DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application filed on 3/26/2024, which is a continuation of PCT/CN2022/119930 filed on 9/20/2022. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application CN202111146393.3 filed on 9/28/2021 and CN202111305478.1 filed on 11/5/2021. Claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (WO 2019/138503 A1; provided in Applicant’s IDS dated 1/29/2025, hereinafter Takeda. English translation is provided) in view of Wong et al. (US 2020/0059862, hereinafter Wong).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda discloses a signal transmission method, comprising: determining a periodicity of a synchronization signal; and periodically receiving the synchronization signal based on the periodicity of the synchronization signal through a first frequency resource [Takeda discloses that synchronization signals (e.g. SS, PSS, SSS, etc.) correspond to a signal block (SS block or SSB) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 1). The SS/PBCH burst may be set with a predetermined period (i.e. a periodicity) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 3). A terminal may control reception processing when the SS/PBCH sets are transmitted periodically (i.e. determining a periodicity of the synchronization signal) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 4). The SS/PBCH burst may be composed of blocks in which frequency and/or time resources may be continuous or non-consecutive (indicating a frequency resource corresponding to the synchronization signal) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 2)],
Wherein the first frequency resource is further used to transmit a wake-up signal, and the wake-up signal indicates information about one or more terminal devices to receive paging [Takeda discloses that the network transmits WUS (wake-up signal) using WUS resources; and upon detecting WUS, the UE receives a PDCCH in a control resource set for paging and receives a paging message (Takeda page 3, paragraph 3). Takeda further discloses that a WUS may be transmitted in the symbol of the SS block (Takeda page 6 paragraphs 3-4); and the band of WUS may be the same as the band of SS block (i.e. same frequency resource used for wake-up signal) (Takeda page 7, paragraph 9)].
Although Takeda discloses that the UE may receive a PDCCH for paging upon detecting WUS (see above); Takeda does not expressly disclose the feature of the wake-up signal indicates information about one or more terminal devices to receive paging.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wong discloses that a WUS is transmitted at a pre-determined/derivable time in advance of a schedule paging occasion such that a terminal device knows when to seek to receive a WUS. The WUS may include an indication of whether or not there will be a paging message in the upcoming paging occasion. The WUS may include an identifier for a terminal that is going to be paged (Wong paragraph 0035). Thus, a wake-up signal indicates information about a terminal device to receive paging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to have the feature of the wake-up signal indicates information about one or more terminal devices to receive paging; as taught by Wong. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce power consumption associated with monitoring for paging messages, and allow reliable decoding (Wong paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 1. Takeda and Wong further disclose wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal is associated with a transmission parameter of the wake-up signal [Takeda discloses that synchronization signal block (SS block) length may be 4 symbols, and blocks consecutive in the time direction are referred to as SS burst. A WUS may be transmitted in the symbol of the SS block (Takeda page 6 paragraphs 3-4). Thus, a transmission parameter (time/symbol length) of WUS corresponds to periodicity of synchronization signal (i.e. repetition of SS blocks). Takeda also discloses examples of WUS resources may be time division multiplexed into SS blocks (Takeda page 7, paragraphs 7-8)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 1. Takeda and Wong further disclose wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by a terminal device, the wake-up signal from a network device through the first frequency resource, wherein the wake-up signal indicates the information about the one or more terminal devices to receive paging, and the one or more terminal devices comprise the terminal device [Wong discloses that a WUS is transmitted at a pre-determined/derivable time in advance of a schedule paging occasion such that a terminal device knows when to seek to receive a WUS. The WUS may include an indication of whether or not there will be a paging message in the upcoming paging occasion. The WUS may include an identifier for a terminal device that is going to be paged in the paging occasion. This identifier may identify an individual terminal device or may identify a group of terminal devices (Wong