DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 03/26/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuan SONG et al. (US 2021/0067215 A1), hereinafter SONG, in view of Masaaki Fujii et al. (US 2016/0065257 A1), hereinafter Fujii.
For claim 1, SONG teaches a method performed by a base station (BS) in a communication system, the method comprising:
enabling or disabling non-linear precoding of data (SONG, Fig. 5 step 504 and paragraph 44 teach the gNB may then, at 504, design the non-linear precoder, and generate dual DMRS (e.g., DMRS1 and DMRS2) and data.);
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), information including non-linear precoding schemes and parameters related to non-linear precoding (SONG, Fig. 5 and paragraph 35 teach the gNB may use PDCCH transmission 104 to include a specific downlink indicator to inform the UEs that they are scheduled to be non-linearly precoded.);
determining, based on the non-linear schemes, perturbation vectors (SONG, Fig. 2 and paragraph 45 teach the modulo operation inside the feedback loop may be removed and equivalently a vector perturbation v may be added to the original data s∈custom-character.sup.r before the loop, where each element v.sub.i is v.sub.i∈{2√{square root over (M)}.Math.(v.sub.1+jv.sub.Q)|v.sub.I, v.sub.Q ∈custom-character} for M-ary QAM modulated signals.);
modulating data signals with the perturbation vectors (SONG, Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph 46 teach a gNB may construct a PDSCH transmission including two linearly precoded DMRS (e.g., DMRS1, DMRS2) and may perform both linear precoding & non-linear interference pre-subtraction of the data, followed by the modular operation.); and
transmitting, to the UE, the modulated data signals (SONG, Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph 46 teach the gNB may then send the resulting transmit signal to the UE(s).).
Fujii further teaches performing non-linear precoding technology by using a Vector Perturbation (VP) method (Fujii, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 83-90 teach a wireless transmission device using the non-linear precoding technology, an example of a wireless transmission device performing precoding processing on a transmission signal by using a Vector Perturbation (VP) method will be described with reference to FIG. 3. See also summary.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG with performing non-linear precoding technology by using a Vector Perturbation (VP) method taught in Fujii in order to reduce transmission power required [Fujii: summary].
For claim 2, SONG and Fujii further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a downlink control information (DCI) indicating a switch between the vector perturbation schemes and a linear precoding scheme,
wherein the switching between the vector perturbation schemes and a linear precoding scheme is performed based on the DCI (SONG, Figs. 1, 4, 5 and paragraph 35 teach Referring again to the example of FIG. 1 introduced above, a non-linear precoding procedure may include an explicit CSI acquisition stage and linear & non-linear precoding stage for the downlink data. In one embodiment, the explicit CSI feedback 101 acquired by the gNB, from UE(s), may also include information on the UE(s) capability of demodulating non-linearly precoded data. According to certain embodiments, the gNB may further determine the precoding type (e.g., in the MU MIMO with non-linear precoding mode) and may schedule UE(s) for non-linear precoding. In an embodiment, the gNB may also calculate the linear precoding matrix. As discussed above, the acquired CSI may include: (1) the combination of CQI, RI, and explicit transmit channel covariance; (2) the combination of CQI, RI, PMI, and explicit effective/beamformed channel, and/or (3) obtained via a CSI reporting including CQI, RI, PMI along with the CSI directly estimated via transmit-receive beamformed uplink sounding based on reciprocity. According to one example embodiment, the gNB may use PDCCH transmission 104 to include a specific downlink indicator to inform the UEs that they are scheduled to be non-linearly precoded.).
For claim 4, SONG and Fujii further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the UE, UE data decoding capability information relating to capability of the UE to decode the modulated data signals modulated with the perturbation vectors (SONG, Fig. 5 and paragraph 43 teach The gNB may, at 503, recognize the UE(s) capability of being linearly or non-linearly precoded, determine precoding types based on CSI, carry out scheduling, and determine the Tx linear precoder.).
For claim 5, SONG and Fujii further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include an indication of UE-group specific vector perturbation precoding for a first group of UEs including the UE and linear precoding for a second group of UEs (SONG, Figs. 1, 2 and paragraph 34 teach linear precoding for a first group of UEs and non-linear precoding for a second group of UEs.).
