DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/28/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, 16, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nayak (US Patent # 10,352,972).
Regarding Claim 1, Nayak discloses an electrical distribution panel (i.e. electrical power distribution system 200 which may include any one of a panel-board, a switchboard, a switch-gear, or a busway panel) comprising:
a central conductor (i.e. power system conductor);
a plurality of input terminals (i.e. inputs of circuit breakers 215) that are each configured to be connected to one of a plurality of sources, wherein each of the plurality of input terminals include a circuit protection device (i.e. circuit breakers 215 w/ expandable modules 210), a sensing device (i.e. sensor assembly 225 & sensors 25), and an isolation device (i.e. circuit breakers 215 and/or slider switch/rotary switch/dip switch 60) that connect the central conductor to one of the plurality of sources and wherein one or more of the plurality of sources is bidirectional;
a plurality of output terminals (i.e. outputs of circuit breakers 215) that are each configured to be connected to one of a plurality of loads, wherein each of the plurality of output terminals include a circuit protection device device (i.e. circuit breakers 215 w/ expandable modules 210), a sensing device (i.e. sensor assembly 225 & sensors 25), and an isolation device (i.e. circuit breakers 215 and/or slider switch/rotary switch/dip switch 60) that connect the central conductor to one of the plurality of loads; and
a controller (i.e. main controller 220 of programmable multi-sensor measurement and control system 5/integrated programmable multi-sensor measurement and control system 205) configured to receive data (i.e. collected information data 32) from the sensing device of each of the plurality of input and output terminals and to responsively control the isolation device of each of the plurality of input and output terminals (Fig. 1-5; Column 1, line 18-66; Column 3, line 10- Column 8, line 12).
Regarding Claim 2, Nayak discloses that the controller (i.e. main controller 220 of programmable multi-sensor measurement and control system 5/integrated programmable multi-sensor measurement and control system 205) is configured to selectively disconnect the loads from the central conductor via the isolation device of their respective output terminal based on a determination that an available power from the plurality of sources is below a threshold value (Column 1, line 18-66; Column 8, line 56- Column 9, line 59). Nayak teaches that the system monitors power, measures various parameters such as the current, voltage, and energy consumption, and controls said parameters. The circuit breakers can disconnect loads from the system based on these parameters.
Regarding Claim 4, Nayak discloses an input disconnect switch configured to selectively disconnect each of the plurality of input terminals from the central conductor (Column 1, line 18-66; Column 8, line 56- Column 9, line 59). Nayak teaches that the system monitors power, measures various parameters such as the current, voltage, and energy consumption, and controls said parameters. The circuit breakers can disconnect loads from the system based on these parameters.
Regarding Claim 5, Nayak discloses that one or more of the circuit protection devices (i.e. circuit breakers 215) is a circuit breaker (Fig. 2; Column 5, line 29-56).
Regarding Claim 6, Nayak discloses that one or more of the isolation devices (i.e. circuit breakers 215 and/or slider switch/rotary switch/dip switch 60) is an electrically actuated switching device that is controlled by the controller (i.e. main controller 220 of programmable multi-sensor measurement and control system 5/integrated programmable multi-sensor measurement and control system 205) (Column 1, line 18-66; Column 8, line 56- Column 9, line 59).
Regarding Claim 7, Nayak discloses that the controller is configured to selectively disconnect one of the plurality of input terminals from the central conductor via the isolation device of the one of the plurality of input terminals based on a determination that an available power from the source of the plurality of sources connected to the one of the plurality of input terminals has an abnormal condition (Column 1, line 18-66; Column 8, line 56- Column 9, line 59). Nayak teaches that the system monitors power, measures various parameters such as the current, voltage, and energy consumption, and controls said parameters. The circuit breakers can disconnect loads from the system based on these parameters. The system is also capable of providing system alerts conditions or immediate responses based on collected information 32.
Regarding Claim 8, Nayak discloses that the abnormal condition determined based on the available power being outside a threshold voltage range or a frequency that is outside a threshold frequency range (Column 1, line 18-66; Column 8, line 56- Column 9, line 59). Nayak teaches that the system monitors power, measures various parameters such as the current, voltage, and energy consumption, and controls said parameters. The circuit breakers can disconnect loads from the system based on these parameters. The system is also capable of providing system alerts conditions or immediate responses based on collected information 32.
Regarding Claim 9, Nayak discloses that the controller (i.e. main controller 220 of programmable multi-sensor measurement and control system 5/integrated programmable multi-sensor measurement and control system 205) is further configured to control the isolation device of each of the plurality of input and output terminals based on commands received from a transceiver (i.e. transceivers 334/338/440 & wireless radio 58) (Fig. 1, 3, 4; Column 5, line 13-17; Column 6, line 29- Column 7, line 65).
Regarding Claim 10, Nayak discloses a transceiver (i.e. transceivers 334/338/440 & wireless radio 58) configured to communicate with the controller (Fig. 1, 3, 4; Column 5, line 13-17; Column 6, line 29- Column 7, line 65).