paragraph 0035)]; and at least one of: receiving, by the terminal device, first information from the network device, or initiating, by the terminal device, random access, wherein the first information comprises at least one of: paging downlink control information (DCI), a paging message, or a paging early indication (PEI) [Wong discloses that when the terminal device detects a WUS associated with an identifier for itself, the terminal device can proceed to fine tune its frequency and timing tracking loops if required and blind detects for a PDCCH followed by decoding of the PDSCH carrying the paging message (i.e. the terminal receives a first information comprising a paging message) (Wong paragraph 0037)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Takeda discloses a signal transmission method, comprising: determining a periodicity of a synchronization signal; and periodically sending the synchronization signal based on the periodicity of the synchronization signal through a first frequency resource [Takeda discloses that synchronization signals (e.g. SS, PSS, SSS, etc.) correspond to a signal block (SS block or SSB) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 1). The SS/PBCH burst may be set with a predetermined period (i.e. a periodicity) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 3). A terminal may control reception processing when the SS/PBCH sets are transmitted periodically (i.e. determining a periodicity of the synchronization signal) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 4). The SS/PBCH burst may be composed of blocks in which frequency and/or time resources may be continuous or non-consecutive (indicating a frequency resource corresponding to the synchronization signal) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 2)],
Wherein the first frequency resource is further used to transmit a wake-up signal, and the wake-up signal indicates information about one or more terminal devices to receive paging [Takeda discloses that the network transmits WUS (wake-up signal) using WUS resources; and upon detecting WUS, the UE receives a PDCCH in a control resource set for paging and receives a paging message (Takeda page 3, paragraph 3). Takeda further discloses that a WUS may be transmitted in the symbol of the SS block (Takeda page 6 paragraphs 3-4); and the band of WUS may be the same as the band of SS block (i.e. same frequency resource used for wake-up signal) (Takeda page 7, paragraph 9)].
Although Takeda discloses that the UE may receive a PDCCH for paging upon detecting WUS (see above); Takeda does not expressly disclose the feature of the wake-up signal indicates information about one or more terminal devices to receive paging.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wong discloses that a WUS is transmitted at a pre-determined/derivable time in advance of a schedule paging occasion such that a terminal device knows when to seek to receive a WUS. The WUS may include an indication of whether or not there will be a paging message in the upcoming paging occasion. The WUS may include an identifier for a terminal that is going to be paged (Wong paragraph 0035). Thus, a wake-up signal indicates information about a terminal device to receive paging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to have the feature of the wake-up signal indicates information about one or more terminal devices to receive paging; as taught by Wong. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce power consumption associated with monitoring for paging messages, and allow reliable decoding (Wong paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 12, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 11. Takeda and Wong further disclose wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal is associated with a transmission parameter of the wake-up signal [Takeda discloses that synchronization signal block (SS block) length may be 4 symbols, and blocks consecutive in the time direction are referred to as SS burst. A WUS may be transmitted in the symbol of the SS block (Takeda page 6 paragraphs 3-4). Thus, a transmission parameter (time/symbol length) of WUS corresponds to periodicity of synchronization signal (i.e. repetition of SS blocks). Takeda also discloses examples of WUS resources may be time division multiplexed into SS blocks (Takeda page 7, paragraphs 7-8)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 11. Takeda and Wong further disclose wherein the method further comprises: sending the wake-up signal through the first frequency resource, wherein the wake-up signal indicates the information about the one or more terminal devices to receive paging, and the one or more terminal devices comprise a first terminal device [Wong discloses that a WUS is transmitted at a pre-determined/derivable time in advance of a schedule paging occasion such that a terminal device knows when to seek to receive a WUS. The WUS may include an indication of whether or not there will be a paging message in the upcoming paging occasion. The WUS may