DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 and 15-22 are rejected.
Claims 5-14 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species F, as shown in Fig. 24, in the reply filed on August 26, 2024, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Restriction Requirement appears to extend the election to additional disclosed embodiments that are not encompassed by the pending claims. This is not found persuasive because the requirement includes all the disclosed species and applicant should indicate the claims directed to the elected species. Applicant indicated that claims 1-3, 5-13 and 15-22 are readable on the elected species. However, claim 5 is not drawn to the elected species since it requires a radially inwardly directed seal member, and Fig. 24 shows a radially outwardly directed seal member. Therefore, claims 5-14 are withdrawn from further consideration because they are drawn to a non-elected species. Claim 4 is directed to the elected species and is hereby examined. Accordingly, claims 1-4 and 15-22 are hereby examined, and claims 5-14 are withdrawn from further consideration because they are drawn to non-elected species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 15, 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Curt et al. (US 2010/0108590) [hereinafter Curt].
With respect to claim 1, Curt discloses a fluid filter 10, as shown in Fig. 1, having: a filtering media 14 (filter media construction) including pleated media in a tube shape surrounding an open interior volume and having first and second opposite ends, as shown in Figs. 1-2; an endplate 20 (first end cap) secured to the first end of the filter media construction 14, as shown in Fig. 2; the first end cap 20 having an opening 38 in communication with the open interior volume, as shown in Figs. 2-3; the first end cap 20 having a ring member 16, 30, having a radial wall, as shown in Figs. 1-4; a set of cartridge projections extending radially outwardly from the radial wall 16, 30, as shown in the figure below; and the cartridge projections being circumferentially spaced from each other, as shown in the figure below.
With respect to claim 2, Curt discloses wherein the cartridge projections include gear teeth, as shown in the figure above.
With respect to claim 3, Curt discloses wherein the cartridge projections are within a plane perpendicular to a central longitudinal axis of the filter media construction 14, as shown in Figs. 1-2.
With respect to claim 4, Curt discloses a seal 42 (radially outwardly directed seal member) secured to the first end cap 20, as shown in Fig. 2.
With respect to claim 15, Curt discloses wherein the cartridge projections are along a full 360° extension, as shown in Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 19, Curt discloses wherein there are no more than 50 projections, as shown in Figs. 1 and 3
With respect to claim 21, Curt discloses tabs 35 (anti-rotation arrangement), as shown in Fig. 4.
With respect to claim 22, Curt discloses wherein the anti-rotation arrangement comprises a plurality of tabs 35 projecting radially from the element, as shown in Fig. 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curt (US 2010/0108590).
With respect to claims 16-18, Curt lacks wherein each projection has a height of 0.12-0.34″; wherein each projection is a gear tooth sized so that a one tooth angle of rotation is 7.2-20°; and wherein each projection is a gear tooth sized so that a one tooth angle of rotation is about 10-11°. However, the specific dimensions claimed by applicant, are considered to be nothing more than a choice of engineering skill, choice or design that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious during routine experimentation based among other things, on desired accuracy, since the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than a prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (FED. Cir. 1984), cert. Denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
With respect to claim 20, Curt lacks wherein there are no fewer than 18 projections. However, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to achieve a desired accuracy, since one of ordinary skill would recognize to choose a desired number of projections according to a desired application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 15-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,975,278 in view of Curt (US 2010/0108590). U.S. Patent No. 11,975,278 claims all the claimed subject matter except an end cap having a ring member with a radial wall and the projections extending from the radial wall and being circumferentially spaced from each other. Curt teaches these limitations, as stated above, in order to ensure that the correct filter element is installed in a filtration system (see paragraph 0005 of Curt) and it would have been obvious to modify U.S. Patent No. 11,975,278 for this reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gustafson et al. (US 2002/0170279) teaches a filter cartridge having an endcap with projections. Ellis (US 4,698,164) teaches a filter apparatus having a gear mechanism.
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773