DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 12, 13, 15, 19, 20, 22, 23, 27, 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadiq et al. (Sadiq, US PGPub 2019/0361111) in view of Bayesteh et al. (Bayesteh, US PGPub 2021/0076367).
Referring to Claim 1, Sadiq teaches determining a radar slot format ([0039-0041] and [0059]) that configures transmission of a reference radar signal on a first symbol over a first link from a first wireless network component (Fig. 7 #701; [0069]) to a second wireless network component (Fig. 7 #703; [0069]) followed by at least one target radar signal on at least one second symbol over at least one second link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component (Fig. 7 and [0069-0070]); and transmitting an indication of the radar slot format to the first wireless network component and the second wireless network component (Fig. 3 and 7-11 and [0069-0094]), wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are time-division multiplexed (TDMed); [0070] sequential transmission corresponds to time-division multiplexing; wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component; [0070] teaches a set of transmit beams 705, 707 and 709, as the claim is best understood 705 and 709 would be considered to be associated with a RF sensing procedure of at least one targe object separate from the second wireless network component as they may follow NLOS paths due to obstructions identified in [0061] as being vegetation, a building, a hill, a disruptive environment such as clouds or smoke, etc; but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure to detect a location of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component.
However, Bayesteh teaches wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure to detect a location of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component; [0112-0114] and [0186].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadiq with the location detection sensing as taught by Bayesteh as the method predicatably allows for improve sensing performance of the communication network by combining environmental and network properties.
Referring to Claims 2, 13, 20 and 28, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh teaches wherein the first link corresponds to a line of sight (LOS) link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component, and wherein the at least one second link corresponds to at least one non-LOS (NLOS) link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component; See Fig. 5, 6B and 7 and [0070].
Referring to Claims 4 and 30, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh teaches wherein the radar slot format explicitly designates the first symbol for the reference radar signal; implicitly taught based on sequential beam transmissions.
Referring to Claims 6, 15 and 22, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh teaches wherein the radar slot format explicitly designates the at least one target radar signal as associated with the reference radar signal, or wherein the at least one target radar signal is associated with the reference radar signal implicitly based on the reference radar signal corresponding to a most recent reference radar signal preceding the at least one target radar signal; implicitly taught based on sequential beam transmissions.
Referring to Claims 7 and 23, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh teaches transmitting, to the second wireless network component, an expected receive time associated with the reference radar signal and an expected receive time uncertainty associated with the reference radar signal; Fig. 8 #808; [0085-0087].
Referring to Claim 12, Sadiq teaches receiving, from a radar controller (Fig. 3 #375; [0039]), a radar slot format that configures transmission of a reference radar signal on a first symbol over a first link from the first wireless network component to a second wireless network component followed by at least one target radar signal on at least one second symbol over at least one second link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component; transmitting the reference radar signal on the first symbol over the first link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component; and transmitting the at least one target radar signal on the at least one second symbol over the at least one second link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component, wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are time-division multiplexed (TDMed); See Citations of Claim 1 above, wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component; [0070] teaches a set of transmit beams 705, 707 and 709, as the claim is best understood 705 and 709 would be considered to be associated with a RF sensing procedure of at least one targe object separate from the second wireless network component as they may follow NLOS paths due to obstructions identified in [0061] as being vegetation, a building, a hill, a disruptive environment such as clouds or smoke, etc; but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure to detect a location of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component.
However, Bayesteh teaches wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure to detect a location of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component; [0112-0114] and [0186].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadiq with the location detection sensing as taught by Bayesteh as the method predicatably allows for improve sensing performance of the communication network by combining environmental and network properties.
Referring to Claim 19, Sadiq teaches receiving, from a radar controller, a radar slot format that configures transmission of a reference radar signal on a first symbol over a first link from a first wireless network component to the second wireless network component followed by at least one target radar signal on at least one second symbol over at least one second link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component; receiving the reference radar signal on the first symbol over the first link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component; and receiving the at least one target radar signal on the at least one second symbol over the at least one second link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component, wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are time-division multiplexed (TDMed); see citations from above, wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component; [0070] teaches a set of transmit beams 705, 707 and 709, as the claim is best understood 705 and 709 would be considered to be associated with a RF sensing procedure of at least one targe object separate from the second wireless network component as they may follow NLOS paths due to obstructions identified in [0061] as being vegetation, a building, a hill, a disruptive environment such as clouds or smoke, etc; but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure to detect a location of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component.