include an identifier for a terminal device that is going to be paged in the paging occasion. This identifier may identify an individual terminal device or may identify a group of terminal devices (Wong paragraph 0035)]; and at least one of: sending first information to the first terminal device, or receiving a random access preamble sequence from the first terminal device, wherein the first information comprises at least one of: paging downlink control information (DCI), a paging message, or a paging early indication (PEI) [Wong discloses that when the terminal device detects a WUS associated with an identifier for itself, the terminal device can proceed to fine tune its frequency and timing tracking loops if required and blind detects for a PDCCH followed by decoding of the PDSCH carrying the paging message (i.e. the terminal receives a first information comprising a paging message) (Wong paragraph 0037)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 14. Takeda and Wong further disclose wherein the at least one of the sending the first information to the first terminal device or the receiving the random access preamble sequence from the first terminal device is through a second frequency resource [Wong discloses that when the terminal device detects a WUS associated with an identifier for itself, the terminal device can proceed to fine tune its frequency and timing tracking loops if required and blind detects for a PDCCH followed by decoding of the PDSCH carrying the paging message (Wong paragraph 0037). Decoding the PDSCH carrying the paging message would also indicate that the first information is sent through another frequency resource. Takeda also discloses that the band of WUS may be the different from the band of SS block (indicating a different frequency resource for the first information) (Takeda page 7, paragraph 9)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 14. Takeda and Wong further disclose wherein the method is performed at a network device which comprises a first module and a second module, the network device performs, via the first module, the periodically sending the synchronization signal and the sending the wake-up signal, and the network device performs, via the second module, the at least one of the sending the first information to the first terminal device or the receiving the random access preamble sequence from the first terminal device [Takeda Figure 14 discloses a wireless base station comprising units (or modules) such as a transmitting/receiving unit 103, antennas 101, signal processing unit 102, etc. (Takeda Figure 14, page 13). The transmission/reception unit 103 (i.e. a first module) may be used to send synchronization signal, and WUS (Takeda page 14, paragraph 1). The reception antenna (i.e. a second module) may be used to receive uplink signals (from UE) (Takeda page 13, last paragraph). The uplink signals from a UE may include random access preamble (Takeda page 12 last paragraph-page 13 first paragraph)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 17, Takeda discloses a communication apparatus, comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions stored in a memory to enable the apparatus to perform operations comprising [Takeda Figure 18 discloses a hardware configuration of a radio base station and a user terminal comprising a processor, a memory, a storage, a communication device, etc. (Takeda Figure 18, pages 19-20)]:
Determining a periodicity of a synchronization signal; and periodically receiving the synchronization signal based on the periodicity of the synchronization signal through a first frequency resource [Takeda discloses that synchronization signals (e.g. SS, PSS, SSS, etc.) correspond to a signal block (SS block or SSB) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 1). The SS/PBCH burst may be set with a predetermined period (i.e. a periodicity) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 3). A terminal may control reception processing when the SS/PBCH sets are transmitted periodically (i.e. determining a periodicity of the synchronization signal) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 4). The SS/PBCH burst may be composed of blocks in which frequency and/or time resources may be continuous or non-consecutive (indicating a frequency resource corresponding to the synchronization signal) (Takeda page 4, paragraph 2)], wherein
The first frequency resource is further used to transmit a wake-up signal, and the wake-up signal indicates information about one or more terminal devices to receive paging [Takeda discloses that the network transmits WUS (wake-up signal) using WUS resources; and upon detecting WUS, the UE receives a PDCCH in a control resource set for paging and receives a paging message (Takeda page 3, paragraph 3). Takeda further discloses that a WUS may be transmitted in the symbol of the SS block (Takeda page 6 paragraphs 3-4); and the band of WUS may be the same as the band of SS block (i.e. same frequency resource used for wake-up signal) (Takeda page 7, paragraph 9)].
