Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0256979 A1)
1, Zhang teaches an electronic device comprising: a sensor module; a wireless communication module including a low noise amplifier (LNA) and a Bluetooth radio frequency (RF) circuit [fig 3, par 0074, 0077, FIG. 3, the terminal 12 in the voice control system may be specifically a mobile phone 100. As shown in FIG. 3, the mobile phone 100 may specifically include: components such as a processor 101, a radio frequency (radio frequency, RF) circuit 102, a memory 103, a touchscreen 104, a Bluetooth apparatus 105, one or more sensors 106, a Wi-Fi apparatus 107.Generally, the radio frequency circuit includes but is not limited to an antenna, at least one amplifier, a transceiver, a coupler, a low noise amplifier, a duplexer, and the like];
memory storing instructions; and at least one processor operatively connected to the sensor module [par 0074, 0076, 0083, FIG. 3, the mobile phone 100 may specifically include: components such as a processor 101, a radio frequency (radio frequency, RF) circuit 102, a memory 103, a touchscreen 104. The mobile phone 100 may further include at least one type of the sensor 106, such as a light sensor, a motion sensor, and another sensor. Fig 3 shows processor 101 operatively connected to the sensor 106],
the wireless communication module, and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor [par 0074, 0078, a radio frequency (radio frequency, RF) circuit 102, a memory 103, a touchscreen 104, a Bluetooth apparatus 105, one or more sensors 106, a Wi-Fi apparatus 107, The memory 103 is configured to store an application program and data. The processor 101 runs the application program and the data that are stored in the memory 103, to execute various functions of the mobile phone 100 and process data. The memory 103 mainly includes a program storage area and a data storage area. The program storage area may store an operating system, and an application program required by at least one function],
cause the electronic device to: obtain sensor data related to movement of the electronic device from the sensor module [par 0083, The mobile phone 100 may further include at least one type of the sensor 106, such as a light sensor, a motion sensor, and another sensor. Specifically, the optical sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust luminance of the display of the touchscreen 104 based on brightness of ambient light, and the proximity sensor may power off the display when the mobile phone 100 moves to an ear. As one type of the motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor may detect acceleration values in various directions (usually on three axes). The accelerometer sensor may detect a value and a direction of gravity when the accelerometer sensor is stationary, and may be applied to an application for recognizing a mobile phone posture (such as switching between landscape mode and portrait mode, a related game, and magnetometer posture calibration), a function related to vibration recognition such as a pedometer and a knock), and the like],
determine an adaptive scan mode related to the LNA and/or the Bluetooth RF circuit based on the sensor data [par 0100-0104, A user may enable a Bluetooth function of the Bluetooth headset when wanting to use the Bluetooth headset. In this case, the Bluetooth headset may send outside a pairing broadcast. If a Bluetooth function is enabled on the mobile phone, the mobile phone may receive the pairing broadcast and notify the user that a related Bluetooth device is scanned. The Bluetooth headset detects whether the Bluetooth headset is in a wearing state. The optical proximity sensor is disposed on a side in contact with the user when the user wears the Bluetooth headset. The optical proximity sensor and the acceleration sensor may be periodically enabled to obtain a currently detected measurement value],
and control the LNA and/or the Bluetooth RF circuit according to the adaptive scan mode [par 0097-0099, a voice control method provided in the embodiments of this application. In the following embodiments, for example, a mobile phone is used as a terminal and a Bluetooth headset is used as a wearable device. the voice control method may include the following steps. A mobile phone establishes a Bluetooth connection to a Bluetooth headset]
2. Zhang describe the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor data includes at least one of motion sensor data, position sensor data, or environment sensor data [par 0083, Specifically, the optical sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust luminance of the display of the touchscreen 104 based on brightness of ambient light, and the proximity sensor may power off the display when the mobile phone 100 moves to an ear. As one type of the motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor may detect acceleration values in various directions (usually on three axes). The accelerometer sensor may detect a value and a direction of gravity when the accelerometer sensor is stationary, and may be applied to an application for recognizing a mobile phone posture (such as switching between landscape mode and portrait mode, a related game, and magnetometer posture calibration), a function related to vibration recognition such as a pedometer and a knock), and the like].
