DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15 the examiner believes the word “more” is missing.
There appears to be a superfluous occurrence of “image” in line 2 of subparagraph i) in claim 16. The examiner believes “the image plurality of images” [emphasis added] is meant to read “the plurality of images”. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 37 indicates that figure 8A illustrates lights 404 and 408. Figure 8A depicts 404 and 406.
Paragraphs 28 and 37 lists 422 as “wires” while paragraph 37 lists 422 as a lens system.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the trough” recited in claim 1. Additionally, it is unclear which of the 5 previously recited troughs (two horizontal, two vertical and one combined) are being referred to when reciting “the trough”.
There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the image” recited in claim 16 (subparagraph i), line 4). This could be interpreted as each image, in which case it should be recited as each image. It could also be interpreted as a specific image of each of the images which has not been defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulanzi (Ulanze Smartphone Video Rig, Amazon.com: ULANZI Smartphone Video Rig with Light, Cell Phone Handheld Stabilizer with Ring Light 8500k Selfie Light for Filmaking Live Steam Tiktok YouTube Video Recording, with 8000mAh Build-in Battery : Cell Phones & Accessories https://www.amazon.com/ULANZI-Smartphone-Stabilizer-Filmaking-Recording/dp/B08R3NT4NK?th=1) in view of Yuan (CN114114790).
Regarding claim 1 Ulanzi teaches a hood for a camera, the hood being shaped to circumscribe a rectangular central region,
the rectangular central region having an opening for a front of the camera to protrude into (see image above), while leaving a back of the camera protruding out of the rectangular region and allowing a lens on a front of the camera to receive light entering the rectangular central region,; b) four strips of lights, each of the four strips of lights being placed in one of the four troughs, the four strips facing the openings of the troughs; the hood having a configuration such that when the camera is placed through the rectangular region, the four strips of lights are oriented to illuminate a region in front of the camera.
It is the examiner’s position that the hood of Ulanzi teaches four troughs. The following is presented to expedite prosecution. Yuan is directed to a rectangular light for photography and is therefore in the same field as Ulanzi. Yuan teaches a rectangular light where the lights are provided in four troughs (“one side surface of the shell is provided with a groove, the connecting part of the two adjacent shells are rotatably connected; the light emitting piece is set in the groove of the shell, for emitting light” and figs. 1-2) each trough having an opening facing away from the trough, therein forming four openings for the four troughs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Ulanzi for the purpose of ease of replacement of LEDs.
Regarding claim 2, Ulanzi teaches the camera being pivotally mounted
, allowing the camera to pivot and capture images at different angles of pivot (the camera may pivot within the rectangle or the whole rectangle may pivot on a tripod), the camera being set to capture a plurality of images at a series of equally spaced angles of pivot, the strips of lights uniformly illuminating a region to form a uniformly-lit-area, the uniformly-lit-area subtending an angle that is greater than a difference between two consecutive angles of the series. The italicized language is considered an intended use and is not being given patentable weight. The claimed system is directed to the hood, not the camera. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would normally set the lighting to an area greater than a camera field of view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to set the lighting to an area greater than a camera field of view for the purpose of a more even/uniform lighting.
Regarding claim 3, the following image shows a uniformly lit area greater than 90 degrees.
The language “the plurality of images including four image capture areas each associated with a different one of four lines of sight, the lines of sight being 90 degrees apart” is an intended use for the camera and is not being given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 4, Ulanzi as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the two strips of lights in the two vertical troughs including two vertical strips of lights angled so that the two vertical strips of lights point in directions that are 44 degrees outward away from a direction that the camera points. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to orient the vertical strips 44 degrees outward for the purpose of using an optimum value for diffuse light of a particular scene. The applicant should note that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Ulanzi as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the two strips of lights in the two vertical troughs including two vertical strips of lights angled so that the two vertical strips of lights point in directions that are 22 degrees outward away from a direction that the camera points. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to orient the vertical strips 22 degrees outward for the purpose of using an optimum value for diffuse light. The applicant should note that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 6, Ulanzi as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the two strips of lights in the two horizontal troughs including two horizontal strips of lights angled so that the two vertical strips of lights point in directions that are 60 degrees outward away from a direction that the camera points. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to orient the horizontal strips 60 degrees outward for the purpose of using an optimum value for diffuse light of a particular scene. The applicant should note that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan teaches that the hood has supports (31/5/6) to which the strips of lights are mounted.
Regarding claim 9, Ulanzi teaches a “Build-in 8000mAh high-capacity battery” and Yuan teaches a battery 13.
Regarding claim 10, Ulanzi teaches a “Specifically, the light emitting element 32 can be a lamp strip, a lamp, can be LED illumination” and Yuan teaches “Specifically, the light emitting element 32 can be a lamp strip, a lamp, can be LED illumination”.
Regarding claim 12, the hood has a cutout that fits around a column of a tripod.
