DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “when the successive or preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions is disposed along the third or fourth side; and shifting across at least two lanes of the plurality of external flow lanes when the successive and preceding tubing portions of the plurality of tubing portions are not disposed along the third and fourth sides” is unclear. It is unclear if the limitations following the conditional limitations of “when” are required.
Regarding claim 12, the recitation “when the successive or preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions is disposed along the third or fourth side, wherein one or more additional tubing bend portions extend across at least two lanes of the plurality of external flow lanes when the successive and preceding tubing portions of the plurality of tubing portions are not disposed along the third and fourth sides” is unclear. It is unclear if the limitations following the conditional limitations of “when” are required.
Regarding claim 13, the recitation “the heat exchanger is a first heat exchanger associated with a first pressure section, the system comprises a second heat exchanger having a second plurality of tubes associated with a second pressure section, and wherein at least a portion of the plurality of tubes of the first heat exchanger associated with the first pressure section reside in the second pressure section” is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear how the first heat exchanger can “reside in the second pressure section” which is defined by the second heat exchanger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Kim (US20240175639A1).
Regarding claim 1/14/15, Kim discloses a system/method of assembling/method of flowing fluid therethrough (Fig. 1-4), comprising: a heat exchanger (heat pipe unit 1200), comprising: a plurality of tubes (pipes 1210) arranged in a tube bundle having opposite first and second sides (right and left sides, respectively, Fig. 1), opposite third and fourth sides (back and front sides, respectively, Fig. 1) extending from the first side to the second side, and opposite fifth and sixth sides (bottom and top sides, respectively, Fig. 1) extending from the first side to the second side, wherein the fifth and sixth sides extend between the third and fourth sides; and a plurality of external flow lanes extending across the tube bundle and between the fifth and the sixth sides outside of the plurality of tubes; wherein each tube of the plurality of tubes comprises a plurality of tubing portions (straight portions of 1210) extending in opposite first and second directions between the first and second sides in a sequence; wherein at least one successive tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions in the sequence switches lanes (via 1221/1222) between the plurality of external flow lanes (see annotated Fig. 3 below, hereinafter Fig. A) relative to a preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions.
Fig. A – Annotated Fig. 3 of Kim
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Kim further discloses the plurality of tubing portions (portions of 1210) comprises a first tubing side facing the third side (right side of 1210, Fig. 2) of the tube bundle and a second tubing side (left side of 1210, Fig. 2) facing the fourth side of the tube bundle, wherein the plurality of tubing portions along the third side of the tube bundle have the second tubing side facing one of the plurality of external flow lanes, wherein the plurality of tubing portions along the fourth side of the tube bundle have the first tubing side facing one of the plurality of external flow lanes, wherein the plurality of tubing portions between the third and fourth sides of the tube bundle have both the first and second tubing sides facing different adjacent lanes of the plurality of external flow lanes (Fig. A).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kim further discloses the at least one successive tubing portion (portions of 1210) of the plurality of tubing portions in the sequence switches lanes between the plurality of external flow lanes relative to the preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions by: shifting by a first offset between the third and fourth sides; and shifting by a second offset between the fifth and sixth sides (see 1221/1222 which shift successive tube portions in both the horizontal and vertical directions).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kim further discloses the wherein at least one successive tubing portion (portions of 1210) of the plurality of tubing portions in the sequence switches lanes (via 1221/1222) between the plurality of external flow lanes relative to the preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions by: shifting across at least one lane of the plurality of external flow lanes (Fig. A) when the successive or preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions is disposed along the third or fourth side; and shifting across at least two lanes of the plurality of external flow lanes when the successive and preceding tubing portions of the plurality of tubing portions are not disposed along the third and fourth sides.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kim further discloses the wherein at least one successive tubing portion (portions of 1210) of the plurality of tubing portions in the sequence is offset relative to the preceding tubing portion in a third direction from the sixth side to the fifth side of the tube bundle, and wherein at least one successive tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions in the sequence switches lanes between the plurality of external flow lanes (Fig. A) relative to the preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions by: shifting across one or more lanes of the plurality of external flow lanes in a fourth direction from the fourth side to the third side of the tube bundle; and reversing directions of lane shifting from the fourth direction to a fifth direction from the third side to the fourth side of the tube bundle upon reaching the third side.