11, Zhang discloses a method of operating an electronic device including a low noise amplifier (LNA) and a Bluetooth radio frequency (RF) circuit[fig 3, par 0074, 0077, FIG. 3, the terminal 12 in the voice control system may be specifically a mobile phone 100. As shown in FIG. 3, the mobile phone 100 may specifically include: components such as a processor 101, a radio frequency (radio frequency, RF) circuit 102, a memory 103, a touchscreen 104, a Bluetooth apparatus 105, one or more sensors 106, a Wi-Fi apparatus 107.Generally, the radio frequency circuit includes but is not limited to an antenna, at least one amplifier, a transceiver, a coupler, a low noise amplifier, a duplexer, and the like];,
the method comprising: obtaining sensor data related to movement of the electronic device from a sensor module[par 0083, The mobile phone 100 may further include at least one type of the sensor 106, such as a light sensor, a motion sensor, and another sensor. Specifically, the optical sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust luminance of the display of the touchscreen 104 based on brightness of ambient light, and the proximity sensor may power off the display when the mobile phone 100 moves to an ear. As one type of the motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor may detect acceleration values in various directions (usually on three axes). The accelerometer sensor may detect a value and a direction of gravity when the accelerometer sensor is stationary, and may be applied to an application for recognizing a mobile phone posture (such as switching between landscape mode and portrait mode, a related game, and magnetometer posture calibration), a function related to vibration recognition such as a pedometer and a knock), and the like],
determining an adaptive scan mode related to the LNA and/or the Bluetooth RF circuit based on the sensor data[par 0100-0104, A user may enable a Bluetooth function of the Bluetooth headset when wanting to use the Bluetooth headset. In this case, the Bluetooth headset may send outside a pairing broadcast. If a Bluetooth function is enabled on the mobile phone, the mobile phone may receive the pairing broadcast and notify the user that a related Bluetooth device is scanned. The Bluetooth headset detects whether the Bluetooth headset is in a wearing state. The optical proximity sensor is disposed on a side in contact with the user when the user wears the Bluetooth headset. The optical proximity sensor and the acceleration sensor may be periodically enabled to obtain a currently detected measurement value],
and controlling the LNA and/or the Bluetooth RF circuit according to the adaptive scan mode[par 0097-0099, a voice control method provided in the embodiments of this application. In the following embodiments, for example, a mobile phone is used as a terminal and a Bluetooth headset is used as a wearable device. the voice control method may include the following steps. A mobile phone establishes a Bluetooth connection to a Bluetooth headset]
12. Zhang reveal the method of claim 11, wherein the sensor data includes at least one of motion sensor data, position sensor data, or environment sensor data[par 0083, Specifically, the optical sensor may include an ambient light sensor and a proximity sensor. The ambient light sensor may adjust luminance of the display of the touchscreen 104 based on brightness of ambient light, and the proximity sensor may power off the display when the mobile phone 100 moves to an ear. As one type of the motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor may detect acceleration values in various directions (usually on three axes). The accelerometer sensor may detect a value and a direction of gravity when the accelerometer sensor is stationary, and may be applied to an application for recognizing a mobile phone posture (such as switching between landscape mode and portrait mode, a related game, and magnetometer posture calibration), a function related to vibration recognition such as a pedometer and a knock), and the like].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0256979 A1) in view of Rangel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0041205 A1).
