DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9, and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio (Non-Patent Literature – Wrinkle detection with Ultrasonic Phased array technology) in view of Wu – US 20230221284 and Tao – Translate_CN 109813808A and further in view of Astrelin – Translate_RU 2785522C1.
As to claims 1 and 9, Antonio teaches an ultrasonic non-destructive testing system for detecting and characterizing transverse features (page 1: ultrasonic “phase array” non-destructive inspection to detect and characterize discontinuities i.e. wrinkle (or transverse features) in composite parts; thus “an ultrasonic non-destructive testing system for detecting and characterizing transverse features”), comprising:
a plurality of ultrasonic elements constituting an ultrasonic array (pages 2-3: 16 ultrasonic elements were used to steer ultrasonic beams at different angles; this way a sectorial beam is created, which can be used to map the sample at different and appropriates angles; thus “a plurality of ultrasonic elements constituting an ultrasonic array”);
in conducting a scan of a test object i.e. wrinkle (page 2); each of the plurality of ultrasonic elements is electronically actuated to steer a beam produced by the ultrasonic array (page 2: actuating each of the plurality of ultrasonic elements to steer a beam produced by the ultrasonic array);
wherein the ultrasonic array is configured to generate scans of the test object across a range of angles, thereby generating a sectorial scan from a particular point above the test object (pages 2-3 and figs.2-3: 16 ultrasonic elements were used to steer ultrasonic beams at different angles; this way a sectorial beam is created, which can be used to map the sample at different and appropriates angles; thus “the ultrasonic array is configured to generate scans of the test object across a range of angles, thereby generating a sectorial scan from a particular point above the test object”);
Antonio does not explicitly teach one or more pulser receivers configured to transmit pulses to actuate the plurality of ultrasonic elements; and a processor; wherein, in conducting a scan of a test object, the one or more pulser receivers are operable to introduce individual delays in signals actuating each of the plurality of ultrasonic elements to steer a beam produced by the ultrasonic array; wherein the ultrasonic array is moved in a raster motion above the test object to produce a plurality of sectorial scans providing volumetric scan data; and wherein the processor generates an image of the test object including at least one wrinkle based on the volumetric scan data.
Wu teaches one or more pulser receivers configured to transmit pulses to actuate the plurality of ultrasonic elements; a processor; wherein, in conducting a scan of a test object, the one or more pulser receivers are operable to introduce individual delays in signals actuating each of the plurality of ultrasonic elements to steer a beam produced by the ultrasonic array ([0070] and fig.1: a beamforming oscillator (TX) or a signal source corresponds to “one or more pulser receivers”; timing of the pulse signals P1-P8 emitted by each transducer element E1-E8 is controlled by programmable delay units that are controlled by a microprocessor control system (not shown) of the PAUT for creating a beam of sound traveling in a specific direction/angle; by changing the pulse delays, the microprocessor control system can scan the beam of ultrasound in a raster pattern across the pipewall. Echoes reflected by different layers of the pipewall, received by the PAUT, build up an image of the underlying structures and condition of the pipewall; thus “one or more pulser receivers configured to transmit pulses to actuate the plurality of ultrasonic elements; a processor; wherein, in conducting a scan of a test object, the one or more pulser receivers are operable to introduce individual delays in signals actuating each of the plurality of ultrasonic elements to steer a beam produced by the ultrasonic array”).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Antonio with teachings of Wu to include one or more pulser receivers configured to transmit pulses to actuate the plurality of ultrasonic elements; a processor; wherein, in conducting a scan of a test object, the one or more pulser receivers are operable to introduce individual delays in signals actuating each of the plurality of ultrasonic elements to steer a beam produced by the ultrasonic array, for scanning the beam of ultrasound in a raster pattern to build up an image of the underlying structures and its condition i.e. defect ([0070; 0093]).
Antonio and Wu do not explicitly teach the ultrasonic array is moved in a raster motion above the test object to produce a plurality of sectorial scans providing volumetric scan data; and wherein the processor generates an image of the test object including at least one wrinkle based on the volumetric scan data.
Tao teaches a concept of: phased array failure detector i.e. PAUT defect-detecting equipment/probe; in inspection area, probe applies the aggregate motion of raster scanning and oblique scanning, selects suitable angular range to cover entire cross section (abstract: in inspection area, probe applies the aggregate motion of raster scanning and oblique scanning, selects suitable angular range to cover entire cross section; scanning an entire cross section provides volumetric scan data).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Antonio with teachings of Tao to include the ultrasonic array is moved in a raster motion above the test object to produce a plurality of sectorial scans providing volumetric scan data, to cover entire cross section of the inspection area (abstract).
Antonio and Wu and Tao do not explicitly teach the processor generates an image of the test object including at least one wrinkle based on the volumetric scan data.
Astrelin teaches a concept of: a non-destructive testing device includes a digital computing device for generating raster images of scanned surfaces, which are used to perform visual-analytical recognition of defects with high reliability (see page 1).
