DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-9, 11-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al (US 2021/0183576).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a multilayer ceramic electronic device (Fig. 1-8) comprising: an element body (Fig. 1, 110) including a multilayer body in which a plurality of internal electrodes (Fig. 4, 121/122) and a plurality of dielectric layers (Fig. 4, 111) are alternately stacked in a first direction (Fig. 4, Z), a pair of cover dielectric layers (Fig. 4, 112) sandwiching the multilayer body in the first direction (Fig. 4), and a pair of end faces (Fig. 4, left and right sides) facing each other in a second direction (Fig. 4, X) to which the plurality of internal electrodes are alternately exposed (Fig. 4), the plurality of dielectric layers including a pair of side margin sections (Fig. 3, 111 on sides) sandwiching the plurality of internal electrodes in a third direction (Fig. 3, Y) orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3); and a pair of external electrodes (Fig. 4, 131/141/132/142) respectively covering each of the pair of end faces (Fig. 4), wherein at least one of the pair of external electrodes includes a first metal layer (Fig. 4, 141) and a second metal layer (Fig. 4, 131), wherein the first metal layer covers a part of the plurality of internal electrodes and a first portion of the pair of cover dielectric layers and the pair of side margin sections which is located on a side of the plurality of internal electrodes (Fig. 2), does not cover a second portion of the pair of cover dielectric layers and the pair of the side margin section which is other than the first portion (Fig. 2), contacts a part of the plurality of internal electrodes (Fig. 4), and has a main component of nickel or copper ([0054]), at a corresponding end face of the element body (Fig. 4), and wherein the second metal layer covers the first metal layer (Fig. 4), contacts at least a part of the second portion on a side of the first metal layer (Fig. 4), and has a main component of tin (when tin is used [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Song further discloses that the at least one of the pair of external electrodes does not cover other faces other than the corresponding end face of the element body (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Song further discloses that the second metal layer extends an end of the corresponding end face (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Song further discloses that both of the pair of external electrodes have the first metal layer and the second metal layer (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Song discloses a multilayer ceramic electronic device (Fig. 1-8) comprising: an element body (Fig. 1, 110) including a multilayer body in which a plurality of internal electrodes (Fig. 4, 121/122) and a plurality of dielectric layers (Fig. 4, 111) are alternately stacked in a first direction (Fig. 4, Z), a pair of cover dielectric layers (Fig. 4, 112) sandwiching the multilayer body in the first direction (Fig. 4), and a pair of end faces (Fig. 4, left and right sides) facing each other in a second direction (Fig. 4, X) to which the plurality of internal electrodes are alternately exposed (Fig. 4), the plurality of dielectric layers including a pair of side margin sections (Fig. 3, 111 on sides) sandwiching the plurality of internal electrodes in a third direction (Fig. 3, Y) orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3); and a pair of external electrodes (Fig. 4, 131/141/132/142) respectively covering each of the pair of end faces (Fig. 4), wherein at least one of the pair of external electrodes includes a first metal layer (Fig. 4, 141) and a second metal layer (Fig. 4, 131), wherein the first metal layer covers a part of the plurality of internal electrodes and a first portion of the pair of cover dielectric layers and the pair of side margin sections which is located on a side of the plurality of internal electrodes (Fig. 2), does not cover a second portion of the pair of cover dielectric layers and the pair of the side margin section which is other than the first portion (Fig. 2), and contacts a part of the plurality of internal electrodes (Fig. 4), at a corresponding end face of the element body (Fig. 4), and wherein the second metal layer covers the first metal layer (Fig. 4), contacts at least a part of the second portion on a side of the first metal layer (Fig. 4), and has a Young’s modulus smaller than that of the first metal layer (many combinations can create this effect including Cu for the first layer and tin for the second layer [0054 and 0049].
Regarding claim 9, Song further discloses that a main component of the first metal layer is nickel or copper ([0054]), and wherein a main component of the second metal layer is tin ([0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Song further discloses that the at least one of the pair of external electrodes does not cover other faces other than the corresponding end face of the element body (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Song further discloses that the second metal layer extends an end of the corresponding end face (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Song further discloses that both of the pair of external electrodes have the first metal layer and the second metal layer (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US 2021/0183576).
Regarding claim 2, Song is silent about the area of the fist portion and second portion.
However, the examiner notes that the limitation of wherein an area of the first portion is 1/10 or more and 9/10 or less of an area of the second portion is considered to be a result effective variable, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention to include the limitation of wherein an area of the first portion is 1/10 or more and 9/10 or less of an area of the second portion as this limitation would be easily reached by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to construct the devices using understood variable specifications and designs in the art to best meet user needs based on known design possibilities.
Regarding claim 10, Song is silent about the area of the fist portion and second portion.
However, the examiner notes that the limitation of wherein an area of the first portion is 1/10 or more and 9/10 or less of an area of the second portion is considered to be a result effective variable, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention to include the limitation of wherein an area of the first portion is 1/10 or more and 9/10 or less of an area of the second portion as this limitation would be easily reached by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to construct the devices using understood variable specifications and designs in the art to best meet user needs based on known design possibilities.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US 2021/0183576) in view of Yoshii et al (US 2001/0043454).
Regarding claim 5, Song fails to teach the claim limitations.
Yoshii teaches that the second metal layer (Fig. 1, 144) does not cover a third portion which is at least a part of a peripheral portion of the corresponding end face (Fig. 1, does not cover very end tips of sides of 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Yoshii to the invention of Song, in order to prevent oxidation of the external electrodes (Yoshii [0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Song, as modified by Yoshii, further teaches that a width of the third portion is 1/2 or less of a width of the second portion (Yoshii Fig. 1, tips of the end of 12 is less than 50% the size of the middle section).
Regarding claim 13, Song fails to teach the claim limitations.
Yoshii teaches that the second metal layer (Fig. 1, 144) does not cover a third portion which is at least a part of a peripheral portion of the corresponding end face (Fig. 1, does not cover very end tips of sides of 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Yoshii to the invention of Song, in order to prevent oxidation of the external electrodes (Yoshii [0010]).
Regarding claim 14, Song, as modified by Yoshii, further teaches that a width of the third portion is 1/2 or less of a width of the second portion (Yoshii Fig. 1, tips of the end of 12 is less than 50% the size of the middle section).
Additional Relevant Prior Art:
Ohtani et al (US 2013/0049532) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1.
MOTOKI et al (US 2011/0236658) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1.
SAKURATANI (US 2012/0319536) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-6.
SAKURATANI et al (US 2013/0033154) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-4.
SWADA et al (US 2018/0182552) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-3.
HARADA (US 2019/0355518) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-3.
NISHISAKA et al (US 2022/0013291) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-5.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848