3, Zhang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Zhang fail to show wherein the adaptive scan mode includes a low power mode and a normal mode, and wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: determine to operate the wireless communication module in the low power mode based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected, and determine to operate the wireless communication module in the normal mode based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is detected.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein the adaptive scan mode includes a low power mode and a normal mode[par 0052, 0062, In some embodiments, the frequency at which the scanning function can be initiated is limited by the operating system of the mobile device 120. In this case, the scanning function may be initiated at the highest allowable frequency to provide the maximum allowable energy signal. This signal can be harvested by the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110. In one embodiment, the operation state furthermore controls the sampling rate at which the peripheral device 110 obtains samples of sensor data and a duty cycle for cycling between different power modes (e.g., a dormant mode or one or more active modes)]
and wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: determine to operate the wireless communication module in the low power mode based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected [par 0076, 0081, The application 400 determines 702 if the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110 is available to receive the RF energy signal. This step may include, for example, determining if the peripheral device 110 is within close enough proximity to the mobile device 120 to successfully harvest the signal, determining if enough other ambient energy sources are available to harvest instead of the RF energy signal, and/or in embodiments where the energy harvesting module 250 can be enabled or disabled. The peripheral device 110 initially operates 1002 in a dormant mode in which the sensors do not take measurements. The peripheral device 110 monitors 1004 for a control signal to start taking measurements. As long as the control signal is not received, the peripheral device 110 continues to monitor 1004 for the signal],
and determine to operate the wireless communication module in the normal mode based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is detected [par 0056, 0081, The location tracking engine 402 receives and processes data from the sensors 310 (and optionally from sensors 210 of the peripheral device 110) to determine a location of the mobile device 120 on which the mobile application 400 executes. For example, in one embodiment, the location tracking engine 402 uses GPS data to determine the location. In other embodiments, less precise location information may be obtained based on a mobile positioning information to provides an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based on measuring power levels and antenna patterns received by the mobile device When the signal is received, the peripheral device 110 turns on 1006 the sensors and starts taking 1008 measurements. The sensor samples are stored 1010 to a data buffer of the peripheral device 110. The peripheral device 110 determines 1012 if it should continue to operate in active mode and if so, returns to step 1008 to continue taking measurements.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
4, Zhang and Rangel create the electronic device of claim 3, Zhang fail to show wherein an operation in the low power mode includes at least one of disabling the LNA, disabling a power amplifier included in the Bluetooth RF circuit, or setting a transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit to a specified first value, and wherein an operation in the normal mode includes at least one of enabling the LNA, enabling the power amplifier, or setting the transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit to a second value larger than the first value.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein an operation in the low power mode includes at least one of disabling the LNA, disabling a power amplifier included in the Bluetooth RF circuit, or setting a transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit to a specified first value [par 0061, 0062, 0066, For example, in one embodiment, the state machine 410 controls when the peripheral device 110 actively gathers data or stops gathering data (e.g., enter a dormant mode) depending on the location and/or mode of transportation or other parameters. In one embodiment, the operation state furthermore controls the sampling rate at which the peripheral device 110 obtains samples of sensor data and a duty cycle for cycling between different power modes (e.g., a dormant mode or one or more active modes). In one example operating scenario, if the battery level of the peripheral device 110 drops below a threshold and there is no ambient power available, then the peripheral device 110 requests that the mobile device 120 provide the wireless charging signal. The application 400 then decides whether or not to provide the charging signal. In the event that the charging signal from the mobile device and other ambient energy sources are not available, the state machine 410 may cause the peripheral device 110 to enter a low energy state in which sensor data is collected at a low sampling rate to conserve battery power],
and wherein an operation in the normal mode includes at least one of enabling the LNA, enabling the power amplifier, or setting the transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit to a second value larger than the first value [par 0061, 0062, 0081, The state machine 410 can furthermore automatically trigger the peripheral device 110 to start gathering data at the start of a journey or activity and stop gathering data at the end of a journey or activity. Furthermore, the state machine 410 can change the operation of the peripheral device in response to detecting a change in the location, mode of transport, or activity. In one embodiment, the operation state furthermore controls the sampling rate at which the peripheral device 110 obtains samples of sensor data and a duty cycle for cycling between different power modes (e.g., a dormant mode or one or more active modes). The peripheral device 110 monitors 1004 for a control signal to start taking measurements. As long as the control signal is not received, the peripheral device 110 continues to monitor 1004 for the signal. When the signal is received, the peripheral device 110 turns on 1006 the sensors and starts taking 1008 measurements.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
5, Zhang illustrates the electronic device of claim 1, Zhang fail to show wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to disable the LNA based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to disable the LNA based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected [par 0056,0076, The location tracking engine 402 receives and processes data from the sensors 310 (and optionally from sensors 210 of the peripheral device 110) to determine a location of the mobile device 120 on which the mobile application 400 executes. For example, in one embodiment, the location tracking engine 402 uses GPS data to determine the location. In other embodiments, less precise location information may be obtained based on a mobile positioning information to provides an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based on measuring power levels and antenna patterns received by the mobile device 120 that determine the location relative to a base station. In other embodiments, the location tracking engine 402 can use other sensor data such as accelerometer data or velocity sensing data to predict or refine the determined location. This step may include, for example, determining if the peripheral device 110 is within close enough proximity to the mobile device 120 to successfully harvest the signal, determining if enough other ambient energy sources are available to harvest instead of the RF energy signal, and/or in embodiments where the energy harvesting module 250 can be enabled or disabled, determining whether it is enabled].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
6, Zhang provide the electronic device of claim 1, Zhang fail to show wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to disable a power amplifier included in the Bluetooth RF circuit based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to disable a power amplifier included in the Bluetooth RF circuit based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected {par 0050-0053, 0076, In one embodiment, the RF energy module 350 is integrated with the communications interface 340 and the RF energy signal is generated via wireless communication elements used for Wifi, Bluetooth, or other wireless communication. FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment of an environment in which a peripheral device 110 may harvest RF signal energy from multiple device. Here, the mobile device 1402 provides a scanning signal 1402 (e.g., WiFi or Bluetooth) to scan for other devices in the vicinity. This scanning signal 1402 contains RF energy that may be harvested by the peripheral device. This step may include, for example, determining if the peripheral device 110 is within close enough proximity to the mobile device 120 to successfully harvest the signal, determining if enough other ambient energy sources are available to harvest instead of the RF energy signal, and/or in embodiments where the energy harvesting module 250 can be enabled or disabled, determining whether it is enabled].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
7, Zhang convey the electronic device of claim 1, Zhang fail to show wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to provide the Bluetooth RF circuit with a transmission power level determined based on the sensor data.
