Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 2/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/8/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jijang (US 2024/0419430) in view of Lee et al. (US 2025/0214478 hereinafter Lee) and further in view of Outwater et al. (US 2015/0130630 hereinafter Outwater).
Regarding claim 1, Jijang discloses a method for distributed charging session data transfer between a charging station and a charging station operator, the method comprising:
recording, by the charging station, charging session data in a charging session data log (FIG. 5, ¶ [0038], [0047]; i.e. recording by the charger the charging state information or the first data);
obtaining, by the charging station from a user device, a committed charging station data set (FIG. 5, ¶ [0038], [0047]; i.e. obtaining the second data or the information for updating the firmware of the charger), wherein the committed charging station data set includes an indication of a most recently received unique transaction identifier for the charging station that has been received by a charging station operator;
updating the charging session data log based on the committed charging station data set (FIG. 5, ¶ [0038], [0047]; i.e. updating the firmware of the charger and the update information), wherein updating the charging session data log includes deleting entries that correspond to transactions prior to the most recently received unique transaction identifier; and
transmitting the updated charging session data log to the user device (FIG. 5, ¶ [0038], [0047]; i.e. transmitting the update information to the terminal).
Jijang does not explicitly disclose wherein the committed charging station data set includes an indication of a most recently received unique transaction identifier for the charging station that has been received by a charging station operator; wherein updating the charging session data log includes deleting entries that correspond to transactions prior to the most recently received unique transaction identifier.
However, Lee discloses wherein the committed charging station data set includes an indication of a most recently received unique transaction identifier for the charging station that has been received by a charging station operator (FIG. 10, ¶ [0069], [0102]-[0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jijang and Lee in order to implement charging management functionalities at an edge computing site to allow charging stations to function robustly even when connectivity to backend cloud system and services is interrupted (Lee, ¶ [0023]-[0026]).
Outwater discloses wherein updating the charging session data log includes deleting entries that correspond to transactions prior to the most recently received unique transaction identifier (¶ [0051], [0083], [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jijang, Lee and Outwater in order to make identifying an appropriate fueling station easier and more efficient (Outwater, ¶ [0006]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Jijang in view of Lee and Outwater discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the charging session data includes a charging station identifier, a total power provided by the charging station during a lifetime of the charging station before a start of the charging session, and a total power provided by charging station during the lifetime of the charging station at an end of the charging session (Jijang,¶ [0038], [0047], [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Jijang in view of Lee and Outwater discloses the method of claim 4, wherein updating the charging session data log includes deleting entries of the plurality of entries that correspond to entries that occurred prior to the most recently received unique transaction identifier for the charging station (Jijang,¶ [0032], [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Jijang in view of Lee and Outwater discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising updating by the charging station operator a charging session database based on the updated charging session data log (Jijang, ¶ [0032], [0038], [0047]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jijang (US 2024/0419430) in view of Lee et al. (US 2025/0214478 hereinafter Lee), Outwater et al. (US 2015/0130630 hereinafter Outwater) and further in view of Jarnut et al. (US 2024/0190285 hereinafter Jarnut).
Regarding claim 3, Jijang in view of Lee and Outwater discloses the method of claim 2.
Jijang in view of Lee and Outwater does not explicitly disclose wherein charging session data log incudes a plurality of entries that each correspond to a charging session, each of the plurality of entries include a unique transaction identifier and the charging session data for the charging session.
However, Jarnut discloses wherein charging session data log incudes a plurality of entries that each correspond to a charging session, each of the plurality of entries include a unique transaction identifier and the charging session data for the charging session (¶ [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jijang and Jarnut in order to provide a high-power DC fast charging station for electronic vehicles having a switch matrix, with interfaces enabling connection and communication with the power grid and with at least one charged electric vehicle (Jarnut, ¶ [0004]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Jijang in view of Lee, Outwater, and Jarnut discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the committed charging station data set includes a most recently received unique transaction identifier for the charging station (Jarnut, ¶ [0085]).
Claims 7, 12-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavanaugh et al. (US 2024/0424940 hereinafter Cavanaugh) in view of Gelsey (US 2025/0094550) and further in view of Outwater et al. (US 2015/0130630 hereinafter Outwater).
