the use of any surfactant or cosolvent in the composition. Akehurst et al do not expressly disclose the medicament being RPL554. However as taught by Spargo et al, RPL554 is a known medicament that is effectively administered to subjects in need of a respiratory treatment such as asthma, allergic asthma, pediatric asthma or COPD via a metered dose inhaler.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated Spargo et al’s active agent, RPL554, into the surfactant free, co-solvent free compositions of Akehurst et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Additionally, the claims would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reasons to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akehurst et al (WO 1993011744) in view of Walker et al (WO 2014140648 relying on recitations from US 20170266190).
Akehurst et al’s teachings are delineated above and incorporated herein.
Akehurst et al lack a specific disclosure on the medicament being RPL554 or its concentration. However, these are known in the art as shown by Walker et al.
Walker et al teach a composition which comprises (a) a PDE3/PDE4 inhibitor which is 9,10-Dimethoxy-2-(2,4,6-trimethylphenylimino)-3-(N-carbamoyl-2-aminoethyl)-3,4,6,7-tetrahydro-2H-pyrimido[6,1-a]isoquinolin-4-one (RPL554) or a pharmaceutically acceptable acid addition salt thereof and (b) a muscarinic receptor antagonist. The free base of RPL554 is preferred (See abstract and [0047]).
Disclosed is also a method of treating a disease or condition which is based on (i) acute or chronic obstruction of bronchi or (ii) acute or chronic inflammation, in a subject in need thereof, which method comprises administering to said subject (a) a PDE3/PDE4 inhibitor and (b) a muscarinic receptor antagonist (See [0013]).
The said composition suitable for inhalation will contain from about 0.01-95 wt % of active agent, including, from about 0.01-30 wt %, such as from about 0.01-10 wt % (See [0062]).
In exemplary composition for use in a nebulizer inhaler comprises an isotonic aqueous solution comprising from about 0.05 μg/mL to about 10 mg/mL of a RPL554 (See [0068]).
Metered-dose formulations typically comprise a solution or suspension of the active agent in a liquefied propellant, such as 1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFA 134a). A representative composition for use in an MDI comprises from about 0.01-5 wt % of active agent; from about 0-20 wt % ethanol; and from about 0-5 wt % surfactant; with the remainder being an HFA propellant (See [0069]).
Walker et al discloses that the disease or condition is asthma, allergic asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), severe asthma, pediatric asthma, cystic fibrosis, etc, and preferably, the condition is asthma or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) (See [0045] and claims 10-11).
Walker et al disclose that typically, the said compositions are useful for treating pulmonary or respiratory disorders, such as COPD or asthma, in mammals including humans, by administering to a patient a therapeutically effective amount of the composition. Generally, the dose for treating a pulmonary disorder will range from about 10-1500 μg/day. (See [0106]-[0108]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Walker et al with that of Akehurst et al to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Akehurst et al teach a method of treating a respiratory disorder such as COPD by administration of a composition comprising and active agent and an HFA propellant via a metered dose inhaler. Akehurst et al teach that they have surprisingly found that, it is in fact possible to obtain satisfactory dispersions of medicaments in a propellant such as 1,1, 1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFA 134a) without recourse to the use of any surfactant or cosolvent in the composition. Akehurst et al do not expressly disclose the medicament being RPL554. However as taught by Walker et al, RPL554 is a known medicament that is effectively administered to subjects in need of a respiratory treatment such as asthma and COPD via a metered dose inhaler.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated Walker et al’s active agent, RPL554, into the surfactant free, co-solvent free compositions of Akehurst et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Additionally, the claims would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reasons to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,956,171 in view of Akehurst et al (WO 1993011744). An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims because the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Akehurst et al.
Examined claim 1 is delineated above.
Reference claims are drawn to a liquid pharmaceutical composition suitable for administration by inhalation comprising a diluent and a suspension of particles of 9,10-dimethoxy-2-(2,4,6-trimethylphenylimino)-3-(N-carbamoyl-2-aminoethyl)-3,4,6,7-tetrahydro-2H-pyrimido[6,1-a]isoquinolin-4-one (RPL554) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the particles of RPL554 have a particle size distribution with a Dv50 (median particle size by volume) value of from about 0.2 μm to about 5 μm. And a method of treating a disease or condition selected from asthma, allergic asthma, hay fever, allergic rhinitis, bronchitis, emphysema, bronchiectasis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), ….. in a subject, which method comprises administering to said subject an effective amount of a liquid pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1.
