DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6, 14, & 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, Lines 1-2, “the pivot angle” should be --a pivot angle--;
Claim 5, Line 2, “consumer,.” should be --consumer.--;
Claim 6, Line 2, “the volume change” should be --a volume change--;
Claim 14, Line 1, “machine, , which” should be --machine, which--;
Claim 18, Line 1, “machine is a a” should be --machine is a--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “means for carrying out a method according to claim 1” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure lacks any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-13, & 16-17, as far as they are definite, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kollmann et al (9545901).
Kollmann et al disclose a method for determining or adapting a characteristic curve of a hydraulic component or mobile working machine having the following steps: determining a volume flow; determining a pressure drop; determining a replacement parameter of the component from the volume flow and the pressure drop; determining or adapting the characteristic curve using the replacement parameter (e.g. Col. 4, Ln. 4-40, Col. 5, Ln. 1-12).
Wherein the characteristic curve is stored and/or adapted on a machine control unit (e.g. Col. 7, Ln. 10-27); the component is or comprises a valve and/or in that the replacement parameter is a replacement cross-section of the valve (e.g. Col. 4, Ln. 19-22); the characteristic curve is determined or adapted during operation of the working machine (e.g. Col. 4, Ln. 29-31); the pump is a hydraulic pump (e.g. Col. 1, Ln. 15-20); and the consumer is a hydraulic cylinder or hydraulic motor (e.g. brake cylinder). The method is capable of being performed by a mobile working machine in the form of a hydraulic excavator (e.g. Col. 4, Ln. 19-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-10 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollmann et al (9545901).
Kollmann et al disclose a method for determining or adapting a characteristic curve of a hydraulic component or mobile working machine, as described above, further including the system parameter comprising an orifice coefficient, a cross-sectional area and/or a density of a hydraulic fluid, but do not explicitly teach that the volume flow is determined by measuring the volume flow; the volume flow is determined from a rotational speed and a displacement volume of a pump; the displacement volume is determined from the pivot angle of the pump and/or from an electric control of the pump; the volume flow is determined from a movement of a consumer; the movement of the consumer comprises a speed and/or rotational speed and/or in that the volume change is determined from an area, cubature and/or the movement of the consumer; the pressure drop is determined by one, two or more than two pressure sensors; the characteristic curve is determined or adapted by a Gaussian adjustment calculation; or the replacement parameter is determined from a division of the volume flow by the product of a system parameter and the square root of the difference of a first pressure drop in a first position of the component and of a second pressure drop in a second position of the component.
It is common practice in the art of hydraulic circuit instrumentation and control to employ known methods including having the volume flow is determined by measuring the volume flow; the volume flow is determined from a rotational speed and a displacement volume of a pump; the displacement volume is determined from the pivot angle of the pump and/or from an electric control of the pump; the volume flow is determined from a movement of a consumer; the movement of the consumer comprises a speed and/or rotational speed and/or in that the volume change is determined from an area, cubature and/or the movement of the consumer; the pressure drop is determined by one, two or more than two pressure sensors; the characteristic curve is determined or adapted by a Gaussian adjustment calculation; and the replacement parameter is determined from a division of the volume flow by the product of a system parameter and the square root of the difference of a first pressure drop in a first position of the component and of a second pressure drop in a second position of the component in order to gather manipulate and apply system data for optimized control and operation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kollmann et al such that the volume flow is determined by measuring the volume flow; the volume flow is determined from a rotational speed and a displacement volume of a pump; the displacement volume is determined from the pivot angle of the pump and/or from an electric control of the pump; the volume flow is determined from a movement of a consumer; the movement of the consumer comprises a speed and/or rotational speed and/or in that the volume change is determined from an area, cubature and/or the movement of the consumer; the pressure drop is determined by one, two or more than two pressure sensors; the characteristic curve is determined or adapted by a Gaussian adjustment calculation; and the replacement parameter is determined from a division of the volume flow by the product of a system parameter and the square root of the difference of a first pressure drop in a first position of the component and of a second pressure drop in a second position of the component, as an engineering expedient for the purpose of optimizing operation of a hydraulic circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/MICHAEL LESLIE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745
December 23, 2025