Although Takeda discloses that the UE may receive a PDCCH for paging upon detecting WUS (see above); Takeda does not expressly disclose the feature of the wake-up signal indicates information about one or more terminal devices to receive paging.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wong discloses that a WUS is transmitted at a pre-determined/derivable time in advance of a schedule paging occasion such that a terminal device knows when to seek to receive a WUS. The WUS may include an indication of whether or not there will be a paging message in the upcoming paging occasion. The WUS may include an identifier for a terminal that is going to be paged (Wong paragraph 0035). Thus, a wake-up signal indicates information about a terminal device to receive paging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to have the feature of the wake-up signal indicates information about one or more terminal devices to receive paging; as taught by Wong. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce power consumption associated with monitoring for paging messages, and allow reliable decoding (Wong paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 18, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 11. Takeda and Wong further disclose a communication apparatus, comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions stored in a memory to enable the apparatus to perform the method according to claim 11 [Takeda Figure 18 discloses a hardware configuration of a radio base station and a user terminal comprising a processor, a memory, a storage, a communication device, etc. (Takeda Figure 18, pages 19-20)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 1. Takeda and Wong further disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or instructions executable by a computer to enable the computer to perform the method according to claim 1 [Takeda Figure 18 discloses a hardware configuration of a radio base station and a user terminal comprising a processor, a memory, a storage, a communication device, etc. The memory may be a computer readable recording medium and may store a program (program code), a software module, and the like that can be executed to implement the wireless communication method according to an embodiment of the present invention (Takeda Figure 18, page 20, paragraphs 2-3)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 11. Takeda and Wong further disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or instructions executable by a computer to enable the computer to perform the method according to claim 11 [Takeda Figure 18 discloses a hardware configuration of a radio base station and a user terminal comprising a processor, a memory, a storage, a communication device, etc. The memory may be a computer readable recording medium and may store a program (program code), a software module, and the like that can be executed to implement the wireless communication method according to an embodiment of the present invention (Takeda Figure 18, page 20, paragraphs 2-3)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Wong, and further in view of Pan et al. (US 2020/0359426, hereinafter Pan).
Regarding claim 5, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 1. Although Wong discloses that the amount of synchronization signaling may be defined in an operating standard for the wireless telecommunications systems, or may be selectable by the network and communicated to the terminal devices (Wong paragraph 0058); Takeda and Wong do not expressly disclose wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal is configured by a network device; or the periodicity of the synchronization signal is predefined in a standard.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Pan discloses that LTE synchronization signals and PBCH may be transmitted continuously according to a predefined (e.g., standardized) periodicity (Pan paragraph 0074).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda and Wong to have the features of wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal is configured by a network device; or the periodicity of the synchronization signal is predefined in a standard; as taught by Pan. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce latency and delay in random access procedure (Pan paragraph 0109).
Claims 6-8 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Wong, and further in view of Mazloum et al. (US 2021/0037465, hereinafter Mazloum).
Regarding claim 6, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 1. Although Wong discloses that the amount of synchronization signaling may be selectable by the network and communicated to the terminal devices (Wong paragraph 0058); Takeda and Wong do not expressly disclose wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal is configured by a network device, the method further comprises: receiving first configuration information, and the determining the periodicity of the synchronization signal comprises: configuring, based on the first configuration information, the periodicity of the synchronization signal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Mazloum discloses that an access node may provide an indication of a number of eSS signals (synchronization signals) and the eSS periodicity (e.g. transmission period) may be configured in SIB (Mazloum paragraphs 0060 and 0061). Thus, the terminal receives first configuration information related to periodicity of synchronization signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda and Wong to have the features of wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal is configured by a network device, the method further comprises: receiving first configuration information, and the determining the periodicity of the synchronization signal comprises: configuring, based on the first configuration information, the periodicity of the synchronization signal; as taught by Mazloum. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improvement in the configuration of signaling related to terminals operating under DRX and using a WUS; and to achieve high energy savings when using this type of signaling (Mazloum paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 7, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 1. Takeda and Wong do not expressly disclose the features of receiving second configuration information; and configuring, based on the second configuration information, a pattern of the synchronization signal; wherein the periodically receiving the synchronization signal comprises: receiving the synchronization signal based on the periodicity of the synchronization signal and the pattern of the synchronization signal through the first frequency resource.