Regarding claim 7, Cavanaugh discloses a method for performing certificate-based authentication for a charging session of an electric vehicle, the method comprising:
broadcasting, by a charging station via a wireless personal area network protocol, a charging station availability message to advertise availability of the charging station for a charging session (FIG. 1A-B & 3, ¶ [0022], [0030]; i.e. the nodes 162-170 in cluster 160 can be performed using broadcast communications wherein the nodes including electronic vehicle charging station);
establishing a connection between a user device and the charging station via the wireless personal area network protocol (FIG. 1A-B & 3, ¶ [0022], [0030]; i.e. the charging station establishes a connection with the mobile device via wireless network);
receiving, by the charging station from the user device via the connection, a user certificate stored on the user device (¶ [0026]-[0027]; i.e. receiving a digital certificate from the user device), wherein the user certificate includes a public key, a private key, and an expiration date/time obtained from the charging station operator;
validating, by the charging station based at least in part on a public key of the user certificate, the user certificate (¶ [0026]-[0027]; i.e. authenticating the digital certificate based on the public key of the user certificate and/or the communication between the user device and the charging station according at least to the Type 2 standard);
based on a determination by the charging station that the user certificate is valid, enabling the charging session (¶ [0026]-[0027]; i.e. enable a charging session based on authentication according to the Type 2 standard).
Cavanaugh does not explicitly disclose recording, by the charging station, charging session data; and based on a determination that an internet connection of the charging station is not available, transmitting the charging session data to the user device; wherein the user certificate includes a public key, a private key, and an expiration date/time obtained from the charging station operator.
However, Gelsey discloses recording, by the charging station, charging session data; and based on a determination that an internet connection of the charging station is not available, transmitting the charging session data to the user device (FIG. 2B, 5A-B, ¶ [0066]-[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cavanaugh and Gelsey in order to enable electric vehicle charging session with charger device having discontinuous internet connectivity (Gelsey, ¶ [0003]-[0006]).
Outwater discloses wherein the user certificate includes a public key, a private key, and an expiration date/time obtained from the charging station operator (FIG. 9, ¶ [0097], [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cavanaugh, Gelsey and Outwater in order to make identifying an appropriate fueling station easier and more efficient (Outwater, ¶ [0006]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 12, Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising based on a determination that an internet connection of the charging station is available, transmitting a charging session data log to a charging station operator (Gelsey, FIG. 2B, 5A-B, ¶ [0066]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 13, Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising transmitting, by the charging station to the user device, a charging session data log including charging session data associated with one or more previous charging sessions (Gelsey, FIG. 2B, 5A-B, ¶ [0066]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 14, Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the one or more previous charging sessions are charging sessions that have not been recorded by a charging station operator (Gelsey, FIG. 2B, 5A-B, ¶ [0066]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 15, Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the user certificate on the user device is obtained from a charging station operator (Cavanaugh, ¶ [0027], [0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Cavanaugh discloses a method for performing certificate-based authentication for a charging session of an electric vehicle, the method comprising:
monitoring an internet connection of a charging station (FIG. 1A-B & 3, ¶ [0022], [0030]; i.e. determining internet connectivity status);
based on a determination that the internet connection of the charging station is not available (FIG. 1A-B & 3, ¶ [0022], [0030]):
broadcasting, by the charging station via a wireless personal area network protocol, a charging station availability message (FIG. 1A-B & 3, ¶ [0022], [0030]; i.e. the nodes 162-170 in cluster 160 can be performed using broadcast communications wherein the nodes including electronic vehicle charging station) to advertise availability of the charging station for a charging session;
establishing a connection between a user device and the charging station via the wireless personal area network protocol (FIG. 1A-B & 3, ¶ [0022], [0030]; i.e. the charging station establishes a connection with the mobile device via wireless network);
receiving, by the charging station from the user device via the connection, a user certificate stored on the user device (¶ [0026]-[0027]; i.e. receiving a digital certificate from the user device), wherein the user certificate includes a public key, a private key, and an expiration date/time obtained from the charging station operator;
validating, by the charging station based at least in part on a public key of the user certificate, the user certificate (¶ [0026]-[0027]; i.e. authenticating the digital certificate based on the public key of the user certificate and/or the communication between the user device and the charging station according at least to the Type 2 standard);
based on a determination by the charging station that the user certificate is valid, enabling the charging session (¶ [0026]-[0027]; i.e. enable a charging session based on authentication according to the Type 2 standard).
Cavanaugh does not explicitly disclose recording, by the charging station, charging session data; and transmitting a copy of the charging session data to the user device; and based on a determination that the internet connection of the charging station has been reestablished, transmitting the charging session data to a charging station operator; wherein the user certificate includes a public key, a private key, and an expiration date/time obtained from the charging station operator.
However, Gelsey discloses recording, by the charging station, charging session data; and transmitting a copy of the charging session data to the user device; and based on a determination that the internet connection of the charging station has been reestablished, transmitting the charging session data to a charging station operator (FIG. 2B, 5A-B, ¶ [0066]-[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cavanaugh and Gelsey in order to enable electric vehicle charging session with charger device having discontinuous internet connectivity (Gelsey, ¶ [0003]-[0006]).
