DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/616572 in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0130781 to Anderson. The difference between ‘572 and the present application are found in that the present application offers a bonus upon a funds transfer pathway. Such does not appear to be claims in ‘572. However, Anderson teaches such (0050).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/617233 in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0130781 to Anderson. The difference between ‘572 and the present application are found in that the present application offers a bonus upon a funds transfer pathway. Such does not appear to be claims in ‘233. However, Anderson teaches such (0050).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/616597 in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0130781 to Anderson. The difference between ‘572 and the present application are found in that the present application offers a bonus upon a funds transfer pathway. Such does not appear to be claims in ‘597. However, Anderson teaches such (0050).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
In each of the above rejections it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Anderson with ‘572, ‘233, and ‘597 in order to encourage users to transfer funds thus making the player likely to spend additional money that they may have not otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a system comprising: a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor responsive to a receipt of data associated with an approval of an amount of funds transferred from a financial institution account maintained, independent of any gaming establishment, in association with a financial institution, cause the processor to: responsive to a determination to employ an electronic funds transfer funding pathway, determine whether to associate any bonus events with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account, the determination occurs independent of any component of a gaming establishment fund management system, and responsive to the determination being to associate a bonus event with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account, communicate data that results in a delivery of the bonus event. The underlined portions above relate directly to certain methods of organizing human activity as they are directly related to financial transactions. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the abstract idea is only generally linked to a computing technology (i.e. a processor and memory). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the only additional elements to the claims are a processor and memory which are understood as generic computing components which the Supreme Court in Alice determined is not enough to bring claims into patent eligibility. While independent claim 10 has additional language as compared to claim 1, it is all still found to be financial transactions. Independent claim 12 is a mirror of claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. All dependent claims are rejected as they are merely addition additional abstract ideas and as such do not cure the deficiencies of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states, “the determination occurs independent of any component of a gaming establishment fund management system,” (emphasis added). However, the spec makes it clear that these funds transfer are to funding within a gaming system. Thus it is unclear how it can be completely independent since it is explicitly warding for funding at least some version of a wagering account The other independent claims have similar issues.
Claim 7 has a similar issue “wherein the transfer occurs independent of any transfer of funds to a gaming establishment account maintained by the gaming establishment fund management system.” Again any account (whether registered to the user or anonymous) is going to have to be account for in casino otherwise a player is just funding an abyss with no money (e.g. putting money into a gaming machine still establishes an account even if it is only temporary until the user spends all the money or cashes out). So how can a transfer occur but be independent of a transfer? Claim 18 has a similar issue.
All dependent claims are rejected as depending upon a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0130781 to Anderson.
With regard to claim 1¸Anderson discloses a system comprising: a processor (0020-0023); and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor responsive to a receipt of data associated with an approval of an amount of funds transferred from a financial institution account maintained, independent of any gaming establishment, in association with a financial institution, cause the processor to (0020-0023): responsive to a determination to employ an electronic funds transfer funding pathway, determine whether to associate any bonus events with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account, the determination occurs independent of any component of a gaming establishment fund management system (0020-0023), and responsive to the determination being to associate a bonus event with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account, communicate data that results in a delivery of the bonus event (0020-0023).
With regard to claim 2¸Anderson discloses wherein the memory device stores a plurality of further instructions that, when executed by the processor responsive to the determination being to associate the bonus event with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account, cause the processor to communicate data to a gaming establishment device that delivers the bonus event (0020-0023; 0050).
With regard to claim 3, Anderson discloses wherein the memory device stores a plurality of further instructions that, when executed by the processor responsive to the determination being to associate the bonus event with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account, cause the processor to communicate data to a server of a gaming establishment patron management system that assigns the bonus event to a gaming establishment patron account maintained for a user associated with the financial institution account (0050).
With regard to claim 4, Anderson discloses wherein the memory device stores a plurality of further instructions that, when executed by the processor responsive to the determination being to associate the bonus event with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account, cause the processor to communicate data to a server of a gaming establishment ticket voucher management system that assigns the bonus event to a gaming establishment ticket voucher (0050).
With regard to claim 5, Anderson discloses wherein the bonus event is associated with a variable award (0050).
With regard to claim 6, Anderson discloses wherein the variable award is determined in association with a play of a game (0050).
With regard to claim 7, Anderson discloses wherein the memory device stores a plurality of further instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to cause a modification of a balance of a gaming establishment device, wherein the transfer occurs independent of any transfer of funds to a gaming establishment account maintained by the gaming establishment fund management system (0020-0023; 0050).
With regard to claim 8, Anderson discloses wherein the memory device stores a plurality of further instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to publish, to a service bus, data associated with the transfer of the amount of funds from the financial institution account (0077).
With regard to claim 9, Anderson discloses wherein the determination to employ the electronic funds transfer funding pathway is based on a user associated with the financial institution account not being associated with a gaming establishment account maintained by the gaming establishment fund management system (0020-0023).
Claims 12-20 are mirror claims to claims 1-9 and are rejected in like manner.
Conclusion
/Jay Trent Liddle/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715