DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lant et al. (EP 3173467 A1) in view of Siklosi et al. (WO 1991/017332 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5-9 and 20, Lent teaches an pouch made from a water-soluble (instant claim 17) polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) film; [¶.20: 50-55, ¶.28], comprising water in amount of 0.5-20 % ; [9], detergent composition (instant claims 5-7) of anionic surfactants such as alkylbenzene sulfonate; [4, 11], cationic surfactants such as (instant claim 7) fatty quaternary ammonium compound, coco dimethylamine oxide; [50, 81-82, 130], and betaine (instant claim 8); [49, 51], and nonionic surfactants (instant claims 9, 17) such as fatty alcohol alkoxylate and alkyl phenol ethoxylate; [43, 45], wherein the composition is disposed inside the pouch; [11, 162-163].
Regarding claims 1-4, Lent does not teach the amino acid (even though it teaches polyamino acid as a water soluble pouch or encapsulating material; 10). However the analogous art of Siklosi teaches a laundry detergent composition (abstract) comprising amino-acid such as lysine; [6, 1-7]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the lysine of Siklosi to Lant’s composition with the motivation of disinfection adding its disinfecting properties (damaging bacterial wall cells; please see any chemistry text-book reference) and also its chlorine scavenging properties, as taught Siklosi above.
Regarding claims 10-13, Lant teaches the pH of composition in the range of 6-9 with an overlapping range thus rendering the claim obvious; [129]. Furthermore, the composition comprises bases such as potassium and sodium hydroxide and carbonate; [106]. Composition comprises non-aqueous solvents such as ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol and propylene glycol; [64].
Regarding claims 14-17, Lant teaches (instant claim 14) additives such as chelating agent; [68, 105], enzymes; [2-3, 7], water (instant claims 15-16) in the amount of 0.5-20%; [9], anionic surfactants such as alkylbenzene sulfonate and nonionic surfactant such as fatty alcohol alkoxylate (C8-18 and ETO=1-7) in amount of 5-60%; [abstract, 3, 4, 11, 43], non-aqueous ethylene, diethylene glycols; [64], and a chelant; [68, 105], sodium hydroxide; [106]. Please not that the amino acid it taught by Siklosi as stated above on claims 1-4 rejection.
Regarding claims 18-19, Lant does not teach the chlorine scavenging property of composition in a given amount of time and volume of a liter of water. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties (chlorine scavenging rate, ppm/seconds, are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, in the claimed ranges, was prepared under similar conditions, and that the original specification specifies that the properties arise from a combination of specific ingredients or process step and that it is rendered obvious by the applied art. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. measured chlorine scavenging rate , would expectedly be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients.
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/02/07
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767