DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2021/0280347) in view of Fujita et al. (US 2022/0392676).
Regarding claims 1-5, Nakamura discloses insulating material coated soft magnetic powder, which is a powder body of an insulating material coated soft magnetic particle 1, includes: a core particle 2 including a base portion 2a that includes a soft magnetic material, and an oxide film 2b that is provided on a surface of the base portion 2a and contains an oxide of an element contained in the soft magnetic material, and an insulating film 3b(corresponds to organic insulating film) in which a plurality of insulating nanoparticles 3a are attached to the core particle 2 (abstract). The insulating nanoparticles 3a corresponds to the inorganic insulating film of the present invention. The nanoparticles preferably contain at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon oxide (claim 3). Nakamura discloses the thickness of the oxide film 2b in the core particle 2 is 5 nm or more and 200 nm or less, the insulating property of the core particle 2 itself is improved (para 0126). The base portion 2a is preferably made of the soft magnetic material as a main raw material. The base portion 2a may contain impurities or additives in addition to the soft magnetic material. Examples of the additives include various metal materials, various non-metal materials, and various metal oxide materials (para 0037). Nakamura discloses a particle size of each nanoparticle is 1/50,000 or more and 1/100 or less relative to a particle size of the core particle (claim 1). Nakamura discloses a thickness of the oxide film is 5 nm or more and 200 nm or less and a thickness of the insulating film is 3 nm or more and 150 nm or less (claims 5-6). Nakamura discloses an insulating material coated soft magnetic powder, a powder magnetic core, a magnetic element, an electronic device, and a moving body (para 0002).
However, Nakamura fails to disclose that the organic film covering the surface of the inorganic insulating film includes a compound derived from a coupling agent having a hydrophobic functional group.
Whereas, Fujita teaches a coated soft magnetic powder comprising a soft magnetic powder; and an insulating coating film covering the particle surface of the soft magnetic powder (abstract); the insulating coating compound having a hydrophobic functional group derived from a coupling agent (para. 0037-0039), wherein the soft magnetic powder has an average particle size (D50) of about 3 mm (Page 11, Table 1-1, Example 1). The coating compound comprises a hydrophobic functional group which is a is a linear alkyl group having from 1 to 6 carbons (Fujita, para. 0039)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include hydrophobic functional group derived from a coupling agent as taught by Fujita in the organic insulating film of Nakamura motivated by the desire to have improved wettability properties to soft magnetic powder and to form a uniform coating.
As Nakamura in view of Fujita discloses insulator-coated soft magnetic powder as presently claimed, it therefore would be obvious that the insulator-coated soft magnetic powder would intrinsically have a water content of from 30 ppm to 400 ppm, as measured by the Karl Fischer method at 250°C after the insulator-coated soft magnetic powder is left in an environment of atmospheric pressure, a temperature of 30°C, and a relative humidity of 80% for 24 hours.
Regarding claims 7-9, Nakamura discloses an insulating material coated soft magnetic powder, a powder magnetic core, a magnetic element, an electronic device, and a moving body (para 0002).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2021/0280347) in view of Fujita et al. (US 2022/0392676) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Wakabayashi (US 2022/0250145).
Regarding claim 6, Fujita teaches the claimed insulating coated soft magnetic powder as discussed above, wherein the insulating coating compound comprises a short chain silane, but fails to disclose the hydrophobic functional group is a cylic-structure containing group.
Whereas, Wakabayashi discloses additive manufacturing powder includes: a metal powder; and a coating film provided on a particle surface of the metal powder and containing a compound derived from a coupling agent having a functional group. The additive manufacturing powder has an average particle diameter of 3.0 μm or more and 30.0 μm or less. The functional group includes a cyclic structure-containing group, a fluoroalkyl group, or a fluoroaryl group (abstract). Wakabayashi teaches silanes comprising an alkyl linear groups or a cyclic group are functionally equivalent as the insulating coating compounds for metal powder (Wakabayashi, para. 0085-0087 and 0092-0104).