The differences include 1- the examined claims are drawn to a method of treating a respiratory disorder, while the reference claims are drawn to both a liquid pharmaceutical composition and a method of treating a respiratory disorder. This is, however, obvious because the said liquid formulation is necessary to achieve the claimed method. 2- the reference claims do not recite that the diluent is an HFA propellant and 3- the reference claims do not recite the amount of surfactant is less than 0.05 wt% or the dose per actuation. However, in view of Akehurst et al, these modifications would have been obvious because Akehurst et al also teach a method of treating respiratory disorders such as asthma and COPD comprising administration of a composition comprising an active agent, an HFA propellant and substantially no surfactant and co-solvent. Akehurst et al also provide guidance on the actuated dose of an active agent. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a propellant and exclude a surfactant and a co-solvent/excipient in the formulation for preparing the disclosed successful compositions and methods.
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,463,665 in view of Akehurst et al (WO 1993011744). An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims because the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Akehurst et al.
Examined claim 1 is delineated above and incorporated herein.
Reference claims are drawn to a pharmaceutically acceptable acid addition salt of: (i) 9,10-dimethoxy-2-(2,4,6-trimethylphenylimino)-3-(N-carbamoyl-2-aminoethyl)-3,4,6,7-tetrahydro-2H-pyrimido[6,1-a]isoquinolin-4-one (RPL554); and (ii) ethane-1,2-disulfonic acid. And a method of treating a disease or condition selected from asthma, allergic asthma, hay fever, allergic rhinitis, bronchitis, emphysema, bronchiectasis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), ….. in a subject, which method comprises administering to said subject an effective amount of a liquid pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1.
The differences include 1- the examined claims are drawn to a method of treating a respiratory disorder, while the reference claims are drawn to both a pharmaceutical composition and a method of treating a respiratory disorder. This is, however, obvious because the said liquid formulation is necessary to achieve the claimed method. 2- the reference claims do not recite that the diluent is an HFA propellant and 3- the reference claims do not recite the amount of surfactant is less than 0.05 wt% or the dose per actuation. However, in view of Akehurst et al, these modifications would have been obvious because Akehurst et al also teach a method of treating respiratory disorders such as asthma and COPD comprising administration of a composition comprising an active agent, an HFA propellant and substantially no surfactant and co-solvent. Akehurst et al also provide guidance on the actuated dose of an active agent. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a propellant and exclude a surfactant and a co-solvent/excipient in the formulation for preparing the disclosed successful compositions and methods.
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,945,950 in view of Akehurst et al (WO 1993011744). An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims because the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Akehurst et al.
Examined claim 1 is delineated above and incorporated herein.
Reference claims are drawn to a liquid pharmaceutical composition suitable for administration by inhalation comprising a diluent and a suspension of particles of 9,10-dimethoxy-2-(2,4,6-trimethylphenylimino)-3-(N-carbamoyl-2-aminoethyl)-3,4,6,7-tetrahydro-2H-pyrimido[6,1-a]isoquinolin-4-one (RPL554) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the composition comprises a phosphate buffer at a concentration of less than about 5 mg/mL; wherein the particles of RPL554 have a particle size distribution with a Dv50 (median particle size by volume) value of from about 0.2 μm to about 5 μm, wherein the concentration of particles of RPL554 in the liquid pharmaceutical composition is from about 0.1 mg/mL to about 6 mg/mL.
The differences include 1- the examined claims are drawn to a method of treating a respiratory disorder, while the reference claims are drawn to both a pharmaceutical composition and a method of treating a respiratory disorder. This is, however, obvious because the said liquid formulation is necessary to achieve the claimed method. 2- the reference claims do not recite that the diluent is an HFA propellant and 3- the reference claims do not recite the amount of surfactant is less than 0.05 wt% or the dose per actuation. However, in view of Akehurst et al, these modifications would have been obvious because Akehurst et al also teach a method of treating respiratory disorders such as asthma and COPD comprising administration of a composition comprising an active agent, an HFA propellant and substantially no surfactant and co-solvent. Akehurst et al also provide guidance on the actuated dose of an active agent. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a propellant and exclude a surfactant and a co-solvent/excipient in the formulation for preparing the disclosed successful compositions and methods.
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,155 in view of Akehurst et al (WO 1993011744) and Walker et al (US 20170266190). An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims because the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Akehurst et al and Walker et al.
Examined claim 1 is delineated above and incorporated herein.