Outwater discloses wherein the user certificate includes a public key, a private key, and an expiration date/time obtained from the charging station operator (FIG. 9, ¶ [0097], [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cavanaugh, Gelsey and Outwater in order to make identifying an appropriate fueling station easier and more efficient (Outwater, ¶ [0006]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 20, Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising transmitting, by the charging station to the user device, a charging session data log including charging session data associated with one or more previous charging sessions, wherein the one or more previous charging sessions are charging sessions that have not been recorded by a charging station operator (Gelsey, FIG. 2B, 5A-B, ¶ [0066]-[0070]).
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavanaugh et al. (US 2024/0424940 hereinafter Cavanaugh) in view of Gelsey (US 2025/0094550), Outwater et al. (US 2015/0130630 hereinafter Outwater) and further in view of Jijang (US 2024/0419430).
Regarding claim 11, Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater discloses the method of claim 7.
Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging session data includes a charging station identifier, an identifier of the user device, a total power provided by the charging station during a lifetime of the charging station before a start of the charging session, and a total power provided by charging station during the lifetime of the charging station at an end of the charging session.
However Jijang discloses wherein the charging session data includes a charging station identifier, an identifier of the user device, a total power provided by the charging station during a lifetime of the charging station before a start of the charging session, and a total power provided by charging station during the lifetime of the charging station at an end of the charging session (¶ [0038], [0047], [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cavanaugh, Gelsey, Outwater and Jijang in order to detect charging state for the charger to ensure the charger performs normally and safely (Jijang, ¶ [0002]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 19, see claim 11 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Claims 8-9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavanaugh et al. (US 2024/0424940 hereinafter Cavanaugh) in view of Gelsey (US 2025/0094550), Outwater et al. (US 2015/0130630 hereinafter Outwater) and further in view of Shin (US 2024/0121110).
Regarding claim 8, Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater discloses the method of claim 7.
Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater does not explicitly disclose wherein validating the user certificate comprises: generating a nonce value; creating an encrypted nonce by encrypting the nonce value using the public key; transmitting the encrypted nonce to the user device; receiving from the user device, a decrypted nonce value; determining that the user certificate is valid based on a determination that the decrypted nonce value equals the nonce value; and determining that the user certificate is not valid based on a determination that the decrypted nonce value does not equal the nonce value.
However, Shin discloses wherein validating the user certificate comprises: generating a nonce value; creating an encrypted nonce by encrypting the nonce value using the public key; transmitting the encrypted nonce to the user device; receiving from the user device, a decrypted nonce value; determining that the user certificate is valid based on a determination that the decrypted nonce value equals the nonce value; and determining that the user certificate is not valid based on a determination that the decrypted nonce value does not equal the nonce value (¶ [0125]-[0126]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cavanaugh, Gelsey, Outwater and Shin in order to minimize the situation in which each charging station cannot provide the services to some electric vehicles due to the absence of the contracts with some of the multiple mobility operator (Shin, ¶ [0003]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater discloses the method of claim 7.
Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater does not explicitly disclose wherein validating the user certificate includes verifying that the user certificate has not expired.
However, Shin discloses wherein validating the user certificate includes verifying that the user certificate has not expired (¶ [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cavanaugh, Gelsey, Outwater and Shin in order to minimize the situation in which each charging station cannot provide the services to some electric vehicles due to the absence of the contracts with some of the multiple mobility operator (Shin, ¶ [0003]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 17, see claim 8 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavanaugh et al. (US 2024/0424940 hereinafter Cavanaugh) in view of Gelsey (US 2025/0094550), Outwater et al. (US 2015/0130630 hereinafter Outwater) and further in view of Ricci (US 2017/0140349).
Regarding claim 10, Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater discloses the method of claim 7.
Cavanaugh in view of Gelsey and Outwater does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging station availability message includes one or more of an available power from charging station, a maximum charging rate available from the charging station, a cost per kilowatt-hour for power provided by the charging station, and an available charging time of the charging station until a next reservation.
However, Ricci discloses wherein the charging station availability message includes one or more of an available power from charging station, a maximum charging rate available from the charging station, a cost per kilowatt-hour for power provided by the charging station, and an available charging time of the charging station until a next reservation (FIG. 3, 29 & 31, ¶ [0046], [0102]-[0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cavanaugh, Gelsey, Outwater and Ricci in order to take advantage of the benefits of new technology, power sources and support infrastructure (Ricci, ¶ [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 18, see claim 10 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435