Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Arguments and amendments filed on 03/17/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance. While the Office agrees that Kim does not specifically teach the limitations regarding the blanking period as claimed, based on updated search and consideration of the prior art, the amended limitations are found to be obvious in view of a combination of the teachings of Kim in view of a newly found reference. The following Action provides further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 11, 15-16 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim, US 2016/0232860 A1, hereinafter “Kim”, in view of Wang et al., US 2008/0170050 A1, hereinafter “Wang”.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method for driving a display panel, comprising: receiving a first video signal having a first frame rate (fig. 10, I_DAT, ¶ 102; also see ¶ 37); generating a second video signal having a second frame rate from the first video signal (see Odd_DAT and Even_DAT in fig. 10 and ¶ 102, also see ¶ 37), wherein the second frame rate is greater than the first frame rate (¶ 102 and 37); driving the display panel to display an image according to the second video signal; wherein the first video signal comprises N frames of first image data to be continuously displayed, the second video signal comprises 2N frames of second image data to be continuously displayed (¶ 37, also see fig. 5 for continuous displaying of the frames), a (2i-1)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises a first-type of row image data of an i-th frame of the first image data (figs. 4A and 5, an odd frame (first sub-frame sub-F1) comprises an odd row image data), a 2i-th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises a second-type of row image data of the i-th frame of the first image data (figs. 4B and 5, an even frame (second sub-frame sub-F2) comprises an even row image data), a (2i+1)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of an (i+1)th frame of the first image data (figs. 4C and 5, an odd frame (third sub-frame sub-F3) comprises an even row image data), and a (2i+2)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the (i+1)th frame of the first image data (figs. 4D and 5, an even frame (fourth sub-frame sub-F4) comprises an odd row image data); the first-type of row image data is one of odd-numbered row image data and even-numbered row image data (first type is odd), and the second-type of row image data is another one of the odd-numbered row image data and the even-numbered row image data (second type is even), N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, i=m*j+1, with i being less than N, m being an integer greater than or equal to 2, and j being an integer greater than or equal to 0, wherein m=3; a (2i+3)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of a (i+2)th frame of the first image data, and a (2i+4)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the (i+2)th frame of the first image data (note that the driving scheme of figs. 4A-D and fig. 5, including the odd and even frames repeats, according to which the configuration as claimed is achieved).
Kim does not specifically teach that there is a blanking time between a drive cycle of the odd-numbered row image data and a drive cycle of the adjacent even-numbered row image data.
Wang, however, teaches that there is a blanking time (fig. 5B, blanking time B) between a drive cycle of the odd-numbered row image data (period ‘O’) and a drive cycle of the adjacent even-numbered row image data (period ‘E’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim in view of Wang. The references teach driving a display device according to odd and even video input data. Wang further teaches the inclusion of a blanking period between odd and even frames. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Wang clearly teaches that such a driving method may “eliminate the tearing effect” (see ¶ 62), thereby achieving a higher quality display device.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a display device (fig. 1, element 101, ¶ 33), comprising: a display panel (fig. 1, element 110, ¶ 34), and a control chip electrically connected to the display panel, the control chip (all other elements of claim 1, including controller 120 may be construed as the control chip, ¶ 34 and 36), wherein the control chip is configured to drive the display panel to display an image according to a method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kim teaches that the first video signal comprises a first frame of the first image data (fig. 3, Fn), a second frame of the first image data (fig. 3, Fn+1), and a third frame of the first image data to be continuously displayed (fig. 3, Fn+2 which is not shown since it is identical to Fn in a driving scheme; note that the driving scheme of fig. 3 repeats after Fn+1), and the second video signal comprises a first frame of the second image data, a second frame of the second image data, a third frame of the second image data, a fourth frame of the second image data (Sub_F1 to Sub_F4 of fig. 3), a fifth frame of the second image data, and a sixth frame of the second image data to be continuously displayed (Sub_F1 and Sub_F2 of Fn+2); the first frame of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the first frame of the first image data (figs. 4A and 5, an odd frame (first sub-frame sub-F1) comprises an odd row image data), the second frame of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the first frame of the first image data (figs. 4B and 5, an even frame (second sub-frame sub-F2) comprises an even row image data), the third frame of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the second frame of the first image data (figs. 4C and 5, an odd frame (third sub-frame sub-F3) comprises an even row image data), the fourth frame of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the second frame of the first image data (figs. 4D and 5, an even frame (fourth sub-frame sub-F4) comprises an odd row image data), the fifth frame of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the third frame of the first image data (figs. 4A and 5, an odd frame (first sub-frame sub-F1) comprises an odd row image data, as is repeated for Fn+2), and the sixth frame of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the third frame of the first image data (figs. 4B and 5, an even frame (second sub-frame sub-F2) comprises an even row image data, as is repeated for Fn+2).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kim teaches that the generating a second video signal having a second frame rate from the first video signal comprises: generating the first frame of the second image data from the first-type of row image data in the first frame of the first image data of the first video signal; generating the second frame of the second image data from the second-type of row image data in the first frame of the first image data; generating the third frame of the second image data from the second-type of row image data in the second frame of the first image data of the first video signal; generating the fourth frame of the second image data from the first-type of row image data in the second frame of the first image data (figs. 4A-D and fig. 5 wherein Sub_F1 to Sub_F4 are generated accordingly; also see ¶ 60-75); generating the fifth frame of the second image data from the first-type of row image data in the third frame of the first image data of the first video signal (figs. 4A and fig. 5, Sub_F1 of Fn+2; also see ¶ 60-75); generating the sixth frame of the second image data from the second-type of row image data in the third frame of the first image data (figs. 4B and fig. 5, Sub_F2 of Fn+2; also see ¶ 60-75).
