Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the newly added limitation that sets forth "first roller and the second roller include a plurality of grooves within a cylindrical-shaped body," (see claim 1, lines 4-5; claim 15, lines 8-9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected, without traverse, Species I (Figures 1, 2A, 2B, 4) in the reply filed on August 21, 2025.
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 21, 2025.
Examiner Comments
The Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) in view of Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1) and Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1).
As per claim 1 (and analogously, as per claim 15), Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) discloses a moveable tape support assembly (e.g., see Figs. 4-6), the assembly comprising: a frame (e.g., 18) that is moveable; and at least a first roller (e.g., one of the guide rollers (140 and/or 210) as depicted in Figs. 4-6; see, inter alia, paragraph [0023]) and a second roller (e.g., the other one of the guide rollers (140 and/or 210) as depicted in Figs. 4-6) are attached to the frame (18) and are each free to rotate about an axis (e.g., axel), and the first roller is in close proximity to the second roller (e.g. see Figs. 4-6), wherein the frame (18) is adapted to be moveable towards a tape (e.g., 30) in order for the first roller (e.g., 140/210) and the second roller (e.g., 140/210) to come into contact with a first side (e.g., the bottom-side as depicted in Figs. 4-6) of the tape (e.g., 30) and move the tape (30) in order to have a second side (e.g., top-side of tape as depicted in Figs. 4-6) of the tape (30) to contact a head (e.g. 34) that is adapted for reading data from the tape or writing data to the tape (30) - see, inter alia, paragraphs [0030-0031].
As per claim 4 (as well as claim 18), wherein the frame (18) - with the rollers mounted on the portion of the frame - and the head (34) are located on opposite sides of the tape (30) - see Figs. 4-6.
As per claim 5 (as well as claim 19), wherein the frame (18) is moveable in order to move the first roller (140/210) and the second roller (140/210) into a path of the tape (30).
As per claim 6 (as well as claim 20), wherein the first roller (140/210) and the second roller (140/210) are arranged to ensure that when the first roller (140/210) and the second roller (140/210) contact the first side (e.g., the bottom-side as depicted in Figs. 4-6) of the tape (30) , the tape (30) includes a short and stiff span near the head (34) in order to achieve a stable head/tape interface.
As per claim 7, wherein the frame (18) is attached to an actuator (e.g., 50) and the actuator (50) is controlled in order to move the frame (18) (see, inter alia, paragraph [0023]).
As per amended claim 1 (and analogously, as per amended claim 15), Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) remains silent with regard to wherein the first roller and the second roller include a plurality of grooves within a cylindrical-shaped body.
However, such features are well-known in the art.
As just one example, Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1) discloses an analogous tape drive system and/or tape head module and tape guide assembly, in the same field of endeavor as Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1), wherein Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1) discloses a tape head module (e.g., see Fig. 1) and tape guide assembly (e.g., 24), the assembly comprising: a tape head module (e.g., 22, 22 - see paragraph [0011]) that is adapted for reading data from tape (e.g., 12) or writing data to the tape (12) (paragraph [0011]); and a first tape support roller guide (e.g., 24c) and a second tape support roller guide (e.g., 24d) that are positioned on opposite sides of the tape head module (22) and in close proximity to the tape head module (22), wherein, as per amended claims 1 and 15, the first roller (e.g., 24c) and the second roller (e.g., 24d) include a plurality of grooves within a cylindrical-shaped body (e.g., see Figs. 2-4; paragraph [0018]).
Given the express teachings and motivations, as espoused by Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the tape drive system of Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) as providing the first roller and the second roller so as to include a plurality of grooves within a cylindrical-shaped body, as expressly taught by Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1), in order to advantageously provide "traction between the roller body and the tape as the tape passes over the roller body." See paragraph [0004] of Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1).
As per claim 1 (and analogously, as per 15), Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1 and/or Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1) also remains silent with regard to wherein a distance between the first roller and the second roller is in a range of 0.1 mm to 2.0 mm - essentially, wherein the two tape guide rollers are spaced very close to each other.
Additionally, as per claim 15, Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) discloses the features of the claimed tape drive system, but remains silent with regard to a plurality of rollers rotatable and adapted to move the tape (or tape media) past the moveable tape support assembly.
However, such features are well-known in the art.
