DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 5-7 and 11-16 have been withdrawn from current consideration (see below).
Claims 1-4, 8-10, and 17-20 remain under current consideration by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A (Figs. 1-6), corresponding to claims 1-4, 8-10, and 17-20 (see note below), in the reply filed on 03 June 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5-7 and 11-16 are withdrawn (see note below) from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03 June 2026.
Note: In the response filed 03 June 2026, Applicant indicated that claims 1-4, 8-10, 13, 14, and 17-20 were believed to be directed toward the elected Species A (Figs. 1-6). However, Examiner notes that claims 13 and 4 require a “first trunnion guide channel” and a “second trunnion guide channel”, which are features of Species C (Figs. 13-22) (see first and second trunnion guide channels 1340, 1345 in at least Fig. 14) and not of elected Species A (Figs. 1-6). Accordingly, claims 13 and 14 have been additionally withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected species.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the features canceled from the claims (No new matter should be entered):
The “first bushing” and the “second bushing” of claim 10
The “first lifting/lowering line” and the “second lifting/lowering line” of claim 19
Claim Interpretation – Functional Language
From the outset, it should be noted that some of the language in the claims is functional in nature. For example, in claims 1-18 the language related to an “articulated connection between a first member and a second member” (see the preamble), as well as the language related to a “pin” (see line 26), is functional in nature and limited patentable weight is given to this section of the claim. Similarly, in claim 19 the language related to a “vessel floating on a surface of a body of water” (see the preamble), as well as the language related to a “seabed” (see line 3), is functional in nature and limited patentable weight is given to this section of the claim.
Additionally, Examiner notes that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does and thus, a prior art device must only be capable of performing the stated function in order to read on the functional limitation. In this instance, the prior art discloses every structural limitation of the claim and thus this limitation fails to distinguish the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. Please see MPEP 2114.
[Examiner notes that this section of the Office Action does not constitute a rejection or objection, but is merely meant to indicate the manner in which the claims have been interpreted by the Examiner.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 8-10, and 18-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Claim 1: It is not clear if the “first member”, the “second member” (both introduced in lines 1-2), and the “pin” (introduced in line 26) are meant to be positively claimed as part of the claimed “mechanical joint” or if they re meant only as a functional limitation related to an intended use of the “mechanical joint”. Each of these elements are first introduced in the claim as a functional limitation (“configured to provide an articulated connection between a first member and a second member” and “configured to receive a pin”), which appears to indicate that they are NOT meant to be positively claimed, but rather is only meant as an intended use limitation. However, further limitations in the claims (for example, all of claims 8-9 and 17-18) appear to indicate that perhaps they are meant to be positively claimed as part of the “mechanical joint”. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined because the scope of the claim is unclear.
For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret the claims as though the “first member”, the “second member”, and the “pin” are NOT positively claimed as part of the “mechanical joint”, but rather are recited only as a functional limitation related to an intended use of the “mechanical joint”. Clarification and correction are required.
Re Claims 2-4, 8-10, and 18-17: These claims are considered indefinite because of their dependency from indefinite claim 1.
Examiner notes that all subsequent rejections made in this Office Action are made in view of the claims, as best understood by the Examiner, in view of the above indefiniteness rejections.
Claims 8-9 and 17-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Re Claim 8, as best understood by the Examiner: Claim 8 only further limits the “pin” and the “second member”, both of which were introduced in claim 1 as functional recitations and NOT as positively claimed elements of the “mechanical join” (see rejection of claim 1 above). Accordingly, it is unclear how claim 8 further limits the “mechanical joint” of claim 1 since the added limitations are only directed to elements that are not positively claimed as part of the mechanical joint.
Re Claim 9: Similarly, claim 9 only further limits the “pin” and the “wedge”, which was introduced in line 9 of claim 8 as a functional recitation related to the “second member”. Accordingly, it is unclear how claim 9 further limits the “mechanical joint” of claim 1 since the added limitations are only directed to elements that are not positively claimed as part of the mechanical joint.
Re Claim 17, as best understood by the Examiner: Claim 17 only further limits the “first member”, which was introduced in claim 1 as functional recitations and NOT as positively claimed elements of the “mechanical join” (see rejection of claim 1 above). Accordingly, it is unclear how claim 17 further limits the “mechanical joint” of claim 1 since the added limitations are only directed to elements that are not positively claimed as part of the mechanical joint.
Re Claim 18: Similarly, claim 18 only further limits the “link arm”, which was introduced in line 2 of claim 18 as a functional recitation related to the “first member”. Accordingly, it is unclear how claim 18 further limits the “mechanical joint” of claim 1 since the added limitations are only directed to elements that are not positively claimed as part of the mechanical joint.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cottrell (US Patent 12,280,588) in view of Taylor (US Patent 2024/0067308).
