DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s 05/18/2026 amendment or response in the application of CAO et al. for “SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR UE TRIGGERED ON/OFF STATUS CONTROL FOR NETWORK NODES” filed 03/26/2024. The amendments/response to the claims have been entered. No claims have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KUMAGAI et al. (US 2025/0133416 A1), hereinafter “KUMAGAI.”
Regarding claim 1, KUMAGAI discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a network node (wireless relay device 30, see figure 29) from a wireless communication node (base station 10, see figure 29), a configuration indicating at least one period for monitoring signals from a wireless communication device (in step S31, the base station 10 transmits a configuration and/or indication related to the reflection/radiation function to the wireless relay device 30, see ¶ 0319);
receiving, by the network node, a signal from the wireless communication device during the at least one period for monitoring the signals from the wireless communication device (in step S32, the terminal 20 transmits a configuration and/or indication related to the reflection/radiation function to the wireless relay device 30, see ¶ 0319);
determining, by the network node based on information in connection with the signal, an on/off state of the network node to support signal forwarding of one or more signals between the wireless communication node and the wireless communication device (in a case where the wireless relay device 30 performs control of activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on an upper layer configuration and/or indication from the base station 10 or the terminal 20, the state of activation or deactivation may be directly configured in a semi-static manner or a period of an activated or deactivated state may be configured in a semi-static manner, see ¶ 0322); and
activating, by the network node in response to an on state of the network node, at least one forwarding link or forwarding functionality for forwarding the one or more signals between the wireless communication node and the wireless communication device (the wireless relay device 30 performs activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on the configuration and/or indication, see ¶ 0319; the wireless relay device 30 may perform activation of the reflection/radiation function, see ¶ 0327).
Regarding claim 2, KUMAGAI discloses determining, by the network node using or according to the signal, the on/off state (the wireless relay device 30 performs activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on the configuration and/or indication, see ¶ 0319; the wireless relay device 30 may perform activation of the reflection/radiation function, see ¶ 0327; the activation or deactivation may mean ON/OFF of a function, or may mean activation/deactivation of a function, see ¶ 0308); or
sending, by the network node to the wireless communication node, a first message according to the signal;
receiving, by the network node from the wireless communication node, a second message in response to the first message; and
determining, by the network node according to the second message, the on/off state of the network node.
Regarding claim 3, KUMAGAI discloses receiving, by the network node from the wireless communication node, an indication of at least one of: a start time, a pattern, a Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV), a duty cycle, a time offset, a duration or a periodicity, of a monitoring state of the network node (the wireless relay device 30 may receive information related to resources of a periodical signal and a beam for each of the resources from the base station 10 and may apply a beam for each of the resources, based on the received information, see ¶ 0197; the resources of a periodical signal may be, for example, SSB, Periodic CSI-RS, Periodic SRS, PDCCH, Periodic PUCCH, PUSCH with type 1 configured grant, or the like, see ¶ 0198); and
operating, by the network node in the monitoring state, to monitor the signal from the wireless communication device (physical resources of radio signals may be defined in the time domain and the frequency domain, the time domain may be defined by the number of OFDM (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing) symbols, and the frequency domain may be defined by the number of sub-carriers or resource blocks, see ¶ 0052, 0403, 0404);
wherein the indication is received via at least one of: an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) signal, a system information (SI) signal, a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a downlink control information (DCI) signal, or a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signal (in a case where there is a connection for control between the RIS 30 and the base station 10, the base station 10 may start SSB beam transmission corresponding to SSB indexes <X> to <X+Y−1> at the time of establishment of a connection with the RIS 30 (for example, completion of a random access procedure, RRC connection establishment, or the like), see ¶ 0167, 0219, 0222, 0251, 0308).