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches a method for driving a display panel, comprising: receiving a first video signal having a first frame rate (fig. 10, I_DAT, ¶ 102; also see ¶ 37); generating a second video signal having a second frame rate from the first video signal (see Odd_DAT and Even_DAT in fig. 10 and ¶ 102, also see ¶ 37), wherein the second frame rate is greater than the first frame rate (¶ 102 and 37); driving the display panel to display an image according to the second video signal; wherein the first video signal comprises N frames of first image data to be continuously displayed, the second video signal comprises 2N frames of second image data to be continuously displayed (¶ 37, also see fig. 5 for continuous displaying of the frames), a (2i-1)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises a first-type of row image data of an i-th frame of the first image data (figs. 4A and 5, an odd frame (first sub-frame sub-F1) comprises an odd row image data), a 2i-th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises a second-type of row image data of the i-th frame of the first image data (figs. 4B and 5, an even frame (second sub-frame sub-F2) comprises an even row image data), a (2i+1)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of an (i+1)th frame of the first image data (figs. 4C and 5, an odd frame (third sub-frame sub-F3) comprises an even row image data), and a (2i+2)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the (i+1)th frame of the first image data (figs. 4D and 5, an even frame (fourth sub-frame sub-F4) comprises an odd row image data); the first-type of row image data is one of odd-numbered row image data and even-numbered row image data (first type is odd), and the second-type of row image data is another one of the odd-numbered row image data and the even-numbered row image data (second type is even), N is an integer greater than or equal to 2, i=m*j+1, with i being less than N, m being an integer greater than or equal to 2, and j being an integer greater than or equal to 0, wherein m=3; a (2i+3)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of a (i+2)th frame of the first image data, and a (2i+4)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the (i+2)th frame of the first image data (note that the driving scheme of figs. 4A-D and fig. 5, including the odd and even frames repeats, according to which the configuration as claimed is achieved).
In another embodiment Kim teaches that the frame progressions may be altered (fig. 6A-C, ¶ 76-82 according to which an even to odd frame progression may be followed by a same even to odd frame progression).
Accordingly, modifying the frame progressions in view of the teachings of Kim further teaches that wherein m=3; a (2i+3)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of a (i+2)th frame of the first image data, and a (2i+4)th frame of the second image data in the 2N frames of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the (i+2)th frame of the first image data (note that the driving scheme of figs. 4A-D and fig. 5, including the odd and even frames, repeats, according to which the configuration as claimed is achieved. For example, repeating fig. 5, a Sub_F7 and Sub_F8 frame would enable even and odd rows, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim in order to utilize both driving schemes. Specifically, ¶ 76-82 of Kim teaches that by differently changing the order of odd/even driving of the pixel rows, a perception of a “moving line-stain” or a distortion caused by a moving image is reduced. As such, one would have been motivated to drive adjacent sub-frames of a display panel in any order, to reduce such a distortion according to a desired amount, thus achieving an improved display device.
Kim does not specifically teach that there is a blanking time between a drive cycle of the odd-numbered row image data and a drive cycle of the adjacent even-numbered row image data.
Wang, however, teaches that there is a blanking time (fig. 5B, blanking time B) between a drive cycle of the odd-numbered row image data (period ‘O’) and a drive cycle of the adjacent even-numbered row image data (period ‘E’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim in view of Wang. The references teach driving a display device according to odd and even video input data. Wang further teaches the inclusion of a blanking period between odd and even frames. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Wang clearly teaches that such a driving method may “eliminate the tearing effect” (see ¶ 62), thereby achieving a higher quality display device.
Regarding claim 22, Kim teaches that the first video signal comprises a first frame of the first image data (fig. 3, Fn), a second frame of the first image data (fig. 3, Fn+1), and a third frame of the first image data to be continuously displayed (fig. 3, Fn+2 which is not shown since it is similar to Fn in a driving scheme; note that the driving scheme of fig. 3 repeats after Fn+1), and the second video signal comprises a first frame of the second image data, a second frame of the second image data, a third frame of the second image data, a fourth frame of the second image data (Sub_F1 to Sub_F4 of fig. 3), a fifth frame of the second image data, and a sixth frame of the second image data to be continuously displayed (Sub_F1 and Sub_F2 of Fn+2); the first frame of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the first frame of the first image data (figs. 4A and 5, an odd frame (first sub-frame sub-F1) comprises an odd row image data), the second frame of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the first frame of the first image data (figs. 4B and 5, an even frame (second sub-frame sub-F2) comprises an even row image data), the third frame of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the second frame of the first image data (figs. 4C and 5, an odd frame (third sub-frame sub-F3) comprises an even row image data), the fourth frame of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the second frame of the first image data (figs. 4D and 5, an even frame (fourth sub-frame sub-F4) comprises an odd row image data).
