DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seregin et al., U.S. Publication No. 2020/0099924, hereinafter, “Seregin”.
As per claim 1, Seregin discloses a method for video decoding, comprising:
decoding a bitstream to obtain a target transform coefficient of a current block (Seregin, Figure 12, encoded video bitstream; Seregin, Figure 12, Quantized coefficients; Seregin, ¶0236, FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example decoding device 112. The decoding device 112 includes an entropy decoding unit 80, prediction processing unit 81, inverse quantization unit 86, inverse transform processing unit 88, summer 90, filter unit 91, and picture memory 92. Prediction processing unit 81 includes motion compensation unit 82 and intra-prediction processing unit 84; Seregin, ¶0237, During the decoding process, the decoding device 112 receives an encoded video bitstream that represents video blocks of an encoded video slice and associated syntax elements sent by the encoding device 104; Seregin, ¶0238, The entropy decoding unit 80 of the decoding device 112 entropy decodes the bitstream to generate quantized coefficients, motion vectors, and other syntax elements);
predicting the current block to obtain a prediction block of the current block (Seregin, Figure 12, Prediction Processing; Seregin, ¶0239, When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra-prediction processing unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra-prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. When the video frame is coded as an inter-coded (i.e., B, P or GPB) slice, motion compensation unit 82 of prediction processing unit 81 produces predictive blocks for a video block of the current video slice based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements received from entropy decoding unit 80. The predictive blocks may be produced from one of the reference pictures within a reference picture list);
determining a transform core corresponding to the current block according to the prediction block (Seregin, ¶0138, adaptive multiple transform (AMT) … Some AMT designs offer five transform options for an encoder to select on a per-block basis (e.g., the selection can be performed based on a rate-distortion metric for a coding block, prediction block, or transform block). Then, the selected transform index is signaled by the video encoder with the video bitstream, which can be decoded and analyzed by the video decoder); and
performing inverse transform on the target transform coefficient according to the transform core, and obtaining a residual block of the current block according to a transform result of the inverse transform (Seregin, Figure 12, Inverse Quantization, 86; Seregin, Figure 12, Inverse Transform Processing, 88; Seregin, Figure 12, Residual Blocks; Seregin, ¶0233, Inverse quantization unit 58 and inverse transform processing unit 60 apply inverse quantization and inverse transformation, respectively, to reconstruct the residual block in the pixel domain for later use as a reference block of a reference picture; Seregin, ¶0242, Inverse quantization unit 86 inverse quantizes, or de-quantizes, the quantized transform coefficients provided in the bitstream and decoded by entropy decoding unit 80 ... Inverse transform processing unit 88 applies an inverse transform (e.g., an inverse DCT or other suitable inverse transform), an inverse integer transform, or a conceptually similar inverse transform process, to the transform coefficients in order to produce residual blocks in the pixel domain).
As per claim 14, Seregin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the transform core corresponding to the current block according to the prediction block comprises:
inputting the prediction block into a pre-trained model, to obtain transform core indication information output by the model and corresponding to the current block, wherein the transform core indication information is configured to indicate a transform core of secondary transform corresponding to the current block (Seregin, ¶0138, adaptive multiple transform (AMT) or enhanced multiple transform (EMT). Some AMT designs offer five transform options for an encoder to select on a per-block basis (e.g., the selection can be performed based on a rate-distortion metric for a coding block, prediction block, or transform block). Then, the selected transform index is signaled by the video encoder with the video bitstream, which can be decoded and analyzed by the video decoder); and
determining the transform core corresponding to the current block according to the transform core indication information (Seregin, ¶0138, adaptive multiple transform (AMT) or enhanced multiple transform (EMT). Some AMT designs offer five transform options for an encoder to select on a per-block basis (e.g., the selection can be performed based on a rate-distortion metric for a coding block, prediction block, or transform block). Then, the selected transform index is signaled by the video encoder with the video bitstream, which can be decoded and analyzed by the video decoder).