Regarding claim 4, KUMAGAI discloses receive, via the receiver from the wireless communication node, an indication of at least one of: a start time, a pattern, a Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV), a duty cycle, a time offset, a duration, a periodicity, a frequency domain indicator, a frequency offset, or a resource block (RB) number, of a time or frequency domain resource of the network node (the wireless relay device 30 may receive information related to resources of a periodical signal and a beam for each of the resources from the base station 10 and may apply a beam for each of the resources, based on the received information, see ¶ 0197; the resources of a periodical signal may be, for example, SSB, Periodic CSI-RS, Periodic SRS, PDCCH, Periodic PUCCH, PUSCH with type 1 configured grant, or the like, see ¶ 0198); and
monitor, in the time or frequency domain resource, to monitor the signal from the wireless communication device (physical resources of radio signals may be defined in the time domain and the frequency domain, the time domain may be defined by the number of OFDM (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing) symbols, and the frequency domain may be defined by the number of sub-carriers or resource blocks, see ¶ 0052, 0403, 0404),
wherein the indication is received via at least one of: an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) signal, a system information (SI) signal, a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a downlink control information (DCI) signal, or a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signal (in a case where there is a connection for control between the RIS 30 and the base station 10, the base station 10 may start SSB beam transmission corresponding to SSB indexes <X> to <X+Y−1> at the time of establishment of a connection with the RIS 30 (for example, completion of a random access procedure, RRC connection establishment, or the like), see ¶ 0167, 0219, 0222, 0251, 0308).
Regarding claim 5, KUMAGAI discloses the on/off state comprises at least one of: an on/off state of the network node (the wireless relay device 30 performs activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on the configuration and/or indication, see ¶ 0319; the wireless relay device 30 may perform activation of the reflection/radiation function, see ¶ 0327; the activation or deactivation may mean ON/OFF of a function, or may mean activation/deactivation of a function, see ¶ 0308);
an on/off state of a group of network nodes; an on/off state of one or more antenna ports of the network node; an on/off state of one or more beam indexes of the network node; an on/off state of one or more serving sectors of the network node; or an on/off state of one or more components of the network node.
Regarding claim 6, KUMAGAI discloses the on/off state of at least one of following links: a first control link from the wireless communication node to the network node; a second control link from the network node to the wireless communication node; a first backhaul link from the wireless communication node to the network node; a second backhaul link from the network node to the wireless communication node; a first access link from the network node to the wireless communication device; or a second access link from the wireless communication device to the network node (the wireless relay device 30 performs activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on the configuration and/or indication, see ¶ 0319; the wireless relay device 30 may perform activation of the reflection/radiation function, see ¶ 0327).
Regarding claim 7, KUMAGAI discloses the wireless communication device receives from the wireless communication node an indication of at least one of: a start time, a pattern, a Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV), a duty cycle, a time offset, a duration or a periodicity, of a probing state of the wireless communication device (the wireless relay device 30 may receive information related to resources of a periodical signal and a beam for each of the resources from the base station 10 and may apply a beam for each of the resources, based on the received information, see ¶ 0197; the resources of a periodical signal may be, for example, SSB, Periodic CSI-RS, Periodic SRS, PDCCH, Periodic PUCCH, PUSCH with type 1 configured grant, or the like, see ¶ 0198); and
the wireless communication device operates in the probing state, to transmit the signal to the network node (in step S32, the terminal 20 transmits a configuration and/or indication related to the reflection/radiation function to the wireless relay device 30, see ¶ 0319),
wherein the indication is received via at least one of: an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) signal, a system information (SI) signal, a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a downlink control information (DCI) signal, or a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signal wherein the indication is received via at least one of: an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) signal, a system information (SI) signal, a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a downlink control information (DCI) signal, or a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signal (in a case where there is a connection for control between the RIS 30 and the base station 10, the base station 10 may start SSB beam transmission corresponding to SSB indexes <X> to <X+Y−1> at the time of establishment of a connection with the RIS 30 (for example, completion of a random access procedure, RRC connection establishment, or the like), see ¶ 0167, 0219, 0222, 0251, 0308).