Re Claim 1, as best understood by the Examiner: Cottrell discloses a mechanical joint (see, for example, Fig. 22) configured to provide an articulated connection between a first member (for example, as shown for 109 or 209 or 110 or 210) and a second member (for example, as shown for 103 or 203; see note above related to these functional recitations), comprising:
a turntable (collet connectors 3011 and 3012, in combination) comprising a first part (3012) configured to be fixedly connected to the first member and a second part (3011) rotatively connected to the first part, wherein:
the second part (3011) is configured to rotate about a first axis (X) with respect to the first part,
the second part (3011) defines a bore (defined as the gap between the two sides of the clevis 3005; see annotated Fig. 22 above) at least partially therethrough, and
a first trunnion support (the aperture at the top of clevis 3005, receiving pin 3003; see annotated Fig. 22 above) and a second trunnion support (the aperture at the bottom of clevis 3005, receiving pin 3003)
a trunnion body (3004) that defines a first bore (the aperture receiving pin 3006) at least partially therethrough, wherein:
the trunnion body comprises a first trunnion (the upper section of pin 3003, extending from the top side of mooring connector 3004, in the upper view of Fig. 22; see annotated Fig. 22 above) disposed on and extending from a first exterior side (the upper side, in the upper view of Fig. 22) and a second trunnion (the lower section of pin 3003, extending from the lower side of mooring connector 3004, in the upper view of Fig. 22) disposed on and extending from a second exterior side (the lower side, in the upper view of Fig. 22) of a first pair of opposing sides of the trunnion body,
the first and second trunnions are aligned along a second axis (Y) and configured to be supported by the first and second trunnion supports, respectively,
a first side of a second pair of opposing sides of the trunnion body defines a second bore (see annotated Fig. 22 above) extending from an inner surface of the first bore to an exterior of the first side of the second pair of opposing sides,
a second side of the second pair of opposing sides of the trunnion body defines a third bore (see annotated Fig. 22 above) extending from the inner surface of the first bore at least partially through and toward an exterior of the second side of the second pair of opposing sides,
the second bore and the third bore defined by the second pair of opposing sides of the trunnion body are aligned along a third axis (Z),
the second axis (Y) and the third axis (Z) are substantially orthogonal or substantially perpendicular with respect to one another,
the second bore and the third bore defined by the second pair of opposing sides is configured to receive a pin (3006), and
the pin (3006) is configured to connect the second member (103 or 203) to the trunnion body such that when the second member is connected to the trunnion body and the first and second trunnions are supported by the first and second trunnion supports, the second member is configured to at least partially rotate about the first, second, and third axes.
Cottrell fails to disclose wherein the first and second trunnion supports extend from opposing sides of an inner surface of the bore defined by the second part.
Taylor teaches the use of a mechanical joint comprising a first part (for example, 10) and second part (for example, 110), the second part defining a bore (defined as the gap between opposing second bearing means 96; see Fig. 15), and a first trunnion support (one of the second bearing means 96 on one side of sheave member 110) and a second trunnion support (the opposing one of the second bearing means 96), and a trunnion body (5) comprises a first trunnion (94; Fig. 1) and a second trunnion (96), the first and trunnions configured to be supported by the first and second trunnion supports, and further wherein the first and second trunnion supports (96; Fig. 15) extend from opposing sides of an inner surface of the bore defined by the second part, for the purpose of allowing for a quick and easy connection between the trunnions and the trunnion supports.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cottrell, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the first and second trunnion supports extend from opposing sides of an inner surface of the bore defined by the second part, as taught by Taylor, for the purpose of allowing for a quick and easy connection between the trunnions and the trunnion supports.
Re Claim 2: Taylor further teaches wherein the first trunnion support (96; Fig. 15) and the second trunnion support (96) are each configured as U-shaped saddle structures comprising an open mouth such that the first and second trunnions (94, 96; Fig. 1) are supported within the U-shaped saddle structures of the first and second trunnion supports, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Cottrell, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the first trunnion support and the second trunnion support are each configured as U-shaped saddle structures comprising an open mouth such that the first and second trunnions are supported within the U-shaped saddle structures of the first and second trunnion supports, respectively, as taught by Taylor, for the purpose of allowing for a quick and easy connection between the trunnions and the trunnion supports.
