2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 14, 15 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behzad (Pub No. 2010/0317300) and further in view of Sugar et al (Pub No. 2003/0203743).
Regarding claim 1, Behzad discloses a communication device (Fig. 13: Transceiver device), comprising: a first transceiver circuit (Fig. 13: Transceiver device upper TX/ RX part), a second transceiver circuit and (Fig. 13: Transceiver device’s lower TX/ RX part), at least one processor configured as a switch control unit (Para. 66: a plurality of transmit/receive switches 170-176 & Para. 8: system controller control the RF device), and a first signal processing channel (Para. 41 & Fig. 13: 1st frequency band channel-80 connected to baseband module 18 to baseband processor-178), wherein the first signal processing channel comprises a first analog-to-digital conversion unit (Para. 36 & 39: The processing includes analog-to-digital conversion); a first intermediate frequency (Para. 10: Intermediate frequency stages mix the amplified RF signals with local oscillations to convert the amplified RF signal into baseband signals/ intermediate frequency (IF) signals), and a first baseband processing unit (Fig. 13: baseband processing-178); the switch control unit is configured to determine, based on resource control information, to connect the first transceiver circuit (Fig. 6 & 13) & (Para. 48: Multiplexer-84. 1st and 2nd mode of the mode signals- 32. Mode signal 32 acts as a switch control signal and select a frequency band by multiplexer-84, switch control perform based on the resource control information. System selects either 1st or 2nd frequency for communication); and a first radio frequency band in the first transceiver circuit is different from a second radio frequency band in the second transceiver circuit (Fig. 13 & 3: 1st band-40 & 2nd band-42 & Para. 41: 1st band and 2nd band are different).
Behzad does not explicitly discloses first intermediate frequency channel unit.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugar et al discloses first intermediate frequency channel unit (Fig. 2-4: intermediate frequency (IF) conversion architecture with intermediate frequency channel) & (Para. 27 & 35 & 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the radio transceiver IF signal processing system of Sugar’s disclosure with the multi band RF signal processing system, as taught by Behzad. Doing so would have resulted in effectively processing radio signals in a MIMO transceiver to generate desire quality signal for the desire band with higher reliability.
Regarding claim 8, Claim 8 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 14, Claim 14 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 2 & 9 & 15, Behzad discloses wherein the resource control information comprises configuration information of resource units of the first radio frequency band and the second radio frequency band (Fig. 13 & 3: 1st band-40 & 2nd band-42 & Para. 41-42: configuration information of resource on 1st and 2nd frequency band).
Regarding claim 4 & 11 & 17, Behzad discloses the device further comprises: a third transceiver circuit (Fig. 13: 3rd transceiver-174), the at least one processor is further configured as a second signal processing channel (Fig. 13: multiple signal processing channel), connected to the first signal processing channel (Fig. 13: Signal processing channel are connected), the second signal processing channel comprises a second analog-to-digital conversion unit (Para. 36 & 39: The processing includes analog-to-digital conversion) and the switch control unit is configured to, based on the resource control information, connect one or more of the first transceiver circuit, the second transceiver circuit, and the third transceiver circuit to at least one of the first signal processing channel or the second signal processing channel (Fig. 6 & 13) & (Para. 48: Multiplexer-84. 1st and 2nd mode of the mode signals- 32. Mode signal 32 acts as a switch control signal and select a frequency band by multiplexer-84, switch control perform based on the resource control information. System selects either 1st or 2nd frequency for communication).
Behzad does not explicitly discloses a second intermediate frequency channel unit.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugar et al discloses a second intermediate frequency channel unit (Fig. 2-4: intermediate frequency (IF) conversion architecture with intermediate frequency channel) & (Para. 27 & 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the radio transceiver IF signal processing system of Sugar’s disclosure with the multi band RF signal processing system, as taught by Behzad. Doing so would have resulted in effectively processing radio signals in a MIMO transceiver to generate desire quality signal for the desire band with higher reliability.