Since modified Antonio teaches ultrasonic array is moved in a raster motion above the test object to produce a plurality of sectorial scans providing volumetric scan data to cover entire cross section of the inspection area (as reasons stated above), it would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Antonio with teachings of Astrelin to include the processor generates an image of the test object including at least one wrinkle based on the volumetric scan data, to perform visual-analytical recognition of defects with high reliability (see page 1).
As to claims 3 and 11, modified Antonio does not explicitly teach the range of angles for each sectorial scan is approximately 600.
Since Wu teaches PAUT device allows to steer the acoustic beam in various directions ([0005]), it would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Antonio to include any desired range of angles for each sectorial scan is approximately 600, to steer the acoustic beam in various directions ([0005]).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio, Wu, Tao, and Astrelin, and further in view of Schulz – US 20170261472.
As to claims 2 and 10, modified Antonio does not explicitly teach the ultrasonic array is operating at a frequency of approximately 10 MHz.
Schulz teaches ultrasonic array is operating at a frequency of approximately 10 MHz ([0017]: thickness of the flexible ultrasonic transducer array 140 can vary depending upon the desired frequency. For example, for a 10 MHz probe, the flexible ultrasonic transducer array 140 can have a thickness of 0.1 mm).
c the ultrasonic array is operating at a frequency of approximately 10 MHz, to have a flexible ultrasonic transducer array having a thickness of 0.1 mm ([0017]).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio, Wu, Tao, and Astrelin, and further in view of Wang – Translate_CN 114519792A.
As to claims 5 and 13, modified Antonio does not explicitly teach the processor includes a machine learning module configured to automatically identify and outline the at least one wrinkle in the image.
Wang teaches a concept of: a defect marking model using machine learning algorithm, it can quickly and accurately, automatically marking defect area of the detected image (pages 5-6).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Antonio with teachings of Wang to include the processor includes a machine learning module configured to automatically identify and outline the at least one wrinkle in the image, quickly and accurately, automatically marking defect area of the detected image (pages 5-6).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio, Wu, Tao, and Astrelin, and further in view of Wilson – US 20210383548.
As to claims 6 and 14, modified Antonio does not explicitly teach a low-pass filter filters out high frequency components of the plurality of sectorial scans.
Wilson teaches a concept of: a low-pass filter lets low frequencies go through but attenuates high frequencies and noise (0133).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Antonio with teachings of Wilson to include a low-pass filter filters out high frequency components of the plurality of sectorial scans, for volumetrically denoising the stacked set of 2D ultrasound images ([0133]).
Claims 4, 8, 12, and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio, Wu, Tao, and Astrelin, and further in view of Jack – US 20210302375.
As to claims 8 and 16, modified Antonio does not explicitly teach the test object is a composite laminate material and wherein the at least one wrinkle is greater than 5 layers deep within the test object.
Jack teaches ultrasonic non-destructive testing for wrinkle within a composite laminate material (abstract); processor determines whether at least one wrinkle exists between any two of the multiplicity of layers ([0040]).
Since Antonio teaches phased array ultrasonic probe is used to detect wrinkle within a sample having at least five carbon fiber layers (page 6), it would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Antonio with teachings of Jack to include the test object is a composite laminate material and wherein the at least one wrinkle is greater than 5 layers deep within the test object, to detect foreign objects of sizes as small as 5 mm2 and report the areas of the objects with an error lower than 10% ([0146]).
As to claims 4 and 12, modified Antonio does not explicitly teach the ultrasonic array is affixed to an end effector of a robotic arm and wherein the robotic arm moves the ultrasonic array in the raster motion above the test object.
Jack teaches a transducer housing assembly mounted on a robotic arm; the robotic arm 48 both allows the transducer housing assembly 4 to reach tighter spaces and allows the device to be held steadily for the duration of the testing, increasing the accuracy of the test ([0134] and described fig.14).
Since modified Antonio teaches raster motion of phased array ultrasonic testing probe (as reasons stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 9), it would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Antonio with teachings of Jack to include the ultrasonic array is affixed to an end effector of a robotic arm and wherein the robotic arm moves the ultrasonic array in the raster motion above the test object, because it allows the transducer housing assembly 4 to reach tighter spaces and allows the device to be held steadily for the duration of the testing, increasing the accuracy of the test ([0134]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 7, claim 7 includes the angle-corrected gain factor for higher magnitude steering angles is greater than the angle-corrected gain factor for lower magnitude steering angles, when in combination with all other elements in the claim 7 distinguish the present invention from the prior arts.
As to claim 15, claim 15 includes the angle-corrected gain factor for higher magnitude steering angles is greater than the angle-corrected gain factor for lower magnitude steering angles, when in combination with all other elements in the claim 15 distinguish the present invention from the prior arts.
Claims 17-20 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 17, claim 17 includes the angle-corrected gain factor for higher magnitude steering angles is greater than the angle-corrected gain factor for lower magnitude steering angles, when in combination with all other elements in the claim 7 distinguish the present invention from the prior arts.
As to claims 18-20, claims 18-20 are also allowable because they depend on claim 17.
Conclusion
/TRUONG D PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855