DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Polymer Degradation and Stability 135, 2017, 54-60).
Considering Claim 1-3: Liu et al. teaches a process for producing a crude lignin oil comprising mixing lignin and isopropanol in the absence of a catalyst at a ratio of 1 g: 16 ml (Section 2.2) and treating the mixture at 100 to 180 ºC for 5-60 minutes (Section 2.2, Fig. 1).
Liu et al. is silent towards the pressure used in the reaction system. However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. The pressure would control the solubility of the hydrogen produced from the hydrogen donating isopropanol, and thus would be considered to be a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the pressure through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, to control the hydrogenation step of the depolymerization (Section 4).
Liu et al. teaches the solvent as being isopropanol. This has a close structural similarity with the claimed ethanol solvent, differing by a single CH2 group. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). Isopropanol and ethanol have similar solvating properties due to the same functional group (hydroxyl group with a hydrocarbon chain), and both are hydrogen donating solvents in the lignin solvation process due to the hydroxyl group. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to function in a substantially similar manner. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted ethanol for the isopropanol of Liu et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, they would be expected to function similarly due to their similar structure and utility.
Liu et al. teaches a ratio of 1 g:16 ml, which is sufficiently close to the claimed range that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect substantially similar properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Alternatively, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the ratio of the lignin and solvent through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been to control the dissolution of the lignin fragments will minimizing the amount of solvent, and thus cost, needed in the process.
Considering Claims 7 and 18: Liu et al. does not teach the addition of water in the reaction system, and teaches the use of isopropanol, which is liquid at room temperature.
Considering Claim 8: Liu et al. teaches removing the solids remaining the system from the isopropanol, followed by the addition of tetrahydrofuran (Fig. 1).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Polymer Degradation and Stability 135, 2017, 54-60).
Considering Claim 21: Liu et al. teaches a process for producing a crude lignin oil comprising mixing lignin and isopropanol in the absence of a catalyst at a ratio of 1 g: 16 ml (Section 2.2) and treating the mixture at 100 to 180 ºC for 5-60 minutes (Section 2.2, Fig. 1).
Liu et al. is silent towards the pressure used in the reaction system. However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. The pressure would control the solubility of the hydrogen produced from the hydrogen donating isopropanol, and thus would be considered to be a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the pressure through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, to control the hydrogenation step of the depolymerization (Section 4).
Liu et al. teaches the solvent as being isopropanol. This has a close structural similarity with the claimed ethanol solvent, differing by a single CH2 group. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). Isopropanol and ethanol have similar solvating properties due to the same functional group (hydroxyl group with a hydrocarbon chain), and both are hydrogen donating solvents in the lignin solvation process due to the hydroxyl group. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to function in a substantially similar manner. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted ethanol for the isopropanol of Liu et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, they would be expected to function similarly due to their similar structure and utility.
Liu et al. teaches a ratio of 1 g:16 ml, which is sufficiently close to the claimed range that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect substantially similar properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Alternatively, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the ratio of the lignin and solvent through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been to control the dissolution of the lignin fragments will minimizing the amount of solvent, and thus cost, needed in the process.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Polymer Degradation and Stability 135, 2017, 54-60).
Considering Claim 22: Liu et al. teaches a process for producing a crude lignin oil comprising mixing lignin and isopropanol in the absence of a catalyst at a ratio of 1 g: 16 ml (Section 2.2) and treating the mixture at 100 to 180 ºC for 5-60 minutes (Section 2.2, Fig. 1).
Liu et al. is silent towards the pressure used in the reaction system. However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. The pressure would control the solubility of the hydrogen produced from the hydrogen donating isopropanol, and thus would be considered to be a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the pressure through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, to control the hydrogenation step of the depolymerization (Section 4).
Liu et al. teaches the solvent as being isopropanol. This has a close structural similarity with the claimed ethanol or butanol solvent, differing by a single CH2 group. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). Isopropanol, ethanol, and butanol have similar solvating properties due to the same functional group (hydroxyl group with a hydrocarbon chain), and both are hydrogen donating solvents in the lignin solvation process due to the hydroxyl group. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to function in a substantially similar manner. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted ethanol for the isopropanol of Liu et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, they would be expected to function similarly due to their similar structure and utility.
Liu et al. teaches a ratio of 1 g:16 ml, which is sufficiently close to the claimed range that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect substantially similar properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Alternatively, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the ratio of the lignin and solvent through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been to control the dissolution of the lignin fragments will minimizing the amount of solvent, and thus cost, needed in the process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-8, 18, 21, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767