For claim 8, SONG teaches a base station (BS) in a communication system (SONG, Fig. 5), the BS comprising:
a transceiver (SONG, Fig. 6a item 18); and
a processor (SONG, Fig. 6a item 12) configured to
enable or disable non-linear precoding of data (SONG, Fig. 5 step 504 and paragraph 44 teach the gNB may then, at 504, design the non-linear precoder, and generate dual DMRS (e.g., DMRS1 and DMRS2) and data.);
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), information including non-linear precoding schemes and parameters related to non-linear precoding (SONG, Fig. 5 and paragraph 35 teach the gNB may use PDCCH transmission 104 to include a specific downlink indicator to inform the UEs that they are scheduled to be non-linearly precoded.);
determine, based on the non-linear schemes, perturbation vectors (SONG, Fig. 2 and paragraph 45 teach the modulo operation inside the feedback loop may be removed and equivalently a vector perturbation v may be added to the original data s∈custom-character.sup.r before the loop, where each element v.sub.i is v.sub.i∈{2√{square root over (M)}.Math.(v.sub.1+jv.sub.Q)|v.sub.I, v.sub.Q ∈custom-character} for M-ary QAM modulated signals.);
modulate data signals with the perturbation vectors (SONG, Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph 46 teach a gNB may construct a PDSCH transmission including two linearly precoded DMRS (e.g., DMRS1, DMRS2) and may perform both linear precoding & non-linear interference pre-subtraction of the data, followed by the modular operation.); and
transmit, to the UE, the modulated data signals (SONG, Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph 46 teach the gNB may then send the resulting transmit signal to the UE(s).).
Fujii further teaches performing non-linear precoding technology by using a Vector Perturbation (VP) method (Fujii, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 83-90 teach a wireless transmission device using the non-linear precoding technology, an example of a wireless transmission device performing precoding processing on a transmission signal by using a Vector Perturbation (VP) method will be described with reference to FIG. 3. See also summary.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG with performing non-linear precoding technology by using a Vector Perturbation (VP) method taught in Fujii in order to reduce transmission power required [Fujii: summary].
For claim 9, SONG and Fujii further teach the BS of claim 8, wherein: the processor is further configured to transmit, to the UE, a downlink control information (DCI) indicating a switch between the vector perturbation schemes and a linear precoding scheme, and switching between the vector perturbation schemes and a linear precoding scheme is performed based on the DCI (SONG, Figs. 1, 4, 5 and paragraph 35 teach Referring again to the example of FIG. 1 introduced above, a non-linear precoding procedure may include an explicit CSI acquisition stage and linear & non-linear precoding stage for the downlink data. In one embodiment, the explicit CSI feedback 101 acquired by the gNB, from UE(s), may also include information on the UE(s) capability of demodulating non-linearly precoded data. According to certain embodiments, the gNB may further determine the precoding type (e.g., in the MU MIMO with non-linear precoding mode) and may schedule UE(s) for non-linear precoding. In an embodiment, the gNB may also calculate the linear precoding matrix. As discussed above, the acquired CSI may include: (1) the combination of CQI, RI, and explicit transmit channel covariance; (2) the combination of CQI, RI, PMI, and explicit effective/beamformed channel, and/or (3) obtained via a CSI reporting including CQI, RI, PMI along with the CSI directly estimated via transmit-receive beamformed uplink sounding based on reciprocity. According to one example embodiment, the gNB may use PDCCH transmission 104 to include a specific downlink indicator to inform the UEs that they are scheduled to be non-linearly precoded.).
For claim 11, SONG and Fujii further teach the BS of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to receive, from the UE, UE data decoding capability information relating to capability of the UE to decode the modulated data signals modulated with the perturbation vectors (SONG, Fig. 5 and paragraph 43 teach The gNB may, at 503, recognize the UE(s) capability of being linearly or non-linearly precoded, determine precoding types based on CSI, carry out scheduling, and determine the Tx linear precoder.).
For claim 12, SONG and Fujii further teach the BS of claim 8, wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include an indication of UE-group specific vector perturbation precoding for a first group of UEs including the UE and linear precoding for a second group of UEs (SONG, Figs. 1, 2 and paragraph 34 teach linear precoding for a first group of UEs and non-linear precoding for a second group of UEs.).