Reference claims are drawn to pharmaceutically acceptable acid addition salt of: (i) 9,10-dimethoxy-2-(2,4,6-trimethyl phenylimino)-3-(N-carbamoyl-2-aminoethyl)- 3,4,6,7-tetrahydro-2H-pyrimido[6, l-a]isoquinolin-4-one (RPL554); and (ii) ethanesulfonic acid, methanesulfonic acid, benzenesulfonic acid, p-toluenesulfonic acid, hydrobromic acid or sulfuric acid, or a solvate thereof, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the said compound and a method of treating a respiratory disorder by administration of the said composition to the subject
The differences include 1- the examined claims are drawn to a method of treating a respiratory disorder, while the reference claims are drawn to an acid addition, a pharmaceutical composition and a method of treating respiratory disorder. This is, however, obvious because the said liquid formulation is necessary to achieve the claimed method. 2- the reference claims are drawn to an acid addition of RPL554 while examined claims are drawn to a method of treating a disease or condition such as asthma or COPD by administration of the said compound. However, as recited by Walker et al, the composition may comprise the free base or acid addition of RPL554. 3- the reference claims do not recite the amount of surfactant is less than 0.05 wt% or the dose per actuation. However, in view of Akehurst et al, these modifications would have been obvious because Akehurst et al also teach a method of treating respiratory disorders such as asthma and COPD comprising administration of a composition comprising an active agent, an HFA propellant and substantially no surfactant and co-solvent. Akehurst et al also provide guidance on the actuated dose of an active agent. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a propellant and exclude a surfactant and a co-solvent/excipient in the formulation for preparing the disclosed successful compositions and methods. Both Akehurst and Walker provide guidance on the dose per actuation of an active agent including RPL554. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a propellant and exclude a surfactant and a co-solvent/excipient in the formulation for preparing the disclosed successful compositions and methods.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s main argument is that the claimed method requires administration of a formulation comprising RPL554 and HF134a, wherein the composition comprises less than 0.05% by weight of a surfactant. Applicants provided evidence they believe show that prior to this Application, pMDIs contained and required surfactants. Applicant states that “it is evident that in clinical practice a skilled formulation scientist would have expected that a surfactant would be necessary when seeking to provide a formulation of RPL554 for clinical use which is suitable for administration by pMDI” (See Remarks, page 7).
Applicant then argues that “The present claims, however, are based on the surprising finding that it is possible to formulate RPL554 free base with a propellant for use in the treatment of a respiratory disorder without the presence of any surfactant, provided that the propellant is as specified in claim 1 of the present application, namely HFA-134a” (See Remarks, page 8).
The remarks and arguments have been fully considered but found unpersuasive. While it is common for the formulations for use by pMDIs to contain surfactants and other excipients such as diluents/carriers, the prior art has clearly taught that the same formulations can be made without the use of surfactants. References of record teach this feature. For example, Abbot-Banner et al teach that excipients such as surfactants are optional additions and that a representative formulation comprises from 0-5 wt% of a surfactant. Similarly, Akehurst et al clearly teach formulations for inhalation comprising an active agent and HFA 134 without any or substantial amount of surfactants. Akehurst et al state that “they have surprisingly found that, it is in fact possible to obtain satisfactory dispersions of medicaments in fluorocarbon or hydrogen-containing chlorofluorocarbon propellants such as 1,1, 1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFA 134a) without recourse to the use of any surfactant or cosolvent in the composition, or the necessity to pre-treat the medicament prior to dispersal in the propellant”.
Next argument is that examples 4 and 5 of the Specification are evidence of advantageous findings such as consistent performance of the formulation over six months (See Remarks, page 8).
This argument is not convincing either. Prior art teaches or renders obvious the same formulations, which would have exhibited the same advantageous performance.
Applicant then points to Example 1 of the disclosure that shows the formulations comprising HFA 134 showed better results than the same formulations comprising HFA 227 (See Remarks, page 8).
The above argument is also not found convincing. Firstly, both Abbott-Banner et al and Akehurst et al teach formulations that comprise HFA 134 which meets the claim limitation. Secondly, the data provided by the Specification is not consistent with Applicant’s arguments. For example, a composition comprising 100% HFA 134 showed a score of 6 for 10 and 50 µg/actuation but shoed a score of 3 for 500 µg/actuation and 4 for 1000 µg/actuation. A composition comprising 75% HFA 134 and 25% HFA 227 showed a score of 6 for 10 and 50 µg/actuation, 3 for 500 µg/actuation and 4 for 1000 µg/actuation as well. Thus, the two propellant or mixture have the same score/effect on the formulation. When the composition comprises 25% HFA 134 and 75% HFA 227, the score is 5 for 10 µg/actuation, 3 for 500 µg/actuation and 4 for 1000 µg/actuation.