Regarding Claim 12, Nayak discloses that one or more of the circuit protection device, the isolation device, and the sensing device of each input and output terminals are disposed in a smart circuit breaker device (i.e. circuit breakers 215) (Fig. 1, 3, 4; Column 5, line 29-56). Nayak discloses that the circuit breakers can be remotely operated and are programmable.
Regarding Claim 16, Nayak discloses that one or more of the circuit protection devices device (i.e. circuit breakers 215 w/ expandable modules 210) of the plurality of input terminals and the plurality of output terminals are replaceable (Fig. 2; Column 5, line 29-56). The components can be discrete and installed separately which allows them to be replaceable.
Regarding Claim 18, Nayak discloses one or more meter sockets to accommodate each a utility meter (i.e. metering element 11) (Fig. 1-5; Column 3, line 10- Column 4, line 56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nayak (US Patent # 10,352,972) in view of Sorenson et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2008/0100140).
Regarding Claim 11, Nayak discloses that one or more of the circuit protection device, the isolation device, and the sensing device of each input and output terminals are disposed in a circuit breaker device (i.e. circuit breakers 215) (Fig. 2; Column 5, line 29-56).
Nayak does not explicitly disclose that the circuit breaker device is a solid-state circuit breaker device.
Sorenson teaches that the circuit breaker device is a solid-state circuit breaker device (i.e. solid state electronic circuit breaker) (Fig. 1A-1D, 2-8; Abstract; Paragraphs 0012, 0046-0052, 0072, 0096, 0103, 0125).
Sorenson teaches that it is well known in the art of power management and monitoring systems to use remotely actuated solid state electronic circuit breakers that monitor and manage power to an electrical device. These systems are similar to the system disclosed by Nayak, but Nayak is silent on the specific type of circuit breaker used. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use solid state electronic circuit breakers in the system of Nayak, as taught by Sorenson, in order to disconnect a load or source quickly while avoiding moving parts which increases the lifespan of the circuit breaker.
Regarding Claim 13, Nayak does not explicitly disclose that one or more of the circuit protection device, the isolation device, and the sensing device of each input and output terminals are disposed in a smart fuse device.
Sorenson teaches that one or more of the circuit protection device, the isolation device, and the sensing device of each input and output terminals are disposed in a smart fuse device (i.e. fuse 4) (Fig. 1A, 2-8; Abstract; Paragraphs 0047).
Sorenson teaches that it is well known in the art of power management and monitoring systems to use remotely actuated solid state electronic circuit breakers w/ corresponding fuses that monitor and manage power to an electrical device. These systems are similar to the system disclosed by Nayak, but Nayak is silent on the specific type of circuit breaker used. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use solid state electronic circuit breakers w/ fuses in the system of Nayak, as taught by Sorenson, in order to provide another fail-safe feature.
Regarding Claim 14, Nayak does not explicitly disclose a manual transfer switch selectively configured to provide an alternate current path from one of the input terminals to any combination of the plurality of output terminals.
Sorenson teaches a manual transfer switch (i.e. manual bypass control three-position switch 2) selectively configured to provide an alternate current path from one of the input terminals to any combination of the plurality of output terminals. (Fig. 1A-1D, 2-8; Abstract; Paragraphs 0046-0052, 0130).
Sorenson teaches that it is well known in the art of power management and monitoring systems to use a manual bypass control three-position switch. These systems are similar to the system disclosed by Nayak, but Nayak is silent on the specific type of circuit breaker used. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use such a manual bypass control three-position switch in the system of Nayak, as taught by Sorenson, in order to provide a user with quick manual control over the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Nayak does not explicitly disclose an input disconnect switch configured to selectively disconnect each of the plurality of input terminals from the central conductor and wherein the manual transfer switch is coupled to the input disconnect switch to prevent activation of the manual transfer switch when the input disconnect switch is disconnected.
Sorenson teaches an input disconnect switch configured to selectively disconnect each of the plurality of input terminals from the central conductor and wherein the manual transfer switch (i.e. manual bypass control three-position switch 2) selectively is coupled to the input disconnect switch to prevent activation of the manual transfer switch when the input disconnect switch is disconnected (Fig. 1A-1D, 2-8; Abstract; Paragraphs 0012, 0046-0052, 0072, 0096, 0103, 0125, 0130).
Sorenson teaches that it is well known in the art of power management and monitoring systems to use a manual bypass control three-position switch. These systems are similar to the system disclosed by Nayak. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use such a manual bypass control three-position switch in the system of Nayak with its input disconnect switch, as taught by Sorenson, in order to provide a user with quick manual control over the system.
Regarding Claim 17, Nayak does not explicitly disclose that one or more of the circuit protection devices is a fuse.
Sorenson teaches that one or more of the circuit protection devices is a fuse (i.e. fuse 4) (Fig. 1A, 2-8; Abstract; Paragraphs 0047).
Sorenson teaches that it is well known in the art of power management and monitoring systems to use remotely actuated solid state electronic circuit breakers w/ corresponding fuses that monitor and manage power to an electrical device. These systems are similar to the system disclosed by Nayak. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use solid state electronic circuit breakers w/ fuses in the system of Nayak, as taught by Sorenson, in order to provide another fail-safe feature.
Relevant Cited Art
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However, it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847