For claim 15, SONG teaches a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (SONG, Fig. 5), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (SONG, Fig. 6b item 28) configured to receive, from a base station (BS), signaling enabling or disabling non-linear precoding of data (SONG, Fig. 5 step 504 and paragraph 44 teach the gNB may then, at 504, design the non-linear precoder, and generate dual DMRS (e.g., DMRS1 and DMRS2) and data.),
receive, from the BS, information including non-linear precoding schemes and parameters related to non-linear precoding (SONG, Fig. 5 and paragraph 35 teach the gNB may use PDCCH transmission 104 to include a specific downlink indicator to inform the UEs that they are scheduled to be non-linearly precoded.), and
receive, from the BS, data signals modulated by perturbation vectors (SONG, Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph 46 teach a gNB may construct a PDSCH transmission including two linearly precoded DMRS (e.g., DMRS1, DMRS2) and may perform both linear precoding & non-linear interference pre-subtraction of the data, followed by the modular operation.) determined based on the non-linear precoding schemes (SONG, Fig. 2 and paragraph 45 teach the modulo operation inside the feedback loop may be removed and equivalently a vector perturbation v may be added to the original data s∈custom-character.sup.r before the loop, where each element v.sub.i is v.sub.i∈{2√{square root over (M)}.Math.(v.sub.1+jv.sub.Q)|v.sub.I, v.sub.Q ∈custom-character} for M-ary QAM modulated signals.); and
a processor (SONG, Fig. 6b item 22) configured to demodulate the data signals according to the perturbation vectors (SONG, Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph 47 teach to correctly demodulate the data that undergoes both linear and non-linear precoding, two-step UE-specific DMRS demodulation may be used.).
Fujii further teaches performing non-linear precoding technology by using a Vector Perturbation (VP) method (Fujii, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 83-90 teach a wireless transmission device using the non-linear precoding technology, an example of a wireless transmission device performing precoding processing on a transmission signal by using a Vector Perturbation (VP) method will be described with reference to FIG. 3. See also summary.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG with performing non-linear precoding technology by using a Vector Perturbation (VP) method taught in Fujii in order to reduce transmission power required [Fujii: summary].
For claim 16, SONG and Fujii further teach the UE of claim 15, wherein: the processor is further configured to receive, from the BS, a downlink control information (DCI) indicating a switch between the vector perturbation schemes and a linear precoding scheme, and the switching between the vector perturbation schemes and a linear precoding scheme is performed based on the DCI (SONG, Figs. 1, 4, 5 and paragraph 35 teach Referring again to the example of FIG. 1 introduced above, a non-linear precoding procedure may include an explicit CSI acquisition stage and linear & non-linear precoding stage for the downlink data. In one embodiment, the explicit CSI feedback 101 acquired by the gNB, from UE(s), may also include information on the UE(s) capability of demodulating non-linearly precoded data. According to certain embodiments, the gNB may further determine the precoding type (e.g., in the MU MIMO with non-linear precoding mode) and may schedule UE(s) for non-linear precoding. In an embodiment, the gNB may also calculate the linear precoding matrix. As discussed above, the acquired CSI may include: (1) the combination of CQI, RI, and explicit transmit channel covariance; (2) the combination of CQI, RI, PMI, and explicit effective/beamformed channel, and/or (3) obtained via a CSI reporting including CQI, RI, PMI along with the CSI directly estimated via transmit-receive beamformed uplink sounding based on reciprocity. According to one example embodiment, the gNB may use PDCCH transmission 104 to include a specific downlink indicator to inform the UEs that they are scheduled to be non-linearly precoded.).
For claim 18, SONG and Fujii further teach the UE of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the BS, UE data decoding capability information relating to capability of the UE to decode the modulated data signals modulated with the perturbation vectors (SONG, Fig. 5 and paragraph 43 teach The gNB may, at 503, recognize the UE(s) capability of being linearly or non-linearly precoded, determine precoding types based on CSI, carry out scheduling, and determine the Tx linear precoder.).