Regarding the rejection, Applicant argues that “Paragraph [0062] of Abbott-Banner provides only a very general description of MDI compositions, as follows.
A representative composition for use in an MDI comprises from about 0.01-5 we % of active agent; from about 0-20 wt % ethanol; and from about 0-5 wt % surfactant; with the remainder being an HFA propellant.
This passage would not, however, have taught the skilled person towards the composition recited in claim 1. In particular, there is no teaching or motivation for the skilled person to have selected a surfactant concentration below 0.05 % by weight relative to the total weight of the composition, and in particular to omit the surfactant entirely, and even less so when specifically using HFA-134a (as opposed to the other HFAs noted in paragraph [0062], e.g. HFA and HFA 227). Furthermore, Abbott-Banner does not indicate that the "active agent" is in particulate form, as required by claim 1 ("suspension of particles")” (See Remarks, page 9).
The above argument is not persuasive. As stated in MPEP § 2123(I), “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Abbot-Banner et al clearly teach a composition comprising RPL554, an HFA 134 propellant and 0% surfactant and 0% solvent. The 0% surfactant is as applicable to the formulation as the 5%. That is the entire range is taught and disclosed by the prior art and as such one of ordinary skill in the art is as motivated to select 0% surfactant as any amount between 0 and 5% including 0.05%. Furthermore, Abbott-Banner et al also disclose that the composition may optionally comprise other ingredients.
Regarding the argument that “Abbott-Banner does not indicate that the "active agent" is in particulate form, as required by claim 1 ("suspension of particles")”, it is noted that contrary to Applicant’s interpretation of the reference, Abbott-Banner et al indeed teach that the active agent, RPL554 may be in the form of particles. For example, they disclose:
-… the active agent(s)/active ingredient(s) can be micronized and combined with a suitable carrier to form a suspension of micronized particles of respirable size, where micronized is typically defined as having particles in which at least about 90 percent of the particles have a mass median diameter of less than about 10 μm. …- (See [0059]); and,
-To prepare a suspension, the active agent is micronized and then combined with the propellant. The formulation is then loaded into an aerosol canister, which forms a portion of the MDI. MDIs are well known to those of ordinary skill in the art ….- (See [0062]).
The next argument is that “Abbott-Banner identifies a surfactant as "optional" but provides no reason as to why and under what circumstances the skilled person would not use a surfactant in such a composition. Conversely, as discussed above, it was common general knowledge at the priority date that the skilled person would normally have expected to require a surfactant when formulating such a composition for an MDI” (See Remarks, page 9).
This argument is also unpersuasive. There is no requirement that an inventor recognizes or discloses all the features, benefits or properties of their invention. Abbot-Banner et al clearly disclose a formulation that may comprise RPL554, the HFA propellant 134 and no surfactants. The term “optional” means not necessary. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been more than motivated to have used no or very small amount of a surfactant.
Regarding the argument of the general knowledge at the time of application, it is noted that Abbott-Banner et al was published more than a year prior to the instant application and Akehurst et al. s reference was published in 1993. The fact that Applicant has selectively provided evidence of a handful of commercially available products that contain excipients such as surfactants does not mean that this feature of the formulation was not known.
Applicant also argues that “Moreover, even if it is considered that the skilled person would have been led to the claimed composition, there is certainly nothing in Abbott-Banner that would have suggested that the specific composition of claim 1 would have demonstrated its particularly favorable properties in remaining readily dispersible and enabling a high level of delivered dose uniformity” (See Remarks, page 9).
The argument is not convincing. Abbott-Banner et al teach the same formulations. Even if Applicant discovered better performance form propellant 134, the prior art teaches that the propellant can be either 134 or 227. One of ordinary skill in the art could very easily test the formulation with either propellant, notice the performance and select the better one. In this regard the courts have held that "The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Additionally, as explained above, the data regarding the better performance of 134 propellant is not convincing.
Regarding the rejection of claims over Akehurst et al in view of Spargo or Walker, Applicant again argues that the teaching of the prior art is that a surfactant is required when formulating RPL554 free base with an HFA propellant. Applicant argues that “The fact that Akehurst describes certain specific pMDI formulations which are free from surfactants would not have suggested that RPL554 in particular could be formulated in HFA-134a without a surfactant. The formulation of any active agent needs to be considered individually; it is not possible to reliably predict in advance whether a given formulation approach will be successful for a given active agent” (See Remarks, page 10).