Re Claims 3-4: Taylor further teaches wherein the trunnion body (5) is configured to be (i.e. capable of being) disconnected from the second part (110) by: moving the trunnion body (5) away from (i.e. in an upward direction) the first and second trunnion supports (96) such that the first and second trunnions are moved out of the U-shaped saddle structures of the first and second trunnion supports, respectively, and rotating the second part (for example, relative to a frame of reference on the connector 5) with respect to the first part sufficiently such that the trunnion body (5) can be moved toward and past the U-shaped saddle structures of the first and second trunnion supports (96; see Fig. 15) (as is required by claim 3); and wherein the second part of the turntable is configured to be rotated about 70 degrees to about 110 degrees (for example, a rotation of 90 degrees would be capable of clearing the supports 96) with respect to the first part (as is required by claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Cottrell, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the trunnion body is configured to be disconnected from the second part of the turntable by: moving the trunnion body away from the first and second trunnion supports such that the first and second trunnions are moved out of the U-shaped saddle structures of the first and second trunnion supports, respectively, and rotating the second part of the turntable with respect to the first part of the turntable sufficiently such that the trunnion body can be moved toward and past the U- shaped saddle structures of the first and second trunnion supports (as is required by claim 3); and wherein the second part of the turntable is configured to be rotated about 70 degrees to about 110 degrees with respect to the first part of the turntable (as is required by claim 4), as taught by Taylor, for the purpose of allowing for a quick and easy connection between the trunnions and the trunnion supports.
Re Claims 8-9, as best understood by the Examiner: Cottrell, as modified in view of Taylor above, discloses a mechanical joint capable of being used with a pin (see note above regarding this functional recitation) that is configured to be disposed through a first bore defined by the second member (see note above related to this functional recitation), opposing ends of the pin (3003) are configured to be received by the second bore and the third bore (see annotated Fig. 22 above) defined by the second pair of opposing sides, respectively, to connect the second member to the trunnion body, the second member (see note above related to this functional recitation) further defines a second bore at least partially therethrough, the first bore and the second bore defined by the second member partially intersect one another, and when the pin is disposed through the first bore defined by the second member, a wedge can be configured to be disposed within the second bore defined by the second member such that an engagement surface formed on a portion of an external surface of the wedge can contact an engagement surface formed on a portion of an external surface of the pin (as is required by claim 8); and, wherein, when the wedge (see note above related to this functional recitation) engages with the pin, relative movement between the pin and the second member is reduced as compared to when the wedge is not engaged with the pin (as is required by claim 9).
Re Claim 10: Taylor further teaches the use of a first bushing (the outer surface surrounding the “Rotation Azis D”; see Fig. 4A) disposed between the first trunnion (94) and the first trunnion support and a second bushing (the outer surface surrounding the “Rotation Azis D”; see Fig. 4A) disposed between the second trunnion (96) and the second trunnion support.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Cottrell, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises a first bushing disposed between the first trunnion and the first trunnion support and a second bushing disposed between the second trunnion and the second trunnion support, as taught by Taylor, for the purpose of allowing for a quick and easy connection between the trunnions and the trunnion supports.
Re Claims 17-18, as best understood by the Examiner: Cottrell, as modified in view of Taylor above, discloses a mechanical joint, wherein the first member is a vessel (104; see Fig. 10) floating on a surface of a body of water and the second member (103) is a link arm configured to connect the vessel to a submerged yoke (as is required by claim 17); and wherein the link arm is configured to be connected to a ballast tank (109) connected to the submerged yoke.
Re Claim 19: Cottrell discloses a disconnectable yoke mooring system (see Fig. 10) for mooring a vessel (104) floating on a surface of a body of water, comprising:
a base structure (102) configured to be disposed on a seabed;
a first turntable (106) configured to be connected to the base structure such that the turntable is rotatable with respect to the base structure about a vertical axis (Z);
a yoke (103) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the yoke is configured to be connected to the turntable (106) in a manner permitting the yoke to at least partially rotate about a longitudinal axis of the yoke and to at least partially rotate about a second axis (Y) that is substantially orthogonal or substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (X) of the yoke;
a first link arm (110) and a second link arm (110’) each having a first end configured to be connected to the second end of the yoke (103);
a first mechanical joint and a second mechanical joint (see Fig. 22) each configured to connect a second end the first and second link arms, respectively, to the vessel, the first and second mechanical joints each comprising:
a second turntable (collet connectors 3011 and 3012, in combination) comprising a first part (3012) configured to be fixedly connected to the first member and a second part (3011) rotatively connected to the first part, wherein:
the second part (3011) is configured to rotate about a first axis (X) with respect to the first part,
the second part (3011) defines a bore (defined as the gap between the two sides of the clevis 3005; see annotated Fig. 22 above) at least partially therethrough, and