In an analogous art Rengel show wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to provide the Bluetooth RF circuit with a transmission power level determined based on the sensor data [par 0051, 0052, The RF energy module 350 includes circuitry for generating a wireless energy signal that can be captured by the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110 in order to enable the mobile device 120 to transfer power from its power system 370 to the power system 270 of the peripheral device 110. For example, in one embodiment, the RF energy module 350 controls Wifi and/or Bluetooth modules to enter a scanning mode at maximum allowable power in which they continuously scan different channels to discover nearby service and peers]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
13. Zhang provide the method of claim 11, Zhang fail to show wherein the adaptive scan mode includes a low power mode and a normal mode, and wherein the determining an adaptive scan mode comprises: determining to operate a wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected, and determining to operate the wireless communication module in the normal mode, based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is detected.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein the adaptive scan mode includes a low power mode and a normal mode[par 0052, 0062, In some embodiments, the frequency at which the scanning function can be initiated is limited by the operating system of the mobile device 120. In this case, the scanning function may be initiated at the highest allowable frequency to provide the maximum allowable energy signal. This signal can be harvested by the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110. In one embodiment, the operation state furthermore controls the sampling rate at which the peripheral device 110 obtains samples of sensor data and a duty cycle for cycling between different power modes (e.g., a dormant mode or one or more active modes)],
and wherein the determining an adaptive scan mode comprises: determining to operate a wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected[par 0076, 0081, The application 400 determines 702 if the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110 is available to receive the RF energy signal. This step may include, for example, determining if the peripheral device 110 is within close enough proximity to the mobile device 120 to successfully harvest the signal, determining if enough other ambient energy sources are available to harvest instead of the RF energy signal, and/or in embodiments where the energy harvesting module 250 can be enabled or disabled. The peripheral device 110 initially operates 1002 in a dormant mode in which the sensors do not take measurements. The peripheral device 110 monitors 1004 for a control signal to start taking measurements. As long as the control signal is not received, the peripheral device 110 continues to monitor 1004 for the signal],
and determining to operate the wireless communication module in the normal mode, based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is detected[par 0056, 0081, The location tracking engine 402 receives and processes data from the sensors 310 (and optionally from sensors 210 of the peripheral device 110) to determine a location of the mobile device 120 on which the mobile application 400 executes. For example, in one embodiment, the location tracking engine 402 uses GPS data to determine the location. In other embodiments, less precise location information may be obtained based on a mobile positioning information to provides an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based on measuring power levels and antenna patterns received by the mobile device When the signal is received, the peripheral device 110 turns on 1006 the sensors and starts taking 1008 measurements. The sensor samples are stored 1010 to a data buffer of the peripheral device 110. The peripheral device 110 determines 1012 if it should continue to operate in active mode and if so, returns to step 1008 to continue taking measurements.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
14. Zhang and Rangel display the method of claim 13, Zhang fail to show wherein an operation in the low power mode includes at least one of disabling the LNA, disabling a power amplifier included in the Bluetooth RF circuit, or setting a transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit to a specified first value, and wherein an operation in the normal mode includes at least one of enabling the LNA, enabling the power amplifier, or setting the transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit to a second value larger than the first value.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein an operation in the low power mode includes at least one of disabling the LNA, disabling a power amplifier included in the Bluetooth RF circuit, or setting a transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit to a specified first value[par 0061, 0062, 0066, For example, in one embodiment, the state machine 410 controls when the peripheral device 110 actively gathers data or stops gathering data (e.g., enter a dormant mode) depending on the location and/or mode of transportation or other parameters. In one embodiment, the operation state furthermore controls the sampling rate at which the peripheral device 110 obtains samples of sensor data and a duty cycle for cycling between different power modes (e.g., a dormant mode or one or more active modes). In one example operating scenario, if the battery level of the peripheral device 110 drops below a threshold and there is no ambient power available, then the peripheral device 110 requests that the mobile device 120 provide the wireless charging signal. The application 400 then decides whether or not to provide the charging signal. In the event that the charging signal from the mobile device and other ambient energy sources are not available, the state machine 410 may cause the peripheral device 110 to enter a low energy state in which sensor data is collected at a low sampling rate to conserve battery power],