As per claim 15, Seregin discloses the method of claim 14, wherein inputting the prediction block into the pre-trained model, to obtain the transform core indication information output by the model and corresponding to the current block comprises:
down-sampling the prediction block (Seregin, ¶0035, a prediction block can be formed. In the case of intra-prediction, a prediction block may be formed from samples in the current frame that have been previously encoded and reconstructed); and
inputting the down-sampled prediction block into the pre-trained model, to obtain the transform core indication information output by the model and corresponding to the current block (Seregin, ¶0036, the prediction block can be subtracted from the current block at the intra/inter prediction stage 402 to produce a residual block (also called a residual). The transform stage 404 transforms the residual into transform coefficients).
As per claim 16, Seregin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein decoding the bitstream to obtain the target transform coefficient of the current block comprises:
decoding the bitstream to obtain a quantization coefficient of the current block (Seregin, Figure 12, encoded video bitstream; Seregin, Figure 12, Quantized coefficients; Seregin, ¶0236, FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example decoding device 112; Seregin, ¶0237, During the decoding process, the decoding device 112 receives an encoded video bitstream that represents video blocks of an encoded video slice and associated syntax elements sent by the encoding device 104; Seregin, ¶0238, The entropy decoding unit 80 of the decoding device 112 entropy decodes the bitstream to generate quantized coefficients, motion vectors, and other syntax elements); and
performing inverse quantization on the quantization coefficient, to obtain the target transform coefficient of the current block (Seregin, Figure 12, Inverse Quantization; Seregin, ¶0242, Inverse quantization unit 86 inverse quantizes, or de-quantizes, the quantized transform coefficients provided in the bitstream and decoded by entropy decoding unit 80 ... Inverse transform processing unit 88 applies an inverse transform (e.g., an inverse DCT or other suitable inverse transform), an inverse integer transform, or a conceptually similar inverse transform process, to the transform coefficients in order to produce residual blocks in the pixel domain).
As per claim 17, Seregin discloses a method for video encoding, comprising:
predicting a current block to obtain a prediction block of the current block (Seregin, Figure 12, Prediction Processing; Seregin, ¶0239, When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra-prediction processing unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra-prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. When the video frame is coded as an inter-coded (i.e., B, P or GPB) slice, motion compensation unit 82 of prediction processing unit 81 produces predictive blocks for a video block of the current video slice based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements received from entropy decoding unit 80. The predictive blocks may be produced from one of the reference pictures within a reference picture list);
determining a transform core corresponding to the current block according to the prediction block (Seregin, ¶0138, adaptive multiple transform (AMT) … Some AMT designs offer five transform options for an encoder to select on a per-block basis (e.g., the selection can be performed based on a rate-distortion metric for a coding block, prediction block, or transform block). Then, the selected transform index is signaled by the video encoder with the video bitstream, which can be decoded and analyzed by the video decoder);
obtaining a residual block of the current block according to the prediction block and the current block (Seregin, Figure 12, Inverse Quantization, 86; Seregin, Figure 12, Inverse Transform Processing, 88; Seregin, Figure 12, Residual Blocks; Seregin, ¶0233, Inverse quantization unit 58 and inverse transform processing unit 60 apply inverse quantization and inverse transformation, respectively, to reconstruct the residual block in the pixel domain for later use as a reference block of a reference picture; Seregin, ¶0242, Inverse quantization unit 86 inverse quantizes, or de-quantizes, the quantized transform coefficients provided in the bitstream and decoded by entropy decoding unit 80 ... Inverse transform processing unit 88 applies an inverse transform (e.g., an inverse DCT or other suitable inverse transform), an inverse integer transform, or a conceptually similar inverse transform process, to the transform coefficients in order to produce residual blocks in the pixel domain); and
transforming the residual block according to the transform core, and encoding a transformed coefficient to obtain a bitstream (Seregin, Figure 12, encoded video bitstream; Seregin, Figure 12, Quantized coefficients; Seregin, ¶0236, FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example decoding device 112. The decoding device 112 includes an entropy decoding unit 80, prediction processing unit 81, inverse quantization unit 86, inverse transform processing unit 88, summer 90, filter unit 91, and picture memory 92. Prediction processing unit 81 includes motion compensation unit 82 and intra-prediction processing unit 84; Seregin, ¶0237, During the decoding process, the decoding device 112 receives an encoded video bitstream that represents video blocks of an encoded video slice and associated syntax elements sent by the encoding device 104; Seregin, ¶0238, The entropy decoding unit 80 of the decoding device 112 entropy decodes the bitstream to generate quantized coefficients, motion vectors, and other syntax elements).
