DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goto et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0124983 A1), hereinafter Goto.
Regarding claim 1, Goto teaches,
A system (fig. 1, optical transmission and reception unit 1 and distance measurement device 2), comprising:
transceiver circuitry (fig. 1, optical transmission and reception unit 1); and
processing circuitry coupled to the transceiver circuitry (fig. 2, distance measurement device. See also para. 0086-0087, “The components of the distance measurement device 2 are not limited to ones each implemented by hardware for exclusive use, and the distance measurement device 2 may be implemented by software, firmware, or a combination of software and firmware. The software or the firmware is stored as a program in a memory of a computer. The computer refers to hardware that executes a program, and is, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a central processing device, a processing device, an arithmetic device, a microprocessor, a microcomputer, a processor, or a digital signal processor (DSP).”);
wherein the transceiver circuitry is configured to:
receive signals reflected off an object (fig. 2, condensing optical element 16 receives light reflected off of distance measurement target); and
generate radar data based on the received signals (para. 0105, “The distance measurement device 2 calculates the distance L from the distance measurement device 2 to the distance measurement target on the basis of the digital signal f(t) outputted from the optical transmission and reception unit 1.” See also fig. 2, noting that the reflected light is an input into the data sent via the A/D converter);
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
perform a first Fast-Fourier Transform (FFT) operation on the radar data to produce a first set of range data (fig. 1, Fourier Transform Processing Unit 25-1. The examiner notes that, per para. 0114, the shift amount for Frequency Shift Processing Unit 23-1 is taught to be zero);
perform a frequency shift on the radar data (fig. 1, Frequency Shift Processing Units 23-2-N);
perform a second FFT operation on the frequency shifted radar data to produce a second set of range data (fig. 1, Fourier Transform Processing Units 25-2-N); and
produce a third set of range data by at least:
collating the first set of range data and a portion of the second set of range data; or
collating a portion of the first set of range data and the second set of range data (fig. 7, maximum frequency from each data set is collated together, i.e. a portion of the first and the second sets of range data).
Regarding claim 2, Goto teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the first FFT operation comprises a first resolution, and wherein the second FFT operation comprises a second resolution (paras. 0115-0116, “In the equations (1), R is the frequency resolution of the signal Fn(f) after the Fourier transform by the Fourier transform processing unit 25-n.”).
Regarding claim 3, Goto teaches,
The system of claim 2, wherein the first and second resolutions are the same, and wherein the first and second resolutions are based on a desired detection range (PARA. 0118, “The frequency resolution of the shift amounts Δf1 to ΔfN is set in accordance with the frequency resolution R of the signal Fn(f) after the Fourier transform, as shown in the equations (1). More specifically, the frequency resolution of the shift amounts Δf1 to ΔfN is set in accordance with the distance measurement resolution of the distance measurement target.”).
Regarding claim 4, Goto teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the frequency shift includes a shift of the radar data by half of a range-bin (para. 0115, noting that for Frequency Shift Processing Unit 23-(N/2) the frequency shift will be equal to half the resolution of the unshifted Fournier-transformed signal, i.e., half of the unshifted range bin).
Regarding claim 7, Goto teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to identify a distance between the transceiver circuitry and the object based on the third set of range data (para. 0146, “The distance calculation processing unit 29 calculates the distance L from the distance measurement device 2 to the distance measurement target”).
Claim 8 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 1, noting that Goto further teaches a distance measurement method (para. 0002).
Claim 9 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 2.
Claim 10 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 3.
Claim 11 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 4.
Claim 14 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 7.
Claim 15 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 1, noting that Goto further teaches a radar circuit (fig. 1, optical transmission and reception unit 1 and distance measurement device 2), a buffer (fig. 5, memory 41), and processing circuitry coupled to the buffer (fig. 5, processor 42).
Claim 16 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 3.
Claim 18 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto in view of Emadi et al. (US 2023/0350020 A1), hereinafter Emadi.
Regarding claim 5, Goto teaches the system of claim 1. Goto does not teach,
…wherein the portion of the first set of range data comprises data of the first set of range data above a range threshold, and wherein the portion of the second set of range data comprises data of the second set of range data above the range threshold
Emadi teaches,
…wherein the portion of the first set of range data comprises data of the first set of range data above a range threshold, and wherein the portion of the second set of range data comprises data of the second set of range data above the range threshold (para. 0086, “The point is validated by determining the a range threshold based on the change in point range of the point between the previous and current scans and the range difference's relation to the scan time and doppler of the point. In an embodiment, a low value for the range threshold indicates a valid target (e.g., the point is validated), while a high value for the range threshold indicates a false target.” The examiner notes that, per para. 0002, non-validated targets are deemed to be false targets and are removed from radar-produced data. The examiner further notes that the range threshold of Emadi is a range of distances in which the target must fall to be considered a valid point; thus, targets with a measured distance below the minimum of said range of distances would not be considered valid and thus the data would be discarded as that of a false target).
Goto and Emadi are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radar system of Goto with the range threshold of Emadi. The range threshold of Emadi allows for false targets to be filtered out with minimal computational resources and operational complexity (Emadi, para. 0003). Thus, the range threshold of Emadi would reduce instances of false target detection affecting the range analysis of Goto while conserving computational resources.
Regarding claim 6, Goto in view of Emadi teaches the system of claim 5. The previous combination of Goto in view of Emadi does not teach,
…wherein to collate the first set of range data and the portion of the second set of range data, the processing circuitry is configured to refrain from using the data of the second set of range data below the range threshold in the third set of range data, and wherein to collate the portion of the first set of range data and the second set of range data, the processing circuitry is configured to refrain from using the data of the first set of range data below the range threshold in the third set of range data
Emadi teaches,
…wherein to collate the first set of range data and the portion of the second set of range data, the processing circuitry is configured to refrain from using the data of the second set of range data below the range threshold in the third set of range data, and wherein to collate the portion of the first set of range data and the second set of range data, the processing circuitry is configured to refrain from using the data of the first set of range data below the range threshold in the third set of range data (para. 0086, “The point is validated by determining the a range threshold based on the change in point range of the point between the previous and current scans and the range difference's relation to the scan time and doppler of the point. In an embodiment, a low value for the range threshold indicates a valid target (e.g., the point is validated), while a high value for the range threshold indicates a false target.” See also para. 0002, “More specifically, the present embodiments relate to systems, apparatus, and methods for removing noise and false targets from radar-produced data.”).
Goto and Emadi are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radar system of Goto with the range thresholding of Emadi. The range thresholding of Emadi allows for false targets to be filtered out with minimal computational resources and operational complexity (Emadi, para. 0003). Refraining from using points identified, based on their range, as false targets in the range analysis of Goto increases the accuracy of the results of said range analysis. Thus, the range threshold of Emadi improves the accuracy of the range analysis of Goto without requiring excessive computational resources.
Claim 12 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 5.
Claim 13 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 6.
Claim 19 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 5.
Claim 20 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as claim 6.
Conclusion
/Anna K. Gosling/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648