and wherein an operation in the normal mode includes at least one of enabling the LNA, enabling the power amplifier, or setting the transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit to a second value larger than the first value [par 0061, 0062, 0081, The state machine 410 can furthermore automatically trigger the peripheral device 110 to start gathering data at the start of a journey or activity and stop gathering data at the end of a journey or activity. Furthermore, the state machine 410 can change the operation of the peripheral device in response to detecting a change in the location, mode of transport, or activity. In one embodiment, the operation state furthermore controls the sampling rate at which the peripheral device 110 obtains samples of sensor data and a duty cycle for cycling between different power modes (e.g., a dormant mode or one or more active modes). The peripheral device 110 monitors 1004 for a control signal to start taking measurements. As long as the control signal is not received, the peripheral device 110 continues to monitor 1004 for the signal. When the signal is received, the peripheral device 110 turns on 1006 the sensors and starts taking 1008 measurements.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
15. Zhang create the method of claim 11, Zhang fail to show wherein the controlling comprises disabling the LNA based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein the controlling comprises disabling the LNA based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected [par 0056,0076, The location tracking engine 402 receives and processes data from the sensors 310 (and optionally from sensors 210 of the peripheral device 110) to determine a location of the mobile device 120 on which the mobile application 400 executes. For example, in one embodiment, the location tracking engine 402 uses GPS data to determine the location. In other embodiments, less precise location information may be obtained based on a mobile positioning information to provides an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based on measuring power levels and antenna patterns received by the mobile device 120 that determine the location relative to a base station. In other embodiments, the location tracking engine 402 can use other sensor data such as accelerometer data or velocity sensing data to predict or refine the determined location. This step may include, for example, determining if the peripheral device 110 is within close enough proximity to the mobile device 120 to successfully harvest the signal, determining if enough other ambient energy sources are available to harvest instead of the RF energy signal, and/or in embodiments where the energy harvesting module 250 can be enabled or disabled, determining whether it is enabled].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
16. Zhang demonstrates the method of claim 11, Zhang fail to show wherein the controlling comprises disabling a power amplifier included in the Bluetooth RF circuit based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein the controlling comprises disabling a power amplifier included in the Bluetooth RF circuit based on determining according to the sensor data that the movement of the electronic device is not detected [par 0050-0053, 0076, In one embodiment, the RF energy module 350 is integrated with the communications interface 340 and the RF energy signal is generated via wireless communication elements used for Wifi, Bluetooth, or other wireless communication. FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment of an environment in which a peripheral device 110 may harvest RF signal energy from multiple device. Here, the mobile device 1402 provides a scanning signal 1402 (e.g., WiFi or Bluetooth) to scan for other devices in the vicinity. This scanning signal 1402 contains RF energy that may be harvested by the peripheral device. This step may include, for example, determining if the peripheral device 110 is within close enough proximity to the mobile device 120 to successfully harvest the signal, determining if enough other ambient energy sources are available to harvest instead of the RF energy signal, and/or in embodiments where the energy harvesting module 250 can be enabled or disabled, determining whether it is enabled].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
17. Zhang display the method of claim 11, Zhang fail to show wherein the determining an adaptive scan mode comprises determining a transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit based on the sensor data.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein the determining an adaptive scan mode comprises determining a transmission power level of the Bluetooth RF circuit based on the sensor data [par 0051, 0052, The RF energy module 350 includes circuitry for generating a wireless energy signal that can be captured by the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110 in order to enable the mobile device 120 to transfer power from its power system 370 to the power system 270 of the peripheral device 110. For example, in one embodiment, the RF energy module 350 controls Wifi and/or Bluetooth modules to enter a scanning mode at maximum allowable power in which they continuously scan different channels to discover nearby service and peers]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
6. Claim(s) 8, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0256979 A1) in view of Park (U.S. Patent No. 8,897,703 B2).
