DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-14, 16-17, and 21-24 are pending and Claims 1, 5, 11-13, 16-17, and 21-24 have been examined in this application. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 03/26/2024 and 08/21/2026 has/have been taken into account.
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 08/21/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11, 13, and 16 have been amended; No claims have been canceled; No claims have been added. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5, 11-13, 16-17, and 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 recites "the first thrust linkage has a first length and includes a first material; and the third thrust linkage has a second length and includes a second material, the first length greater than the second length" (emphasis added). With the first linkage being established as the linkage in claim 1 that is "extending from the bifurcation of the third frame". Looking to the specification, it defines this linkage as "[0086]... the third thrust linkage 802 is coupled to the bifurcation 811 at the third frame attachment point 816" (emphasis added), further details this by saying "[0093] In the illustrated example of FIG. 10, the first thrust linkage 602 and the second thrust linkage 604 have a first length 1004 and the third thrust linkage 802 has a second length 1006" (emphasis added) and finally, "[0096]...In the illustrated example of FIG. 10, the first length 1004 of the thrust linkages 602, 604 is greater than the second length 1006 of the third thrust linkage 802." (emphasis added). Therefore, it is clear that applicant did not have support for a thrust linkage extending from a frame bifurcation that has a length which is greater than that of a third thrust linkage and as such the claim fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pautis (US 2017/0197724).
In regards to Claim 1, Pautis discloses a gas turbine engine, comprising: a first mount (Pautis: Annotated Fig. 2; M1, 60); a first frame portion (Pautis: Fig. 2-3; 42) to be coupled to a pylon via the first mount; a second frame portion (Pautis: Fig. 3; 70) coupled to the first frame portion such that the second frame portion is cantilevered from the first frame portion; a second mount (Pautis: Fig. 3; 36, 56, 58, 72, 74) to couple the second frame portion to the pylon, a third frame portion (Pautis: Fig. 2-3; 44) including an outer ring, an inner ring, and a bifurcation between the outer ring and the inner ring; and a thrust linkage (Pautis: Fig. 2-3; 46, 48) extending from the bifurcation of the third frame portion to the pylon.
In regards to Claim 13, Pautis discloses an apparatus, comprising: a first mount (Pautis: Annotated Fig. 2; M1, 60) coupling a first frame portion (Pautis: Fig. 2; 42) of a gas turbine engine to a pylon; a second mount (Pautis: Fig. 3; 36, 56, 58, 72, 74) coupling a second frame portion of the gas turbine engine to the pylon; a third mount (Pautis: Annotated Fig. 2; M3, 60) coupling a third frame portion (Pautis: Fig. 2-3; 44) of the gas turbine engine to the pylon; and a thrust linkage (Pautis: Fig. 2-3; 46, 48) extending between the third frame portion and the pylon at a first block attachment point (Pautis: Annotated Fig. 2; P), the third frame portion and the first block attachment point between the first mount and the second mount in a forward-aft direction defined by the gas turbine engine.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O'Brien et al. (US 5,443,229).
In regards to Claim 13, Pautis discloses an apparatus, comprising: a first mount (White: Fig. 5; 50') coupling a first frame portion (White: Fig. 5; 60) of a gas turbine engine to a pylon; a second mount (White: Fig. 5; 80') coupling a second frame portion (White: Fig. 5; 90) of the gas turbine engine to the pylon; a third mount (White: Fig. 5; 128, 130, 132, 140, 142, 146) coupling a third frame portion (White: Fig. 5; 136) of the gas turbine engine to the pylon; and a thrust linkage (White: Fig. 5; 108') extending between the third frame portion and the pylon at a first block attachment point (White: Fig. 5; 104), the third frame portion and the first block attachment point between the first mount and the second mount in a forward-aft direction defined by the gas turbine engine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pautis (US 2017/0197724) in view of White (US 4,725,019).
In regards to Claim 5, Pautis discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the second mount (Pautis: Fig. 3; 36, 56, 58, 72, 74) defines a load path between the pylon and the second frame portion (Pautis: Fig. 3; 70).
Pautis fails to disclose a second mount including an elastic element disposed in the load path, wherein the elastic element is a leaf spring. However, White teaches a second mount including an elastic element (White: Fig. 5-6; 30) disposed in the load path, wherein the elastic element is a leaf spring.
Pautis and White are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. aircraft supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second mount in Pautis with the elastic element from White, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of alleviating unwanted noise and vibrations caused by engine vibrations with out sacrificing the stiffness of the mount system in directions other than the preferred direction of vibration isolation (White: Col. 3, Ln. 19-60).
In regards to Claim 16, Pautis discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the second mount (Pautis: Fig. 3; 36, 56, 58, 72, 74) defines a load path between the pylon and the second frame portion.