As just one example, Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1) discloses an analogous tape drive system and/or tape head module and tape guide assembly, in the same field of endeavor as Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) and/or Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1), wherein Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1) discloses a tape head module (e.g., 26) and tape guide assembly (e.g. 40/42), the assembly comprising: a tape head module (e.g., 26) that is adapted for reading data from tape (e.g., 28) or writing data to the tape (28); and a first tape support roller guide (e.g., 40) and a second tape support roller guide (e.g., 42) that are positioned on opposite sides of the tape head module (28) and in close proximity to the tape head module (26) and adapted to provide a short and stiff portion of the tape (28) located near the tape head module (26) and provide a stable interface between the tape head module (26) and the tape (28), due to their very close proximity of each tape guide roller to each other - see, inter alia, Fig. 5. A distance between the first roller (e.g. 40) and the second roller (e.g., 42) is in a range of 0.1 mm to 2.0 mm (e.g., see paragraph [0038] of Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1)). That is, as per cited paragraph [0038], "the primary rollers 40 and 42 may be placed in nearly contacting relationship. By way of example only, a 1 mm separation gap." Emphasis added.
Additionally, as per claim 15, Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1) further discloses a tape drive system (e.g. 10) comprising: the tape media (e.g., 28) adapted to store data; at least one reel (e.g., 30 and/or 32) adapted to unroll the tape media (28) therefrom or roll the tape media (28) thereto; and a plurality of rollers (e.g., 44, 46) rotatable about an axis and adapted to move the tape media past the tape head module (26) and tape guide assembly (e.g. 40/42).
Given the express teachings and motivations, as espoused by Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the tape drive system of Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) as providing wherein a distance between the first roller and the second roller is in a range of 0.1 mm to 2.0 mm, as expressly taught by Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1), and the plurality of rollers rotatable and adapted to move the tape (or tape media) past the moveable tape support assembly, in order to advantageously provide first and second rollers which may be large and closely spaced, with the second tape guide roller being spaced from the first roller at a roller diameter/center-to-center spacing ratio of between approximately 1:1-1:2 while still accommodating the transducing head therebetween - see abstract of Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1).
In an obviousness analysis, it is not necessary to find precise disclosure directed to the specific subject matter claimed because inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ can be taken into account. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). In this regard, "[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." Id. at 421.
As the U.S. Supreme Court has stated, obviousness requires an "expansive and flexible" approach that asks whether the claimed improvement is more than a "predictable variation" of "prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 415, 417.
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) in view of Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1) and Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 15, above, and further in view of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1).
See the description of Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) and/or Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1) and/or Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1), supra.
As per claim 2 (and analogously, as per claim 16), Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) (and/or Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1) and/or Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1)), remains silent with regard to wherein the head is a mini head, that does not span a full width of the tape.
However, such features are well-known in the art.
As just one example, Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1) discloses an analogous tape drive system and/or tape head module and tape guide assembly, in the same field of endeavor as Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1) (and/or Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1) and/or Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1)) wherein, as per claims 2 and 16, a mini head is provided that does not span a full width of the tape - see, inter alia, Fig. 8 and paragraphs [0085-0086] of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1).
Given the express teachings and motivations, as espoused by Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the tape drive system of Haeberle et al. (US 2010/0214689 A1)/ Biskeborn (US 2008/0068753 A1 and/or Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1)) as providing a width of the tape head module being less than a width of the tape (i.e., a mini head), in order to advantageously provide a smaller and shorter tape head module and corresponding less mass, such that the tape head module can be moved up and down by PZT for ultra-fine actuation." See paragraph [0085] of Hanaoka et al. (US 2022/0415358 A1).
In an obviousness analysis, it is not necessary to find precise disclosure directed to the specific subject matter claimed because inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ can be taken into account. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). In this regard, "[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." Id. at 421.
As the U.S. Supreme Court has stated, obviousness requires an "expansive and flexible" approach that asks whether the claimed improvement is more than a "predictable variation" of "prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 415, 417.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejected claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes the application of a new reference (i.e., Coburn et al. (US 2015/0009792 A1)), which has been applied in the rejection, as articulated in detail, supra, meeting the newly added claim limitations with a supporting rationale, which has been combined with the previously applied art of record.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J KLIMOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688