In another embodiment Kim teaches that the fifth frame of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the third frame of the first image data, and the sixth frame of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the third frame of the first image data (fig. 6B, ¶ 77-79 according to which an even to odd frame progression may be followed by a same even to odd frame progression).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim in order to utilize both driving schemes. Specifically, ¶ 76-82 of Kim teaches that by differently changing the order of odd/even driving of the pixel rows, a perception of a “moving line-stain” or a distortion caused by a moving image is reduced. As such, one would have been motivated to drive adjacent sub-frames of a display panel in any order, to reduce such a distortion according to a desired amount, thus achieving an improved display device.
Regarding claim 23, Kim teaches that the generating a second video signal having a second frame rate from the first video signal comprises: generating the first frame of the second image data from the first-type of row image data in the first frame of the first image data of the first video signal; generating the second frame of the second image data from the second-type of row image data in the first frame of the first image data; generating the third frame of the second image data from the second-type of row image data in the second frame of the first image data of the first video signal; generating the fourth frame of the second image data from the first-type of row image data in the second frame of the first image data (figs. 4A-D and fig. 5 wherein Sub_F1 to Sub_F4 are generated accordingly; also see ¶ 60-75).
In another embodiment Kim teaches generating the fifth frame of the second image data from the second-type of row image data in the third frame of the first image data of the first video signal; generating the sixth frame of the second image data from the first-type of row image data in the third frame of the first image data (fig. 6B, ¶ 77-79 according to which an even to odd frame progression may be followed by a same even to odd frame progression, therefore such a configuration is achieved when Fn+2 follows an even to odd progression same as the progression of Fn+1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim in order to utilize both driving schemes. Specifically, ¶ 79-82 of Kim teaches that by differently changing the order of odd/even driving of the pixel rows, a perception of a “moving line-stain” or a distortion caused by a moving image is reduced. As such, one would have been motivated to drive adjacent sub-frames of a display panel in any order, to reduce such a distortion according to a desired amount, thus achieving an improved display device.
Regarding claim 24, Kim teaches that the first video signal comprises a fourth frame of the first image data (fig. 3, Fn+3 according to a repetition of the frames), a fifth frame of the first image data, and a sixth frame of the first image data to be continuously displayed (Sub_F1 and Sub_F2, respectively, of Fn+2), the fourth frame of the first image data is image data to be continuously displayed with the third frame of the first image data (according to the repetition, such continuity is achieved), the second video signal comprises a seventh frame of the second image data, an eighth frame of the second image data, a ninth frame of the second image data, a tenth frame of the second image data, an eleventh frame of the second image data, and a twelfth frame of the second image data be continuously displayed (such frames are achieved based on continuous repetition of the frames as taught in fig. 3), the seventh frame of the second image data is image data to be continuously displayed with the sixth frame of the second image data;
the seventh frame of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the fourth frame of the first image data,
the eighth frame of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the fourth frame of the first image data,
the ninth frame of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the fifth frame of the first image data,
the tenth frame of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the fifth frame of the first image data (such seventh to tenth frames correspond to a repetition of frames after Fn+1 according to Sub_F1 to Sub_F4 of figs. 3-5),
wherein the generating a second video signal having a second frame rate from the first video signal further comprises: generating the seventh frame of the second image data from the first-type of row image data in the fourth frame of the first image data of the first video signal; generating the eighth frame of the second image data from the second-type of row image data in the fourth frame of the first image data; generating the ninth frame of the second image data from the second-type of row image data in the fifth frame of the first image data of the first video signal; generating the tenth frame of the second image data from the first-type of row image data in the fifth frame of the first image data (figs. 4A-D and fig. 5 wherein Sub_F1 to Sub_F4 are generated accordingly for repeated frames after Fn+1; also see ¶ 60-75).
In another embodiment Kim teaches that the eleventh frame of the second image data comprises the second-type of row image data of the sixth frame of the first image data, and the twelfth frame of the second image data comprises the first-type of row image data of the sixth frame of the first image data (fig. 6B, ¶ 77-79 according to which an even to odd frame progression may be followed by a same even to odd frame progression); and generating the eleventh frame of the second image data from the second-type of row image data in the sixth frame of the first image data of the first video signal; generating the twelfth frame of the second image data from the first-type of row image data in the sixth frame of the first image data (fig. 6B, ¶ 77-79 according to which an even to odd frame progression may be followed by a same even to odd frame progression, therefore such a configuration is achieved when Fn+2 follows an even to odd progression same as the progression of Fn+1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim in order to utilize both driving schemes. Specifically, ¶ 76-82 of Kim teaches that by differently changing the order of odd/even driving of the pixel rows, a perception of a “moving line-stain” or a distortion caused by a moving image is reduced. As such, one would have been motivated to drive adjacent sub-frames of a display panel in any order, to reduce such a distortion according to a desired amount, thus achieving an improved display device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621