For claim 19, SONG and Fujii further teach the UE of claim 15, wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include an indication of UE-group specific vector perturbation precoding for a first group of UEs including the UE and linear precoding for a second group of UEs (SONG, Figs. 1, 2 and paragraph 34 teach linear precoding for a first group of UEs and non-linear precoding for a second group of UEs.).
9. Claims 3, 6-7, 10, 13-14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuan SONG et al. (US 2021/0067215 A1), hereinafter SONG, in view of Masaaki Fujii et al. (US 2016/0065257 A1), hereinafter Fujii and Hiromichi TOMEBA et al. (US 2016/0173175 A1), hereinafter TOMEBA.
For claim 3, SONG and Fujii teach all the limitations of parent claim 1. SONG and Fujii do not explicitly teach the parameters related to vector perturbation precoding include a power normalization factor, a modulo threshold, and quantization parameters.
However, TOMEBA explicitly teaches the parameters related to vector perturbation precoding include a power normalization factor (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 85 teach β is a power normalization term which makes an average transmit power of the transmission signal vector s fixed..), a modulo threshold (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 79 teach a value of the modulo width may be configured to any value as long as being shared between the base station apparatus 1 and the terminal apparatus 2..), and quantization parameters (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 92 teach the base station apparatus 1 has a configuration to transmit different control information by a different channel in order to notify the terminal apparatus 2 of a modulation method, a coding rate, and the like, information associated with the covariance matrix P.sub.x may be notified as a part of the control information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG and Fujii with the parameters related to vector perturbation precoding include a power normalization factor, a modulo threshold, and quantization parameters taught in TOMEBA in order to contribute to improvement in transmission quality [TOMEBA: paragraph 14].
For claim 6, SONG and Fujii teach all the limitations of parent claim 1. SONG and Fujii do not explicitly teach wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include one of a modulo threshold parameter τ selected based on modulation order and code rate for the UE, for integer-based vector perturbation, or one of quantization parameters selected based on modulation order and code rates for the UE, for non-integer based vector perturbation.
However, TOMEBA explicitly teaches wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include one of a modulo threshold parameter τ selected based on modulation order and code rate for the UE, for integer-based vector perturbation, or one of quantization parameters selected based on modulation order and code rates for the UE, for non-integer based vector perturbation (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 79 teach a value of the modulo width may be configured to any value as long as being shared between the base station apparatus 1 and the terminal apparatus 2. See also paragraph 78.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG and Fujii with wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include one of a modulo threshold parameter τ selected based on modulation order and code rate for the UE, for integer-based vector perturbation, or one of quantization parameters selected based on modulation order and code rates for the UE, for non-integer based vector perturbation taught in TOMEBA in order to contribute to improvement in transmission quality [TOMEBA: paragraph 14].
For claim 7, SONG and Fujii the method of claim 1, wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters in one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a downlink control information (DCI) (SONG, Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph 46 teach a gNB may construct a PDSCH transmission including two linearly precoded DMRS (e.g., DMRS1, DMRS2) and may perform both linear precoding & non-linear interference pre-subtraction of the data, followed by the modular operation.). SONG and Fujii do not explicitly teach the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include a power normalization parameter γ.
However, TOMEBA explicitly teaches the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include a power normalization parameter γ (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 85 teach β is a power normalization term which makes an average transmit power of the transmission signal vector s fixed..),.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG and Fujii with the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include a power normalization parameter γ taught in TOMEBA in order to contribute to improvement in transmission quality [TOMEBA: paragraph 14].
For claim 10, SONG and Fujii teach all the limitations of parent claim 8. SONG and Fujii do not explicitly teach the parameters related to vector perturbation precoding include a power normalization factor, a modulo threshold, and quantization parameters.
However, TOMEBA explicitly teaches the parameters related to vector perturbation precoding include a power normalization factor (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 85 teach β is a power normalization term which makes an average transmit power of the transmission signal vector s fixed..), a modulo threshold (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 79 teach a value of the modulo width may be configured to any value as long as being shared between the base station apparatus 1 and the terminal apparatus 2..), and quantization parameters (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 92 teach the base station apparatus 1 has a configuration to transmit different control information by a different channel in order to notify the terminal apparatus 2 of a modulation method, a coding rate, and the like, information associated with the covariance matrix P.sub.x may be notified as a part of the control information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG and Fujii with the parameters related to vector perturbation precoding include a power normalization factor, a modulo threshold, and quantization parameters taught in TOMEBA in order to contribute to improvement in transmission quality [TOMEBA: paragraph 14].