It would have been obvious to expand the coating compound taught by Fujita to include silane having cyclic group as taught by Wakabayashi and include in the organic insulating film of Nakamura motivated by the desire to have excellent fluidity, good hydrophobicity and good heat resistance (para 0065-0066).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2021/0280347) in view of Fujita et al. (US 2022/0392676).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-9 Nakamura discloses insulating material coated soft magnetic powder, which is a powder body of an insulating material coated soft magnetic particle 1, includes: a core particle 2 including a base portion 2a that includes a soft magnetic material, and an oxide film 2b that is provided on a surface of the base portion 2a and contains an oxide of an element contained in the soft magnetic material, and an insulating film 3b(corresponds to organic insulating film) in which a plurality of insulating nanoparticles 3a are attached to the core particle 2 (abstract). The insulating nanoparticles 3a corresponds to the inorganic insulating film of the present invention. The nanoparticles preferably contain at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon oxide (claim 3). Nakamura discloses the thickness of the oxide film 2b in the core particle 2 is 5 nm or more and 200 nm or less, the insulating property of the core particle 2 itself is improved (para 0126). The base portion 2a is preferably made of the soft magnetic material as a main raw material. The base portion 2a may contain impurities or additives in addition to the soft magnetic material. Examples of the additives include various metal materials, various non-metal materials, and various metal oxide materials (para 0037). Nakamura discloses a particle size of each nanoparticle is 1/50,000 or more and 1/100 or less relative to a particle size of the core particle (claim 1). Nakamura discloses a thickness of the oxide film is 5 nm or more and 200 nm or less and a thickness of the insulating film is 3 nm or more and 150 nm or less (claims 5-6). Nakamura discloses an insulating material coated soft magnetic powder, a powder magnetic core, a magnetic element, an electronic device, and a moving body (para 0002).
However, Nakamura fails to disclose that the organic film covering the surface of the inorganic insulating film includes a compound derived from a coupling agent having a hydrophobic functional group.
Whereas, Wakabayashi discloses additive manufacturing powder includes: a metal powder; and a coating film provided on a particle surface of the metal powder and containing a compound derived from a coupling agent having a functional group. The additive manufacturing powder has an average particle diameter of 3.0 μm or more and 30.0 μm or less. The functional group includes a cyclic structure-containing group, a fluoroalkyl group, or a fluoroaryl group (abstract). Wakabayashi teaches silanes comprising an alkyl linear groups or a cyclic group are functionally equivalent as the insulating coating compounds for metal powder (Wakabayashi, para. 0085-0087 and 0092-0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include silane having cyclic group as taught by Wakabayashi in the organic insulating film of Nakamura motivated by the desire to have excellent fluidity, good hydrophobicity and good heat resistance (para 0065-0066).
As Nakamura in view of Wakabayashi discloses insulator-coated soft magnetic powder as presently claimed, it therefore would be obvious that the insulator-coated soft magnetic powder would intrinsically have a water content of from 30 ppm to 400 ppm, as measured by the Karl Fischer method at 250°C after the insulator-coated soft magnetic powder is left in an environment of atmospheric pressure, a temperature of 30°C, and a relative humidity of 80% for 24 hours.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/16/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nakamura describes that the insulating film 3 b containing ceramic material (i.e., inorganic material) covers the surface of the core particle 2. However, Nakamura does not describe an organic film that covers the plurality of insulating nanoparticles 3a.
However, it is agreed that Nakamura does not disclose an organic film that covers the plurality of insulating nanoparticles 3a, that is the reason Fujita and Wakabayashi are used as a teaching reference to cure this deficiency as stated above. Nakamura does not disclose against adding organic compound in the insulating film 3b. Wakabayashi and Fujita both discloses a magnetic powder and a coating film covering the magnetic powder and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include silane having cyclic group as taught by Wakabayashi in the insulating film 3b of Nakamura motivated by the desire to have excellent fluidity, good hydrophobicity and good heat resistance (para 0065-0066). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include silane having cyclic group as taught by Wakabayashi in the insulating film 3b of Nakamura motivated by the desire to have excellent fluidity, good hydrophobicity and good heat resistance (para 0065-0066).
Applicant argues that as the cited references do not describe an "an organic film covering a surface of the inorganic insulating film" as recited in independent claim 1, the cited references, either alone or in combination, fail to disclose the features of "the insulator-coated soft magnetic powder has a water content of from 30 ppm to 400 ppm, as measured by the Karl Fischer method at 250°C after the insulator-coated soft magnetic powder is left in an environment of atmospheric pressure, a temperature of 30°C, and a relative humidity of 80% for 24 hours" as recited in independent claim 1.
As Nakamura in view of Fujita or Wakabayashi discloses insulator-coated soft magnetic powder as presently claimed, it therefore would be obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the insulator-coated soft magnetic powder would intrinsically have a water content of from 30 ppm to 400 ppm, as measured by the Karl Fischer method at 250°C after the insulator-coated soft magnetic powder is left in an environment of atmospheric pressure, a temperature of 30°C, and a relative humidity of 80% for 24 hours.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONAK C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788