8, Zhang reveals the electronic device of claim 1, Zhang fail to show wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: identify a current position of the electronic device based on the sensor data, determine a position change value by comparing the current position with a previous position before a predetermined time, and disable the LNA based on the position change value being less than or equal to a specified threshold.
In an analogous art Park show wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: identify a current position of the electronic device based on the sensor data, determine a position change value by comparing the current position with a previous position before a predetermined time [col 11, ln 9-21, claim 14, Therefore, in order to sustain a peripheral device list having high reliability, the search unit 520 compares information of the peripheral device acquired by performing an initial search of the peripheral device with previously stored information of the peripheral device in the peripheral device list and updates the stored information. However, instead of updating the information of the peripheral device whenever an initial search of the peripheral device is performed, the information may be updated only after the expiration of a predetermined time period. The Bluetooth device of claim 13, wherein the controller determines a current position of the Bluetooth device using the initial search address information and the initial search device information received through the position information module, compares the determined current position with a previous position that was previously determined and stored on the peripheral device list, and acquires, when the difference between the current position and the previous position is equal to or greater than a critical value],
and disable the LNA based on the position change value being less than or equal to a specified threshold [col 11, 62-67, col 12, 1-5, If the difference between the present and previous positions is less than a preset critical value, the search unit 520 determines whether a signal for turning off the Bluetooth device is received (645). If a signal for turning off the Bluetooth device is received, the search unit 520 terminates the initial search of the peripheral device].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Park because a demand exists for a method of rapidly searching for peripheral Bluetooth devices in order to improve the communication synchronization between a searching and a detected device. [Park col 2, ln 1-5]
18. Zhang describe the method of claim 11, Zhang fail to show wherein the determining an adaptive scan mode comprises: identifying a current position of the electronic device based on the sensor data; determining a position change value by comparing the current position with a previous position before a predetermined time; and determining to disable the LNA based on the position change value being less than or equal to a specified threshold.
In an analogous art Park show wherein the determining an adaptive scan mode comprises: identifying a current position of the electronic device based on the sensor data; determining a position change value by comparing the current position with a previous position before a predetermined time[col 11, ln 9-21, claim 14, Therefore, in order to sustain a peripheral device list having high reliability, the search unit 520 compares information of the peripheral device acquired by performing an initial search of the peripheral device with previously stored information of the peripheral device in the peripheral device list and updates the stored information. However, instead of updating the information of the peripheral device whenever an initial search of the peripheral device is performed, the information may be updated only after the expiration of a predetermined time period. The Bluetooth device of claim 13, wherein the controller determines a current position of the Bluetooth device using the initial search address information and the initial search device information received through the position information module, compares the determined current position with a previous position that was previously determined and stored on the peripheral device list, and acquires, when the difference between the current position and the previous position is equal to or greater than a critical value],
and disable the LNA based on the position change value being less than or equal to a specified threshold [col 11, 62-67, col 12, 1-5, If the difference between the present and previous positions is less than a preset critical value, the search unit 520 determines whether a signal for turning off the Bluetooth device is received (645). If a signal for turning off the Bluetooth device is received, the search unit 520 terminates the initial search of the peripheral device].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Park because a demand exists for a method of rapidly searching for peripheral Bluetooth devices in order to improve the communication synchronization between a searching and a detected device. [Park col 2, ln 1-5]
7. Claim(s) 9, 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0256979 A1) in view of Park (U.S. Patent No. 8,897,703 B2) in further view of Wang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0124643 A1).
9., Zhang and Park conveys the electronic device of claim 8, Zhang and Park fail to show wherein the threshold is set to a first value based on a battery level of the electronic device being lower than or equal to a battery threshold, and to a second value larger than the first value based on the battery level of the electronic device being higher than the battery threshold.