For claim 13, SONG and Fujii teach all the limitations of parent claim 8. SONG and Fujii do not explicitly teach wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include one of a modulo threshold parameter τ selected based on modulation order and code rate for the UE, for integer-based vector perturbation, or one of quantization parameters selected based on modulation order and code rates for the UE, for non-integer based vector perturbation.
However, TOMEBA explicitly teaches wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include one of a modulo threshold parameter τ selected based on modulation order and code rate for the UE, for integer-based vector perturbation, or one of quantization parameters selected based on modulation order and code rates for the UE, for non-integer based vector perturbation (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 79 teach a value of the modulo width may be configured to any value as long as being shared between the base station apparatus 1 and the terminal apparatus 2. See also paragraph 78.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG and Fujii with wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include one of a modulo threshold parameter τ selected based on modulation order and code rate for the UE, for integer-based vector perturbation, or one of quantization parameters selected based on modulation order and code rates for the UE, for non-integer based vector perturbation taught in TOMEBA in order to contribute to improvement in transmission quality [TOMEBA: paragraph 14].
For claim 14, SONG and Fujii the BS of claim 8, wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters in one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a downlink control information (DCI) (SONG, Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph 46 teach a gNB may construct a PDSCH transmission including two linearly precoded DMRS (e.g., DMRS1, DMRS2) and may perform both linear precoding & non-linear interference pre-subtraction of the data, followed by the modular operation.). SONG and Fujii do not explicitly teach the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include a power normalization parameter γ.
However, TOMEBA explicitly teaches the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include a power normalization parameter γ (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 85 teach β is a power normalization term which makes an average transmit power of the transmission signal vector s fixed..),.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG and Fujii with the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include a power normalization parameter γ taught in TOMEBA in order to contribute to improvement in transmission quality [TOMEBA: paragraph 14].
For claim 17, SONG and Fujii teach all the limitations of parent claim 15. SONG and Fujii do not explicitly teach the parameters related to vector perturbation precoding include a power normalization factor, a modulo threshold, and quantization parameters.
However, TOMEBA explicitly teaches the parameters related to vector perturbation precoding include a power normalization factor (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 85 teach β is a power normalization term which makes an average transmit power of the transmission signal vector s fixed..), a modulo threshold (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 79 teach a value of the modulo width may be configured to any value as long as being shared between the base station apparatus 1 and the terminal apparatus 2..), and quantization parameters (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 92 teach the base station apparatus 1 has a configuration to transmit different control information by a different channel in order to notify the terminal apparatus 2 of a modulation method, a coding rate, and the like, information associated with the covariance matrix P.sub.x may be notified as a part of the control information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG and Fujii with the parameters related to vector perturbation precoding include a power normalization factor, a modulo threshold, and quantization parameters taught in TOMEBA in order to contribute to improvement in transmission quality [TOMEBA: paragraph 14].
For claim 20, SONG and Fujii teach all the limitations of parent claim 15. SONG and Fujii do not explicitly teach wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include one of a modulo threshold parameter τ selected based on modulation order and code rate for the UE, for integer-based vector perturbation, or one of quantization parameters selected based on modulation order and code rates for the UE, for non-integer based vector perturbation.
However, TOMEBA explicitly teaches wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include one of a modulo threshold parameter τ selected based on modulation order and code rate for the UE, for integer-based vector perturbation, or one of quantization parameters selected based on modulation order and code rates for the UE, for non-integer based vector perturbation (TOMEBA, Fig. 4 and paragraph 79 teach a value of the modulo width may be configured to any value as long as being shared between the base station apparatus 1 and the terminal apparatus 2. See also paragraph 78.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in SONG and Fujii with wherein the vector perturbation schemes and parameters include one of a modulo threshold parameter τ selected based on modulation order and code rate for the UE, for integer-based vector perturbation, or one of quantization parameters selected based on modulation order and code rates for the UE, for non-integer based vector perturbation taught in TOMEBA in order to contribute to improvement in transmission quality [TOMEBA: paragraph 14].
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412