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulanzi (Ulanzi Smartphone Video Rig, Amazon.com: ULANZI Smartphone Video Rig with Light, Cell Phone Handheld Stabilizer with Ring Light 8500k Selfie Light for Filmaking Live Steam Tiktok YouTube Video Recording, with 8000mAh Build-in Battery : Cell Phones & Accessories) in view of Yuan (CN114114790) and further in view of Parra (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0128473). Regarding claim 8, Ulanzi as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for air vents for cooling the strips of lights. Parra teaches in paragraph 225 that it was known to provide air vents for cooling leds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Parra for the purpose of extending the life of the lighting system.
Regarding claim 11, Ulanzi as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for heat sinks for the strips of lights. Parra teaches in paragraph 10 that it was known to provide heat sinks for cooling leds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Parra for the purpose of extending the life of the lighting system.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulanzi (Ulanzi Smartphone Video Rig, Amazon.com: ULANZI Smartphone Video Rig with Light, Cell Phone Handheld Stabilizer with Ring Light 8500k Selfie Light for Filmaking Live Steam Tiktok YouTube Video Recording, with 8000mAh Build-in Battery : Cell Phones & Accessories) in view of Yuan (CN114114790) and further in view of Jayawardena (U.S. Patent No. 10854796). Ulanzi as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for tabs for attaching leds to the frame. Claim 1 of Jayawardena teaches that it was known to use tabs to attach LEDs to a substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Jayawardena for the purpose of preventing loss of the light.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulanzi (Ulanzi Smartphone Video Rig, Amazon.com: ULANZI Smartphone Video Rig with Light, Cell Phone Handheld Stabilizer with Ring Light 8500k Selfie Light for Filmaking Live Steam Tiktok YouTube Video Recording, with 8000mAh Build-in Battery : Cell Phones & Accessories) in view of Yuan (CN114114790) and further in view of Miyamoto (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0075412). Ulanzi as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for tabs for a camera being set to capture a plurality of images and combine the image plurality of images into a combined image, each image of the plurality of images being associated with an image-capture-area, the image-capture-area being an area captured in the image that is included in the combined image. Miyamoto teaches that it was known to use a camera to capture a plurality of images and combine the image plurality of images into a combined image, each image of the plurality of images being associated with an image-capture-area, the image-capture-area being an area captured in the image that is included in the combined image. The applicant is directed to review the abstract and paragraph 11 for examples.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulanzi (Ulanze Smartphone Video Rig, Amazon.com: ULANZI Smartphone Video Rig with Light, Cell Phone Handheld Stabilizer with Ring Light 8500k Selfie Light for Filmaking Live Steam Tiktok YouTube Video Recording, with 8000mAh Build-in Battery : Cell Phones & Accessories) in view of Yuan (CN114114790).
Regarding claim 17 Ulanzi teaches placing a hood on a camera, i. the hood being placed to circumscribe a rectangular central region,
the rectangular central region having an opening for the camera to protrude into, while leaving a back of the camera protruding out of the rectangular region and allowing a lens on a front of the camera to receive light entering the rectangular central region, the hood being placed with the camera protruding into the rectangular central region the hood having four strips of lights placed in the four troughs, each of the four strips of lights being placed in one of the four troughs, the four strips facing the openings of the troughs, iii. the placing of the hood on the camera including orienting the four strips of lights to illuminate a region towards which the lens of the camera faces.
It is the examiner’s position that the hood of Ulanzi teaches four troughs. The following is presented to expedite prosecution. Yuan is directed to a rectangular light for photography and is therefore in the same field as Ulanzi. Yuan teaches a rectangular light where the lights are provided in four troughs (“one side surface of the shell is provided with a groove, the connecting part of the two adjacent shells are rotatably connected; the light emitting piece is set in the groove of the shell, for emitting light” and figs. 1-2) each trough having an opening facing away from the trough, therein forming four openings for the four troughs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Ulanzi for the purpose of ease of replacement of LEDs.
Regarding claim 18, Ulanzi as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the two strips of lights in the two vertical troughs including two vertical strips of lights angled so that the two vertical strips of lights point in directions that are 44 degrees outward away from a direction that the camera points. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to orient the vertical strips 44 degrees outward for the purpose of using an optimum value for diffuse light of a particular scene. The applicant should note that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 19, Ulanzi as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the two strips of lights in the two vertical troughs including two vertical strips of lights angled so that the two vertical strips of lights point in directions that are 22 degrees outward away from a direction that the camera points. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to orient the vertical strips 22 degrees outward for the purpose of using an optimum value for diffuse light. The applicant should note that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 20, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to determining a plurality of angles at which to orient the four strips of lights based on a series of angles at which the camera is set to take pictures, and setting the plurality of angles of the lights based on the plurality of angles determined for the purpose of obtaining proper/desired lighting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pastore (U.S. Publication No. 2008/0137323 teaches placing a hood (1100) on a camera (3100, ¶50 teaches the lens 3100 is part of a camera), the hood being placed to circumscribe a rectangular central region (figs. 1-2), the rectangular central region (1300) having an opening for the camera to protrude into, while leaving a back of the camera protruding out of the rectangular region and allowing a lens on a front of the camera to receive light entering the rectangular central region (figs. 3-4), the hood being placed with the camera protruding into the rectangular central region, the hood including four troughs (1500) including two horizontal troughs connected to two vertical troughs.
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852