In an analogous art Wang show wherein the threshold is set to a first value based on a battery level of the electronic device being lower than or equal to a battery threshold [par 0041, The first preset condition is that a parameter of the Bluetooth connection is less than a first threshold. The parameter includes a retransmission rate or a received signal strength indicator. The terminal device increases the transmit power, and sends the data to the audio or video device at the increased transmit power],
and to a second value larger than the first value based on the battery level of the electronic device being higher than the battery threshold [par 0152, a transmit power, a maximum transmit power, a minimum transmit power, a power range, and the like may be used to measure transmission quality or link quality, or another parameter may be used to measure data transmission quality. Usually, when channel quality deteriorates, the packet loss rate, the retransmission rate, or the like may be greater than a preset threshold, or when channel quality improves, the RSSI or the like may be greater than a preset threshold. This is not limited in this application].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang, Park, and Wang because to help reduce power consumption and enable a user to have better data transmission experience.[Wang par 0004]
19. Zhang and Park teaches the method of claim 18, Zhang and Park fail to show wherein the threshold is set to a first value based on a battery level of the electronic device being lower than or equal to a battery threshold, and to a second value larger than the first value based on the battery level of the electronic device being higher than the battery threshold.
In an analogous art Wang show wherein the threshold is set to a first value based on a battery level of the electronic device being lower than or equal to a battery threshold [par 0041, The first preset condition is that a parameter of the Bluetooth connection is less than a first threshold. The parameter includes a retransmission rate or a received signal strength indicator. The terminal device increases the transmit power, and sends the data to the audio or video device at the increased transmit power],
and to a second value larger than the first value based on the battery level of the electronic device being higher than the battery threshold[par 0152, a transmit power, a maximum transmit power, a minimum transmit power, a power range, and the like may be used to measure transmission quality or link quality, or another parameter may be used to measure data transmission quality. Usually, when channel quality deteriorates, the packet loss rate, the retransmission rate, or the like may be greater than a preset threshold, or when channel quality improves, the RSSI or the like may be greater than a preset threshold. This is not limited in this application].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang, Park, and Wang because to help reduce power consumption and enable a user to have better data transmission experience.[Wang par 0004]
8. Claim(s) 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0256979 A1) in view of Rangel et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0041205 A1) in further view of Park (U.S. Patent No. 8,897,703 B2).
10, Zhang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Zhang fail to show wherein the adaptive scan mode includes a low power mode and a normal mode, and wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: detect the movement of the electronic device based on motion sensor data and/or position sensor data included in the sensor data, determine to operate the wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on determining that the movement of the electronic device is not detected, determine a temperature of the electronic device based on temperature sensor data included in the sensor data, based on determining that the movement of the electronic device is detected, determine to operate the wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on the temperature of the electronic device being higher than a specified threshold, and disable the LNA based on the determination of the low power mode.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein the adaptive scan mode includes a low power mode and a normal mode[par 0052, 0062, In some embodiments, the frequency at which the scanning function can be initiated is limited by the operating system of the mobile device 120. In this case, the scanning function may be initiated at the highest allowable frequency to provide the maximum allowable energy signal. This signal can be harvested by the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110. In one embodiment, the operation state furthermore controls the sampling rate at which the peripheral device 110 obtains samples of sensor data and a duty cycle for cycling between different power modes (e.g., a dormant mode or one or more active modes)]
and wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: detect the movement of the electronic device based on motion sensor data and/or position sensor data included in the sensor data[par 0076, 0081, The application 400 determines 702 if the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110 is available to receive the RF energy signal. This step may include, for example, determining if the peripheral device 110 is within close enough proximity to the mobile device 120 to successfully harvest the signal, determining if enough other ambient energy sources are available to harvest instead of the RF energy signal, and/or in embodiments where the energy harvesting module 250 can be enabled or disabled. The peripheral device 110 initially operates 1002 in a dormant mode in which the sensors do not take measurements. The peripheral device 110 monitors 1004 for a control signal to start taking measurements. As long as the control signal is not received, the peripheral device 110 continues to monitor 1004 for the signal],
determine to operate the wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on determining that the movement of the electronic device is not detected [par 0061, For example, in one embodiment, the state machine 410 controls when the peripheral device 110 actively gathers data or stops gathering data (e.g., enter a dormant mode) depending on the location and/or mode of transportation or other parameters]
determine a temperature of the electronic device based on temperature sensor data included in the sensor data based on determining that the movement of the electronic device is detected [par 0040, The sensor(s) 210 can include any devices that obtain information about the surrounding environment. In a particular embodiment, the sensors 210 include at least a carbon monoxide sensor and a temperature sensor that provide information about the ambient air quality],
determine to operate the wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on the temperature of the electronic device being higher than a specified threshold [par 0061, For example, in one embodiment, the state machine 410 controls when the peripheral device 110 actively gathers data or stops gathering data (e.g., enter a dormant mode) depending on the location and/or mode of transportation or other parameters].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
Zhang and Rangel fail to show disable the LNA based on the determination of the low power mode.
