DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the temperature probe and the switching unit recited in claim 3 and the transportation refrigeration unit recited in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shearer (US 2018/0063886) in view of Prager et al (US 4,841,127).
Shearer discloses the heater claimed including a first heating resistor (22) being a PTC heating element as a thermistor (whose electrical resistance changes in response to temperature variations) and a second protective resistor (24) connected in series wherein the second protective resistor has a constant resistance value (para 0024 discloses for the resistor 24 having a static resistance) which is known to provide an in rush current protection at cold start (para 0018-0019), but Shearer does not show a temperature switch connected in parallel with the second protective resistor which enables or bypasses the second protective resistor as claimed.
Prager discloses it is known to provide a heater having a first heating element (2b; also, see Figure 2B) connected in series with a second heating element (2a), and a temperature switch (33) connected in parallel with the second resistor that enables or bypasses the second resistor wherein a desired temperature is selected according to a temperature of the first heating resistor as the desired/preset temperature can be lower than a high temperature of the first heating resistor (column 4, lines 5-19).
In view of Prager, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Shearer with a temperature switch that is connected in parallel with the second resistor so that the second resistor can be either enabled or bypassed to generate heating that depends on the desired preset temperature according to a surface temperature of the first heating resistor as the preset temperature can be lower than that of the temperature of the first heating resistor.
With respect to claim 2, Shearer discloses that the first resistor is a positive temperature coefficient PTC resistor.
Claim(s) 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shearer in view of Prager as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Renault (US 2020/0164738).
Shearer in view of Prager discloses the structure of a heater claimed except for a transport refrigeration unit.
Renault discloses it is known to provide a transport refrigeration unit (22) comprising a heater (48) to provide for the desired heating thereto.
In view of Renault, it would have been obvious to adapt the heater as shown by Shearer, as modified by Prager, in a transport refrigeration unit that is known to provide an effective heating, having a good protection against in-rush current, to its heating/cooling system without being tripped (e.g., being shorted) that could be damaging to the transport refrigeration unit.
With respect to claim 6, Shearer discloses that the second resistor is provided for protection against in-rush currents (para 0018-0019) and the first resistor being a PTC having a resistance-temperature characteristic, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the second resistor having a resistance value that is capable of providing the protection according to an operating voltage and a maximum current (of the transport refrigeration unit of Renault) as a matter of routine operations and optimization that is capable of providing protection against in-rush current to the heater.
With respect to claim 7, it would have been obvious to select or determine the resistance value R2 of the second resistor, as a matter of routine operations and optimization, based on the operating voltage, the maximum/allowable current, and the resistance of the first heating element as such elements would contribute to an amount of in-rush currents that the second resistor is provided to protect against.
With respect to claim 8, Renault discloses it is known to provide a transport refrigeration unit (22) that is mounted on a side wall of the transport unit (e.g., a tractor trailer or truck trail).
With respect to claim 9, Shearer in combination of Prager and Renault discloses the method for controlling a heater in a transport refrigeration unit including a first heating resistor (22 in Shearer), a second resistor (24 in Shearer) as a protective resistor having a constant resistance value (para 0024 discloses for the resistor 24 having a static resistance) wherein Prager discloses for a temperature switch (33) connected in parallel with a second resistor (2a of Prager) that enables or bypasses the second resistor and Renault for disclosing the transport refrigeration unit.
And, in view of Prager and Renault, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Shearer with a temperature switch that is connected in parallel with the second resistor so that the second resistor can be either enabled or bypassed to generate heating that depends on the desired preset temperature according to the high temperature of the first heating resistor wherein such heater is known to provide a desired heating in a transport refrigeration unit as taught by Renault.
With respect to claim 10, Shearer discloses the first heating resistor being a positive temperature coefficient PTC resistor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sano et al (US 3,551,644) discloses for a heater having a PTC and a resistor connected in series.
Choi (US 9,422,849) and Offir (US 6,233,397) disclose for a first resistor/heater and a second resistor/heater wherein a temperature switch is connected in parallel with the second resistor.
Martinus et al (US 2016/0185400) discloses for a transport refrigeration unit TRU having a heater (2410).
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761