DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
H. Gao, X. Chen, S. Esenlik, J. Chen and E. Steinbach, "Decoder-Side Motion Vector Refinement in VVC: Algorithm and Hardware Implementation Considerations," in IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, vol. 31, no. 8, pp. 3197-3211, Aug. 2021 (Gao)
US 20080062327 A1 (MacInnis)
US 20100202531 A1 (Panzer)
US 20240205390 A1 (para 189)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “approximate matching costs between three integer pixels”. First of all, if it is among three integer pixels, then among instead of between should be used. However matching costs among three inter pixels is also vague in the context of the claim, because according to the limitation the approximate matching costs are based on block with sub-pixel. According to applicant’s published specification para 105, this is related to matching costs of plurality of sub-pixels between three integer pixels. The “between” here is also vague. Para 108 “matching costs of a plurality of sub-pixels between three integer pixels on the vertical axis can be obtained through fitting and interpolation calculations using these three-integer pixel”. The Examination purpose following is assumed.
based on the plurality of matching costs, estimating matching costs between the to-be-processed block and a plurality of second pixel blocks to obtain a plurality of approximate matching costs of a plurality of sub-pixels among three integer pixels , the plurality of second pixel blocks corresponding to the plurality of sub-pixels within the search range in the reference frame
Other independent claims are similarly vague and indefinite. Dependent claims inherit these from independent claims.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim rejections have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of MacInnis.
Regarding Claim 1: Gao teaches a motion compensation method, comprising: acquiring a plurality of matching costs (SAD) between a to-be-processed block and a plurality of first pixel blocks, the plurality of first pixel blocks corresponding to a plurality of integer pixels within a search range in a reference frame [(Fig.4, page 3202, 2) Integer search range )] : based on the plurality of matching costs, estimating matching costs between the to-be-processed block and a plurality of second pixel blocks to obtain a plurality of approximate matching costs of a plurality of sub-pixels among three integer pixels , the plurality of second pixel blocks corresponding to the plurality of sub-pixels within the search range in the reference frame
[(Fig.4 and 3) Fractional search stage; Gao use 5 integer location’s to model the approximate costs (Equations 3-5 and their related description); which is at least 3. Figs.6 & 7 )] :
performing motion compensation on the to-be-processed block according to the plurality of matching costs and the plurality of approximate matching costs [(performing MCP discussed below Equation 9)] .
Gao does not explicitly show the motion compensation is applied to motion compensated temporal filter (MCTF).
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, MacInnis teaches motion compensation is applied to motion compensated temporal filter (MCTF) where three pixels are used
[(para 26; where the motion estimation use two stage motion estimation of integer pixel and sub-pixel cost calculation {para 134, 137})]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities, because Gao is teaching two-stage (integer and subpixel) techniques to perform motion estimation and compensation for video coding, where the sub-pixel cost are interpolated for faster calculation. MacInnis is teaching that MCTF use two stage inter pixel and sub-pixel motion estimation and cost calculation, therefore using the fast calculation of Gao (see “30 Fractional Search Stage” ) into MacInnis would speed up the overall system’s speed.
Gao additionally teaches, with respect to claim 2. The method according to claim 1, wherein based on the plurality of matching costs, estimating matching costs between the to-be-processed block and the plurality of second pixel blocks to obtain the plurality of approximate matching costs comprises: establishing a coordinate system with one of the plurality of integer pixels as an origin [(Fig.6)] : performing fitting calculation based on coordinates and the plurality of matching costs of the plurality of integer pixels to obtain a fitting function [(equation (3), Fig.7 and related description)] : and obtaining the plurality of approximate matching costs based on the fitting function and coordinates of the plurality of sub-pixels in the coordinate system [(all the points on the surface of Fig.7 are estimated fractional search costs. Also, from equation (3); different values of x will produce different fractional search costs)] .
Gao additionally teaches, with respect to claim 3. The method according to claim 2, wherein performing fitting calculation based on the coordinates and the plurality of matching costs of the plurality of integer pixels to obtain the fitting function comprises: performing fitting calculation based on coordinates and the plurality of matching costs of a plurality of integer pixels on a horizontal axis of the coordinate system to obtain the fitting function: and obtaining the plurality of approximate matching costs based on the fitting function and the coordinates of the plurality of sub-pixels in the coordinate system comprises: obtaining approximate matching costs of the plurality of sub-pixels between the plurality of integer pixels on the horizontal axis of the coordinate system using coordinates of the plurality of sub-pixels between the plurality of integer pixels on the horizontal axis of the coordinate system and the fitting function. [(Fig.6; Fig.7, x of Fig.7 represents the horizontal axis of Fig.6; the surface of Fig.7 represents the sub-pixels in between)]
Gao additionally teaches, with respect to claim 4. The method according to claim 2, wherein performing fitting calculation based on the coordinates and the plurality of matching costs of the plurality of integer pixels to obtain the fitting function comprises: performing fitting calculation based on coordinates and the plurality of matching costs of the plurality of integer pixels on a vertical axis of the coordinate system to obtain the fitting function: and obtaining the plurality of approximate matching costs based on the fitting function and the coordinates of the plurality of sub-pixels in the coordinate system comprises: obtaining approximate matching costs of the plurality of sub-pixels between the plurality of integer pixels on the vertical axis of the coordinate system using coordinates of the plurality of sub-pixels between the plurality of integer pixels on the vertical axis of the coordinate system and the fitting function. [(Fig.6; Fig.7, y of Fig.7 represents the vertical axis of Fig.6; the surface of Fig.7 represents the sub-pixels in between)]
Gao additionally teaches, with respect to claim 5. The method according to claim 2, wherein performing fitting calculation based on the coordinates and the plurality of matching costs of the plurality of integer pixels to obtain the fitting function comprises: performing fitting calculation based on coordinates and the plurality of matching costs of the plurality of integer pixels on a horizontal axis and a vertical axis in a plurality of quadrants of the coordinate system to obtain a fitting function: and obtaining the plurality of approximate matching costs based on the fitting function and the coordinates of the plurality of sub-pixels in the coordinate system comprises: obtaining approximate matching costs of the plurality of sub-pixels in the plurality of quadrants using coordinates of the plurality of sub-pixels in the plurality of quadrants and the fitting function. [(Fig.6; Fig.7, x & y of Fig.7 represent the horizontal and vertical axis of Fig.6; the surface of Fig.7 represents the sub-pixels in between. Fig.6 hence Fig.7 have four quadrant centering at (0,0))]
Gao additionally teaches, with respect to claim 6. The method according claim 2, wherein the fitting function comprises any one of: a polynomial function [(equation (3) is polynomial of degree 2)] , a power function, or a logarithmic function.
Gao additionally teaches, with respect to claim 7. The method according to claim 1, wherein performing motion compensation on the to-be-processed block according to the plurality of matching costs and the plurality of approximate matching costs comprises: determining an optimal integer pixel and an optimal sub-pixel according to the plurality of matching costs and the plurality of approximate matching costs, and determining an optimal pixel between the optimal integer pixel and the optimal sub-pixel: determining an optimal motion vector to be a motion vector corresponding to the optimal pixel: [(Gaopage 3203, equation (9) and related description,)] and performing motion compensation on the to-be-processed block using the optimal motion vector. [(performing MCP discussed below Equation 9)] .
Regarding Claims 8-14: See analyses of claims 1-7 and see para 11 of Panzer
Regarding Claims 15-20: See analyses of claims 1-5 & 7 and see para 11 of Panzer
Conclusion
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426