Pautis fails to disclose the second mount includes an elastic element, wherein the elastic element is disposed in the load path, and wherein the elastic element is a spring. However, White teaches a second mount that includes an elastic element (White: Fig. 5-6; 30), wherein the second mount defines a load path between the pylon and the second frame portion, wherein the elastic element is disposed in the load path, and wherein the elastic element is a spring. [Note: See the rejection of claim 5 for motivation and/or rationale.]
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pautis (US 2017/0197724) in view of Sawyers-Abbott et al. (US 2019/0055026).
In regards to Claim 11, Pautis discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the thrust linkage is a first thrust linkage (Pautis: Fig. 2-3; 46, 48) extending to the pylon at a first block attachment point the gas turbine engine including; a second thrust linkage (Pautis: Fig. 2-3; 46, 48 - opposite side) extending between the third frame portion and the pylon at a second block attachment point that is laterally displaced from the first block attachment point;
Pautis fails to disclose a third thrust linkage extending between the third frame portion and a third block attachment point that is vertically displaced from the first block attachment point. However, Sawyers-Abbott teaches a third thrust linkage (Sawyers-Abbott: Fig. 3A; 310) extending between the third frame portion and a third block attachment point that is vertically displaced from a first block attachment point.
Pautis and Sawyers-Abbott are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. aircraft supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thrust linkage arrangement in Pautis with the third linkage from Sawyers-Abbott, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of reducing or preventing deflection of a fan case, thereby resisting distortion of a centerline of the engine core (Sawyers-Abbott: [0062]).
Claim 16-17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pautis (US 2017/0197724) in view of Brochard (US 2014/0183298).
In regards to Claim 16, Pautis discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the second mount (Pautis: Fig. 3; 36, 56, 58, 72, 74) defines a load path between the pylon and the second frame portion.
Pautis fails to disclose the second mount includes an elastic element, wherein the elastic element is disposed in the load path, and wherein the elastic element is a spring. However, Brochard teaches a second mount that includes an elastic element (Brochard: Fig. 12; 134), wherein the second mount defines a load path between the pylon and the second frame portion, wherein the elastic element is disposed in the load path, and wherein the elastic element is a spring.
Pautis and Brochard are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. aircraft supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second mount in Pautis with the mount and elastic element from Brochard, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of connecting an engine to the pylon that helps to prevent vibrations from being transmitted directly to the structure of the fuselage, thereby lowering wear and tear of the structure and increasing the comfort of passengers (Brochard: [0013]).
In regards to Claim 17, Pautis, as modified, teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the second mount further includes a slot linkage (Brochard: Fig. 12-13; 132b, 136a, 138ba) coupling an eye (Brochard: Fig. 12; 130b) of the spring to the second frame portion.
In regards to Claim 21, Pautis, as modified, teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the slot linkage includes a pin (Brochard: Fig. 12-13; 132b) that extends through the eye of the spring, wherein the slot linkage includes a slot (Brochard: Fig. 13; 138ba) that facilitates movement of the pin in a pitch direction.
In regards to Claim 22, Pautis, as modified, teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the eye (Brochard: Fig. 12; 130b) of the spring is a first eye defined at a first end of the spring, wherein the spring includes a second eye (Brochard: Fig. 12; 130c) defined at a second end of the spring, and wherein the second eye is in a fixed position relative to the second frame portion.
Claim 16 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pautis (US 2017/0197724) in view of Roach et al. (US 10,519,863).
In regards to Claim 16, Pautis discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the second mount (Pautis: Fig. 3; 36, 56, 58, 72, 74) defines a load path between the pylon and the second frame portion.
Pautis fails to disclose the second mount includes an elastic element, wherein the elastic element is disposed in the load path, and wherein the elastic element is a spring. However, Roach teaches a second mount that includes an elastic element (Roach: Fig. 4-5; 120), wherein the second mount defines a load path between the pylon and the second frame portion, wherein the elastic element is disposed in the load path, and wherein the elastic element is a spring.
Pautis and Roach are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. aircraft supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second mount in Pautis with the elastic element connection from Roach, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a support means that also has a dampening effect, thereby enabling it to reduce the magnitude of the load transferred to the airframe during use (Roach: Col. 4, Ln. 31-67; Col. 5, Ln. 1-11).
In regards to Claim 23, Pautis, as modified, teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the second mount includes a rigid structural member (Pautis: Fig. 3; 63) including a first end coupled to the spring (Roach: Fig. 4-5; 120) and a second end coupled to the pylon.
In regards to Claim 24, Pautis, as modified, teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the spring (Roach: Fig. 4-5; 120) includes a first end and a second end coupled to the second frame portion, wherein the rigid structural member (Pautis: Fig. 3; 63) couples to the spring between the first end and the second end.
Annotated Figures
I: Pautis; Fig. 2
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631