DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Applicant argues that Murphy does not teach a conveyor belt monitoring system shows how to synchronize a belt condition with a plurality of sensors or to monitor the condition of the conveyor belt itself. Claim 1 states “ A conveyor belt monitoring system for synchronizing belt condition, conveyor system condition and process conditions, the system comprising: a plurality of sensors to measure belt conditions, process conditions and conveyor structure conditions and provide as workflow data”, the claim does not specifically state what “conditions” of the belt. Murphy teaches “the belt conveyor (12) or the distance between the source and destination load sensor (22), sensing the leading edge of the load by the destination station load sensor (22), comparing the distance between the source and destination load sensors (18, 22) and detecting any slippage of the load on the belt (12) and updating the data record in the controller (C) based on the detected load slippage to coincide with the actual position of the load on the conveyor (12) at the destination station (20)” Abstract. The load slippage monitored by sensors 18,22 provide a condition of the belt further teaching the synchronization of the data with the system. The use of generic placeholders without structural claim language does not overcome the cited prior art for the apparatus claims.
For the foregoing reasons, the claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murphy AU 669461-B2.
Claim 1, Murphy teaches a conveyor belt monitoring system 10 for synchronizing belt condition via E,C, conveyor system condition and process conditions via E,C 18,22, the system 10 comprising: a plurality of sensors 18,22 to measure belt conditions, process conditions and conveyor structure conditions and provide as workflow data via E,18,22,C; one or more location sensors E,22 of the plurality of sensors 18,22 to provide belt position data P7 L1-11; a memory storage; an interface; circuitry comprising one or more processors (of C) P5 L12-19 configured to: synchronize process data, belt condition data, and conveyor system data and location data into a synchronization data set; detect an event based on the synchronization data and the operating process tolerances P6 L12-30; correlate the detected event with the synchronization data as correlated data; and analyze the correlated data P7 L24-32.
Claim 2, Murphy teaches the circuitry (of C and known in conveyor systems) further configured to develop one or more causes for the detected event based on the correlated data P7 L24-32; P8 L1-6.
Claim 3, Murphy teaches the circuitry (of C and known in conveyor systems) further configured to relate the event to one or more of process conditions, conveyor conditions, and/or belt conditions P7 L24-32; P8 L1-6.
Claim 4, Murphy teaches the synchronization data of C includes a spatial reference of the belt location P7 L24-32; P8 L1-6.
Claim 5, Murphy teaches a synchronization signal is provided by at least one of the sensors 22 P11 L10-25.
Claim 6, Murphy teaches the one or more sensors E,22 positioned along the conveyor system 10 determine the transverse belt position relative to the centerline of conveyor structure P11 L10-32.
Claim 7, Murphy teaches the circuitry of C further configured to detect reference locations based on the belt location data P11 L10-32.
Claim 8, Murphy teaches the memory storage stores operating process tolerances P7 L24-32; P8 L1-6.
Claim 9, Murphy teaches the system 10 is further configured to capture corrective action events to monitor for the overall impact of these actions to the belt, process or system P11 L5-32.
Claim 15, Murphy teaches a conveyor belt monitoring system 10 for synchronizing belt condition via E,C, conveyor system condition and process conditions via E,C 18,22, the system 10 comprising: a plurality of sensors 18,22 to measure belt conditions, process conditions and conveyor structure conditions and provide as workflow data via E,18,22,C; one or more location sensors E,22 of the plurality of sensors 18,22 to provide belt position data P7 L1-11; a memory storage; an interface; circuitry comprising one or more processors (of C) P5 L12-19 configured to: synchronize process data, belt condition data, and conveyor system data and location data into a synchronization data set; detect an event based on the synchronization data and the operating process tolerances P6 L12-30; correlate the detected event with the synchronization data as correlated data; and analyze the correlated data P7 L24-32; analyze the correlated data via C,CC,DC; develop one or more causes for the detected event based on the correlated data via C,CC,DC; relate the event to one or more of process conditions, conveyor conditions, and/or belt conditions; and wherein the synchronization data set includes a spatial reference of the belt location P11 L10-32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy AU 669461-B2 in view of Polak U.S. Patent No. 11,401,113.
Claim 10, Murphy does not teach as Polak teaches the system 100 is further configured to capture the confirmation feedback of the correlated output to enhance machine learning algorithms C6 L25-40. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Murphy with the control system taught in Polak with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim 11, Murphy does not teach as Polak teaches the system 100 is further configured to utilize digital twin models to further generate, evaluate, prioritize and validate the recommended corrective actions C6 L25-40; C8 L50-67; C9 L1-10. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Murphy with the control system taught in Polak with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim 12, Murphy does not teach as Polak teaches the digital twin model is used to predict trends and proactive maintenance actions to optimize conveyance processes C6 L25-40; C8 L50-67; C9 L1-10. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Murphy with the control system taught in Polak with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim 13, Murphy does not teach as Polak teaches the system 100 is further configured to provide real world data as feedback to improve the digital twin model C6 L25-40; C8 L50-67; C9 L1-10. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Murphy with the control system taught in Polak with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy AU 669461-B2 in view of DeVries U.S. Patent No. 10,836,585.
Claim 14, Murphy does not teach as DeVries teaches a cloud server 10 coupled to the interface Fig. 4 C8 L60-67; C9 L1-12. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Murphy with the control system taught in DeVries with a reasonable expectation of success because
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVEL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
KS