Regarding claim 8, KUMAGAI discloses the wireless communication device receives from the wireless communication node an indication of at least one of: a start time, a pattern, a SLIV, a duty cycle, a time offset, a duration, a periodicity, a frequency domain indicator, a frequency offset, a resource block (RB) number, of the time or frequency domain resource of the wireless communication device (the wireless relay device 30 may receive information related to resources of a periodical signal and a beam for each of the resources from the base station 10 and may apply a beam for each of the resources, based on the received information, see ¶ 0197; the resources of a periodical signal may be, for example, SSB, Periodic CSI-RS, Periodic SRS, PDCCH, Periodic PUCCH, PUSCH with type 1 configured grant, or the like, see ¶ 0198);
the wireless communication device transmits in the time or frequency domain resource the signal to the network node device (physical resources of radio signals may be defined in the time domain and the frequency domain, the time domain may be defined by the number of OFDM (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing) symbols, and the frequency domain may be defined by the number of sub-carriers or resource blocks, see ¶ 0052, 0403, 0404),
wherein the indication is received via at least one of: a system information (SI) signal, a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a downlink control information (DCI) signal, or a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signal (in a case where there is a connection for control between the RIS 30 and the base station 10, the base station 10 may start SSB beam transmission corresponding to SSB indexes <X> to <X+Y−1> at the time of establishment of a connection with the RIS 30 (for example, completion of a random access procedure, RRC connection establishment, or the like), see ¶ 0167, 0219, 0222, 0251, 0308).
Regarding claim 9, KUMAGAI discloses the wireless communication device determines whether to trigger the network node to support the signal forwarding according to at least one of: a measurement of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a random access failure, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission failure, or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission failure occurring for a defined number of times (the predetermined signal may be an SSB from the base station 10, may be a TRS from the base station 10, or may be an SRS from the terminal 20. A signal for receiving quality measurement may be specified or configured as the predetermined signal. The receiving quality may be RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power), RSRQ (Reference Signal Received Quality), or SINR (Signal to interference plus noise ratio). see ¶ 0288-0298, 0329).
Regarding claim 10, KUMAGAI discloses the wireless communication device receives a parameter from the wireless communication node for determining whether to enable a functionality of sending a signal to trigger the on/off state of the network node (the RIS or smart repeater that is a wireless relay device 30 may control activation or deactivation of the reflection or radiation function of the device itself, based on an upper layer configuration and/or a physical layer indication from another network node. The said upper layer configuration may be RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, or may be MAC (Medium Access Control)-CE (Control Element). The said physical layer indication may be DCI (Downlink Control Information), or may be UCI (Uplink Control Information). The activation or deactivation may mean ON/OFF of a function, or may mean activation/deactivation of a function, see ¶ 0309).
Regarding claim 11, KUMAGAI discloses the signal comprises at least one of: a preamble to configure the wireless communication device for initial access, a preamble to configure the wireless communication device, dedicated to enabling a change to the on/off state of the network node, a msg3 or a MsgA physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a reference signal (RS), the RS comprises at least one of: a sounding reference signal (SRS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), the RS is transmitted with a dedicated port index, a configured uplink transmission of a configured grant SDT (CG-SDT), a dedicated PUCCH transmission, a defined MAC CE signal in PUSCH, or a dedicated signal or data sequence (the wireless relay device 30 may have a function of receiving a signal transmitted from the base station 10. The signal may be a DL signal such as an SSB (SS/PBCH block), PDCCH, PDSCH, DM-RS (Demodulation Reference Signal), PT-RS (Phase Tracking Reference Signal), CSI-RS (Channel Status Information Reference Signal), RIS dedicated signal, or the like, see ¶ 0066).
Regarding claim 12, KUMAGAI discloses sending, by the network node to the wireless communication node, an indication of the on/off state, in an uplink control information (UCI) signal via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or in a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signal via the PUSCH (the wireless relay device 30 may have a function of transmitting a signal to the base station 10. The signal may be a UL signal such as a PRACH, PUCCH, PUSCH, DM-RS, PT-RS, SRS, RIS dedicated signal, or the like, see ¶ 0066).