Claims 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 13, 16 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behzad (Pub No. 2010/0317300), in view of Sugar et al (Pub No. 2003/0203743) and further in view of Asuri et al (Pub No. 2021/0091819).
Regarding claim 3 & 10 & 16, Behzad is silent regarding the first signal processing channel is an uplink signal processing channel, and an uplink timeslot of the first radio frequency band is staggered with an uplink timeslot of the second radio frequency band.
Asuri et al discloses the first signal processing channel is an uplink signal processing channel (Para. 80 & 88: Uplink signal processing), and an uplink timeslot of the first radio frequency band is staggered with an uplink timeslot of the second radio frequency band (Para. 10: TDD uplink timeslot of the TDD frame) & (Fig. 4: Frequency allocation for uplink).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use uplink signal processing properly to minimize signal interference in the uplink communication.
Regarding claim 5 & 12 & 18, Behzad discloses at least two radio frequency bands of the first radio frequency band, the second radio frequency band, and a third radio frequency band of the third transceiver circuit are different from each other (Fig. 13 & 3: 1st band-40 & 2nd band-42 & Para. 41: 1st band and 2nd band are different and using multiple different frequency band).
Behzad is silent regarding the first signal processing channel and the second signal processing channel are uplink signal processing channels, and uplink timeslots of the at least two radio frequency bands, which are different from each other are staggered.
Asuri et al discloses the first signal processing channel and the second signal processing channel are uplink signal processing channels (Fig. 2-3 & Para. 80 & 88), and uplink timeslots of the at least two radio frequency bands, which are different from each other are staggered (Para. 10: TDD uplink timeslot of the TDD frame) & (Fig. 4: Frequency allocation for uplink).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use uplink signal processing properly to minimize signal interference in the uplink communication.
Regarding claim 6 & 13 & 19, Behzad is silent regarding the first signal processing channel is an uplink signal processing channel and an uplink timeslot of the first radio frequency band is staggered with an uplink timeslot of the second radio frequency band.
Asuri et al discloses the first signal processing channel is an uplink signal processing channel and an uplink timeslot of the first radio frequency band is staggered with an uplink timeslot of the second radio frequency band (Fig. 2-3 & Para. 80 & 88) & (Para. 10: TDD uplink timeslot of the TDD frame) & (Fig. 4: Frequency allocation for uplink).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use uplink signal processing properly to minimize signal interference in the uplink communication.
Regarding claim 7 & 20, Behzad discloses the device further comprises: a third transceiver circuit (Fig. 13: 3rd transceiver-174), the at least one processor is further configured as a second signal processing channel (Fig. 13: multiple signal processing channel), connected to the first signal processing channel (Fig. 13: Signal processing channel are connected), the second signal processing channel comprises a second analog-to-digital conversion unit (Para. 36 & 39: The processing includes analog-to-digital conversion) and the switch control unit is configured to, based on the resource control information, connect one or more of the first transceiver circuit, the second transceiver circuit, and the third transceiver circuit to at least one of the first signal processing channel or the second signal processing channel (Fig. 6 & 13) & (Para. 48: Multiplexer-84. 1st and 2nd mode of the mode signals- 32. Mode signal 32 acts as a switch control signal and select a frequency band by multiplexer-84, switch control perform based on the resource control information. System selects either 1st or 2nd frequency for communication).
Behzad does not explicitly discloses a second intermediate frequency channel unit.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sugar et al discloses a second intermediate frequency channel unit (Fig. 2-4: intermediate frequency (IF) conversion architecture with intermediate frequency channel) & (Para. 27 & 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the radio transceiver IF signal processing system of Sugar’s disclosure with the multi band RF signal processing system, as taught by Behzad. Doing so would have resulted in effectively processing radio signals in a MIMO transceiver to generate desire quality signal for the desire band with higher reliability.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648