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Mazloum discloses that a terminal may be configured with eSS periodicity and WUS timing to ensure a certain time advance value (see Mazloum Figures 3A, 3B, paragraphs 0049-0051). Mazloum further discloses that an access node may provide an indication of a number of eSS signals (synchronization signals) and the eSS periodicity (e.g. transmission period) may be configured in SIB (Mazloum paragraphs 0060 and 0061). Thus, the configuration related to time duration and length correspond to a second configuration information related to a pattern of the synchronization signal, and the synchronization signal is received based on the periodicity and the pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda and Wong to have the features of receiving second configuration information; and configuring, based on the second configuration information, a pattern of the synchronization signal; wherein the periodically receiving the synchronization signal comprises: receiving the synchronization signal based on the periodicity of the synchronization signal and the pattern of the synchronization signal through the first frequency resource; as taught by Mazloum. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improvement in the configuration of signaling related to terminals operating under DRX and using a WUS; and to achieve high energy savings when using this type of signaling (Mazloum paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 8, Takeda, Wong and Mazloum disclose the method according to claim 7. Takeda, Wong and Mazloum further disclose wherein the method further comprises: at least one of receiving a first signal or sending a second signal at a first time domain location through the first frequency resource, wherein a time domain location at which the synchronization signal is sent and which is represented by the pattern of the synchronization signal does not comprise the first time domain location, the first signal comprises any one selected from the group consisting of: a synchronization signal block (SSB), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS), a positioning reference signal (PRS), and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and the second signal comprises any one selected from the group consisting of: a DMRS, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a sounding reference signal (SRS) [Wong discloses that a WUS is transmitted at a pre-determined/derivable time in advance of a schedule paging occasion such that a terminal device knows when to seek to receive a WUS. The WUS may include an indication of whether or not there will be a paging message in the upcoming paging occasion (Wong paragraph 0035) Wong Figure 4 discloses that a PDCCH paging message follows the WUS (Wong Figure 4, paragraphs 0036-0037). Receiving the PDCCH corresponds to receiving a first signal, which has a time domain location which is different than the time domain location of the PDCCH signal. Mazloum Figures 3A-3B and 4A-4B also disclose examples where the time domain location of synchronization signal (eSS) is different than the time domain location of the paging occasion]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 13, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 12. Takeda and Wong do not expressly disclose wherein the method further comprises: broadcasting system information, wherein the system information comprises the transmission parameter of the wake-up signal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Mazloum discloses that an access node may provide an indication of a number of eSS signals (synchronization signals) and the eSS periodicity (e.g. transmission period) may be configured in SIB. A WUS duration may also be configured in SIB (Mazloum paragraph 0061). This indicates broadcasting system information comprising transmission parameter of the wake-up signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda and Wong to have the features of wherein the method further comprises: broadcasting system information, wherein the system information comprises the transmission parameter of the wake-up signal; as taught by Mazloum. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improvement in the configuration of signaling related to terminals operating under DRX and using a WUS; and to achieve high energy savings when using this type of signaling (Mazloum paragraph 0010).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Wong, and further in view of Priyanto et al. (US 2023/0189139, hereinafter Priyanto).
Regarding claim 9, Takeda and Wong disclose the method according to claim 1. Takeda and Wong do not expressly disclose wherein at least one of a modulation scheme of the synchronization signal and a modulation scheme of the wake-up signal are on-off keying (OOK); or a waveform of at least one of the synchronization signal or the wake-up signal is OOK.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Priyanto discloses that a WUS waveform can be defined in accordance with a modulation scheme such as OOK (Priyanto paragraphs 0106, 0131).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda and Wong to have the features of wherein at least one of a modulation scheme of the synchronization signal and a modulation scheme of the wake-up signal are on-off keying (OOK); or a waveform of at least one of the synchronization signal or the wake-up signal is OOK; as taught by Priyanto. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide advanced techniques, such as an adaptive OFDM numerology, of transmitting a WUS (Priyanto paragraphs 0007-0008).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the transmission parameter of the wake-up signal comprises a time domain resource length; and the time domain resource length comprises a first time domain resource length and a second time domain resource length, a first periodicity of the synchronization signal is associated with the first time domain resource length, a second periodicity of the synchronization signal is associated with the second time domain resource length, the first time domain resource length is less than the second time domain resource length, and the first periodicity is less than the second periodicity; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the transmission parameter of the wake-up signal comprises a subcarrier spacing; and the subcarrier spacing comprises a first subcarrier spacing and a second subcarrier spacing, a first periodicity of the synchronization signal is associated with the first subcarrier spacing, a second periodicity of the synchronization signal is associated with the second subcarrier spacing, the first subcarrier spacing is greater than the second subcarrier spacing, and the first periodicity is less than the second periodicity; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414