As per claim 19, Seregin discloses a video encoder, comprising: a processor, and a memory storing a computer program, which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 17 (Seregin, Figure 12; Seregin, ¶0013, a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed cause one or more processors of a device for decoding video data to: obtain an encoded block of the video data; Seregin, ¶0233; Seregin, ¶0236-0239; Seregin, ¶0242).
As per claim 20, Seregin discloses a video decoder, comprising:
a processor; and a memory, configured to store a computer program executable by the processor (Seregin, ¶0013, a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed cause one or more processors of a device for decoding video data to: obtain an encoded block of the video data), wherein the processor is configured to:
decode a bitstream to obtain a target transform coefficient of a current block (Seregin, Figure 12, encoded video bitstream; Seregin, Figure 12, Quantized coefficients; Seregin, ¶0236, FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example decoding device 112. The decoding device 112 includes an entropy decoding unit 80, prediction processing unit 81, inverse quantization unit 86, inverse transform processing unit 88, summer 90, filter unit 91, and picture memory 92. Prediction processing unit 81 includes motion compensation unit 82 and intra-prediction processing unit 84; Seregin, ¶0237, During the decoding process, the decoding device 112 receives an encoded video bitstream that represents video blocks of an encoded video slice and associated syntax elements sent by the encoding device 104; Seregin, ¶0238, The entropy decoding unit 80 of the decoding device 112 entropy decodes the bitstream to generate quantized coefficients, motion vectors, and other syntax elements);
predict the current block to obtain a prediction block of the current block (Seregin, Figure 12, Prediction Processing; Seregin, ¶0239, When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra-prediction processing unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra-prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. When the video frame is coded as an inter-coded (i.e., B, P or GPB) slice, motion compensation unit 82 of prediction processing unit 81 produces predictive blocks for a video block of the current video slice based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements received from entropy decoding unit 80. The predictive blocks may be produced from one of the reference pictures within a reference picture list);
determine a transform core corresponding to the current block according to the prediction block (Seregin, ¶0138, adaptive multiple transform (AMT) … Some AMT designs offer five transform options for an encoder to select on a per-block basis (e.g., the selection can be performed based on a rate-distortion metric for a coding block, prediction block, or transform block). Then, the selected transform index is signaled by the video encoder with the video bitstream, which can be decoded and analyzed by the video decoder); and
perform inverse transform on the target transform coefficient according to the transform core, and obtain a residual block of the current block according to a transform result of the inverse transform (Seregin, Figure 12, Inverse Quantization, 86; Seregin, Figure 12, Inverse Transform Processing, 88; Seregin, Figure 12, Residual Blocks; Seregin, ¶0233, Inverse quantization unit 58 and inverse transform processing unit 60 apply inverse quantization and inverse transformation, respectively, to reconstruct the residual block in the pixel domain for later use as a reference block of a reference picture; Seregin, ¶0242, Inverse quantization unit 86 inverse quantizes, or de-quantizes, the quantized transform coefficients provided in the bitstream and decoded by entropy decoding unit 80 ... Inverse transform processing unit 88 applies an inverse transform (e.g., an inverse DCT or other suitable inverse transform), an inverse integer transform, or a conceptually similar inverse transform process, to the transform coefficients in order to produce residual blocks in the pixel domain).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 2-13 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because while the prior art discloses various video encoding and decoding methods the prior does not disclose the limitation, “wherein determining the transform core corresponding to the current block according to the prediction block comprises: determining texture information of the prediction block; and determining the transform core corresponding to the current block according to the texture information of the prediction block, wherein the texture information of the prediction block comprises gradient information of the prediction block, wherein determining the texture information of the prediction block comprises: determining the gradient information of the prediction block, wherein determining the transform core corresponding to the current block according to the texture information of the prediction block comprises: determining the transform core corresponding to the current block according to the gradient information of the prediction block” as recited in dependent claims 2 and 18.
Conclusion
/TRACY MANGIALASCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668