DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to applicant’s argument that Komiya “does not disclose or suggest that when the amount of adjustment of one of the adjustment targets exceeds a predetermined limit value set for each of the adjustment targets, the amount of adjustment is limited to the limit value,” the examiner respectfully disagrees. Komiya is used to describe a control of the quality of the images through adjustments being made to various adjustment items, targets. In paragraph 57, Komiya describes making the adjustments to the items based on preserving the required image quality. In order to achieve the desired effects a maximum density control is taken into consideration. This would mean that a limit is set for the adjustment targets. This is further stated in paragraph 94, wherein there is a maximum density adjustment. This is achieved through setting targets for the adjustments to stay within the maximum density, paragraphs 99 and 100. Therefore, Komiya does teach “disclose or suggest that when the amount of adjustment of one of the adjustment targets exceeds a predetermined limit value set for each of the adjustment targets, the amount of adjustment is limited to the limit value.”
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the previous 112(f) interpretation still applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komiya (US 2008/0075484).
Regarding Claim 1, Komiya teaches an image forming apparatus (Paragraph 2) comprising:
an image forming portion configured to form an image using toner (Paragraph 68, wherein there is a printer section that forms an image using toner);
an adjustment processing portion configured to, during execution of an image forming process using the image forming portion, use the toner to adjust one of a plurality of adjustment targets related to image quality of an output image output by the image forming process (Paragraphs 141 and 146, wherein the quality of the image is obtained through image stabilization process. The adjustments are adjustment items, paragraph 57); and
a limitation processing portion configured to, when an amount of adjustment of the adjustment target by the adjustment processing portion exceeds a predetermined limit value set for each of the adjustment targets, limit the amount of adjustment of the adjustment target by the adjustment processing portion to the limit value (Paragraphs 57, 99, and 100, wherein the adjustments are limited based on the necessary conditions to be met based on a maximum density, which is a limit.).
Regarding Claim 2, Komiya further teaches wherein each time a predetermined first adjustment condition is satisfied, the adjustment processing portion adjusts one adjustment target selected in accordance with a predetermined specific order among the adjustment targets (Paragraph 146, wherein the optimum combination and order is derived).
Regarding Claim 3, Komiya further teaches wherein when the amount of adjustment of one of the adjustment targets is limited by the limitation processing portion, the adjustment processing portion adjusts the adjustment target every time the first adjustment condition is satisfied until the amount of adjustment is no longer limited (Paragraph 146, wherein the optimum combination and order is derived to ensure proper image stabilization. This can correspond to adjustment of the bias, paragraph 99).
Regarding Claim 4, Komiya further teaches wherein when the amount of adjustment of one of the adjustment targets is limited by the limitation processing portion, the adjustment processing portion adjusts the adjustment target every time a second adjustment condition that is satisfied earlier than the first adjustment condition is satisfied until the amount of adjustment is no longer limited (Paragraph 146, wherein the optimum combination and order is derived to ensure proper image stabilization. This can correspond to adjustment of the LED, paragraph 120).
Regarding Claim 5, Komiya further teaches wherein
the image forming portion includes:
a density correction portion configured to correct a density of image data based on predetermined table data (Paragraph 123, wherein a table can be used in association with density);
a light source configured to emit light based on the image data after density correction by the density correction portion (Paragraph 71, wherein the LED is controlled based on the toner patch data);
a laser scanning portion configured to run the light emitted from the light source to form an electrostatic latent image on an image carrier (Paragraphs 66 and 75, wherein the electrostatic latent image is formed by laser); and
a developing portion configured to develop the electrostatic latent image formed by the laser scanning portion in accordance with application of a predetermined developing bias voltage (Paragraphs 70 and 75, wherein the image is developed accordingly), wherein
the plurality of adjustment targets include the developing bias voltage, an amount of the light, a position on the image carrier at which the electrostatic latent image is formed by the laser scanning portion, and the table data (Paragraphs 67, 75, and 77, wherein the adjustments are made based on the bias, light, position of the drum, the density correction controlled by the table).
Regarding Claim 6, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699