Regarding clam 13, KUMAGAI discloses wherein the wireless communication node, after receiving the indication of the on/off state, transmits system information directly to at least the wireless communication device, or via the network node to at least the wireless communication device, to indicate that one or more links of the network node is turned on (the information indication may be performed by physical layer signaling (e.g., DCI (Downlink Control Information), UCI (Uplink Control Information)), upper layer signaling (e.g., RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, MAC (Medium Access Control) signaling, broadcast information (MIB (Master Information Block), SIB (System Information Block))), other signals, or combinations thereof. Further, RRC signaling may be referred to as an RRC message. The RRC signaling may be, for example, an RRC connection setup message, an RRC connection reconfiguration message, or the like, see ¶ 0376).
Regarding claim 14, KUMAGAI discloses a method comprising:
sending, via a transmitter to a network node, a signal during at least one period of the network node monitoring signals from the wireless communication device (in step S32, the terminal 20 transmits a configuration and/or indication related to the reflection/radiation function to the wireless relay device 30, see ¶ 0319);
wherein the network node determines in connection with the signal, an on/off state of the network node to support signal forwarding of one or more signals between a wireless communication node and the wireless communication device (in a case where the wireless relay device 30 performs control of activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on an upper layer configuration and/or indication from the base station 10 or the terminal 20, the state of activation or deactivation may be directly configured in a semi-static manner or a period of an activated or deactivated state may be configured in a semi-static manner, see ¶ 0322);
wherein the network node activate, in response to an on state of the network node, at least one forwarding link or forwarding functionality for forwarding the one or more signals between the wireless communication node and the wireless communication device (the wireless relay device 30 performs activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on the configuration and/or indication, see ¶ 0319; the wireless relay device 30 may perform activation of the reflection/radiation function, see ¶ 0327).
Regarding claim 15, KUMAGAI discloses a wireless communication device (terminal 20, see figure 29), comprising: at least one processor configured to:
send, via a transmitter to a network node, a signal during at least one period of the network node monitoring signals from the wireless communication device (in step S32, the terminal 20 transmits a configuration and/or indication related to the reflection/radiation function to the wireless relay device 30, see ¶ 0319);
wherein the network node determines in connection with the signal, an on/off state of the network node to support signal forwarding of one or more signals between a wireless communication node and the wireless communication device (in a case where the wireless relay device 30 performs control of activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on an upper layer configuration and/or indication from the base station 10 or the terminal 20, the state of activation or deactivation may be directly configured in a semi-static manner or a period of an activated or deactivated state may be configured in a semi-static manner, see ¶ 0322);
wherein the network node activate, in response to an on state of the network node, at least one forwarding link or forwarding functionality for forwarding the one or more signals between the wireless communication node and the wireless communication device (the wireless relay device 30 performs activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on the configuration and/or indication, see ¶ 0319; the wireless relay device 30 may perform activation of the reflection/radiation function, see ¶ 0327).
Regarding claim 16, KUMAGAI discloses a network node (wireless relay device 30, see figure 29), comprising:
at least one processor configured to:
receive, via a receiver from a wireless communication node (base station 10, see figure 29), a configuration indicating at least one period for monitoring signals from a wireless communication device (in step S31, the base station 10 transmits a configuration and/or indication related to the reflection/radiation function to the wireless relay device 30, see ¶ 0319);
receive, via the receiver, a signal from the wireless communication device during the at least one period for monitoring the signals from the wireless communication device (in step S32, the terminal 20 transmits a configuration and/or indication related to the reflection/radiation function to the wireless relay device 30, see ¶ 0319);
determine, based on information in connection with the signal, an on/off state of the network node to support signal forwarding of one or more signals between the wireless communication node and the wireless communication device (in a case where the wireless relay device 30 performs control of activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on an upper layer configuration and/or indication from the base station 10 or the terminal 20, the state of activation or deactivation may be directly configured in a semi-static manner or a period of an activated or deactivated state may be configured in a semi-static manner, see ¶ 0322); and
activate, in response to an on state of the network node, at least one forwarding link or forwarding functionality for forwarding the one or more signals between the wireless communication node and the wireless communication device (the wireless relay device 30 performs activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on the configuration and/or indication, see ¶ 0319; the wireless relay device 30 may perform activation of the reflection/radiation function, see ¶ 0327).