In an analogous art Park to show disable the LNA based on the determination of the low power mode[col 11, 62-67, col 12, 1-5, If the difference between the present and previous positions is less than a preset critical value, the search unit 520 determines whether a signal for turning off the Bluetooth device is received (645). If a signal for turning off the Bluetooth device is received, the search unit 520 terminates the initial search of the peripheral device].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Park because a demand exists for a method of rapidly searching for peripheral Bluetooth devices in order to improve the communication synchronization between a searching and a detected device. [Park col 2, ln 1-5]
20, Zhang provide the method of claim 11, Zhang fail to show wherein the adaptive scan mode includes a low power mode and a normal mode, and wherein the determining an adaptive scan mode comprises: detecting the movement of the electronic device based on motion sensor data and/or position sensor data included in the sensor data, determining to operate a wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on determining that the movement of the electronic device is not detected, determining a temperature of the electronic device based on temperature sensor data included in the sensor data, based on determining that the movement of the electronic device is detected, determining to operate the wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on the temperature of the electronic device being higher than a specified threshold, and determining to operate the wireless communication module in the normal mode, based on the movement of the electronic device being detected and the temperature of the electronic device being not higher than the threshold.
In an analogous art Rangel show wherein the adaptive scan mode includes a low power mode and a normal mode[par 0052, 0062, In some embodiments, the frequency at which the scanning function can be initiated is limited by the operating system of the mobile device 120. In this case, the scanning function may be initiated at the highest allowable frequency to provide the maximum allowable energy signal. This signal can be harvested by the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110. In one embodiment, the operation state furthermore controls the sampling rate at which the peripheral device 110 obtains samples of sensor data and a duty cycle for cycling between different power modes (e.g., a dormant mode or one or more active modes)]
and wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to: detect the movement of the electronic device based on motion sensor data and/or position sensor data included in the sensor data[par 0076, 0081, The application 400 determines 702 if the energy harvesting module 250 of the peripheral device 110 is available to receive the RF energy signal. This step may include, for example, determining if the peripheral device 110 is within close enough proximity to the mobile device 120 to successfully harvest the signal, determining if enough other ambient energy sources are available to harvest instead of the RF energy signal, and/or in embodiments where the energy harvesting module 250 can be enabled or disabled. The peripheral device 110 initially operates 1002 in a dormant mode in which the sensors do not take measurements. The peripheral device 110 monitors 1004 for a control signal to start taking measurements. As long as the control signal is not received, the peripheral device 110 continues to monitor 1004 for the signal],
determine to operate the wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on determining that the movement of the electronic device is not detected [par 0061, For example, in one embodiment, the state machine 410 controls when the peripheral device 110 actively gathers data or stops gathering data (e.g., enter a dormant mode) depending on the location and/or mode of transportation or other parameters]
determine a temperature of the electronic device based on temperature sensor data included in the sensor data based on determining that the movement of the electronic device is detected [par 0040, The sensor(s) 210 can include any devices that obtain information about the surrounding environment. In a particular embodiment, the sensors 210 include at least a carbon monoxide sensor and a temperature sensor that provide information about the ambient air quality],
determine to operate the wireless communication module in the low power mode, based on the temperature of the electronic device being higher than a specified threshold [par 0061, For example, in one embodiment, the state machine 410 controls when the peripheral device 110 actively gathers data or stops gathering data (e.g., enter a dormant mode) depending on the location and/or mode of transportation or other parameters].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rangel because this would provide automatic controlling operating parameters of a peripheral device to optimize performance and power efficiency. [Rangel par 0001]
Zhang and Rangel fail to show disable the LNA based on the determination of the low power mode.
In an analogous art Park to show disable the LNA based on the determination of the low power mode[col 11, 62-67, col 12, 1-5, If the difference between the present and previous positions is less than a preset critical value, the search unit 520 determines whether a signal for turning off the Bluetooth device is received (645). If a signal for turning off the Bluetooth device is received, the search unit 520 terminates the initial search of the peripheral device].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Park because a demand exists for a method of rapidly searching for peripheral Bluetooth devices in order to improve the communication synchronization between a searching and a detected device. [Park col 2, ln 1-5]
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468