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kim further discloses the plurality of tubes comprise a first plurality of tubes extending between a first inlet header and a first outlet header (1230 & 1240), wherein the first inlet header couples with the first plurality of tubes at the sixth side of the tube bundle, wherein the first outlet header couples with the first plurality of tubes at the fifth side of the tube bundle, wherein at least one successive tubing portion (portions of 1210) of the plurality of tubing portions of the first plurality of tubes in the sequence switches lanes between the plurality of external flow lanes (Fig. A) relative to the preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions by shifting by a first offset between the third and fourth sides and by shifting by a second offset between the fifth and sixth sides.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kim further discloses the plurality of tubes comprise a second plurality of tubes extending between a second inlet header and a second outlet header (1230 & 1240), wherein the second inlet header couples with the second plurality of tubes at the sixth side of the tube bundle, wherein the second outlet header couples with the second plurality of tubes at the fifth side of the tube bundle, wherein at least one successive tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions of the second plurality of tubes in the sequence switches lanes between the plurality of external flow lanes (Fig. A) relative to the preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions by shifting by the first offset between the third and fourth sides and by shifting by the second offset between the fifth and sixth sides, wherein the first and second inlet headers are disposed on the opposite first and second sides of the tube bundle, wherein the first and second outlet headers are disposed on the opposite first and second sides or the opposite second and first sides of the tube bundle.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kim further discloses the wherein at least one successive tubing portion (portions of 1210) of the plurality of tubing portions in the sequence is spaced in a third direction and is spaced in one of opposite fourth and fifth directions relative to the preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions to switch positions along the plurality of external flow lanes, wherein the third, fourth, and fifth directions are crosswise to the first and second directions, wherein the fourth and fifth directions are parallel to one another, wherein the third direction is crosswise to the fourth and fifth directions, wherein the first, second, fourth, and fifth directions are horizontal, and wherein the third direction and the plurality of external flow lanes (Fig. A) are vertical.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kim further discloses the plurality of external flow lanes are disposed between first and second planes, wherein the first and second planes extend along centerlines of different tubing portions of the plurality of tubes (see Fig. A).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kim further discloses successive tubing portions of the plurality of tubing portions in the sequence are coupled to preceding tubing portions of the plurality of tubing portions via tubing bend portions at the first or second side (via 1221/1222).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kim further discloses wherein one or more tubing bend portions (1221/1222) extend across at least one lane of the plurality of external flow lanes when the successive or preceding tubing portion of the plurality of tubing portions is disposed along the third or fourth side, wherein one or more additional tubing bend portions (other of 1221/1222) extend across at least two lanes of the plurality of external flow lanes when the successive and preceding tubing portions of the plurality of tubing portions are not disposed along the third and fourth sides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240175639A1) in view of El Hajal (US20160273840A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Kim does not teach the plurality of tubing portions comprise a plurality of fins extending laterally into at least one adjacent lane of the plurality of external flow lanes, wherein the plurality of fins comprises a plurality of annular fins extending radially outward from an annular outer surface of the plurality of tubing portions, and the plurality of annular fins is arranged in series lengthwise along a centerline of the plurality of tubing portions.
El Hajal teaches (see Fig. 1-2) the plurality of tubing portions comprise a plurality of fins (4) extending laterally into at least one adjacent lane of the plurality of external flow lanes, wherein the plurality of fins comprises a plurality of annular fins extending radially outward from an annular outer surface of the plurality of tubing portions, and the plurality of annular fins is arranged in series lengthwise along a centerline of the plurality of tubing portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to include the fins of El Hajal, in order to improve heat transfer (¶[0039]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20240175639A1) in view of Misage (US4781241A).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Kim does not teach the heat exchanger is a first heat exchanger associated with a first pressure section, the system comprises a second heat exchanger having a second plurality of tubes associated with a second pressure section, and wherein at least a portion of the plurality of tubes of the first heat exchanger associated with the first pressure section reside in the second pressure section.
Misage teaches the heat exchanger is a first heat exchanger associated with a first pressure section, the system comprises a second heat exchanger having a second plurality of tubes associated with a second pressure section, and wherein at least a portion of the plurality of tubes of the first heat exchanger associated with the first pressure section reside in the second pressure section (see two side by side heat exchangers 44 & 64 in the same pressure sections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to include the two side by side heat exchangers of Misage, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.)
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763