The argument has been fully considered but found unpersuasive. The Akehurst reference clearly teaches that many active agents can be formulated without the need for a surfactant. Akehurst et al states that -- Medicaments which may be administered in aerosol formulations according to the invention include any drug useful in inhalation therapy which may be presented in a form which is substantially completely insoluble in the selected propellant. Appropriate medicaments may thus be selected from, for example,….--. Akehurst et al is clearly teaching that any medicament that is suitable for inhalation and is insoluble would be suitable for the said formulations. An exemplary list of medicaments is disclosed which includes many different medicaments. The fact that RPL554 is not specifically listed is in no way evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have selected RPL554 as the medicament for the formulations of Akehurst et al.
Applicant also states that “The examples of Akehurst relate to formulations comprising sodium cromoglycate (Example 1), terbutaline sulphate (Examples 2 and 4) and reproterol hydrochloride (Example 3). It should be noted that the examples of Akehurst accordingly relate only to active ingredients which are salts of organic compounds, rather than RPL554 free base as recited in the present claims. Salts of organic compounds contain localized concentrations of positive and negative charge which can affect their interaction with liquids” (See Remarks, page 10).
The above is not persuasive either. Firstly, Akehurst et al teaches that the medicaments can be in any form. It is disclosed that “It will be clear to a person skilled in the art that, where appropriate, the medicaments may be used in the form of salts (e.g. as alkali metal or amine salts or as acid addition salts) or as esters….”. It is well-established that consideration of a reference is not limited to the preferred embodiments or working examples, but extends to the entire disclosure for what it fairly teaches, when viewed in light of the submitted knowledge in the art, to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In re Boe, 355, F.2d 961, 148 USPQ 510, 510 (CCPA 1966).
Applicant provided structures of some active compounds disclosed by Akehurst et al and argues that “The skilled person would not have expected, based on Akehurst, that the formulation technique described therein would be generally applicable for all other active agents, and in particular to RPL554 free base” (See Remarks, pages 10-11).
The argument is not convincing. Applicant appears to assign a very narrow skill set to one skilled in the art. Regarding an ordinary artisan MPEP 2141 states that ““A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. “[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.” Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. Office personnel may also take into account “the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396; and 2) MPEP 716.07: “It is to be presumed also that skilled workers would as a matter of course, if they do not immediately obtain desired results, make certain experiments and adaptations, within the skill of the competent worker.” In the instant case, Akehurst et al teach the formulations comprising any active agent and Spargo r Walker teach the active agent. One of ordinary skills in this art is more than capable of substituting one active agent for another in the same formulation.
Then Applicant argues that “Spargo also would not have assisted the skilled person in arriving at the present claims. This document describes suspensions of particles of RPL554 in a liquid. However, there is no suggestion that it would be possible to stably suspend RPL554 free base without a surfactant when HFA-134a was used as a propellant. The teaching of Spargo is that a surfactant is required. See, e.g, the compositions of Table 1 and Table 2 (page 4) of Spargo which comprise the surfactants Tween 20 and Span 20” (See Remarks, page 12).
The above argument is not persuasive either. Firstly, Spargo states that -the liquid pharmaceutical composition may further comprise one or more surfactants, and that the total concentration of the one or more surfactants is typically from about 0.01 mg/mL- (See [0033] and [0036]). Secondly, the rejection is based on one of ordinary skill in the art substituting Akehurst et al’s active agent with RPL554 as taught by Spargo. Both references teach an inhalable suspension of RPL554. In this regard the courts have held that “The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the drug compound RPL544 into the formulations of Akehurst et al with a reasonable expectation of success. Akehurst et al teach an inhalation formulation comprising a suspension of an active agent in an HFA propellant including 134 and not add any surfactant. Spargo et al teach an inhalable formulation comprising RPL544. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art having possession of Akehurst et al’s teachings would have been motivated to have looked in the art for other drug compounds to incorporate into the said formulations such as RPL544 as taught by Spargo et al.
That is, an ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect success in modifying the inhalable suspension composition of Akehurst et al with the active agent of Spargo et al or Walker as proposed because one of ordinary skill in the art would rather prepare formulations with least number of components to make and effective formulation as this would benefit both the subject and the manufacturer. Abbott-Banner et al and Akehurst et al both teach that the said formulations can be effectively made without the use of a surfactant.
Applicants make analogous arguments regarding the Walker reference. This argument is not found persuasive for the same reasons as stated above.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness. Therefore, the prior art rejections of record are maintained.
Applicants make analogous arguments regarding the rejection of claims under obviousness type double patenting. The arguments are not found persuasive for the same reasons as stated above. The rejections are maintained.
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-21 remain rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mina Haghighatian/
Mina Haghighatian
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1616