DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Levitt et al. (US 2018/0127683 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 11-12, Levitt teaches a detergent composition with variety of applications (10, 18, 21-22 26-27), comprising water; [24, Tables 2, 6], amino acids (instant claims 2, 3, 4) such as histidine, lysine, glycine; [abstract, 9, 18], and nonionic surfactants such as fatty alcohol alkoxylate, ethoxylated amine; [31, 36, 80], wherein the pH of solution is 7-10; [23, 15: Table 5, 131, claim 5]. Levitt teaches inorganic acid and sodium hydroxide; [113]. Levitt teaches builders such as polyacrylic acid as a builder which is also an anti-redeposition agent; [119], which is identically disclosed by applicant as homopolymers of acrylic acid; [Pg.Pub. US 2023/0343998 A1: 0078].
Regarding claims 5-9, 13 and 15, Levitt teaches anionic surfactants such as alkylbenzene sulfonate, alkyl sulfate and alkylethoxy sulfate; [26-31, 36], nonionic surfactants such as fatty alcohol ethoxylate and alkoxylated amine; [45, 66, 68], zwitterionic surfactants, betaines; [89-90], and a base as NaOH, trisodium phosphate and sodium carbonate and organic acid; [113-115].
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Levitt teaches anionic surfactants such as alkylbenzene sulfonate, alkyl sulfate and alkylethoxy sulfate; [26-31, 36], nonionic surfactants such as fatty alcohol ethoxylate and alkoxylated amine; [45, 66, 68], chelating and antibacterial agents; [claim 13], and the rest of ingredients (instant claim 18) anionic, nonionic surfactants, amino acid, enzymes; enzyme; [25, 110], chelating and biocide agents; [claim 13], an acid such as alkylbenzene sulfonic acid; [110, 120].
Regarding claim 20, The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties (i.e. scavenging chlorine from 1 liter of water to 0 ppm in less than 60 seconds) are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, in the claimed ranges, was prepared under similar conditions, and that the original specification specifies that the properties arise from a combination of specific ingredients or process step and that it is rendered obvious by the applied art. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. scavenging chlorine from 1 liter of water to 0 ppm in less than 60 seconds, would inherently be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients.
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levitt et al. (US 2018/0127683 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Krubasik et al. (US 2020/0248105 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Levit teaches enzyme (25, 110) but does not specify their types. However the analogous art of krubasik teaches a detergent composition (9, 27, claim 3) comprising enzymes such as lipase and protease; [148]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose the protease or lipase enzymes for improved (motivation) stain removal and cleaning purposes as taught by both Levitt and Krubasik above. Furthermore (instant claim 14), Levitt does not teach citric acid (organic acid). However Krubasik teaches a detergent composition comprising citric acid; [144, Table 2]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the citric acid of Krubasik with the motivation of adjusting pH of solution to desired range, as taught by both Levitt and Krubasik above. With respect to claim 17, Levitt does not teach the inorganic perhydrate salt. However, Krubasik teaches sodium percarbonate; [abstract, 13, 86]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the percarbonate to Levitt’s composition with the motivation of enhancing its biocidal properties, due to the release of hydrogen peroxide into the composition.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levitt et al. (US 2018/0127683 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Sun et al. (US 11,760,962 B1).
Regarding claim 19, Levit does not teach the tetra sodium glutamate diacetate as instantly claimed. However the analogous art of Sun teaches a cleaning detergent composition comprising citric acid and tetra sodium glutamate diacetate; [4: 46-53]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add citric acid and tetra sodium glutamate with motivation of adjusting pH of solution (citric acid is buffering agent) and also softening of water (glutamate…) for improved washing and cleaning performance of the composition. Please note that the rest of the claim limitations on lines 2-4 are previously addressed on the USC 102 rejections of the claims above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026/05/08 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Because,
In response to applicant’s argument (pages 5-6) that; “Levitt is also silent regarding a liquid laundry detergent composition comprising an anti-redeposition agent, as recited in the claims. Rather, Levitt is directed to "a cleaning composition, such as a hard surface cleaner, a floor cleaner, or a degreaser." Levitt, Abstract. In its entire disclosure, Levitt mentions laundry once, however all of Levitt's example compositions are directed to hard surface cleaners. See Levitt, Examples 1-3 and ,I [0021]. Nor is there any mention in Levitt of an anti-redeposition agent. As such, nothing in Levitt teaches or suggests a liquid laundry detergent composition comprising an anti-redeposition agent, as recited in the claims.”, it is noted that; I)- Levitt clearly teaches the multi-purpose application of its composition such as hard surfaces, as well as laundry, fabrics, textile and fibers; [13, 21]. II)- the composition is liquid with a known pH. III)- Levitt also teaches anti-redeposition agent such as polyacrylic acid. Please see the new action above.
In response to applicant’s argument (page 6) that “Krubasik is silent regarding the anti-redeposition agent”, please not that this agent is taught by Levitt. Please see the action above. The same above explanation is true for Sun as well.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/08/08
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767