However, Bayesteh teaches wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure to detect a location of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component; [0112-0114] and [0186].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadiq with the location detection sensing as taught by Bayesteh as the method predicatably allows for improve sensing performance of the communication network by combining environmental and network properties.
Referring to Claim 27, Sadiq teaches one or more memories (Fig. 3 #376; [0047]); one or more transceivers (Fig. 3 #354; [0042]); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: determine a radar slot format that configures transmission of a reference radar signal on a first symbol over a first link from a first wireless network component to a second wireless network component followed by at least one target radar signal on at least one second symbol over at least one second link from the first wireless network component to the second wireless network component; and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, an indication of the radar slot format to the first wireless network component and the second wireless network component, wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are time-division multiplexed (TDMed); see citations of independents above, wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component; [0070] teaches a set of transmit beams 705, 707 and 709, as the claim is best understood 705 and 709 would be considered to be associated with a RF sensing procedure of at least one targe object separate from the second wireless network component as they may follow NLOS paths due to obstructions identified in [0061] as being vegetation, a building, a hill, a disruptive environment such as clouds or smoke, etc; but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure to detect a location of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component.
However, Bayesteh teaches wherein the reference radar signal and the at least one target radar signal are associated with a radio frequency (RF) sensing procedure to detect a location of at least one target object separate from the second wireless network component; [0112-0114] and [0186].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadiq with the location detection sensing as taught by Bayesteh as the method predicatably allows for improve sensing performance of the communication network by combining environmental and network properties.
Claim(s) 3, 14, 21 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh in view of Frigon et al. (Frigon, US PGPub 2018/0166770).
Referring to Claims 3, 14, 21 and 29, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh teaches wherein the reference radar signal is transmitted over the LOS link via a default beam, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit and wherein the at least one target radar signal is transmitted over the at least one NLOS link via a dynamically determined set of beams.
However, Frigon teaches wherein the at least one target radar signal is transmitted over the at least one NLOS link via a dynamically determined set of beams; [0019] as well as claim 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh with the dynamical adjusted beams as taught by Frigon so as to allow the beams to be adjusted in real-time due to changes in the environment.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh in view of von der Embse (US PGPub 7,907,512).
Referring to Claim 5, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh teaches the at least one second symbol, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit it is designated via at least one offset relative to the first symbol.
This is however, a known function of TDMed and implicitly taught by Sadiq, however, von der Embse teaches the at least one second symbol is designated via at least one offset relative to the first symbol; See claim 1.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh with the offset as taught by von der Embse as applying known techniques is well known in the art for the predictable results of increasing data processing rates.
Claim(s) 8-11, 16-18 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh in view of Irvine et al. (Irvine, US PGPub 2021/0297965).
Referring to Claims 8, 16 and 24, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh teaches receiving, at the radar controller from the first wireless network component, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit receiving an indication of a time-domain drift associated with the first wireless network component.
However, Irvine teaches receiving an indication of a time-domain drift associated with the first wireless network component; Fig. 6-10 and [0049-0076].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh with the time-domain drift monitoring as taught by Irvine so as to allow for compensation or correction to maintain accuracy.
Referring to Claims 9 and 18, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh and Irvine teaches wherein the reference radar signal is scheduled in response to the time-domain drift indication; Fig. 6-10 and [0049-0076].
Referring to Claim 10, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh and Irvine teaches wherein a periodicity of the reference radar signal is configured based on the time-domain drift indication; Fig. 6-10 and [0049-0076].
Referring to Claim 11, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh and Irvine teaches transmitting, to the second wireless network component, the time-domain drift indication; Fig. 6-10 and [0049-0076].
Referring to Claim 17, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh and Irvine teaches transmitting, to the radar controller, an indication of the time-domain drift; Fig. 6-10 and [0049-0076].
Referring to Claim 25, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh and Irvine teaches wherein the time-domain drift indication indicates that the time-domain drift is below a time threshold; Fig. 6-10 and [0049-0076].
Referring to Claim 26, Sadiq as modified by Bayesteh and Irvine teaches wherein the time-domain drift indication indicates that the time-domain drift is equal to or larger than a time threshold; Fig. 6-10 and [0049-0076].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/WHITNEY MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646