a first trunnion support (the aperture at the top of clevis 3005, receiving pin 3003; see annotated Fig. 22 above) and a second trunnion support (the aperture at the bottom of clevis 3005, receiving pin 3003)
a trunnion body (3004) that defines a first bore (the aperture receiving pin 3006) at least partially therethrough, wherein:
the trunnion body comprises a first trunnion (the upper section of pin 3003, extending from the top side of mooring connector 3004, in the upper view of Fig. 22; see annotated Fig. 22 above) disposed on and extending from a first exterior side (the upper side, in the upper view of Fig. 22) and a second trunnion (the lower section of pin 3003, extending from the lower side of mooring connector 3004, in the upper view of Fig. 22) disposed on and extending from a second exterior side (the lower side, in the upper view of Fig. 22) of a first pair of opposing sides of the trunnion body,
the first and second trunnions are aligned along a second axis (Y) and configured to be supported by the first and second trunnion supports, respectively,
a first side of a second pair of opposing sides of the trunnion body defines a second bore (see annotated Fig. 22 above) extending from an inner surface of the first bore to an exterior of the first side of the second pair of opposing sides,
a second side of the second pair of opposing sides of the trunnion body defines a third bore (see annotated Fig. 22 above) extending from the inner surface of the first bore at least partially through and toward an exterior of the second side of the second pair of opposing sides,
the second bore and the third bore defined by the second pair of opposing sides of the trunnion body are aligned along a third axis (Z),
the second axis (Y) and the third axis (Z) are substantially orthogonal or substantially perpendicular with respect to one another,
the second bore and the third bore defined by the second pair of opposing sides is configured to receive a pin (3006), and
the pin (3006) is configured to connect the second member (103 or 203) to the trunnion body such that when the second member is connected to the trunnion body and the first and second trunnions are supported by the first and second trunnion supports, the second member is configured to at least partially rotate about the first, second, and third axes.
a first lifting/lowering line (the line of the tension member 111) and a second lifting/lowering line (the line of the tension member 111’) each having a first end configured to be connected to the second ends of the first link arm (110) and the second link arm (110’), respectively; and
a first lifting device (111) and a second lifting device (111’) each configured to be disposed on the vessel, wherein the first lifting device and the second lifting device are configured to be connected to a second end of the first lifting/lowering line and a second end of the second lifting/lowering line, respectively, wherein, when the first and second lifting devices are disposed on the vessel and connected to the second ends of the first and second lifting/lowering lines, respectively, and the first end of the first and second lifting/lowering lines are connected to the second ends of the first and second link arms, respectively, the first and second lifting devices are configured to lift and lower the first and second link arms and the yoke.
Cottrell fails to disclose wherein the first and second trunnion supports extend from opposing sides of an inner surface of the bore defined by the second part.
Taylor teaches the use of a mechanical joint comprising a first part (for example, 10) and second part (for example, 110), the second part defining a bore (defined as the gap between opposing second bearing means 96; see Fig. 15), and a first trunnion support (one of the second bearing means 96 on one side of sheave member 110) and a second trunnion support (the opposing one of the second bearing means 96), and a trunnion body (5) comprises a first trunnion (94; Fig. 1) and a second trunnion (96), the first and trunnions configured to be supported by the first and second trunnion supports, and further wherein the first and second trunnion supports (96; Fig. 15) extend from opposing sides of an inner surface of the bore defined by the second part, for the purpose of allowing for a quick and easy connection between the trunnions and the trunnion supports.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cottrell, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the first and second trunnion supports extend from opposing sides of an inner surface of the bore defined by the second part, as taught by Taylor, for the purpose of allowing for a quick and easy connection between the trunnions and the trunnion supports.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Re Claim 20: Cottrell and Taylor, as discussed above, are considered to be the closest prior art devices to that of the instant application.
Regarding claim 20, Cottrell in view of Taylor discloses a mechanical joint significantly as claimed (see rejection of claim 1 above). Neither Cottrell nor Taylor explicitly disclose the process steps of:
moving the second member and a trunnion body relative to the first member such that a first trunnion and a second trunnion are both separated and clear from a first trunnion support and a second trunnion support, respectively; and
rotating the second part of the turntable relative to the first part of the turntable such that the first trunnion and second trunnion are clear of the first trunnion support and the second trunnion support when viewed along the first axis; and
moving the second member and the trunnion body such that the trunnion body moves past the first trunnion support and the second trunnion support when viewed along the first axis.
As discussed for claim 3 above, Cottrell in view of Taylor does disclose a mechanical joint that is capable of being used in a similar process; however, neither reference explicitly disclose such a process. Nor would it have been obvious to modify the process disclosed in either Cotrell or Taylor in such a manner since there would have been no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so.
For at least these reasons, claim 20 is considered to be allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678