Regarding claim 17, KUMAGAI discloses determining, by the network node using or according to the signal, the on/off state (the wireless relay device 30 performs activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on the configuration and/or indication, see ¶ 0319; the wireless relay device 30 may perform activation of the reflection/radiation function, see ¶ 0327; the activation or deactivation may mean ON/OFF of a function, or may mean activation/deactivation of a function, see ¶ 0308); or
sending, by the network node to the wireless communication node, a first message according to the signal;
receiving, by the network node from the wireless communication node, a second message in response to the first message; and
determining, by the network node according to the second message, the on/off state of the network node.
Regarding claim 18, KUMAGAI discloses receiving, by the network node from the wireless communication node, an indication of at least one of: a start time, a pattern, a Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV), a duty cycle, a time offset, a duration or a periodicity, of a monitoring state of the network node (the wireless relay device 30 may receive information related to resources of a periodical signal and a beam for each of the resources from the base station 10 and may apply a beam for each of the resources, based on the received information, see ¶ 0197; the resources of a periodical signal may be, for example, SSB, Periodic CSI-RS, Periodic SRS, PDCCH, Periodic PUCCH, PUSCH with type 1 configured grant, or the like, see ¶ 0198); and
operating, by the network node in the monitoring state, to monitor the signal from the wireless communication device (physical resources of radio signals may be defined in the time domain and the frequency domain, the time domain may be defined by the number of OFDM (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing) symbols, and the frequency domain may be defined by the number of sub-carriers or resource blocks, see ¶ 0052, 0403, 0404);
wherein the indication is received via at least one of: an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) signal, a system information (SI) signal, a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a downlink control information (DCI) signal, or a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signal (in a case where there is a connection for control between the RIS 30 and the base station 10, the base station 10 may start SSB beam transmission corresponding to SSB indexes <X> to <X+Y−1> at the time of establishment of a connection with the RIS 30 (for example, completion of a random access procedure, RRC connection establishment, or the like), see ¶ 0167, 0219, 0222, 0251, 0308).
Regarding claim 19, KUMAGAI discloses receive, via the receiver from the wireless communication node, an indication of at least one of: a start time, a pattern, a Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV), a duty cycle, a time offset, a duration, a periodicity, a frequency domain indicator, a frequency offset, or a resource block (RB) number, of a time or frequency domain resource of the network node (the wireless relay device 30 may receive information related to resources of a periodical signal and a beam for each of the resources from the base station 10 and may apply a beam for each of the resources, based on the received information, see ¶ 0197; the resources of a periodical signal may be, for example, SSB, Periodic CSI-RS, Periodic SRS, PDCCH, Periodic PUCCH, PUSCH with type 1 configured grant, or the like, see ¶ 0198); and
monitor, in the time or frequency domain resource, to monitor the signal from the wireless communication device (physical resources of radio signals may be defined in the time domain and the frequency domain, the time domain may be defined by the number of OFDM (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing) symbols, and the frequency domain may be defined by the number of sub-carriers or resource blocks, see ¶ 0052, 0403, 0404),
wherein the indication is received via at least one of: an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) signal, a system information (SI) signal, a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a downlink control information (DCI) signal, or a medium access control control element (MAC CE) signal (in a case where there is a connection for control between the RIS 30 and the base station 10, the base station 10 may start SSB beam transmission corresponding to SSB indexes <X> to <X+Y−1> at the time of establishment of a connection with the RIS 30 (for example, completion of a random access procedure, RRC connection establishment, or the like), see ¶ 0167, 0219, 0222, 0251, 0308).
Regarding claim 20, KUMAGAI discloses the on/off state comprises at least one of: an on/off state of the network node (the wireless relay device 30 performs activation or deactivation of the reflection/radiation function based on the configuration and/or indication, see ¶ 0319; the wireless relay device 30 may perform activation of the reflection/radiation function, see ¶ 0327; the activation or deactivation may mean ON/OFF of a function, or may mean activation/deactivation of a function, see ¶ 0308);
an on/off state of a group of network nodes; an on/off state of one or more antenna ports of the network node; an on/off state of one or more beam indexes of the network node; an on/off state of one or more serving sectors of the network node; or an on/off state of one or more components of the network node.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412