Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “one or more rotation plates” however claim subsequently refers to “rotation plates”. It is therefore unclear how many plates are required. Similarly, the claim recites one or more users however the claim subsequently recites “a second user” it therefore appears plural uses are required by the claim.
Claim 9 line recites “one or within” this is a typographical error and should be changed to read “on or within”. Applicant should correct the error.
Further claims 5-8 recite additional features the plates contain it is unclear whether each plate contains the recited features or if merely one plate is required in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaki et al. (US 20210119457).
With respect to claims 1-3, and 10-14 Kawaki teaches a charging dock device (Fig. 1) comprising: a housing (20 comprising case 202) configured to receive a user device (50), wherein the charging dock device is configured to charge (see charging contacts 301) the user device when the device are disposed on or within the housing of the charging dock device; and a rotation plate (30) disposed on or within the housing, wherein the one or more rotation plates are configured to rotate between a first position (Fig. 11b, see different angles associated with different battery thickness, oblique but locked position with less thick battery) within the housing and a second position (substantially parallel when a large or thick battery is in place) within the housing, wherein when the rotation plates are in the first position the housing is configured to receive a first user device (device with less thick battery), and wherein when the rotation plates are in the second position the housing is configured to receive a second user device of the device (device with more thick battery).
With respect to claim 4 Kawaki teaches a base (203), wherein the housing is fixedly attached (Fig. 9) to the base.
With respect to claim 5 Kawaki teaches the rotation plate comprise a guiding rib (308 see elongated shaft guiding rotation), wherein the housing comprises a groove (212), and wherein the guiding rib is configured to operably engage (Fig. 9) with the groove.
With respect to claim 8 Kawaki the rotation plate further comprise a rear wall (305) configured to at least partially support the one or more user devices
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howarth et al. (US 20060250764)
With respect to claim 1-2 and 8-9 Howarth teaches a charging dock device (Fig. 2 for example) comprising: a housing (14) configured to receive a user device (paragraph 0086), wherein the charging dock device is configured to charge (paragraph 0007, 89) the user device when the device are disposed on or within the housing of the charging dock device; and a rotation plate (see 160A/B) disposed on or within the housing, wherein the one or more rotation plates are configured to rotate between a first position (inward) within the housing and a second position (outward) within the housing, wherein when the rotation plates are in the first position the housing is configured to receive a first user device (smaller device paragraph 0076), and wherein when the rotation plates are in the second position the housing is configured to receive a second user device of the device (larger device). Howarth teaches the housing comprises a first end and a second end (left/right), wherein the one or more rotation plates comprise a first rotation plate (160A) and a second rotation plate (160B), and wherein the first rotation plate is disposed on or within the first end and the second rotation plate is disposed one or within the second end (see Fig. 10 for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaki in view of Liang (US 20110286158).
With respect to claim 6 Kawaki teaches the rotation plate however does not teach the device further comprises a shaft, wherein the housing further comprises a shaft hole, and wherein the shaft is configured to be inserted into the shaft hole. Liang teaches a housing and groove (44) shown in Fig. 1. Liang further teaches the known use of a guiding rib (55) for engagement and further teaches the known use of a shaft (54), wherein the housing further comprises a shaft hole (43), and wherein the shaft is configured to be inserted into the shaft hole (paragraph 0016). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kawaki to apply the known use of a guiding groove and shaft hole as seen in Liang for the benefit of maintaining alignment and giving a predictable operation.
Claim 1-2, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lo (US 20180136695)
With respect to claims 1-2 Lo teaches a charging dock device (Fig. 2-3) comprising: a housing (see housing of cradle Fig. 2-3) configured to receive a user device (301), wherein the charging dock device is configured to charge (paragraph 0016, 28) the user device when the device are disposed on or within the housing (for example Fig. 3) of the charging dock device; and a rotation plate (see rotatable block 102, 202, 302) disposed on or within the housing, wherein the one or more rotation plates are configured to rotate between a first position (different device with different thickness see paragraph 0012) within the housing and a second position (see Fig. 2D-F paragraph 0025) within the housing, wherein when the rotation plates are in the first position the housing is configured to receive a first user device (see first of three types of devices paragraph 0012), and wherein when the rotation plates are in the second position the housing is configured to receive a second user device of the device (second or third devices).
With respect to claim 5 Lo teaches the rotation plates comprise a guiding rib (see keying feature 110), wherein the housing comprises a groove (see complementary feature 114 Fig. 1B), and wherein the guiding rib is configured to operably engage with the groove.
With respect to claim 8 Lo teaches a rear wall (108) configured to at least partially support the one or more user devices.
Claims 6-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (US 20180136695) in view of Zhou (US 20130039521).
With respect to claim 6, 10-13 Lo teaches a charger however does not teach the rotation plates further comprises a shaft, wherein the housing further comprises a shaft hole, and wherein the shaft is configured to be inserted into the shaft hole. Zhou teaches the known use of a shaft (233), wherein the housing further comprises a shaft hole (222), and wherein the shaft is configured to be inserted into the shaft hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Lo to try a shaft for the benefit of improved alignment and retainment.
With respect to claim 7 Lo teaches the charger however does not teach the use of rotational plates with positioning pins. Zhou teach the known use of a rotation plates (230) further comprises a positioning pin (234), wherein the housing comprises a positioning holes (224), and wherein the positioning pin is configured to be inserted into and toggled between the one or more positioning holes (paragraph 0021-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Lo to try a pin arrangement as seen in Zhou for the benefit of selecting particular angular positions.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836